Bintan - angsana or mayang sari?

lobangking

Does anyone knows whether is there any great promotion going on at Bintan? Tot of going for a short holiday.

from angsana resort, are we able to walk to the beach? is it a long distance?

Actually wanted to go KL but then the recent sars case stopped me.

erowen

Hi lobangking
think you may search for their promos in their website.

www.angsana.com.

i have stayed at angsana 2 years ago and i love it! we took up their promo package , so it was abt $370 per pax (ferrytickets, 1 hour massage, 1 bedroom suite, 3 D 2N). but no breakfast and meals provided.

the beach is very near , in fact angsana is built along the beach. and it's pretty private.

seabreeze

You can go banyan tree bintan oso ... they having a promo now ... although much more expensive than the rest but heard from my frens that its very nice and romantic ...

peabrain72

Hi lobangking

There was a promo for Angsana, not sure if it has ended cos I went 1st week of may. Got the 1 bed-room suite for only $200 plus and 50% discount for all spa.

Beach wise, preferred Bintan Lagoon cos beach at Angsana not very nice also must beware of sandflies

happy

hi lobangking,

i've enquired with a few agencies on promotion for angsana resort as i m quite keen in going too in the month of june.

for de 1 bedroom suite, it's $211.20 per pax (twin sharing). Package includes ferry tickets, sea port tax, weekend surcharge. Optional buffet breakfast @ $22 per pax.

hi peabrain72,

r there really many sandflies at the angsana beach?
but overall, how do u rate angsana resort?

elaine77

Hihi..

I prefer nirwana,the resort is near the beach too, they have nice pool view rooms. I went to bintan lagoon last month, dun really like there, the things there are more ex den nirwana, maybe u can take this as a reference.

pink

I went to mayang sari in april. If you get the sea view one, then the beach is literally at your door step. The beach is really nice there. no sandflies(maybe seasonal?) and water very good. But the accomodation itself could have been slightly better la. It's a little old. But the Asmara spa is within the resort. And the charges are in S$ compared to angsana and banyan in US$.

bon

Any comment on which has a good and reasonably price spa there? Looking for a short getaway with spa but not sure which hotel is better.

Thanks for any advise!

peabrain72

Hi happy

Not sure if angsana has cleaned up the beach cos the last time i went, was very badly bitten, had to see a doctor
this time round, avoided it.

I've been to all the resorts in bintan except club med... been to angsana twice, actually like it more for the spa, although slightly more ex then asmara spa, but very shiok
Not everything is priced in US$ so more ex, used to be in Sing.

pool is ok, but find that food variety is limited and not that fantastic however if you're taking the 1-bed room suite, good cooking facilities. basically for relaxing if you want to go to pasar oleh oleh, must pay wherelse it's free from the other resorts. it's just next to banyang tree so can pop by.

happy

hi peabrain72

tks for de info! initially, i thot of going to banyan tree but due to budget constraints...has decided to go for angsana resort instead.

so, wat is this pasar oleh leh? we hv to pay how much to get there? and we can cook in the 1 bedroom suite? hmmm...intersting...meaning we need to bring food from sin over?

sorry for my so many questions. look forward to your reply.

peabrain72

hi happy

the spa and a restaurant in banyan tree are undergoing reno, will be ready in june so if you're thinking of going now, no point.

pasar oleh oleh is like a place where you can buy stuffs like food, handicrafts. guess it didn't take off so nothing to shout about. there's a chinese cafe in there, food quite cheap and yummy other than that think you won't miss much. can't remember how much but entrance fee to the pasar is $2 if i didn't remember wrongly. from angsana, you'll need to pay for the transport about 10 bucks i think. was sometime back so can't remember sorry.

yep, you can cook in the 1-bed room suite, got to bring food over from singapore. there's a fridge and cooking utensils. Complimentary bottle of drinking water on a daily basis so no worries. bring tibits. however, tv is in the living room so can't watch while in bed

good time to go now cos of the low occupancy rate, able to check out real late at about 4 pm

happy

hi peabrain72

many tks for ur reply. will see how it goes...maybe it isnt a good time now to visit bintan after all the 'aceh'.

shall see how it goes...may just book a nite at ritz carlton...

peabrain72

happy.. you're welcome, glad to help
shouldn't be any problem in bintan.

may be you can check out the current promo, s'pore explorer
help our economy.

pink

happy, don't bother going to pasar oleh2 unless you have nothing else to do. It's quite sad but, I suppose $2 each there is ok.
bintan is nice, it's further from singapore compared to batam(cheaper) , so it will be fresher and cleaner. good unwinding place.

happy

hi pink,

thks for de info...i may nt go to bintan after all...may just book ritz or fullerton for a wkend getaway...

in fact, i've always wanted to visit banyan tree...but guess nt this time round..next time maybe...anyway, peabrain72 said they are undergoing reno for their spa & restaurant...

so, r u planning for a short wkend getaway too?

pink

hi happy,
no, not going just yet, cos just went in april. Now house renovating and romming soon.
I guess it's good to stay in and stimulate our economy, but I like beach and outdoor... I think it's a more real getaway. You won't see anyone there. Just you 2 and the sun sea sand. You wake up in the morning, you hear the waves gently lapping.
darn, I need a holiday again!

icecream

I'll be going to Angsana Resort in about 2 weeks time
Looking forward to relaxing there & of course the spa!
Is it true that the beach still has sandflies???

