Bed Frame

cynthia

SSL, buying new bed liao ah???

Me too! Need to buy new bed... Anyone with any advices, please share!

jo jocelyn

I bought mine at Simmons. C/W bedframe and backcare mattress. Taken a credit card 12months interest free instalment. Each month pay $200.

The frame very hardy.

twinky

I got mine at Casa Italy at Marina Sq. But I took PVC material coz dun think leather is necessary. It's got a padded headboard, so it's comfy when reading in bed. Paid $1100 includes 2 side tables in matching materials and they throw in 2 free pillows for me. Mattress not included.

ssl

hi cynthia

just checking around. only intend to buy sometime in aug lor.

hi jo Jocelyn,

I would love to consider your buys but budget wise maybe too expensive for hubby and me. we are thinking of something around $500+ (without mattress and side table.

Hi twinky

know which one u are describing. ya those are bery comfortable, can rest on the head board before sleeping and can also prevent the head from knocking onto the headboard when waking up.

jo jocelyn

I think my bedframe is FOC when I bought the mattress. The mattress cost about 2K.

hi SSL,

i'm not sure what kind of bedframe u looking for? solid wood frames? metal frames? leather frames?
many of the bedframes @ Ikea are <$500.
if you are thinking of getting solid wood frames...can check out Pagoda for teak bedframes and IMM (or some of the neighbourhood furniture shops) for nyatoh wood frames which are really sturdy and classic. i paid only $1700 for a complete nyatoh bedrm set (i.e. king size bedframe, 2 bedside tables, 4-door wardrobe &amp; dresser)...i believe just the bed frame alone won't cost much.

twinky

Hi SSL,

Did u go to Courts to take a look?? Maybe they have something that u like and will fit ur budget. I would like to suggest Ikea but then their big items are not known for sturdiness.

For that budget, can look around those furniture shops in and around centrals and HDBs. I live in AMK and I see quite a number of such shops, but never go in and ask abt their prices.

Hope it helps give u ideas where to look for ur bed.

hi goh,

i don't have the address with me right now...will go back and check and post here tomorrow. the shop is @ IMM...we bargained quite abit...original selling price was $2+K...the boss was eager to close the deal 'cos we were her first customers for the day (chinese superstition)

ssl

Hi KPO,

Hubby is looking for a bed with big and sturdy legs (heehee) we saw a couple of nice ones (legs not that fat lor) at IKEA around our budget too.

No preference for any material. maybe wood will look nicer but it's the legs that he will see first. My friend bought a nyatok bed with side table costs $500. (wihtou mattress) Told me brand is brighton and the bed that they bought is the only bed design they have!!! (so how can i buy the same bed leh) But it's nice lor.

Whow, i think the price u paid very worth while leh. all nyatok is it?? so it's at this IMM shop that you buy all these from. pls let me know that address or name of the shop too. thks.

Hi twinky,

we meet again here.

My other friend bought his bedroom set at Courts for $2K, very cheap also. But i duno what's the price for just bed frame. i heard courts furniture alot of recycling one leh. so not sure what's hubby's thinking too.

twinky

Hi SSL

I dun know much abt Court's quality loh but just know the price roughly suits u. But KPO's deal is much better, good deal.

sorry for the delay...was sick for the past couple of days and didn't have access to the internet

anyway...the address of the shop where I got my nyatoh bedrm set:

Sam Niji Trading
#02-106 IMM Building

Another place to recommend for good and cheap mattresses and bedframes:

Roland's
36A West Coast Rd #01-05

For nice and reasonably priced teak furniture..try Pagoda Teak Furniture @ 8/10 Jalan Kilang Barat

hi arctic hare,

nyatoh is a kind of solid wood..similar to teak, pine etc..very sturdy and durable

hi SSL,

roland's oso sells nyatoh furniture @ very reasonable prices (i got a chest of drawers and bedside table from there last time)...check it out if you've got the time.

ssl

Hi KPO

thks for the wonderful info.
already told hubby and will wait for his reservist to end then we check them out.

Think my contractor did mentioned to us nyatok before. So may also check with him if can customise our bed frame or not lor. if cheap then ok, otherwise buy off the shelf.

but will sure go IMM to see how the beds are like and their price ranges lor. or at least to "steal" some designs.

twinky

Hi KPO, Cynthia n SSL,

Just found out my fren paid 3k for her simmions mattress n bed, new design. I was pretty shocked!!!! Isn't it a bit tooo much to pay for a bed. But they both like it soooo much, been shopping for a long time b4 they laid their eyes on it....guess a good night's rest is really impt to them. hee hee.

