Bishan Area

lee

hi seraphim1970

will u be coming back for good or??? how's life in ny? gathering is a good idea... keep in touch...

maybe we should arrange a gathering anytime or when seraphim1970 is back in august..

seraphim1970

Hi Jo, wah! maybe we see each other before leh, actually I used to work at the eClub@Bishan North at Blk 233 Bishan St 22, have you ever been there? Now of course I not there liao cos I just joined my ah lau in New York.

Hey Lee, I won't be going back for good, just for a visit and check on my family. NYC is ok lah, just need to adapt myself, so far so good, I been here coming one month liao.

hazel79

Can i join in?
I am also a bishan resident, am staying with my ILs. I am at bishan street 24, facing the small bishan park.

seraphim1970

Hey Hazel79, welcome to the Bishan thread, I just got in myself and am very happy to see so many residents of Bishan in here especially Bishan North like you and me!

mimosa

Yo! Seems like most of you stay at St 20 something. Anyone stays nearer to Junction 8 like St.12 and St.13 besides pinkapple?

I'm new to Bishan, have not moved in yet coz not yet customary but house is ready. Is there a wet market somewhere at St.13 or St.12?

lee

hi mimosa

i'm staying near u & pinkapple ... blk 196 (st.13)

hey pinkapple
so how long hv u been staying in bishan... i here 1yr 2mths liao.

lee

bothsidesalsocan

Actually.... I'm both... ha... still staying with my parents in St 23 but will move over to St 12 once my customary is over end Sept....

aprilbride

me also staying at bishan st 22, bought the place in july last year but just shifted in 2 weeks ago. The place is just so convenient, everything you need is just downstairs.

aprilbride

jo

DK, I send you email liao how come you no reply leh.

Suddenly I got so many neighbours, feel so happy.

Anyone want to drink coffee?

mimosa

Hi Lee,

I stay at blk 167. My house was completed in January and I only stayed there once over the weekend. The rest of the times, I just go there to do housekeeping. I won't be moving in until after my customary in June next year.

So lee, u staying with in-laws or having a little family of your own? My in-laws are staying near you.

lee

hi mimosa

Wow, june next yr...that's long though. still 1 more yr to go. we'r staying on our own.. my in laws staying in the east. bought bishan cos hse newer compared 2 amk(used 2 stay in amk)..

bishan is as convenient as amk.. nice place to stay.

so u bk yr htl, gowns etc liao? i just customary 2wks ago.. if u need help contact me at [email protected]

mimosa

Not yet!!! Me busy going for bridal shows recently and every weekend is spent attending all these and meeting the banquet managers. Shortlisted 4 but now narrowed to 2 already. Headache..... which bridal boutique is good huh? I quite like Blush Blush as I spotted some nice gowns there, and the designer also very friendly and warm.

I agree with you, Bishan is a good place to stay. There are many good schools, my alma mater, St Nicks is just nearby in AMK, so may enrol my daughter there in future if I have one. We bought hse in Nov 2001, so in fact, I'm a Bishan resident in name since then, but only stayed once since 2001. =P Me going to my house on Friday to brush up on my culinary skills to better prepare for marriage life later on, heehee. But I'm buying the raw ingredients from my old house. I still have not been to the market in Bishan. There is one at blk 150+ right? never been there, also dunno which stall sells the freshest food. Any good recommendations?

lee

hi mimosa

my gown was fm kai & he has a bridal show @ beaufort on friday... why dont u call(tel:6533 2383) & chk with kai or kat. kai's gown is simple & cutting is really good cos he cuts gown himself... not many designer does that though.

sorry unable to adv, i've not been to that market(usually dont wake up so early)...

lee

cinder

Hi pinkapple lee and mimosa,

i also stay at bishan st 12...mine is in blk 127...yar i dont midn having a gathering..its so fun knowing all of you.