Also, can someone who's been there tell me what are the prices for their buffet dinner or ala carte prices in general? so that I don't get a shock at the prices! :p

madison

Hi Ice Cream,

I went to Nirwana before and found the hotel is not bad. Overall i still prefer Nirwana than Angsana, but I guess Nirwana doesn't offer Spa Package.
When we had our lunch at the hotel resto, the price is still raesonable. 1 plate of fried rice/mee goreng. etc is around $6-$8.

Actually if u have a big group, u can rent a car with driver and ask the driver to bring you to local seafood restaurant. Though the resto is not that nice, but the sea food is yummy.

if u want to go beach, go to Mana Mana hotel beach. Nicer.
If u have time, can explore from hotel to hotel. Banyan Tree is nice !! Sedona is also nice !

Maybe after your spa, you may want to try creambath at nearest saloon. Creambath is sth like hair spa. they will wash, massage and steam our hair. and after about 1.5 hour, u'l see your hair is damn smooth and fresh !! sometimes they even provide massage on your neck and shoulder (that depends on saloon).

dclaudia

I'm going to angsana next week. Just wondering has anyone been there recently and tried their spas? Any recommendations on their spa and their services?

Also where can i go for meals?

muffins

hi claudia

i juz went to angsana last Nov. service is excellent and the staff there are very polite, helpful and friendly. do try the pastries in the breakfast buffet. understand from the resturant manager that the pastry chef used to be from Ritz Carlton.

meals r pretty constrained to the few restaurants within the hotel.. u can oso hop over to Banyang tree which is pretty near (u can ask the hotel recep to arrange a cabby to pick u up to and from Banyang tree FOC).

i din try the spas so can't comment. but the spas in angsana r not very cheap.

I personally think it depends on budget & what else you're looking for.

Beach front wise - Angsana has a nicer & cleaner beach.

But food & things don't come cheap at Angsana so for me, its more economical to go to a resort where I can relax & not worry about a plate of nasi lemak costing more than $15!!!

You can also try Bintan Lagoon which is pretty good I must say. Nice beach nice scenary too

Oops forgotten to add that you get more dining variety at Mayang Sari too becos the Nirwana resort is big & you MUST MUST MUST go to the kelong restaurant. Cheap, delicious & good
After all, a short trip doesn't necessarily have to damage the pocket.

lem0nade

Beatriz ... depending on your budget loh. Angsana is more exp. Personally I quite like Mayang Sari. The beach is beautiful. The sea view chalet style rooms at Mayang Sari is very very near to the beach. Really peaceful and relaxing.

At Mayang Sari, they have a spa. The spa treatment also quite good. Service I give them thumbs up.

Powerpuff is right. THe seafood meal at Kelong is nice.

beatriz

Hi Lemon & Mngo,
Thank you so much for the great feedback, I was actually leaning towards the Mayang Sari too. I'll definitely try out their spa & check out Kelong.

kenneth

Just came back from Mayang Sari. Had a fantastic 3D/2N there with my wife.

The chalet is seaview and has a bath-tub. Room is clean and neat.

Asmara spa is wonderful. We were wonderfully pampered. We had 2 spa package. The first one together with the hotel package. 1 hr massage with herbal drink. The 2nd one is a divinity package for a couple complete with massage, masque, scrub, wrap, facial..all from head to toe. To end off the session was a flora bath for 2. All these under a private pavilion.

A good trip to recommend for all. Go to fascinating tours for more info.

beatriz

I also went to Mayang Sari for 3D/2N & the Asmara spa was quite nice for a break. Kelong is a must try restaurant. As for activities - you may want to check out the water sports.

kenneth

Ok some details on my trip. We didn't hold back on cost since we wanted it to be a pampering spa retreat

3D/2N at Mayang Sari. Room was sea view. Beach right at the door step.
$208 for 2D/1N plus $90 for extension for 1 more nite.
Package includes 1 choice of MASSAGE which lasted 60 mins. We chose the relaxing massage. We had ours on the first night.

We also added a Divinity spa package which is a 240 min pampering spa session in a private pavilion for 2 person at 249.00++. This package includes 90min Asmara massage, choice of body scrub, choice of Masque, choice of facial and to end the session - a fragrant floral bath. We had this package on the 2nd day afternoon.

