Baroque D Zign

alyssa

Foggy,

Have you started your renovations? So how is the progress now? Are you going for design?
Mike provided me a quote as well and a layout drawing. So I am still waiting for the other IDs to get back to me.

trekkerb

Anyone got their house done up by them? Any feedbacks? Good or nasty experience?

I'm thinking to engage them as my ID. Seems like the quotes are pretty alrite.

buzzz

Yap I have taken up their package and it is half way done up
. So far, they have been pretty efficient in handling my house.

vryblessed

Not bad. So far very efficient and reasonable. going to sign with them too but we seen house done up by them. workmanship and design not bad better than the contractor i guess.

buzzz

my id is mike. workmanship is pretty good based on my own standard but do not know what is your expectation. Compare with other id shop which i have shortlisted is just as good.

buzzz

i have sign up with them. quite efficient and good worksmanship but a bit lacking in design flair. however, i would say that their package are reasonable.

emerjo

Hello...so long didn't come to this forum...

....I can't share the quote as Mike has given me some special pricing for a few items. Sorry....promised him liow..but then it shows that he is easy to 'charm siong' type...jus do your homework and negotiate a good price on items that you deem him overcharge.

Still in the midst of my reno. Wall hacking & rebuilding, false ceiling, light box & partition are done up. Floorings for kitchen, hall & dinning are completed. Managed to steal a look from outside before it was covered up by the paper carboards; Looks good. Mike hmm...is not much of a designer but he gives solid advises on practical issues like the air-con piping, and durability of the material that we have chosen, etc. I find it more realistic actually.

The only hiccups are the HDB. They are supposed to do screeding for my 4 rooms....but...1st...they upload the material & run off. Next, they took four scattered full days to complete the work over a 2-weeks interval.

I was told that some of the current projects in my block (204D) are also clients of Baroque. Maybe it could be one of you here. R there?

All in all..I've no regret in choosing Baroque Design. Hopefully, my opinion stays thru.

buzzz

good to hear good remarks about contractor that I have taken up too.
Mine have just finish kitchen , toliet, living and dinning only.... false ceiling will be up next week. maybe we can share pics after it is done

buzzz

your address is not rite. so cannot mail it to you. Anyway, I will also not mail it the original copy of the contract as it is not very rite, however, I can mail it you the initial quotation if you give me the rite email address.

alphalyne

Hi DeeDee74,

Can you please share your quote with me? I'm interested in getting Baroque for my flat next year after FH and I viewed their showroom. Another ID spoke to us that day but the only thing I can remember is that he is young, good-looking and has an unique name. Haha....Anyway, would you recommend Mike since someone mentioned that he is not quite creative with his designs?

Please email me at [email protected]

buzzz

hi alphalyne,

Thou Mike is not as creative to meet my expectation, however, in reno, there are many factors to consider. Mike's strength is giving practical advice, reliable(very committed to his work) & easy to work. You know your house is in safe hand. Given the choice to chose my contractor again, I will still choose him. I still remember how committed he is to spend the time discussing my house design to the wee hours.

alphalyne

Hi hehe,

Thanks for your recommendation! I have just requested for a quotation at Mike's personal website almost a week ago but have yet to receive his email leh. Maybe he is really busy with his projects but anyway, based on your great recommendation on Mike, my FH and I will definitely consider taking up the package with him soon. Of course, the reasonable amount for the reno is one of our main concerns too as we do not want to spend too much on it. In the meantime, we are waiting for that email patiently...if not, we may give him a call soon! Thanks again hor! =P

alphalyne

Hi Jo,

Are you taking a package with them too? Just went down to the showroom at Home Haven with FH yesterday and got the latest brochure. Very attractive prices for all the packages but basic stuff so my guess is that we may need to pay a little more.

trekkerb

Hi Jo,

Robin is a very friendly ID. I went to see a couple of his projects. All seems pretty good.

From his projects' owners, all of them are pretty satisfied with him. I'm still considering currently with 2 other IDs. Will make a decision this week. =D

walkingdead

I'm thinking of signing with Baroque too. Just talked to Mike recently, quite interested and waiting for his final quotation now. Anyone can share their quotes w me? My email is [email protected]. TQVM! :D

aventura

I'm considering using Baroque too, but just need some assurance on the quality of the company's work. Could any of those who've had your homes renovated by them comment on their service/ quality of work etc?

Would really appreciate it. Tks :p

vryblessed

Choose them. Our house renovated by them. They very quick and efficient and also reliable. Just know the products you are getting and their market value and if they give you more expensive can bargain it down. definitely better pricing then the design firms, but in comparision to contractors, their pricing might charge abit more but design quality definitely better. hehe.

aventura

Hi Pei Yi,

Tks for the comment

Was the person who handled your account easy to get along with and trustworthy?

Also, the quality and workmanship, esp of the carpentry and flooring, good?

emerjo

My reno is finally completed. Just handed over the last payment to Mike.