Shall we email one naother?

my reno is still undergoing. it cost me 42k without the toilet accessories like bowl, sink, mirror, hoods n hobs...

so happy to know all of u

perhaps we also can meet those from ST 22 one...hehehhe

mimosa

Sigh...mimosa vexed over the banquet and bridal. I know Kai has bridal show at Beaufort but mimosa not going. Tomorrow going to my house to do housekeeping and to do a bit of gardening. Want to re-plant my plants in soil. Then going to cook dinner.

Very fan2 over all these wedding preparation. Fortunately my reno is done, otherwise i would be really stressed out. But after the banquet is settled, think got to start to design my bed and dining table already. Arrgghhhh!!! How did u girls manage last time?

Cinder, yeah yeah...somehow i feel that bishan reno more ex leh. me also spent a bomb on reno and haven't finished buying all the things yet!! Have u got the bowl, sink etc?? Aiyah...mirror can just ask your ID to give u FOC , should be no prob. Isn't that part of the package? Mirror usually provided, but the frame that u going to set into the wall isn't. I recommend this shop at PS I think it's 3rd or 4th floor which sells very classic and exquisite tiles. I got the tiles from there to frame up my mirror. All imported from Italy or Spain I think, and really very exquisite, hand-painted somemore. but a bit ex lor, one small long strip of tile of 30cm cost $70+. We managed to ask our ID to pay partially as part of the package. heehee.

lee

hi jo & every1

so when r u all free to meet? let's arrange 1 gathering...

hi mimosa
hv a nice day at yr love nest!!

lee

mimosa

Hello me back!

This morning went to explore at Blk 150+. Visited the wet market to see what's available there. Realised that there are many coffeeshops around the neighbourhood at 150+. Quite a number of shops too. Not bad, so next time can go there to buy groceries. Although the wet market isn't too big, but it has quite a variety of stalls selling different food.

Lee,

Yesterday quite a heavy downpour. Bought food from my mum's place to cook then when I reached my house, I realised that I forgot to bring the vegetable and it was pouring outside. In the end, got to ask my Dad to send the veg over. Had a good time cooking a simple meal for 2 but the day didn't end too well. Hubby slipped and fell while running to close all windows when it poured again after dinner. Think in future won't open the windows in all the rooms. The floor in the rooms are laid with parquet. That's why we got so kan cheong when it rained. Do u usually open all the windows?

lee

hi mimosa

so how's yr hubby now? is it serious?

i went to explore blk 150+ before (not morning though) but found food at coffeshop not so nice..

i always open my living room & kitchen windows. room only sometimes cos my master room near carpark & i staying 2nd fl so a little noisy & gets dirty easily.

i think u like cooking, right? me too, maybe next time can exchange recipe..

gd nite

cinder

hi mimosa,

i am also now on teh process of planning my wedding in June cum reno...all at one go

so super siong for me n hubby..esp the financial part lor...for mine, only the master bedroom mirror n vanity top is included inside lor...the other bathroom accessories we need to buy oureslves
btw, is ur hubby ok? how come he slipped?

Lee: if u wish to organise a gathering, do call me n pinkable along...:p
wow next time we can exchange receipe cum cooking skills

mimosa

Thanks Cinder and Lee.

He's better now. Pain all over lor, and resting at home. He slipped coz my living room floor is very slippery when wet, and he's mopping the floor at that time.

Cinder, the bathroom accessories not included, so the mirror also not included ah? Ours is set into the wall, so they have to provide us with the mirror, but if yours is the modular type, then usually contractors dun provide. Think there are always bathroom accessories sales going on, but do try to be careful of the material. The chrome ones do not last very long. Stainless steel is heavier but durable.

