Bangkok

melodie

I'm back from BKK...

touched down last night, super tired now... legs aching also

I was there for 5 days, stayed in BKK Boutique Hotel for 2 nights and Holiday Inn BKK for 2 nights...

Holiday Inn was fantastic, gd location and great service!

I went to chatuchak mkt, mbk, siam paragon, siam sq, suan lum mkt, silom rd, patpong, chinatown, pratunam mkt/center, central wtc & bigC...

tried calling Tong, the taxi driver after my spa treatment but he can't fetch us b'cos we were at sukhumvit 39 and the traffic there is horrible

e taxi drivers we met were all ok... except tt we nvr got driven all the way to holiday inn... dunno why they always stop us o/s or opp the hotel...

snowberries

Hi Melodie,

I am thinking of staying @ Holiday Inn, can i know how much you pay for the room in both Holiday Inn & BKK Boutique? U stay in their standard or superior room? How's BKK Boutique Hotel? Is the location rather inconvienent?

melodie

duckling, i took the map for u liao...
bot some clothes and foodstuffs

snowberries, holiday inn - 130 p/n (no bf)
bangkok boutique hotel - 70 p/n (inc bf)

both standard rooms... holiday inn is the best, the rooms r very very nice
bangkok boutique hotel also nice, very modern... 2 mins walk to petchaburi mrt stn, quite convenient

melodie

hi yanling, i'm back... shop and eat
so shiok
bot quite a bit lah - spent abt S$700 on food and shopping, broke liao haha

nvr go sight-seeing at all, dunno where to go

murakami_ne

I've been reading bout the trip in bangkok from u gals.It's really informative.I'm new to this thread.I just want to recommend some nice place for u gals.It's called " Thong lor area" It's located near Thong lor BTS station.It's a MUST visit place for the person who interested in Chic style shopping mall,Bridal shop,Bakery,Fancy restuarant,Celebs Club,Salon and SPA & message treatment.

How to get to Thong lor.You just take an BTS to Thonglor station and then get the exit door to "Soi thonglor".Moreover,They have a Red limo free ride available for the whole area.There has so many Most Visited place in the area such as PLAYGROUND MALL (DECOR,ART exhibition,CHIC OUTFIT),J Avenue mall (tons of nice restuarant and Bakery shop),Penny mall(Superb LENOTRE bakery),H1 malls has good restuarant and Ice cream shop etc.

here's some info i found of PLAYGROUND STORE
http://skyscrapercity.com/showthread.php?t=206244

here's H1
http://skyscrapercity.com/showthread.php?t=205828&page=2&pp=20

check it out gals

About my last trip.I dedicated one day for Shopping in the city.I kicked off with MBK,Siam square,Siam Discovery,Siam center,paragon,Ctw,Gaysorn,Platinum fashion mall (I'm dying to go back),Pratunum center and mkt. then I walked back to Chidlom to have meal at Foodloft(on the 7 floors at some of Upscale mall called Central chidlom)The food was totally awesome.it costs around 12$sin.At the downstair the have so many cosmetic stuffs.I think this mall looks really chic.Then I took BTS to Emporium mall.It's like Paragon in orchard.but they have more variety stuffs.After i finished I had taken a BTS to thonglor as my Thai friend were recommended.I rode the Red Limo which is Free ride
to many places in the area.It totally Kick ass place.It fulls of Fancy Restuarant,clubbing,Urban Malls,Bakery and Salon.I went a couple of malls around the area.It was fantastic.U gals must visit there.I had Dinner at Japanese restuarant called " OOTOOYA "a bangkok branch,the original from tokyo.The price is as same as Zen or Fuji.but the taste is better.Then late at night.I went clubbing in the area.That area has many the fancy clubs.i went to have a few drink.Then back to the hotel..

murakami_ne

I've been reading bout the trip in bangkok from u gals.It's really informative.I'm new to this thread.I just want to recommend some nice place for u gals.It's called " Thong lor area" It's located near Thong lor BTS station.It's a MUST visit place for the person who interested in Chic style shopping mall,Bridal shop,Bakery,Fancy restuarant,Celebs Club,Salon and SPA & message treatment.