Everything is OK, the carpentry & flooring are well done, just not too happy about the window & the painting, esp. the painting - it's a very quick job...u know wat i mean. On the whole, I'll grade them 8/10.

Mike is easy to 'champ siong' & helpful...nice working with him. He tends to be kind of bz....so need to remind him sometimes.

Hope u guys find the right one...Good luck!

vryblessed

I agree with Foggy. You must insist on somethings to be done properly if you feel that they are not very good like the painting. But feel that the flooring and carpentry are of very good standard. Think you can trust Mike my id too to do a good job. Good luck too.

jodareth

Foggy,
Thought their workmanship cover under their 5yr warranty. Could ask them to touch up painting if unsatisfactory?

Me os in midst of discussion wif Mike for reno. Guess he's alotsa more easy to "champ siong" Id. gald to hear some of ur experince wif him r good.
He's definitly 1 of my shortlisted ID..

rainman

my 1st impression of baroque not so good...emailed mike for quotation abt 2wks ago. still no reply. so instead, arranged to meet up today...but didn't meet eventually becos never receive his confirm phone call which he promised to call. a bit bo chup me leh...*disappointed*

Hi rainman,

oh...maybe he's busy. Anyway, for those interested, they just completed a showflat and there's an open house at AMK Blk 315A (cant recall exactly) this weekends. Quickly browse thru yesterday's classified and arrange for an appt.

haywiregirl

For those who signed up with them, mind showing off your beautiful house after reno, I think most of us are very keen to see how's their work.

make an appointment to visit their new showflat at AMK Blk 315A. Check the details in Straits Times classified. I think I saw it yesterday but believed they'll advertised again tomorrow.

by the way, I only got a quote from Mike but eventually got my friend to reno my place. Thought those interested might wanna know that they're having the showflat so can drop by at AMK to take a look at their workmanship.

cecilialim

The unit is on the 12th floor. Its very nicely and neatly done up... actually I'm staying at few blocks away and called getting a quote from Mike, so I dropped by the newly done up place to see the workmanship.

Must see!

Cecilia

rainman

ok. i hv dropped Baroque from my list. Find the ID who attended to me acting like a big shot.....supposed to meet him but din even call to confirm time n place. so we waited and waited...den last minute he called say meet in half hour time. he think we are at his mercy like tat...must follow his busy schedule..Not sincere about meeting up. how to engage him with such a untolerable service!!!!!

patricktan123

Hi Hello88 & Cecilia,

Tks for the advise on the showflat, we did drop by to see the unit.... very nicely done up we must say.

Actually we intended sign up with a contractor untill i saw that unit which change our minds. We had been quoted by some contractors, prices are cheaper than them but workmanship & design cannot be compared to them. Thinks we'll be getting their service, as compared only a little bit more on the pricing, we can get better materials & workmanship.

Thank-you again for the info of the showflat.

dar_dar

Hi patrick, mine was done by mike.. only last week handed-over to me...All i could said that their service & workmanship no complain. Can mention Jerry from (Jurong west) intro. cheers.

cerberus

Hi rainman,

Care to share the ID who called you last minute? Don't have to mention his/her full name, initial will do. Thanks

patricktan123

Hi Rainman,

Relax lah.....i think you arrange a meet up on weekends right? they are normally very busy on weekends leh as most of us can only meet them on week ends....once remember the ID meet up with me without lunch or dinner.....as you mentioned he called you with an allowance of half an hour right??

cecilialim

I do admit that they are quite ex, that's one of my concerns also. I saw another of their showflat at Punggol, even nicer that the one at AMK. I think if you are comfortable with the ID, then try the negotiate further, you can get a better deal. ID that your friends get along with you may not be able to share the same....

Actually now I came up with my own design and asking contractors and ID firms to quote me, you will be surprised that contractors can be the more ex ones...

Do read very carefullt in case of hidden costs!

Cecilia

patricktan123

Hi Cecilia,

You went to see the puggol flat? Is it the one in their website?? How's the actual unit looks better than the photos??? I show some contractors the photos but they can't create the same effects, don't know why also.....

rainman

patrick,

i find baroque's design slightly above average only lah. i was discussing with my colleague... she also say so-so only. anyway it depends on own preference. but y u still ask contractors to do since u like baroque so much and in the end cannot get the same effects?? and since u have asked contractors to do, y u still go around looking for ID?? **confused**

patricktan123

Hi Rainman,

Actually, i still not confirmed with any contractor yet. Like you say design might be our own prefence, me & my wife like the punggol 105a design, but the cost they quoted is higher than some contractor....so now still looking around hopefully can find somebody to do that effect but at cheaper price leh. Some contractor say that flooring is cement screed but the effect may not be the same bcos they don't know what kind of chemical they added in.

By the way, you know any contractor that did this kind of effect before? Please e-mail to me their contact at [email protected] ....... Thanks