Bintan

greenie

oh wow, seems like its not cheap to go bintan for a getaway... was planning to go there for a small honeymoon after wedding. coz can predict not much $$$ left for a nice holiday. i've shortlisted bintan, but seems to b rather exp as well. anyone can share how much to pay for per pax on a 3D2N trip? thks.

mngo

starz, it depends on which resort, and if it is peak period or not. sometimes when there is promotion, then u pay quite little. i ever paid $129 per pax at nirwana for a 3 days 2 nights.

greenie

wah mngo, ur deal sounds quite nice.

i am intending to go off peak period, during wkdays in Jan. so hopefully it wun cost more than $200/pax. i wan to go korea but its very cold during tt period, so thot of going when its nearing spring. so in the meantime, wan to go Bintan for a getaway. is Nirwana nice? Read the postings and found tt though Banyan Tree is nice, its very exp...

camy

Can anyone share how is your experience staying in Nirwana as well as the Spa there? Any water sport activities to recommend?

jingsg38

Anyone been to Club Med Ria Bintan? Pls share your experience. Cos cannot decide where to stay for 3D2N in bintan. Mayang Sari or Club Med Ria Bintan? Thanks!

vine

hello
can anyone tell me if we book nirwana hotel on their website, where do we buy the ferry ticket from? do we need to book the tix in advance?
oso how can i book the spa? can i wait until i reach nirwana checking in that time den book the spa?

whiteveil

Hi Vineyard,

think if u book the nirwana hotel directly, it will be v much cheaper than tour agency. U can book the ferry ticket frm the tanah merah ferry terminal website, cant remember the exact link so maybe u can try searching it? As for spa, u can book in advance from their asmara website www.asmaraspas.com. their spa treatment r always fully book so its better if u book before u reach there. btw, if u dun wan to book online, u can always go to their office at Tg pagar to book, address available at their website

luvlygal

Hi Minty,
I will be going to Bintan this weekend and will stay at Nirwana 2 days 1 nite.
This package is $368 nett for 2 person, including creme bath & body massage for 2.
Very good deal.
You can do the booking thru [email protected], promotion from April till end of Jul....but payment must made by DBS debit or credit card

coolgirl76

hi shellfish
If u staying at Nirawana or bintan lagoon resort they have shuttle service to the Kelong.... Just go to the information counter to ask for the timing. If yr resrt no shuttle service, u can call cab by askin the recept counter...

coolgirl76

Hi shellfish
went there a few times, I didnt make any reservation ..... If u want u can ask the recept to help u to call.

There is another seafood rest which is cheaper (more for local) The food there is also nice but this rest u must take a cab....

shellfish

Hi cooldevil!

where is this cheaper seafood restaurant?
it is more worth it to pay cab to go to this restaurant or to go to the one with shuttle service?

shellfish

I read through already..=)
but the site it mentioned to check out the car rental rate is down..
and i can't find any info on the exact location where i can have kelong seafood besides the kelong seafood restaurant beside nirwana..
i also tot of goin to tanjung pinang..
but like quite far from the resort area..
so was tinking whether is it worth the trip to go there? and i read it'll take a 2 hrs to travel there..
hence posting here to ask for help!!.. =)

coolgirl76

errr...... mi neber been to tanjung pinang ...... I bascially go there to relax nia..... go beach suntan, play seasports, go spa and swimming...got spare time then go pasar oleh oleh, at nite go eat seafood........

coolgirl76

as for the cheaper seafood rest hor....I dun really know where the exact place cos We took cab recommended by the local one...... u can check with yr resort recept.........

kikis

For those that went to Angsana Spa Resort, do you take the cab there or take the transfer that we have to book with the hotel? Apparently, they are charge US$6 pax!

not_firmed

Hihi.. anyone been to Bintan Lagoon before?? can share yr experience there?? like the food, leisure.. which eating place is better n cheaper too..

jiamin_loh

Thinking of going for a short trip to Bintan during April'06 with hubby...
Just wanna find out what are the currency they are using (Rupiah/S$/US$)??? Anyway, what are the charges for the Spa and massage there???

evelyntay

i had been there once, it a very relax place to go, but i found that spending over there is all very ex. the food over there cost around the same as singapore hotel price, just cant accept, it at indonesia. each of us easily spend $15 to $20 for a meal with drink.