Wow, I think I must learn from all the big chefs like Lee and Cinder here. I'm not good at cooking, and so got to start learning from now on lor. When I cooked on Friday, I keep calling mu Mum, to ask for tips and advice. See, that is how bad my skill is. I do have quite a fair bit of recipes though.

lee

hi mimosa

pain all over, u mean bruises or what??? hp he get well soon...

mimosa, keen to meet us? which part of spore r u in now?

hi cinder, pinkapple & jo
when all of u r free? i ok anytime. i worried that cinder is not free cos wedding in june... cinder, do u go & supervise the contractor? u need to do so leh cos many contractors cant be trusted. let me know if u need help cos my time is flexible.

my email is [email protected], my com has some problem can receive & read but unable to reply so... anyway, will try to contact all of u by other means.

look 4ward to meeting all of u. hv a nice sunday all my friends!

mimosa

Hi Lee, Cinder and Pinkapple,

Yeah, would like to meet but not in the next 2 months. Me busy with work. I forsee lots of OT from tomorrow onwards. Boss announced during meeting last week that nobody can take leave from now till early June, sigh..... Actually wanted to go Malaysia to visit my Grandfather during the Vesak day holidays but don't think can do so. I would love to meet you girls but maybe later not in the near future. I also want to meet you all to ask for advice on wedding preparations and marriage life. By the way, how old are you girls huh? I'm 25 and have been ROM for 1.5 yr already.

freesia

So nice to find out that so many of you are staying in Bishan. My wedding is in June, so busy preparing for wedding now, shifting there in June.

Sounds fun to organize gathering & exchange recipe cum cooking skills (pai seh, but still not much at th emoment cos' no time :p).

Haha..age sensitive lah, so be more subtle...me born in '76 & ROM for 2 yrs :p !!

jo

No need sensitive lah, me 28yrs old, ROM 4yrs, customary 2yrs, my baby 5months.

You all really spend a lot on decor. Me only do simple simple reno and total workout to $21K including changing the 2 bedroom door locations from point A to point B.

cinder

Hi freesia,

me same as u..wedding in June n also shifting in June. Which date? perhaps we same date too...

Lee: i did supervise. my designer quite good lor...he say if we not satisfied sure will redo...hehheh
hope to meet u with u all too

shall we all exchange our email then?
perhaps send to lee? our organiser? heheheh

lee

like wat i mentioned earlier, my com can recieve & read email but unable to reply... i'm ok anytime, may i know u all prefer wkday after work or weekend. those who are keen to meet, pls email me yr prefered date & time so tat we can fix a date convenient to all. as for venue, bishan dome ok?

awaiting for all yr reply my friends.

lee

dk

Jo,
Sori tat i've not replied cos been busy...Wat a coincidence! I'm also 28 this year & ROM 4years ago in 1999...but my customary is in Nov this year. Jus went for my 1st appointment for bridal o Sat.

I dun C your email? Did U send it to [email protected]?

Your baby 5mths? Should be fun! Boy or Girl?

arashi

interesting thread.
been staying in bishan for the past 4 years.
same block as mimosa. saw some new young couples moving in these days.. mimosa is your unit the one with the water fountain right at the genkan ? if so then we really are close neighbours..

as to the cost of renovating bishan flat..
i think everywhere its more or less the same. resale flats cost more to renovate because one has to hack down the tiles and stuffs, that adds additional 2-3k. Likely after 10~12 years we would want to change the wiring, change the window/grills, toilets, cabinets, etc.etc.. Once all these are added in its just going to be expensive!

I managed to redo my whole house for around 22k less the main flooring (marble for living room + 3 bedrooms) and all furnitures. Appliances/lighting and air con also seperate.

As to why pay more for bishan. Imagine a place where u can effective leave home at 7.45am (by car) and reach city without paying CBD. Or when you party till past midnight and taxi fare back home is less than $10.. that's convenience.

cheers and shall talk again.

cinder

Hi Freesia,

mine is 22 June...hehhehe which blk are u staying?

Arashi: wow urs seems quite reasonable leh...which blk r u staying too?
totally agree with u y me n hubby wan to stay at bishan too..so convenient to go anyway n fast...heheh

jo

Lee, my email is [email protected]

Arashi, agreed leh. Bishan really good. I can send my gal to Bt Merah and still managed to come to work on time without having to wake up at 5plus.

