Beading Supplies

limko

Does anyone know what happened to the store that use to sell beads and crystals in Heeren for jewellery making? Or is there somewhere else that I can get these stuff? It is so hard to find beads for jewellery making in Singapore.

sweetpea

Hi Limko...I believe the shop at Heeren is still there. I was there like - weeks ago..

You can try Arab Street or a shop at Toa Payoh Central for the crystals as well.

sweetpea

Hi Limko...I believe the shop at Heeren is still there. I was there like - 3 weeks ago..

You can try Arab Street or a shop at Toa Payoh Central for the crystals as well.

limko

Oh, is it really still there. I went to Heeren on Saturday and the place was boarded up. It used to be on the third floor, right? Oh yah, Arab street has crystals but not much of findings used to make earrings and necklaces.

bluesky

limbo : you can go to People Park Complex. The shop name is Golden Dragon at 2nd level. Cheaper than Heeren. There are a few more shops selling beads at this complex but i dun know the shop name. One also at 2nd level but at the other end. One at B1 near the POSB atm.

Arab street is better if you want to buy crystals. Really cheap, and must buy in bigger quantity. Even cheaper than Golden Dragon. But not much of beads there.

limko

okay, thanks bluesky! I will go check it out.

limko

Oh really? Thanks Amerline. So you guys like to make bead accessories as well? What kind? I love those that are shown in Japanese books at Kinokuniya but some of them are kinda hard to make and I have not perfected my wire skills.

bluesky

hi choco, sorrie..i don't know the shop name. cos India name leh..i think! There are 2 or 3 shops at the same row and 1 further up. You go to the 2 or 3 shops at the same row is good enough liao. That row of shops i talking abt is quite near the Golden Landmark Hotel. Sorrie, i cannot tell you the exact address.

limko

I went to Heeren during the weekend but Beads Etc. is not open yet but they are going to be located at the basement opposite Marche.

xiaobaibai

Hi Choco

One of the shops in Arab Street (the only chinese selling beads there) is called "Kin Lee" (if i remember correctly), but they are opened till 6pm or 6.30pm during the weekdays. ANother one I frequent is the Indian shop, now shifted to opposit row, is called... something starting with "R" . Anyway, I have the namecards, so if u need the phone number, let me know. These shops are located behind Golden Landmark, if u coming from the MRT, u have to walk through Golden landmark lobby to the back, then u can find the whole stretch of shops there...

kataecho

anyone would be interested in this book i just brought last week from Kinokuniya?
brought at $21.50
Selling at $19.00
reason: too advance for me, i just started learning by self study, this book suitable for ppl who already knows the basic skill
283690.jpg

email me pls: [email protected]

kataecho

283693.jpg

this is back cover look like
i still got the receipt that show the date of purchase
lookforward anyone of beads lover!
:)

Echo

jioupz

hi missylan, do u have the website for the BeadHub u've mentioned? I only know abt the one at Far East B1. Wanted to find some course dat teaches but can't find. So I look see look see at the shop's work then go home try out. Actually managed to do a clip-type ear rings and necklace set for my wedding use! hee hee!

wyy

hi hi anyone still looking this thread??

Can someone help by telling me where can I find bead shop in spore & their location....

the shops that I know of is
Dragon Gate (PP)
Mix & Match (PP)
Bead Workshop (Chinatown)
Beadhub (Sunshine Plaza)
the shop in Heeren (basement)
& oso this shop in Holland Village

Any one can share??

sin

Hi Wong YY,

Where is the actual location for Bead Workshop?
How is their price compare to Mix & Match or Golden Dragon?

wyy

Hi xinxin

the beadsworkshop is at Padoda street...you know there is this building that have yellow flower woth blue background?? It's at 2nd floor of that building.....

If you cannot recall, then you know where is the heritage?? Just walk further up and you'll see the blue flowered bldg....

for M&M crystal, they are selling 72nos at about $4+ but DG is selling at $5+ for the same qty.

In addition, M&M have more spare parts.

babygrass

Hello everyone..

