Bintan

tecfib

Do you all think is safe to go Bintan now? Thinking of going there for a mini honeymoon after ROM in Dec'01.

Anyone just came back from there able to share the situation there now?

Also anybody can recommend which resort to stay? Mayang Sari, Nirwana, Angsana, Banyan Tre etc...... so many choices????????

chamomile

hi tecfib!

will be going bintan angsana for a short honeymoon after my wedding end of this nov. don't really know if its safe to go.....will update u when i come back....that is if nothing happen...:p *touch wood*

candy

Hi gers,

I will be going to Bintan end of Nov too. Going for 4D3N will stay at Banyan. If you check out Banyan website, they actually have a writeup saying that Bintan is safe to go. All I can do is be very safe when enjoying myself there. I don't intend to roam about the island. Its more of a relaxation at rather then sight seeing. So I think it should be fine. :p

tecfib

Hi Chamomile

Plse update me when u are back from ur honeymoon.

Enjoy ur honeymoon!!!

Hi Candy

Wow u going for 4D3N in Banyan Tree. Tat must have cost a bomb? So envious!!!! Keep me updated when u are back. Enjoy ur trip!!

angelia

anyone has any recommendation on :
- nice food to eat
- good value for $$ spa
- great activities
- shopping
- sight-seeing?

me going to stay at Nirwana Resort Hotel for the 1st nite, and Mayang Sari for 2nd nite.

beach bum

Hi Angelia,

Nice food: Mana Mana's Cafe. I love their noodles and chicken wings. But quite expensive also. Noodles is $7 a plate and Chicken Wings is 3pcs for $4.50. Pizzas is about $12 but quite nice.
Pasar Ole Ole, 15mins journey away also serves nice & cheap food. Love their Char Kway Teow ($3) and Chilli Crabs (only $8!!).

Good Value for $ spa: Asmara Spa at Mayang Sari

Activities: Jet Ski, Banana Boat, Water Ski, etc at Mana Mana. But quite pricey too. Mana is located between Nirwana and Mayang Sari.

Shopping: Almost none but can try Pasar Ole Ole. They have a free shuttle from Nirwana to POO at regular intervals.

Sight Seeing: Beach? Elephant?

Accomodation: Prefer Nirwana since both is the same price. Nirwana has a nice pool too. I find Mayang Sari too open but it has a rustic feel so you may like it. Moreover, since both is the same price, Nirwana's room & toilet is nicer so more comfortable. If it was me, I will stay 2 nites in Nirwana. But its up to you, just my opinion.

Note: All the prices there are in SIN$. Bottled drinks and can drinks are rather pricey so might be a good idea to bring your own. Mineral water is :$2.50 at Nirwana and a can of Coke is:$2.

When I go Bintan, I treat it as a chalet getaway so I will bring my own mineral water, can drinks. biscuits, cup noodles, etc. Not that I am stingy but I find such basic things in Bintan too expensive. Or if you find it too troublesome, you can buy them from a Supermarket at Pasar Ole Ole whose prices are comparable the shops in Singapore.

Enjoy your trip!

angelia

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">Beach Bum</FONT>

thanks for the info. we wanted to try 2 resorts at 1 go so if we were to go back a 2nd time, we know whh to choose.

wah, bring own drinks, biscuits, etc... won't ur luggage be very very heavy? guess my hubby won't let me do that!! i'll wanna go &amp; try the chilli crab, kekeke...

so did u try the spa at Asmara? i think they hv a few diff pkg rite? any good pkg to recommend? hv couples pkg or not? u noe the price, roughly?

beach bum

Ya, actually, try 2 resorts at the same time also good. One is hotel style and the other is chalet type.

No lah, luggage not heavy. Just a haversack. I usually bring a bottle of water (u can use the water pot in the hotel room to boil water), a small pkt of biscuits and 2pkts of noodles for supper. Actually, since Pasar Ole Ole has a supermarket now, maybe no need to bring. But up to you lah. I would recommend a bottle of water though.

Ya, the Chili crab is nice and only $8 so quite cheap, rite? Eating at Nirwana and Mayang Sari very expensive and not very nice also.....

