Branded Bags lovers, ladies?

lilieswhite

Just curious, besides diamonds, any ladies who love branded bags too?

I rem a friend said diamond is a girl's best friend & branded bag is a girl's good friend..

Me 2!! But no $$ to buy

dabee

me too but no money to buy now. last time when i not working yet, my dad buys them for me. now i start working n married, no money to buy.....

lilieswhite

wow, so many ladies like but no $ to buy...

Choc, how to find one not above 1k?

How much will u spend on one bag then??

bo_chap_bride, your FH so good!

takahara

I'm a bag lover. Previously when I'm single n no kids..will have tendency to get a branded bag/goods almost every other month. To date..i have LV, Coach, Gucci, Bally, Chanel to my collection. But sigh..now with two kids..I think all those money spent on my bags should have been kept for my kids' education.

Nowadays, I would treat myself to such indulgence mayb once a year. This year, Valentine's, hubby bought a Gucci cardholder for me.

bonufo

was once a 'branded bags siao'...bt now find it a waste of $ as most of them,i only used once n some stayed in e box till 2day,imagine how wasteful...

managed to sell quite a few to frds...so if u think of it as a liability, u might rather keep ur $...oh unless ur a tai tai lah...cheers!

slog

Hi, I like branded bags too but thus far my only acquisitions are a celine caual handbag, aigner document bag and coach small pouch-bag costing less than S$500 each.

I'm always waiting for sales...hehehe.

I will only buy LV, CHANEL(these 2 brands more worth as it is leather) and DIOR(I like the design). Never like GUCCI(plain and the sign not nice), PRADA(most look cheap) & COACH(dun like the sign).

Every year saving up to buy at least 1 handbag.

For me, I don't really go for diamonds, most of my jewelleries are from my MIL(wedding gift) and some my mom. So I personally didn't buy any diamond before. I think diamond quite "no value". Difficult to sell if you need cash unless your diamond is really rare. I have some so I dun crave for diamonds. But I do crave for handbags.

sunrays

i always buy my bags frm overseas as the prices are much lower....my recent buy was a gucci bag..so far i only saw 2 ladies on the streets with it. i bot it for $1400 in italy but in s'pore it's selling at $2200 without tax!!

the prices in s'pore are too steep & it's really not worth it!!

gooobergrape

I somehow love gucci's floral print bags.. considered buying it several times i walk into the shop but I still think $2K is crazy amount to spend on a weekend bag. Maybe I'll use one of my wedding photos taken by my AD photographer to print a Anya Hindmarch bag for me weekend use

My gucci hobo is overused.. looks dirty and i just leave it in the closet. cannot bear to throw away and cannot bear to carry it either. told myself its time to buy a replacement bag. then during the GSS, i stumbled upon this black furla's doc bag and bot it at 40% just under $500 so using that every day now (except when I wear beige/browns lah).

I love diamonds really. It's my fav stone. really feel like getting myself a larger pair of stones but promised my hubby that i will not upgrade (when i bot my earlier set and was super happy with the size THEN) kekekeke.... wish list now includes a bigger stoned tennis bracelet, a nice rolex, a nice gucci bag, a anya hindmarch bag, a pair of prada shoes, a pair of 0.7 diamond studs..... and more kekeke.... aiyah, but i now on a savings mode... nothing is supposed to make me spend money. and so my wish list grows.

pinkblusher

Bags are my weakness... love Prada and Gucci but not LV (guess I have too many Aunties carrying them in the past during my childhood so I've always had the impression that they're meant for ladies in their late-thirties above). Lol

cubby

i love branded bags as well but try not to overspend. Prob pamper myself once or max twice a yr. I've got Gucci, LV, Fendi. Next aim is to get a mini monogram bag cos my fren goin europe.(pray can get abit cheaper than here) hehe..
Although LV got many aunties carrying but their wallets is really lasting. Gucci mostly canvas (dirty fast leh) so my key pouch, coin pouch & wallet all LV (leather good for everyday use)

modern_gal

I love branded bags too...will try to get one around once a yr. currently i own a Gucci, Fendi and Burberrys. Personally, i love gucci e most..think it's very durable and ez to maintain. well....guess most gals r crazy abt branded handbags...it's juz our nature..