For meals, for the first afternoon, we took the 1230 SG time ferry and reached there at 1230 ID time. We brought along otah and nasi lemak so didn't spend much.

For other meals, we had at Kelong (nice sunset view), Aryan Baan (Expensive and exquisite Thai resturant) and Pasar Oleh Oleh. The breakfasts were all free.

Message me if you want to see the loads of pics that me and my wife took!

beatriz

Hi Hoishi,
Rates were pretty much as quoted by Kenneth. Same thing, we also took the ocean view chalet. Here's a website just to get you more info:
http://www.nirwanagardens.com/default.aspx?Page=MShome . And as for other resorts : http://www.bintan-resort.com/.
I would say abt $330 on accomadation for 3D2N (includes ferry & breakfast), $220 for spa, depending on what time you take the ferry - at least 1 lunch & 2 dinners at the resorts, abt $150-$200 . So in total maybe looking at $650-$750. First nite, we had dinner at Kelong (located inside Mayang Sari)- we over-ordered, so spend around $80. But the seafood is Great there!

As for spa packages, depending on your preferences. Most mens may prefer a 90 mins massage by itself and ladies for the asmara packages with the 60 mins, body scrub & masque package. They are quite flexible on couples to dip in the fragrant floral bath together.

kenneth

Hi purple and vineyard, email you the address already. Hope you have a good time.

Vineyard, i think there is a pic of the spectacular dusk at the kelong.

tomatoes

Hi Kenneth

Can I check the spa package that you went is priced at $249++ for 2 person? Asmara Spa is it? I will be staying at Nirwana Resort for a try..

oraia

hi kenneth,

do u mind sharing the pics with me? [email protected]

i'll be gg to bintan and staying at angsana in august. does anyone know if it's really far to walk fr angsana to mayang sari?

brambles

oraia... i think it's really far to walk frm angsana to mayang sari.

mayang sari is operated by nirwana gardens n juz the journey by car into the resort itself (frm the main gate) took bout 5-10mins. u sure u wanna walk?

but y do u wanna go to mayang sari? for the spa?

oraia

harlow brambles!

haha. i nv go before mah... wah!! so far ah!
pengz.
it didn't look so far fr the map!

ya... want to go mayang sari for spa lor. thot mabbe can walk leisurely there in the morning or what. nothing to do anyway mah!
angsana's spa abit ex leh! USD!

swatch2004

hi hi oraia,

just went to banyan tree bintan last month...and if you are staying at angsana, must go to the Cove at Banyan tree for dinning, their dishes are v. nice, and esp the choice of bread is very impressive!!!

enjoy!!

oraia

hi swatch!!!!!

glad to see u!! hehe... cove ah.. okok. i keep in mind. what kind of food do they serve?
expensive or not?

by the way, go bintan can use sg dollars hor? no need to change $$?

swatch2004

hi oraia,

cove serves italian food... if it's not too hot, you can sit outside with pool view at night, it's rather romantic!! the pirce is about 12-15 USD per main course... nothing cheap to be expected at banyan tree lah...

think angsana charges in USD too as banyan tree... for other hotels and outside, think you can use SGD

bits

Hi Oraia,

Fancy meeting you here. When are you going to Angsana? I've just confirmed my trip there in 2nd weekend of aug. I've also thot of getting Mayang Sari spa package(cheaper mah) but dunno whether convenient to arrange for transport to and fro from there or not.

Hi Kenneth,
Can you share yr photos with me? [email protected]

oraia

hi swatch,

wooohooo!! quite ex hor?? hmm.. but i suppose you're right. with banyan tree, nothing comes cheap!
the place sounds rather nice, i'll be sure to check it out!

hey hey karen!

i'm gg over the national day weekend... ya, i think i want to venture to mayang sari for the spa. alot cheaper leh!!!

i think got transport, but not cheap, cos in USD.

i'll come back and tell u about it ok? but when u mean 2nd weekend in aug, do u mean 7-8th or 14-15th?

swatch2004

hi oraia,

did not manage to catch you last week in the chatroom.. i was off to watch my tv show when you came online, and the time i went back, they told me you just left.. heheh..

you can also check out the BBQ buffect by the pool side at the angsana, think it will be nice too!

bits

Hi Oraia,
You are always ahead of me lah! For Hyatt you are 1 year ahead, for Bintan trip you are 1 week ahead!

Good for me, always got senior like u you go experience first then teach me! Tell me a how yours goes.

oraia

hey swatch!

ya lor.. last week was really tired i think.. so i rested early. heeee. wasn't feeling that well last week anyway.

angsana oso got BBQ buffet ah?
okok.. shall check it out... there goes my diet plan :p

hey karen!!

heehee. aiyah... dun like that lah..
why u dun book the national day wkend ah? then we can say hi! heeee!
can lah, no prob, i'll go first then i'll let u know kae? me suaku one, nv been to bintan before!