As for the Spa, I did nt try cos' hubby is not a Spa type of person. But I think its $50-$100, depending on the package. My fren tried and she said it was good. Worth the $$ that she paid. I think its quite popular.

eunicetan

those who hav been to bintan, may i know where can get the cheapest rates? so far, i found the cheapest for nirwana gardens to be $120 per room per nite (superior, twin sharing) for weekday. is this cheap?

jinette

i have been to bintan ;p

if any of ur frenz or FH has safra card, it's would be better co it's so cheaper n it's a villa somemore ;p

miss t

i think the cheapest is mana mana.. really the basics , gotta friend who just returned from club med bintan, raved nonstop abt it

eunicetan

hi jinette,

i hav safra card but how n where do i go abt bookin it?

halo miss t,

i prefer someplace with better amenities (ie. toilet n bedroom)
a bit sian of roughing out at pulau sibu, pulau perhentian n this coming june, pular redang liao

jinette

;p eunicetan !! that's great !!

http://www.safra.org.sg - check out the rates ;p go in group of 4 very reasonable

the rental service there is also bargainable ;p

the booking office is at safra-bukit merah 2nd level ;p

let mi find out more details for u mi 4got liao ;p

hi eunice

I stayed at Mana Mana b4. It does have attached bath. The rooms come in the form of huts (ie 2 rooms make up 1 hut) Erm, the bathroom is normal lor. Forget abt bath tub etc. It just comes w a shower head, sink n toilet bowl (like ure avg home toilet) It has aircon, tv, double bed etc. THing is the place can be q creepy at nite :p But the resort does have a nice beach. BUt erh, if ure planning on a romantic getaway, and want a nice hotel room, Mana Mana may not suit u. More for the beach bums who just need a cheap place to crash at nite.

andreal_lee

hi Alhana,
thks for letting us know abt the accom. at Mana Mana cos mi and bf had actually wanted to go in may. But u say quite creepy make mi a 2nd thought*S* does that apply to chalets at certain location of the resort or thru' out of it at night time?

Hearya soon!
Andreal.

jinette

eunicetan, watched my bintan clip again n got some feedback from my colleagues who came back;p

here the info ;p

- has 3 rooms (2 single bed , 1 double bed)
- 1 television in the hall n 1 i the master rm
- 1. common bathrm n 1 in the master rm
- a separate dining n living area n a kitchen
- all the cutlery n pots/pans(even rice cooker;p) r provided
- comes with a 4-seater buggy( not allowed on golfcourses: fine$50)
- whole hse aircon, bath shower foam r provided
- the poolside prices are reasonable
- try not to eat at the coffeehse (food not that gd)
- for night makan, ask the driver of the jeep/van to bring u to a kelong(CHEAP n GD!!)
- the town is quite erratic n it takes 2hrs, didn't feel that safe n there was nothing to buy
- preferred the ohleh-ohleh(tourist area) but the prices seemed ok
- the sea is calmer now unlike the time i went ;p
3 of my frenz nearly got drowned
- bintan lagoon is big n the massages were gd (claimed by my boss !!)
- $100 security deposit has to placed in addition to the total room rate. it will be refunded 1 mth after u checked out. u have to fill up a form if u r a civilian , it will be auto-credited into their bank a/c if they r army personnels

that's all i can tink of..;p
if i missed out anything , pls tell mi ;p

miss t

i stayed at mayang sari, its shares facilities with nirwana.. nicer than mana mana, shares beach with mana mana. no tub in bathroom but the rooms are huge! three times the size of rooms in pasir ris chalet

angelia

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">eunicetan</FONT>

if u going to Bintan, better to use SIN$$ over there. dun need to go change rupiah like what we did.

the followings are what i posted at other forum, lazy to type again, so juz copy &amp; paste, then edit a little.....

<FONT COLOR="119911">we tot it'll be more worthwhile to change to rupiah and spend over there, but who knows, the exchange rate is better over there!!!!! *vomit blood* however, do not use credit card cos they'll convert to rupiah, then back to SIN $ at the issuing bank's exchange rate.

we went pasar oleh oleh, via shuttle bus - $2 for return trip) on the afternoon after checking in Nirwana. Basically nothing to see unless u wanna buy tidbits, but recomend that u bring from S'pore. NTUC cheaper. there's only 1 cafe. food pretty ok. we tried the chilli crab as recommended, but would suggest u not try cos it's not those hard shell kind of crab. the shell is pretty soft. if u want good seafood, go to the kelong as recommended... but hor, the price is almost the same as S'pore. as usual, use cash to settle ur bill.

anyway, food at the coffee house within Nirwana is pretty good, and reasonable priced. the waiters/waitress very nice and friendly leh. we went for dinner abt 9pm, then halfway, got 2 couples (4 pax) of angmoh, with (5) kids, came and sat at next table (open air area). they then ask the waiter if they can juz take buffet for 2 persons, and the waiter told them ok, and ask them to take as many as they wan. he even pulled a side-table to let them put their food!! initially we oso wanted to ask, but scared malu, so took a-la-carte. so *bang*

they hv activities within Nirwana, even a karaoke pub. they hv 2 pte rooms. not many pple at the lounge area, so if u dare, can juz sing at the lounge lor. the songs are pretty new. hv japanese, cantonese, english, chinese and korean songs. activity which i regret not trying is archery which is $5 for 15 shots. they oso hv a pool and jazcuzzi at one side of the pool. Mayang Sari will not hv these lor. for Mayang Sari, u'd hv to think "chalet like those at east coast, but BIGGER", for Nirwana, think "hotel"

u can book ur spa pkg over at bintan. for Nirwana and Mayang Sari, it's the Asmara Spa. Nirwana only has 2 massage, De-Stress &amp; Relaxation, no spa pkg. However, u can book to do spa pkg at Mayang Sari at the Asmara Spa counter located at Nirwana Lobby. Juz need to take their internal shuttle bus (FOC) to go over to Mayang Sari to do lor.