I got my mattress at hai ma pia. only abt $450, also v comfy. keke.

ssl

Hi twinky

Simmions mattress are very expensive cos they are very good. (and maybe + some advertising). hubby wanted to buy too but i think it's too exp. i have back problem so he wanted to buy something which will aid my back when sleeping lor.

so we are still checking out.

I also bought hai ma pai sofa bed as the temp bed at my new house. but the foam very hard hor. heehee not used to it. prefer spring one.

yours spring or foam??

twinky

Hi SSL,

Mine is considered foam ba or wood....not v sure, but hai ma pai mattress all the same. Got 2 diff kind. Hard n medium. I got the medium. Hard wan is more suitable for eldery pple.

I tot have back problem should sleep on a firmer bed. Soft beds will worsen the condition. I find it fine, can sleep well.

Hi Cynthia,

Simmons is a v good spring mattress, v firm v thick, they can go up to 12 inches. That's why so expensive, maybe also considered branded lah.

Personally i dun like spring mattress. no good ones, v bouncy and noisy after a few yrs. Good ones cost so much. If wanna buy a good mattress that's firm, then might as well buy my hai ma pai mattress, just as firm but cost so much less. But it's really v firm ah, some pple might not be able to take the hardness. really like sleeping on wooden board. no bouce at all when u jump on it..hee hee.

Just my own opinion...

jes

hai ma pai = Seahorse brand
seahorse brand is from Hong Kong, made of foam, quality not so good, doesn't last long, after sometime it sack.

there are normal spring and pocket spring for the spring mattresses, as for tension (how firm the mattress is), its better to lie on the mattress to feel it yourself, whether you find the mattress too 'hard' or too 'soft'

as what KPO recommended

you can get cheap mattress at

Rolands furniture, there's one @
Blk 501 West Coast Drive # 01-300
tel: 7730322

kiki

Any idea where to get a good n reasonable prices bed frame then? I found CasaItaly got some bedframes look quite nice but wonder if their workmanship good. Anyone has idea?

phoebe

If you like a resort feel kind of bed frame like those made from Teak wood, you can try Sisters' Dreams. Think their number is 4444669 and they are located at Jln Pari Burong (east side). Not sure if the street name's right but it opens only after 1pm. Had mine made there and simply love it!

lingz

Hi Kiki

u may like to try Lami...i bought my bedframe fm there and like it v. much..

Have no delivery problem with them too..service to me was quite good n prompt.

cynthia

Hi SSL,

I bought my bed liao. Comes with the divan (frame), headerboard, mattress (pocketed spring). About $1200.

Originally wanted to get from Ikea, but their variety is not much... so we went over to Anchorpoint. One of the furniture shops (Sleeping Post) was having an atrium sale. They have much better variety and somemore, price can be bargained (not much lah... but at least it's a deduction).

Finally, one less headache. Me even bought a matching dressing table + 2 pillows. All these will be delivered in 2 weeks' time.

cynthia

ssl

hi cynthia

wha so nice for u huh, one down! me have to wait till probably aug or sept then can checkout my bed cos not so nice if buy liao put there for long no one sleep there lor. so yours Simmons brand for the mattress??

fruit3

hi, anyone has any idea where to buy "platform" style bed?

how much does it cost to custom-made one?

thanks in advance.

rolly1

Hi fruit3,

There is one shop at Marina Square that specialise in platform syle bed. I cant remember the name, its somewhere opposite Kenny Rogers.

I m not sure of the cost.

fruit3

hi rolly1,

Thanks for your speedy reply. will go furniture hunting (hopefully) this weekend.

so, you've bought your bed and other furnitures already?

have a good wkend. : )

sarah

Hello

Anyone interested in buying a Queen bed set? It's brand new, made of solid Pacific Oak wood, very sturdy and good quality workmanship. It is stained in dark cherry (slightly reddish brown). It has a curved headboard and footboard (like a sleigh bed), with a pretty lattice design. Comes with two bedside tables and a large chest of drawers, also in solid Pacific Oak. It's from one of the high-end furniture shops at Park Mall.

