Birthday Surprise for Hubby

cua

Hi Carlene,

Thanks for your info.
Yes, i booked the hotel online and so far i managed to secure one and booked using my Debit Card.

cua

Hi Guys,

Sorry, i have one more question.

Do you know how much roughly i should set for the dining cost of 2 persons for a 4D3N trip in Hong Kong? I refer to those meals at street market to small restaurant in the shopping centre. I now set at $30/ meal / person. Would that be enough?

Many thanks in advance

bobochacha

Hi Ce, ur $30 is based on 3 meals daily??

cha chan ting food range is abt HKD15 for a milk tea to 30 for a chicken rice..if i am nt wrong ah..

then when walking along..u might grab some small foods frm markets..their milk tea ard HKD12..

very hard to set the budget for food eh..keke

cua

hi Chris,

Thanks for your info.

Sorry, forgot to mention that my estimation is SGD30 (HKD160) per meal per person, I think should be enough liao hor.

cua

Hi Chris,

Sorry, i think i should make it clearer.

My budget is SGD 30 per meal per person, that is SGD 90 per person per day (3 meals).

bobochacha

Hi Ce..i think $30 pax is enough for a meal in those st markets or cha chan ting..

for small restaurants..i'm not sure abt its range eh..hehe

but i tried their KFC..super nice!!! they got grilled chicken and yummy portugese egg tarts..

i tried the egg tarts in the KFC here..failed!! hahaha...

anneanne

hi carlene, that's really a sweet surprise for your hubby. Hope everything will go smoothly for you!

currently I am staying in hk and I muz say 30sgd per meal per pax is more than enough...

my hubby love shopping in mongkok because there r alot of malls selling electronic stuff... games and gadgets. if ur hubby is into those too, i am sure he will be very happy there. for you, mongkok center will be a great shopping for girls.
Can try the Fa Yuen Street shopping in Prince Edward. It's similar and better than ladies market.

as for sight-seeing, i realise most locals here prefer ocean park to disney. for me they r about the same. Tickets are too expensive to go often too.

And regarding speaking in chinese... actually it's the wrong concept... most hkger dislike ppl from china... try to speak cantonese if not english. but then again, i am sure they can tell from our chinese that we r not from china.

HTH! Enjoy your upcoming trip! x

flyingstar

hahaha...the HK ppl thought i was china chinese until i told her i'm singaporean.

so usually i will speak english to the people there. on one hand they welcome the china chinese, because they are really big spenders, on the other hand they don't welcome them because they can be quite loud sometimes. but either way, there's no issue because they do understand english although they have difficulty speaking it.

precious_11

Hi Carlene,

I think its so sweet of you to plan such a surprise for your hubby..

Anyway, just want to caution you abt changing money in HK... where possible, do all your changing in SG coz the rates in HK are very very lousy...at least it was in my case... when i was checking out the rates at ard causeway bay area...

So if you intend to shop and shop.. change more in Sg first..

Instead of changing currency in HK, if short of cash, use credit card as much as possible and do one-time withdrawal from ATM. It will be current bank rate with a $5 surcharge per transaction.

anneanne

AND if you're shopping for branded items.. please bring passport along bcoz they might have discount for tourist. For example for Balenciaga, they have 10%
HTH! xx

carlene

wah... big thanks to all e helpful ideas/suggestions/advice!

i feel like im all prepared to concur e world!
haha j/k
but really, thks to all e helpful pple here, im much better equipped w e knowledge of where to go and wat to eat =)

anyway...i feel like sept is still so far
struggling to keep mum LOL cos everythin i feel like bursting w e news haha damn torturous...

cua

hi Carlene,

Sorry to "hijack" your thread as i posted some questions here regarding the trip to HK.

Btw, yours is F&E or group tour?

