Baroque D Zign

dumbgum

had andy as my ID... not a very detailed person... he doesnt take note of our requirement and tends to need quite a fair bit of pushing before getting the job done.. kinda of regret liao.. anyone has the same experience?

toot

hi carol, is ur renovation done ? what i think of andy is that he's a bit bo chap on the project. sigh, i kinda regretted too but then realised nothing i can do much now. so i'll have to follow every single detail and just pressure him, keep asking him on progress and stuff. no choice lor...luckily he's still not so irresponsible that he doesn't pick up calls and stuff.

dumbgum

Hi Tute, my reno is not completed yet.. but its just very tiring to follow up on every single detail. and he doesnt write down the stuff that we want. my hb and i have decided to hold back the 3rd and 4th payment until we are at least 80% satisfied... is your reno completed? how is the workmanship?

catz

I'm with Alvin from Baroque.. he's really a very good ID. Very practical and very detailed. He did my sister's house and everyone has commented on the fantastic workmanship and detailing. So he will be handling my reno starting next Tuesday. He also did for my friend who's very happy with her flat.

morghanjess

Hi Catz,
is it Alvin S** which you mentioned? He is recommended by my sister who did her reno and is real happy with him.

By the way, how much you spend on your reno and you had a major reno?

care to share with me ;)

ahle11

Hi Guys,

I had also went to the Living Concept at Sin Expo today and signed up the renov package with Desmond Low / Robin Toh.

Anyone had any experiences with them? Care to share views / comments??

catz

Hi morghanjess, yes it's the same guy. He did such a fantastic job with my sister's place. She spent about $70k for her 5 room reno and I'm spending about $35k for my EM reno. He will work within your budget and give lots of practical comments. I'm due to give birth anytime in the next few weeks and I'm just relieved that I can leave Alvin to run the reno (which starts this Tuesday)..

morghanjess

hi Catz,
Yes yes. yesterday I went to the expo and met him, he was telling me about him starting a reno soon this tuesday. so it is you ;)

I haven't gave him my budget yet but like to see his drawings and from there I will be able to scale in or scale out.

Congrats to you and your baby who is coming soon ;)

catz

morghanjess, yup yup that's me
He does very good perspective drawings so you instantly can picture what he's talking about. Thanks for the congrats.. hopefully reno finishes before pop :p

morghanjess

hey Catz,
Goodness! your sister place is so nicely done up! saw it at alvin's showroom yesterday night! mine is almost the same concept as your sister but I do not have a deep pocket like what your sister hubby does! ;)

Does she have a blog on her apartment. can PM me?

catz

Hi morghanjess, hehe.. I heard abt Alvin having one whole album of my sister's place but didn't know it was for real
Yeah she's heavily into French country and it was real pricey, esp the custom made doors. Sorry lah, no blog.. I'm currently squatting in her place so the place is a huge giant mess... Alvin sure faint when he sees his masterpiece
The thing about Alvin is.. most S'pore IDs would probably not even get the concept she was gg for but he did everything SPOT-ON. Amazing lor.. that's what made me go for him without hesitation.

morghanjess

Yes, that's right. French country. Door is soooooo customsed-made and tiles sequence are made to perfection!

Mine is English country. I will be meeting him soon again to bring him to my place and let him have a final look at everything before we signed on it.

You enjoy yourself @ your sister place, while counting down to the birth of your child ;)

catz

Mm.. English country is also lovely. I love shabby chic too
Have you checked out Lovely DeArt in Thomson Plaza? They've got lovely accessories. There's also a Forest dunnowhat specialising in country design but hor, theirs is a little OTT - looks more auntie style country, if you know what I mean. Too many sunflowers and weird stuff.

If there's anything else I can help with, you can PM me.
Have fun! Alvin super stressed about my reno right now. Teehee..

dumbgum

hi all, can anyone advise me on the electrical pricing from Baroque?
is it reasonable or must we ask for further discount? appreciate your advise.
tks!

morghanjess

Hey Carol,
who is your ID? My ID from Baroque advises us to get our own elecrtician if we have one. and he can coordinate for us. ;)

dumbgum

Hi Morghanjess, my ID is Andy.. he din ask us to find our own electrician.. he just brought one up..
how much were u quoted? Do you have a breakdown of cost?

morghanjess

Hi Carol,
My ID, A****, didnt quote me the price. but he told me, it can be better to find one outside IF i have one. otherwise, he will provide. but normally, the price quoted by ID is more premium that others. I read of a post where she was quotated $1750 by her ID. And in the end, she found one for only $1050.

morghanjess

hey carol.
that's a lot! mine! did you rewire alot of location for your electrical stuff? I thought the electrical work should be discussed before the reno.
How can it be done without asking you guys?

dumbgum

yah.. i realise its a big bomb... my ID just brought the electrician up and told him the points that we want and stuff.. we din do any re-wiring... just add a few more lighting and power points...

morghanjess

no no. i think what you can do is nego with him. but i were you, before i nego, i will ask some electrician how much they charge for those things you were charged for, then nego from there.

dumbgum

hi morghanjess...
thanks for your advise.. think i will do that. but not sure how much lower he can give...
anyway, really regret signing up with him... and its in the midst of my reno.. i do not want him to compromise on anything if he is unhappy with us...

morghanjess

hey carol! dun get too sad over this. i hope you can minimise the amount and get over it and done. Don't blame yourself, because some of the post here also relates that the ID you had, didnt give them what they expected as well..

blanqq

saw their advert, premium flat is only $8,000++.. can't believe my eyes. sure or not?

hi, anyone out there had their house renov by them? pls advise who shall i look for? and if any pic to show? tks alot!

morghanjess

Hi blanqq,
my ID is alvin SIM. very meticulous in his work, and his experience in capentry work is commendable. He is able to think out of the box and provides you with a design that you will never have thought of it. And the best thing my WTB and I like about him is, he will save as much as he can for you in his quotes.

He is currently doing up my place .. still in the process and should be done in about 1 more week ;)

morghanjess

hi stjt,
mine is about $26K. hacking of old furnitures,painting,cornies,false ceiling,kitchen,doors and loads of customised capentry work. Mine is a 2+1.

Hope it helps ;)

blanqq

hi morghanjess, can provide your quotation to share with me?

Mine is premium flat, didn't want to do too much carpentry.. only want to spend up to $13K.. is it possible?

catz

hi morghanjess, i'm baaaack
Glad to know your reno is going well and you're well within budget!

morghanjess

hey CAT!!
welcome back! hows little bebe!! show me, show me the pic!!

and hows your place .. hope everything is VERY well done!

Like i mentioned here, Alvin has been very patient with me despite me making loads of phone call to him even on Sundays! :p

SLEEP more .. cos you wont have much to rest over the night!

morghanjess

hi tumble!
Sure sure! but you have not activiated your private message. could you tell me your email, so i can message you ;)

Morghanjess

morghanjess

Hi stjt and tumble,
I have sent it to you as PM ;)

Check ok ;)

if still dont have, send me your email stjt.

tumble. I have send a copy to your email as well ;)

chemistry

hi morhanjess,

Will be meeting Alvinnext week to discuss. usually, how fast he get back woth quote? can u PM me your quote as well?

emax

I just sign up with baroque with an ID consultant call Vincent.
Anybody had him as ID before?
Any comments?

keltic999

Hi Emax

I talked to Vincent also. He seemed to have some pretty good ideas, and not that pushy although he did try to use the 'sign up today and we absorb GST' sales pitch...but he didnt push it too hard. seemed to be genuine but anyone used him before? can pm me if you have any feeback