catmews

Like all women out there, I'm no exception. I love branded bags too especially Chanel. I owned at least 14 and had sold quite a few over the years as the design outgrown on me somehow, while some were bought on impulse. Hence if anyone is interested, I intend to sell one of my bags.

hippie

me too! my current collection consists of

- LV (Bags & Wallet)
- Gucci (Bags)
- Coach (Bags, wristlets, pouch, belts, keychain)
- Prada (bags, pouches)
- Longchamp (bag)

Next on the list is Burberry or Dior...

Hi ladies, I am interested in purchasing a branded bag - more of a reward to myself - and the husband has given the green light. Can I find out what the prices are like? I am interested in LV, Prada and Gucci .. but need to find out the prices before making my decision. Any advice?

lipstar

There was a period of time where I was a bit obsessed about designer bags due to influence from a friend. I hankered after Gucci and Christian Dior bags (the pink and white collection). Initially I really like Gucci designs, but later found it to be too ubiquitous(common). Everywhere, in at least every cabin of the MRT, sure can see at least a woman carrying it.

I like to carry bags that are not too common so hubby bought me an Aigner bag and a Gucci wallet. (I still like the design lah
378867.gif
, at least wallet won't need to display all the time.)

After these two, I stopped buying. The itch also died down.

cuclainne, be prepared to fork out at least $1000. Maybe you can browse the websites to see which designs you like.

Gucci
LV
Prada

My malaysian cousin who used to work in the financial sector is a Dior fanatic. She absolutely loves anything to do with the brand and she said it's slightly cheaper getting them here.

None of my friends are brand conscious - they might have a small piece or two but don't feel it's necessary to spend that amount of money or more all the time.

Hmmm... that is pretty steep, lipstar. maybe i should get a small clutch or purse instead .. should be slightly cheaper yah.

bubu

My most expensive bag is under $500. I cant afford to splurge more than that. I certainly like but not crazy over branded bags so if I can find a non-branded bag with quality almost on par with those branded ones somemore not so common then I will surely pick the non-branded one.

oceandeep

i have a speedy burberry bag to sell. Condition: as good as new cos i hardly use it. Bought at $750, intending to sell at $600. anyone interested?

I went to LV to browse today but didn't ask for prices. I don't know why but the whole experience made me feel uncomfortable - especially with over-friendly sales assistants. The husband told me not to be scared, that all they're really seeing are dollar signs.

I saw a nice hobo bag at Fendi and it costs 990 dollars. I also saw a nice pair of shoes at a Valentino window display - the husband insisted we go in and ask. It was $1775. For that amount of money, we could go for a 3D2N romantic getaway at Four Seasons, Langkawi.. hahahaha.

But I am not giving up yet!

hi cuclainne,

my personal recommendation for starters if u looking for a bag... the Fendi Compilations bag... i'm a guy by the way... but after endless hours of shopping with my lady frens, this is one of the 'must-have' tat i feel every lady shuld have. problem is... there's just so many colours in the past few years... anyway, i bought one for my wife cos i just needed to get one!

understand u might have a chance overseas more than most other gals, so try to get it from the US.

check this link http://www.eu.forzieri.com/usa/product_view.asp?l=usa&c=gbr&pf_id=fd13296-003&id_valore1=&id_valore2=&id_valore3=&id_valore4=&id_valore5=&dept_id=18&source=oauk&listid=1x

hi powder

thanks for the recommendation, it sure looks nice.

i read somewhere a while ago that airport staff at some european capitals are trained to spot fakes and if you are caught with one, that you will be fined up to 7 times the price of the original article but the husband said it's just a myth. ???