for hubby and me, we stayed 1 day at Nirwana &amp; the 2nd day at Mayang Sari. did massage at Nirwana, spa treatment at Mayang Sari. very KS hor!!!

spa treatment (consist of scrub, body massage, floral or herbal bath depending on treatment u took) consists of 2 kind, mandi lulur and tropicla spa aromatherapy, at SIN$89++ each. spa pkg hv a few. u can chk out http://www.nirwanagardens.com/mayang_spa.htm, but they dun hv the spa pkg pricing.

the massage is ok. the spa treatment, we took the mandi lulur treatment. but hor, dunno izzit the 2 of us "jian4 gu tou", we finds the massage too "soft" though we asked for "hard" level.

i wouldn't recommend the spa treatment actually. if take massage and scrub from menu instead of the spa treatment, it'll be 60mins + 30 min. but u take spa treatment, gotta include bathe, and soak in floral / herbal bath, all in all also 90mins, and massage not so much. that's what hubby and i think. anyway, suppose to soak for 15 mins, the 2 of us came out after 5 mins.

i oso hv the list of water sports and pricing. took them back for future reference...

i will definitely be going back for wkend getaway, but shall wait till after my wedding so that i can enjoy the sun, without hving to fear that i won't look nice if i get tanned. oh, the sea is beautiful!!

btw, think Nirwana Resort Hotel hving promo now. 2D1N wkday only 90++, wkend 120++, can check out their website http://www.nirwanagardens.com. if possible, i'd encourage those interested to book via internet cos will be cheaper as it's a per room per nite basis rather than thru agency which is per person basis. the ferry will be $34 per pax, return trip inclusive of seaport tax, additional $11 if departure (either from bintan or SIN) falls on Fri, Sat, Sun, PH or eve of PH.</FONT>

if u need the spa pkg pricing or the water sports pricing, do let me know.... i've got the spa pkg pricings scanned.

4588.gif

eunicetan

halo jinette,

thanks u so much for ur info, very much appreciated

btw, the villa ur tokin abt is nirwana gardens? or bintan lagoon resort? i checked the safra website but never see anything on bintan leh
only saw batam.

r the rates stated in safra website as well??

thanks once again

Hi Andreal,

The whole resort is made up of individual huts. Some are deeper in, some closer to the road. There's this pond right in the middle of the huts and alot of banana trees ard :p We went there for a company function and some colleagues claimed to see/hear funny things. Whether its their imagination I don't know. PErsonally I didn't see or hear anything lah. But the beds/pillows there are too soft...woke up w a back and neck ache! It looks rustic in the daytime though..peaceful and back to nature, unlike having a concrete jungle like the bigger resorts. Depends on what you're looking for. If its a more natural environment, you may like it there.

eunicetan

halo angelia,

greatly appreciate ur invaluable feedback. will certainly come in very handy later
if u dun mind, could u email me the spa n watersports package list at my email: [email protected]

thanks a lot!

eunicetan

halo jinette,

thanks for the links. ive visited the safra link n it's really value for money!
shall start askin around see who wans to go

coralfairy

Jz wanna offer an advice, if you intend to go to the beach and you're 'insects-prone', it'll be a gd idea to bring along insects repellent coz a lot of sand flies on the beach.

angelia

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">eunise</FONT>

the file is too big for me to upload here. i'll try and see what i can do...

andreal_lee

Hi Alhana,
ops!...got banana trees ah!!hehe okie tink not my choice now, feel eerie even in a big grp. i will lok into Nirwana or the others.
Thks for great info*S*

angelia

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">Corrie</FONT>
so sorry, i kept forgetting to bring the sea-sport pkg list... will try to remember on Thursday...

mindy

i am planing for a spa trip to Bintan next wk
but can anyone advice me which resort- Banyan or Nirwana?
Nirwana itself hv diff resort issit?

and also how do we book the package? thru local agency or thru resort's webbie?

sunnyday

hi mindy, i have been to nirwana gardens b4. i stayed at the villa which can accomodate 6 pax. you may wish to check out this website for more details: http://www.bintan-resorts.com/. my hubby and me will be going bintan for our short honeymoon. will be going to angsana. they are having some promotions now. i have booked through web for these 2 trips. you will need to book the ferry too. hope that helps.

mindy

thks sunny
i called Fascinating Holidays at Mandarin htl. they quote me $211.20 for 1N @Mayang Sari. duno if its exp

i juz went Mayang webbie and saw they hving promo for couples and cost S$315++ which incl $170 worth Asmara spa so not sure if this price is for a couple or per pax

mindy

i called Nirwana and confirmed this package is for couple. do you all think is worth going?