DK, baby girl. Very cutie. We same same ah. Hopefully all the ppl here will have some babies making session and join the mama club. We can have a mama club at Bishan.....

mimosa

Hi Arashi,

Where do u stay? same block as me ah? Yeah, my house is the one with a water fountain facing the main door. The entrance balcony ceiling, got trellis hanging and a lamp. Mine is a corner unit on 7th floor. What is genkan? I just moved in in Feb. How come u know I got fountain huh? U also same floor as me ah? I dun see young couples at my block leh. or issit usually I on the speakers and shut door so dun meet neighbours. Neighbours here quite sensitive abt the noise level, so we got to be very cautious and would usually close the door if we on the home theatre. We ever had neighbours come up to our door to complain abt the noise generated during reno in the day on a weekday! Err...are u one of them? heehee, just kidding.

arashi

Mimosa,

Just showed my wife this whole thread and she was laughing.. singapore is just so small..

me at the same cluster of your floor at the other corner... not sure who went to complain about sound from your unit but I definitely can't hear anything with the uncle upstairs singing kok every sunday whole day!

saw your 'unit' being renovated and probably either your father or father in law when he was here helping to jagar.

then was speculating that you will prob shift in for the CNY because the workers were rushing year end.. 8-P

well, pop over one of these days and say hi. we dun bite.

cinder

Hi Arashi n mimosa,

u two so conincidental..
thats good
next time u all can go over each otehr hse for dinner :p

save cost n effort

mimosa

Yo Arashi!

yeah lor...so coincidental. =) When I told my hubby that you are just staying nearby, he immediately guessed that it's that neighbour at the other end. Somehow he knows that it's you lor, coz there's not too many young couples in our block. Our house was completed just 1 week before the CNY, and we had an "official" house moving that day. Hubby says that he ever seen u both before leh, but i've not. The one who was here to help jagar is my father-in-law. He is just staying at 180+ so came here to supervise the workers every day during the renovation. By the way, u got any kids? Coz I think I saw a couple with a boy walked to the other end of the corridor before, was it you? Hmmm.....

We have not had our customary so are not staying there for the time being. Last time he went there every day to water plants and feed fish, but now bought auto-feeder so no need to go every day. So you seldom see us around. Actually me still blur how many units are there on our floor. Hubby says it's different from the 8th floor layout. U know whether Bishan would have upgrading or not huh? I wish the lift can stop at every floor. Always have to alight at 8th floor then go one big round to go down 2 flights of stairs before reaching my unit. It's a bit quiet there at night, so when I walked that long corridor at night, always feel insecure. If I work late, think got to ask hubby to fetch.

lee

hi mimosa

good news for u... blk 192 to 197 will be upgraded very soon... think they've started work liao... i'm staying at 196 & was asked to vote for upgrading in jan 03. 75% agreed to upgrade so lift will stop at every floor in 1 yr time (if i remember correctly).

i guess town council will send residents some feedback form on how to improve yr neighbourhood.. maybe u can suggest that cos i did that.

4 yr info, if u r staying in 5rm, u need to pay about $1.2k.. 4rm slightly lesser.

lee

mimosa

Thanks Lee!

He's much better now. When he fell, he suffered a cut between his toes. The wound is healing quickly. Hee, I'm actually a certified First Aider, but when the accident happened, found that we have not got a 1st aid box at home. Think should get one asap for little accidents like this.

I'm staying at a 5rm, so that means i got to pay 1.2K for the lift? wah...that's a lot just for a lift. But never mind, we get to enjoy the convenience after that. I am happy as long as the upgrading dun touch my house, otherwise my new reno would all be gone in no time. Lee, yours is a 5rm or 4rm? Then they only upgrade the outside right? interim upgrading, so won't involve the interior of the house issit?

arashi

mimosa,

there are 4 units at our cluster, me, yours, one taiwanese family (3 kids) and your neighbour (indian?).

our block is the olden days one where the lift floors will be the thru floor, and other floors are small little clusters like ours.

so actually, the chances of them upgrading our blocks to have lift stopping at every story is very slim. the corridor at the 8th floor actually passes exactly above my room/balcony. Even if they install lift at all the floors, unless they put it at every staircase, if not it would not benefit us. most of those every-storey lifts are for point blocks (e.g. 19x).

while agreeing with you that it is rather quiet at times, I think this is part of trading off. I personally wouldn't like to have very 'crowdy' and 'noisy' living environment. I think the current level is fine for me. But wife cannot come home too late that is!