I am going to HK next month, with my hubby, for the very first time also, hehe.

carlene

no prob

mine is F&E cos i feel HK no need group as my colleagues all advise me HK very convenient to go anywhere and tour is too confined & limited

cutebride

Carlene,

Last dec i made the same surprise for my hubby, but to Bali; my hubby bday also only diff few days with our anniversary; mine more diff since i have to bring my doter as well, so i told him i need to go back my hometown to visit relative with my doter; i manage to conviced him to follow me with cab coz i dont want him tired and sleepy for driving so early =) mine wasnt tht early act, 8am flight

When we're reach hotel, the staff already arrange small bday cake and they even arrange "happy bday" from rose petals on our bed; the funny part is that the hotel staff also fill the bath tub with flower petals, our doter thrill to see it and asking me to let her play in the bath tub, soon the bath tub full of her toys as well.

Enjoy your trip!!!

cutebride

Carlene,

sure your hubby will like it! at first i also worry if man doesnt like this kind of stuff, but knowing him not easily get irritated, i went on my plan. He was surprised when i show him the ticket to bali in the airport, at first he worry bout job and all, but i told him everything sorted out (we based oversea, so i dont have to re apply for reservice thingy). He made some phone call and voila, done.

Luckily i'm the one who always packing his stuff whenever we go for holidays, so none of his things will left behind =)

Hopefully you enjoy your trip! its much easier without 3 yrs old toddler tag along! =)

carlene

alamakz!! juz recd a call from Hubby say he wanna go book HK trip cos jetstar having promo! *faintz*!

i already havin much difficulty tryin to keep it a secret but it seems like he is throwing "obstacles" my way each time... grrr...

juz e other day, he casually told me he likes this oakley sunglasses which his frenz able to buy v cheaply, as his bdae present... faintz! i haf to feign ignorance and say "aiya no money to celebrate bdae for u this yr la... buy cake can liaoz" =( he look so disappointed i felt so guilty...BUT

i already spent 1.2k for e HK trip and now trying to save another 2k for our expenses there... Grrr....

now he throw me e qn of wanting to go hk for e Jetstar promo! AAArrrggghhh

How should i deter him?? wat excuses to use??

Jetstar is the budget airline? seats too small, uncomfy? no drinks? no food? torturing 4hrs flight?

woah i wrote all these, later Jetstar track my IP and put me on blacklist.. =D

carlene

milo: ya lor!! din expect this man...he was working when he called so i call his colleagues to help me bluff him HK now season not good, plus accomodation min sgd1k/nite ... LOL! he called me again after tt and told me his colleagues adv him not to go hk cos very ex!! LOL yea!!

coco: i laughed damn loud at ur post hahahaha...ya better dun let jetstar see.... whahahahahhahaha =p

actually u can pretend to be busy and tell him your boss have instructed your team not to go on long leave for the next few months because of expected up-side in your biz volume.

carlene

hihi sorry if i'm a bit lor soh here, but any1 been to hk but went zhu hai also??
my auntie said die die muz go macau, den zhu hai... she say 5 days in hk too boring n everythin ex...

i tried googling it but i'm still scared cos 1st time and i prefer to understand e place first....

i noe i have to take ferry from HK to MaCAu... den my aunt say zhu hai is just opp macau... she said ANY hotel shuttle bus will take me there, is this true?? any other mode of transport??

i wont be staying at Macau cos i already bk 4 hotel nites at HK (regret!)... liddat can still take Macau free hotel shuttle??

Thanks in advance for e suggestions

octo

Hi Carlene,

For us, we went HK for 7days and out of which, spent 1 day at macau (morning take ferry there and back to hk in the evening). And we still feel not enough time in HK. Hee..

I think you might want to plan on the daily itinerary on the places to go on Day1, Day 2 etc.. then you will get a feel of whether you got enough time to go around.

If first time in HK. I think 4 or 5 days is OK. Why bother travel all the way to Zhu hai.. Not as if Zhu hai is very special. But yes, if you are in Macau, Zhu Hai is just opposite.. but why go Macau unless you are interested in the casino and the night life.

Hong Kong should be more interesting. However, if you want to shop for fake or cheaper goods, Shen Zhen is good. But it is also more dangerous than Hong Hong.