I suppose I could hold back on making that purchase till I get to Europe or send the husband to make the purchase for me (though I don't trust his taste .. hahahah) - heard it's cheaper there. Sigh ... I want my bag now!

oh it's True... it was in the news just a month back. think it's in Paris or some european country...

lipstar

cuclainne: It is true. I read it in the papers too. And there was a funny quote by David Gan in the papers pertaining to this issue too.

hippie

its true culcainne, it was in the Straits Times & Channel news asia... So better dun bring any fakes into Europe.

And my personal recommendation 4 u, get a LV (Epi leather or suhali range). I find these more classic & durable.. Its cheaper in Paris, if u r gog there..

some examples:

http://www.eluxury.com/browse/product_detail.jhtml?styleid=10506793&SectionID=6000

http://www.eluxury.com/browse/product_detail.jhtml?styleid=10846317&SectionID=6000

http://www.eluxury.com/browse/product_detail.jhtml?styleid=10333132&SectionID=6000

http://www.eluxury.com/browse/product_detail.jhtml?styleid=11157388&SectionID=6000

The husband brushed it off as a myth - he said it's only if you were to bring fakes to sell in the country, not if you are carrying it on your arm.

Yeah, looking for those classic styles - nothing too fancy, just keeping it simple.

cuclainne,
It's true, and only recently did the news reported that custom officers are trained to spot check fakes. However, this type of monitoring did not start only recently in Europe, and they have been quite strict about fakes. I'm not sure what is the penalty if you're caught. But I've heard a funny thing, which is that if you shop along roadside stalls, sometimes you can buy fakes there.

Ok, found out that the LV bag I want costs about $1350. Hmmm ... so difficult to justify paying that amount even though I really, really want it .. didn't know that Dior and Gucci are cheaper. Maybe I should just settle for a purse/ wallet.

hi BB Queen, the bag I saw at Gucci costs $990 - the same as the Fendi bag - and the one at Christian Dior costs $660. I don't think I can get these prices at LV yah ..

bb_queen

Lv has bags less than 1k too, eg speedy. Not too sure about Fendi and Dior. Gucci has bags that is worth a few k, just that they are not displayed. Only the VVIPs will know or get to see.

linasoh

Splurge all you can gals, what I personally find is to get something that is lasting.

Just stained my Gucci pink suede wallet. ARGH. Will never touch anything suede again, even if it is $100. I have the bag also, probably will only use that sparingly.

venusian

I love the bags from Coach, LV and the recent Prada series...the lastest Prada is so cool. I always find Prada's design a bit "old" but the new ruffled one is so cool. But i'll never afford to buy one...Cos if i buy one, i'll be tempted to buy another one...

I agree with Lina, find something with looks that is lasting...like those classic ones.

dabee

not only in euro in US too, if custom will spot u with fakes n fine u n confiscate. they are fighting with all non-athuentic goods.

ccc

actually pay all these cost is to pay their sales staff salary, CPF, shop rentals..pretty pointless, I am so in love with an LV bag but when i think of forking $2k for it, I might well spend on other things more justifiable..

Only the shop owners will be laffing their ways to the banks.

pigdapan

Hi gals...me too..think the only bag i carry is Coach..coz at least not that EX...also cheaper and much trendier...though is really common these days! but still like the design alot though...
my friend previously was selling Coach bag through online aution..these days she will take orders from her regular customers and order from US and ship to Singapore...Its much much cheaper...if you all interested let me know or PM me...can intro you all...

shuimeixie

I used to like Gucci stuff, but so many imitation spoil the image. Now I hate it whenever I see ppl trying to determine whether my Gucci is fake or not.

sweet_candice

I like branded bags too but will limit myself to 1 branded bag (max 1.5k) a year. Actually you think about it, I find that it is quite ok if I stopped buying normal bags for the entire year.

dreamster

Does anyone who works in LV, can tell me how to see the authenticity of the bag. I have a monogram canvas neverfull. It was bought by a fren from overseas, some where in asia. So Im not sure if it is real or not. Anyone?