How to get to Thong lor.You just take an BTS to Thonglor station and then get the exit door to "Soi thonglor".Moreover,They have a Red limo free ride available for the whole area.There has so many Most Visited place in the area such as PLAYGROUND MALL (DECOR,ART exhibition,CHIC OUTFIT),J Avenue mall (tons of nice restuarant and Bakery shop),Penny mall(Superb LENOTRE bakery),H1 malls has good restuarant and Ice cream shop etc.

here's some info i found of PLAYGROUND STORE
http://skyscrapercity.com/showthread.php?t=206244

here's H1
http://skyscrapercity.com/showthread.php?t=205828&page=2&pp=20

check it out gals

About my last trip.I dedicated one day for Shopping in the city.I kicked off with MBK,Siam square,Siam Discovery,Siam center,paragon,Ctw,Gaysorn,Platinum fashion mall (I'm dying to go back),Pratunum center and mkt. then I walked back to Chidlom to have meal at Foodloft(on the 7 floors at Upscale mall called Central chidlom)The food was great and variety.it costs around 12$sin.At the downstair it has so many cosmetic stuffs also.I think this mall looks nice.Then I took BTS to Emporium mall.This mall is similar to Paragon in orchard.but they have more variety stuffs.I shopped around the place and I had some bakery at LE NOTRE.It's well-known confectionary shop in France(I do recommended).They have like 4 branchs in Bangkok.I wish it would have a branch in singapore.Their dark chocolate stuffed with almond biskit called " Vollute" was really good.After i finished I had taken a BTS to thonglor as my Thai friend were recommended.I rode the Red Limo which is Free ride to many places around the area.It was totally kick ass place.There are bunch of Fancy Restuarants,clubbing,Urban Malls,Bakery shops and Salons.I stopped by a couple of malls around the area.It was fantastic.U gals must visit.I had Dinner at Japanese restuarant called " OOTOOYA "at J avenue.The original "Ootooya" come from tokyo.The price is as same as Zen or Fuji.But,The taste is far better.Then late at night.I went clubbing around the area.That area has so many the fancy clubs.i had a few drink at Witch travern.It's sort of Irish club.It was ok.But,I prefer Club at RCA or Khaosan road.Then I came back to the hotel..That was tough day for me.I walked as my leg couldn't feel anything.I had a great time though.I love to go shopping there again.I heard they have some nice market along the river or something.i'll check it out later

I'm broke now! heheh Spent to much for shopping

Edit posted

snowberries

Hi Melodie,

Thanks for your reply......

Saw from your previous posting that we have almost the same liking..... i was also considering BKK boutique, Majestic Grande, Holiday Inn BKK and also Reflection ...... Heehee
In the end, i gave up the idea of BKK Boutique & Reflection cos it seems rather inconvenient.
So now is most likely stream down to Holiday Inn & Majestic Grande....
Btw how was ur massage? Is the place far from Siam Sq

Hi Macky,

After reading your posting, i think most likely i will go to the PLAYGROUND STORE & H1 for my BKK trip, it seems so....interesting..... but are the things over there expensive? Btw where's Platinum fashion mall? & which hotel u stayed?

bloomiey

Snowberries: One advice for you before booking your hotel rooms thru asiarooms. Just make sure that you have confirmed your date and hotel before you booked cos making changes after you have booked would be a nightmare. Their service is good if you are 100% sure that you won't be making any any changes to the date and hotel you booked.

melodie

hi snowberries

yah, bkk boutique quite inconvenient but i managed to get around quite easily...

yah, majestic grande looks really nice... and it's cheaper than holiday inn...

holiday inn's rate does nt inc. bf... the service and room is super good!

massage was gd, at sukhumvit 39 near to bkk boutique hotel (abt 15 mins drive fr siam sq i think)

bloomiey

Snowberries: Platinum Mall quite near to Pantip Plaza which is after Pratunam area. In Between Isetan and Pratunam. As i have said in my previous posting, Platinum Mall is a shopping centre selling lotsa clothing esp ladies but hardly any shoppers go in.

snowberries

Hi Melodie & Yanling,

Thank you so much for your reply.......