2D1N Nirwana's Romance
Weekday S$315++
Weekend S$355++

Package includes :

• One night accommodation in Superior Room / Chalet in either Nirwana Resort Hotel or Mayang Sari Beach Resort
• FREE upgrade to Deluxe Room / Chalet (subject to availability)
• Breakfast for 2
• Romantic candlelight dinner for 2
• Welcome fruit basket
• Spa at Asmara Spa (worth S$170)
• 2-way land transfer
• Extension night at S$135++ (Weekday/Weekend) inclusive of breakfast

pianokey

HI JL,
I went to mayang sari in april, same package. But I stayed 3D2N. It was good. It's really to go there and vegetate. Nothing much to do. The spa's great. The dinner was so so though.
Nirwana is more like a hotel, more family oriented. Mayang sari is more couple. If you can get the beach ones, the beach is AT your doorstep. You can always walk to Nirwana, Mana mana, next door.

mindy

thanks piano!
but the abv package is only for 2D1N. don wanna pay $135 for another nite leh. aiyo so headache

now i gotta check if local agency hv this Romance package, otherwise gotta book thru their webbie.

muffins

me and hubby juz came back from Angsana bintan..

the service is really good although nothing much to do lah.. we took a free ride (coz they belong to the same group under wah chang) to banyan tree too for a meal.

do consider this hotel.. (rooms are new coz this hotel only abt 2 or 3 yrs old) but i'm not too sure whether they have honeymoon package though.

pianokey

Hi Blossom and JL,
2D1N is ok, there isn't much to do, but I feel having one extra night makes it more relaxing. Imagine reaching there and thinking about going back the next day.
JL: I also booked through the net. Don't forget u need to get the ferry tickets too.

muffins

Hi JL

3D2N costs abt $600 plus for 2 persons. (inclusive of breakfast, ferry, transport to and fro ferry terminal)

one ting to take note. prices on the menus in Angsana and banyan tree are in US$. when u convert to sing $, its abt normal restaurant prices.

nothing to shop in bintan. the nearest little town (pasar ole ole which has abt 20 small shops and 2 restaurants) abt 10 mins ride doesn't really have much tings. u see one, u see all. so u spend on meals and save on shopping

andreal

Hi Jl &amp; Blossom,

i went for a 2D1N to bintan ard sep this yr, stayed at Nirwana Resort. Well to me, 1N was sufficent. Like wat nicole mentioned...usually we spend on food rather shopping. Pasar Ole Ole is mainly tos souvenir/grocery shops. Other than the 2 restaurants, there is no entertainment ard which stated in bintan website. Unless u interested to take a trip to the elephant show or southern side of bintan.

Seasport activities are ex. Hmm..bintan is more for tos who wana bring their family for R&amp;R.

love

Hi All...

Just came back from the State for my honeymoon yesterday and will be going to Bintan in a few hours times...will be staying in Banyan Tress for 3D2N.......will update u guys about the rooms there when I am back........

See u......

fel

anyone stayed in Nirwana villa? hw's the condition of the villa...is it comparable to hotels in bintan?

chatterbox

Hi Fel,

Personally, I very much like Nirwana. Always stayed there for all my holidays at Bintan. Love their rooms (spacious-with bath tub n balcony-for seaview room) n pool n is near to the beach. I would say is very worthwhile for the price.

Have stayed in Bintan Lagoon (rated more stars than Nirwana) once, but still perfer Nirwana.
Nirwana has the kind of feel that u r at a beach resort as compared to Bintan Lagoon.

chill

Hi, can I check with u guys does Mayang Sari have bath tubs in their room? And between Nirwana and Mayang sari, which is newer?

flowee

kenny

yes there's a bath tub in mayang sari units...
nirwana is newer compare 2 mayang sari...
durin my visit in sep 03, there's some minor works bein carried out @ mayang sari...

chill

Hi, is bintan lagoon newer or nirwana newer or angsana newer? Which one is more suitable for honeymoon, have a better spa and better food?

flowee

kenny

wats ur budget like???
i spent my honeymn @ mayang sari n had a gd spa retreat @ asmara spa...
u might wana 2 check out www.asmaraspas.com
check out the heavenli love package...

if u hv more budget, u might wana 2 consider banyan tree...