Hi Samantha
I had just went to Bintan in Dec'05 after my AD.
The currency used is SGD and i stayed in Nirwana gardens.

As for the spa and message in Nirwana is very expensive and the hours is quite short.

Me and HB went to Oleh Oleh to do spa, we done body scrub and full body massage for 3 hours, cost us SGD 75.00
However, the place is not as grand as hotel, rather i call it a "hut" like kampong style.
But the hut is quite comfortable with aircon and drinks supplied.

The meals there is abt the same as Spore, no different.

dottyback

I was there a month ago, during the CNY period...stayed in Bintan Lagoon...they using SGD n things r darn ex..1 glass of coke SGD3.50 a coconut SGD10++ etc etc

if u staying in bintan lagoon, u've got not much of choice but 2 eat in the resort since its by itself so per meal cost easily SGD30+++

spa/massage is as ex as those in SG...we ended up trying the in-house massages..the masseuse come 2 the room abt SGD30 per hour

couldnt play any watersports due 2 the monsoon season, tho not raining..the water current is strong so they dun allow ppl 2 play anyting...april shld b fine..i rem the banana boat ride was SGD45 per 10mins!

jiamin_loh

Really all the things are ex huh??? Frankly speaking, am looking for a budget trip during the april holiday (14/4 - 16/4)...Anyway, hope that me and hubby can really enjoy without thinking so much cos in S'pore is already very stressed up, hope to go there relax...
hee hee

Hi Samantha,
Yup, cos Bintan is too customised to tourist, hence all things are quite expensive there.

Depend on your budget, you want to travel by ferry ? U can opt for desaru - sebana cove.

What's there @ Sebana Cove?

Also looking for a relaxing trip and Bintan is one of them... but seems not so worth it wor...

jiamin_loh

Hi Jenn,

Thanks for the recommendations, I am considering for my next trip somewhere around Jul'06 cos is my ROM - 2nd anniversary...

For those that went to the Asmara Spa can hubby do spa together in the same room?

I'm looking at the Asmara Mandi Lulur...and top of topping up $30++ to do at the pavilion...

How about Angsana Spa?

feifei

Anyone knows whats the name of the new spa that took over the Asmara Spa at Bintan?Called Asmara local office and was told that their branch in Bintan has been taken over by another spa.

pinkbunny

i bought tickets liao. staying at mayang sari 29-31 mar
don't remember how much i paid. but since it's thurs and fri night so SLIGHTLY cheaper. booked my ferry directly. www.brf.com.sg (i think that's the website. you can search for bintan resort ferries)

lovers0206

do u all mean they use SGD in Bintan? then tat's ex man... planning to go for my mini honeymoon after my ROM leh...

pinkdewy

Bintan resorts opened by Singaporean.
That's why mostly in SGD.
You can also pay by Rupiah but SGD easier, no need to change.
BTW, Banyan Tree and Angsana in USD right?

dleo

The reason of using Sin dollars is becasue of the unstable rupiah currency. Sin dollar is very stable so during recession or economy crisis, the hoteliers won't lose money. In fact in Batam also prefer Sin dollars.

melodykitty

anyone stayed in Banyu Biru Villas b4? coz my co. provides this villa for staff to ballot. so wondering if this is as good as the other villas in Bintan.. understand this is a semi-d villa with kitchen facilities. good for family gatherings n pple can cook there. but i dun cook la :p
also, as i dun really enjoy sea sports, what other activities can i do in Bintan? r there many things to buy from Ole Ole or can jus drop the idea of shopping totally??

jaybaokong

anyone got comments on Banyu Biru Villas? me heading there in aug.. any shopping around that area or good food to try?