I am planning to go during 9 - 11 March, Taking Budget airline. Anyone going during that period too?

summersnow

hi snowberries,

i oso going during 9 - 12 march. which hotel u staying at? i staying at pathumwan princess. my flight is with jetstar, 9.20am flight. hw abt u?

icebaby0

Christine and snowberries,

I will be going on the 11th - 14th March. Staying at Samran Place. My first trip out (flight) with my parents, dh and son.

Flying Airasia though.

snowberries

Hi Christine,

I am also taking jetstar asia, same flight with you.... heehee most likely i'll be staying @ Holiday Inn BKK. Does your comes with transfer? If not then we can share share cab.

bortei

hello gals
tks for the info you have given me ya

i came back from bangkok yesterday. It was such a good trip as my hubby and i took SQ business class. I fell asleep very comfortably on the plane and afterwards it was shop shop shop and spa. This is my best bkk trip!

Here's my itinerary

Monday
1pm - reached Novotel BKK, but cannot check in. So we wdumped our bags with the reception and went walk walk.

- Erawan Shrine to pray pray first
- we had early high tea (instead of lunch) at this lovely restaurant at Erawan shopping centre, on 2nd floor. highly recommended
- then off to WTC,
- then go back check in hotel (ard 5pm)
- my hubby went to Lek Massage (just next to novotel) for his foot massage. 1 hour. I went to Siam paragon to shop. Didn't really buy much cos i find prices comparable to sg.
- afterwards he met me there and we had dinner at the food court. Pls rem to buy the food card from the counter first hor...
- then we took train to Suan Lum (must transfer from BTS to MRT. bot a big vase, some flowers and decor things and 2 sling bags. =))
- then late at night, we went to patpong to eat ice cream and people watch and shop

Next Day Tuesday
- MBK
- Siam Sq
- Pratunam
- Lunch at MBK first floor Japanese rest.
- after which, we spent 3 hours at Lek Massage, my hubby did facial, foot and head massage while i did my manicure and pedicure and facial. very very relaxing.
- at night, we went to cabbages and condoms at asok BTS there to have Valentine's day dinner. It was very good, highly recommended as well. =))

Wednesday
- last min shopping at wtc again before we check our hotel and go airport.

summersnow

hi bortei,

wah, can c dat u really enjoyed yr trip!

can i ask u wat is there to see/buy at patong? and is lek massage gd? isit exp?

i'll be going bkk in mar and hence is trying to plan my iternary now. is there any place/nite mkts to hang out at at nites other than suan lum nite mkt? thks!

miko2006

Nam Sing in BKK for eating Shark Fin and Bird nest, any other Rest / good food suggestion for
recommendation in BKK?

Flying there nx WED...yipee no mood to work now!!! haha

max06

Anyone want to highlight any stuff to buy in BKK which is most worthwhile and has the best price.

Pls share...beside Warcoal bras!!! haha

snowberries

Hi Melodies,

Jus wondering did you took any pics of Holiday Inn & BKK boutique room pics? :p
If have, can share share with me?

Hi Christine,
I won't be able to see you on the 9 March flight le, cos the fare price increase therefore i'll have to postpone to a later date....

melodie

miko2006 - fuji jap rest. is really good, delicious food at affordable prices... nam sing like not so nice liao leh... dunno why

maxxx - we only noe tt lingerie, clothes, shoes and bags are cheap... i saw somebody check-in a pair of OZ rims tho

snowberries - yes, i have but haven't u/l yet
give me some tm

bloomiey

zenn: the rates dropping but i think won't go below 23.5 Nowdays you can get abt 24 to 24.2 at most.

MeLodie: i also want to see the photos send me the link too.

zenn

Thanks mel & yanling!

Mel, where did you change? The few that I went oni 23+

For those who just came back, any recommendation on good tailor and good massage near Arnoma?

melodie

zenn, i changed money at people's park ctr or complex (confused) it's the one opp OG

i'll post the 2 pictures of the rooms here 4 all to c

zenn

I am planning for my itinerary and need some advise. Will be staying at Arnoma and pls advise which is better cos I remember someone mentioned its better to visit pratnam first b4 the rest?