Does any1 have any books to recommend on beading in English? Just started to work on it... I scared I won't understand those Japanese books.

wyy

english books....think u can chk the library.....my feeling is that Jap books though cannot understand can simply follow the pic.

or u can try Kinok. Bookshop at Taka....they have a section of beading books in English...think under the hobbies section.

There is a beading shop by the name of HONEY & CLOVER at Blk 32 New Market Road #03-1116 (above People's Park food centre, next to OG, in front of Chinatown MRT station). They sell lots of semi-precious gemstones, pearls, very sweet & beautiful glass beads from Czech Republic & raw materials. They even conduct lessons too. For those who can't DIY, you can select your own materials from them & they can do jewelry for you for a cheap service fee. Last week I went with my galfriend & we picked some gemstones & raw materials. My galfriend can't DIY but had a very nice Amethyst bracelet done by the friendly ladies there. She paid only $8 for their service fee (+ $9 for raw materials). The gemstones & pearls are all genuine & are wholesale prices. So if you need such items, can try them. They have many ready-to-wear jewelry as well.

sheaux

talking about beads.. does anyone know where to get charms, like hearts, sparrows, cupid, bags etc? gold or silver ones also can. helpppppp! having a really really hard time finding them. )):

i usually buy from chinatown or arab street, but there's not really a great variety.

do help out!

chunkey

Hi sheau wei,

If you are looking for charms, you can try a shop at level 3 of New Market Road (above People's Park food centre, next to OG).

I dun have the shop unit no, but it is near to the main road. The shop is running by a husband and wife team, the wife is call Ann.

A lot of charms there.

sheaux

yups, i found the shop by accident, cause i was looking for Honey And Clover.. HAHAHA. thanks so much anyway! :D

xiaopi

Honey and Clover had moved to Pearls Centre #B1-10 recently.

Their shop has expanded in size and now carry a wider range of products.

Their hand made jewelry are really nice and exquisite and are suitable for ROM & wedding dinner.

I had mine customised by the friendly twin sisters/owner for my wedding.

Can visit www.honeynclover.com

tiarawan

oh yeah. I was there at People's park last week. Trying my hand at making accessories. Seems like fun but must be patient!

sunnygal2

I have no time to go shopping, so I bought all my beads & stuff online from HONEY & CLOVER (www.honeynclover.com).

The prices are cheap and quality of the product very good. There are many sweet beads in assorted designs too. When I need more of the same beads, I buy the whole strand or the ones in bulk. Otherwise I will just get the mix pack so I don't keep too many spare ones around.

I was told that HONEY & CLOVER will be selling their beading materials in www.beadspage.com very soon & their current webpage will be specialising in Japanese toys & comics.

I must say the sales desk staff are prompt in answering my emails & they are always so friendly. Which I think I must share with all who are interested in jewelry making stuff because this online store is reliable & safe. They also conduct personal workshops.

wyx03

Are those gemstones and crystals for sale from the above mentioned/recommended shops are genuine? No offence, just that I am new in this but want to buy some of these to improve my home's fengshui. Thks in advance

wyx03

Thanks. I m buying crystals and gemstones for home decor. Are they selling bigger size crystal/gemstone? Wud like to find out b4 making the trip there.

michele03

I'm looking for large semi-precious pieces that can be used as a centrepiece for a necklace.. I would love to find a ~7x5cm carved coral piece, but anything along those lines would be great. No jade donuts! Does anyone know where I can find such pieces? Thanks!

ariesta

i knw there's a couple of shops near city hall tat sells such stuff. more like crystal types.. tink there are semi-precious, but need to check. its like one whole stretch of shops selling such stuff. from city hall (st andrew catherdal), take 851 or bus 63. (actually there are other buses frm that bus stop, but i can only confirm 851 and 63 goes there)

one bus stop away. its across the road, away frm the pubs and bars of boat quay. it closes at nite, so go there in the morning. they are opened on sat morning, abt 11am. i was walking along there abt 12pm on a sat.