And even if they upgrade we won't get an extra room, dun worry!! hehee

lee

hi mimosa

ya, u should get yr 1st aid box asap.

mine is a 5rm. u can opt to pay 1.2k by cpf. actually 1.2k is subsidised rate(70%) leh, i think yr blk layout should be same as ours... ya, only interim & lift upgrading so will not affect yr reno, dont worry. btw, our blk was repainted 1yr ago, how abt yrs?

hi arashi

that's what i thought.. impossible for lift upgrading but it came true. our blk layout should be same as yrs.. our level has only 4 families(2corners r 5rm & 2corridors r 4rm) but as there're 3 diff staircase so think there're 12 families in total for our level. i think it's through fl on lift level. is yr blk like this?

heard that they're going to build an add'l shaft for lift... but lift upgrading is base on votes, need at least 70% of those families not on lift level to vote.

hv a nice wkend!!

mimosa

Harlow Lee,

Yeah yeah, our block is the same as what u described. Additional shaft for lift? then just 1 lift would be able to serve 12 families on the non-through floors? Hmmmm....I wonder where the lift would be added. Think it should be on the exterior of the block, that means on the opposite side of the corridor, not the same side as the old lifts. I hope govt would extend the upgrading to us. =)

Arashi,

how come dun see your wife participating in this thread huh? At first I thot u are a lady, oops, sorry. Our cluster very cosmopolitan yeah? We have got singaporean chinese, singapore indians, and taiwanese. I guess the kids and the lady whom I saw last time are the taiwanese. Thot that's your wife. Got mistaken. So nvr seen u 2 before. Do u all work late? We work late nights quite regularly. I'm in the pharmaceutical line, and my hubby in the IT line, and we both got busy schedules, so weekdays we seldom go to our new house. Perhaps this evening after shopping, may go back to do housekeeping.

Aiyoh...housekeeping is killing us, errhh, anyone here gets a part-time maid? Can share your experiences?

arashi

lee >
ic. that's interesting. :cool: lets see how it turns out then decide whether to have it in our block or not. ehehe..

mimosa >
my wife sometiems will read but no time to post yet. Me an engineer and she does HR work. Ya the lady with kids is teh taiwanese lady at times her hubby will come to sg as well.
We dun work that late but usually when we come back its not early!

mimosa

Arashi and wife,

We went back last night at 9 plus, and went over to your place wanted to say hi, but your door wasn't open. I think u all haven't come back yet. By the time I left the place, it was around 11pm, and I think u all slept already, not very nice to impose on others at such a late hour right?

It's the first time I went over to the other side of the corridor. From the appearance of your door grilles, think your house concept is modern one issit? I think it should be of a contemporary touch, chic and modern. Do drop by when u catch our door open. =)

Lee,

How's the gathering planning so far? Was it over? Hmm, I wish I could join u gals, but i'm really too busy. Did Jo bring her baby girl along? Hmm, I can imagine u gals having coffee at Dome, and exchanging experiences as a new home owner. Errr, or am I the only one who's new to Bishan huh? Do keep me posted on the latest gathering and if there's pics, show me leh!

lee

hi mimosa

we've yet to meet cos freesia is busy... will plan one gathering after 08may. hp u'r free to join then.

lee

arashi

Just popped over to mimosa's new home while she is not around..

Tell u ppl, shld really go and see.. impressive!
Not going to tell more let u all get to know her better then go her house to see!

Mimosa > thank your hubby for hosting us. Eye opener! hehee...