I just bought it a couple of days ago and haven't taken delivery yet. It's not suitable because I just discovered that the bedroom is too small and can't comfortably fit the bed set. Made a mistake assuming that it would all fit. Bed is 2.2m in length and about 1.6m width. Price is $2190. For the type of solid wood and workmanship, that is quite a good price, which is why I bought it. But so disappointing, it can't fit in the room. Please e-mail me at [email protected] if you're interested. Thanks.

help

does anyone know what is the width and length of King size bed? Heard that there is Europen and normal one??? What the difference and can we easily get the bedsheet outside to fit into these size? We like Jean Perry Bedsheet, do they have the size??

and which is better? Divan or bedframe better???

anyone

is four seas brand good or not? we bought it about 1k plus at a package and promo...not not sure...

naomi

I think King Koil is better -leather headboard , a storage bed and a mattress I bought abt 2.6K

nsy

hi help

the length and the width of King size should be quite standard, but the thickness of the mattress will be different. If u are taking the bed frame, advisable to choose the thickness at abt 8". Divan set will normally take thicker mattress than bed frame. Mine king size mattress is at abt 8" and I'm using Jean Perry's bedsheet.

sleepwell

Hi help

The length and width of a king size bed is 191cm by 183cm.

The choice of divan of bedframe will depend on your preference. Most of the divan are stronger support to the mattress. However, you may need a divan skirting to cover it. As for bedframe, it looks nice but is not as solid as divan.

In Singapore, it is not so easy to get bedsheets for European size.

breeze

If you like to buy Dunlopillo mattress,you may like to consider Homeplus at Tiong Bahru Plaza 3rd floor.I bought my mattress with leather bedframe for less than $1200.From what I know,this shop is the supplier for Dunlopillo.You can look for Johnathan,whom I think is the boss,for good advice and negotiation of price.Can bargain abit.
Good Luck

amber

hi, help. the standard local king size is 190 x 183 (or 180) cm. depending on ur bed size, u can indicate the breadth to the shop but the length remains unchanged. may be easier to go for local king rather than european king. as for depth, my king koil comes up to about 10" (8" plus 2" for the top and bottom pillow top). i hv no problems getting bedsheets.

help

thanks for yr help on this.

i have check my mattress is abt 6" firm(thickness?) King Size, so is it too thin? It's a Four Stars brand we got from Novena under a package. Package also include PVC Divan set abut $1150. And other items as well ++. Sound like not a great deal after all.

Do not know abt the width and length 'cause it not stated in the invoice. So could it be European size and can most of the bedsheet or Jean Perry fit into it?? Is 8" the standard for Divan set?

and what is a divan skirting??

mimosa

Hi help
I have got a four stars brand, "Premium Ultra" mattress for $1080 (King size). It is only the mattress plus one comforter set and 2 pillows.
Your PVC Divan set includes what items?
Is your mattress Premium Ultra as well. I think you have got a better bargain than me. I did call up Novena to ask about the size, they said it is the standard local king size.

sunny3

If you are looking for King Koil mattress, there is a sale right now...end at 16th Feb. The mattress has a further 20% discount from the original discount. I got it from the supplier that sell their mattress in Safe Superstore.

orchid

Hi help,

I bought mine from Picket and Rail. Solid pine wood. very reasonably priced. came with free mattress!

pausini

I bought my bedframe at melandas. we always wanted something that we can clean especially the bottom of the bed. Divan is always stronger and more lasting. However, how long do u want ur bed to last? if the bedframe can "tahan" 5-7 yrs i think it is very long life. i would want to change my bedframe and mattress by then.

For those getting bedframe from Ikea, u probably have to get the mattress and the cover from them cos they are total diff in size.

Simmon mattress is really worth the price. I highly recommend that.

sleepwell

I don't think the thickness of the mattress reflects the quality of the mattress. It is the materials inside the mattress makes the quality. From what I remember, Four Star has the most number of pocket springs in the mattress which can be up to 1000+. I have tried asking King Koil and Simmons about the number of springs in the mattress, the promoters refuse to tell. By the way, Four Star do MTM mattress if you want.

Help, the divan skirting is something like a bedsheet but it is put on the divan itself. It will looks like a skirt for the divan. Some may call it ruffles.

sleepwell

Hi help,

here is a picture of a mattress and divan with all the comforter set and bedsheets.

17044.jpg

The bed sheets at the lower portion of the mattress is the divan skirting.

chopstick

Hi Sleepwell,

what is the purpose of having divan skirting?

I am looking for a bedframe as well..How's the bedframe at Barang-barang? how's the prices like?My budget is $400++

Hi Orchid,

how's the free matteress you received together from Pickel &amp; Rail? Is it good? Is it comfortable?

help

Hi mimosa/sleepwell,

our package amount is more than tat, with other items included. But no free comforter set, pillows and divan skirting.. Dun know abt the mattress type, just tat this model most ladies like it, 'cause it much 'sofer' and comfortable (with addition layer of cushion) to sleep in and slightly exp compare to other....