Day 1 :
- reach hotel noon time
- taxi to chinatown for lunch n shop @ sampeng
- taxi to suan lum

Day 2 :
- pratnam area
- siam area n mbk

OR

Day 1 :
- pratnam area
- taxi to suan lum

Day 2 :
- shop @ sampeng n follow by lunch
- back to siam area n mbk

Also any idea wat time do the shops at Sampeng open?

bloomiey

Zenn: u just need 2hours to go through slowly at Sampeng. Remember to U-turn back when you see the shoes section as all the shops sell in bulk of 12 otherwise you will end up walking far ahead leading to some road with no shops nor shopping ctr. Probably you can take cab to Khao San after Sampeng or Chao Praya River (Not sure whats there). Just plan to make sure you reach Suan Lum ard 7++pm Singapore time or later cos most shops start to open about 6++pm.
Sampeng open in the morning probably 10am. Pratunam area open the earliest. Probably 8am or 9am.

marilyn_chh

mel,
<strike>May I know the hotel rate for holiday inn? The room looks nice especially the toilet :p</strike>

Found out the rate from your previous postings liao

melodie

snowberries, u're welcome

mrc, e rm is very nice and i love the toilet! got rain shower!!! I love my baths there... hehe
beds are super comfy and u get to choose ur own pillows!

von_teh_su_su

hello all....

i am back...wow so tired, shopping and shopping...! shop till broke...last day, no $$ for lunch too..so had maggie mee and coke for lunch..... so poor thing hor

day 1 - went mbk, siam square, zen (buy bras..), also had MK steamboat @ mbk, yummy nice nice...then one of my thai frend brought us to a seafood restaurant..had tom yum koong, and lots of nice nice local delights...they even tried raw prawns, and pig's neck..that is their local speciality...ee...

day 2 - mbk again, central world (formal WTC), suan lam in the nite time...err....to me, suan lam has nothing much to see..stuffs are quite expensive...so left quite early....back to hotel and take an early nite..

day 3 - early in the morning, we set off to chatuchak...took BTS there..alight @ Mo Chit station i think, the last BTS station....wow weather there was extremly hota..brought tibits...some accessories, jeans for 199bath (didnt stayed there for long, cos it was a heavy rain in the noon time), so took tu tu back to hotel, quite cheap and speedy, haha.......followed by (afternoon) pratunam centre, market...wow these pratunam areas are nice, lot of nite stalls where u can get very good offers....me brought a lot of accessories..and it is so cheap..haha....

overall trip was good.....and realised that now those thai ppl selling stuffs are no longer "bargainable" as before, we tried to bargain on some stuffs, they immediately showed their "not interesed" face..so we went off after that....they didnt bother to ask u back again....but of course there are some nice ppl where they really give u good offer....

@ siam paragon, there is this bangkok international film festival, where everyone is nicely dressed up..red carpet...many celebrities where i didn't know of any...the whole event was like "golden horse award", quite eye opening for us...haha.....

me stayed @ bangkok palace, those it is within the city, but then we have to walk quite far to those town area....surveryed...i think aroman (dun know spell correct or not) is the best, cos infront of the hotel is the nite market nice....to add on, the wearther there is very warm..ladies &amp; kids must drink more water..hehe :)

for those planing to go over, and those who have booked their tickets there, happy shopping....!

zenn

Hi Yanling,
Thanks! Whats nice in Khao San?

Btw would taxi driver knows Sampeng? Cos we intend to go Sampeng dan lunch in Nan Sing. Also is Sampeng a lane or market? Cos saw Sampeng market inside the map.

Hi vonz,
Is central world still under reno?

sailor_p

Just came back and thanks for all your tips. I managed to visit The King &amp; I Spa - nice place. Facial and massage for 1800 baht - much cheaper than Singapore. I spent most of the time at Siam Paragon - like the place very much and the warcoal staff are really cheap there, including the 5% discount and not forgetting to claim VAT. And things at Suam Lum nite market is expensive.. didn't buy much there. Me stay at Novotel Siam and gosh, it's really walking distance to all places like Marble House, Siam Paragon, Siam Square, and MBK. And yes, I saw Singaporeans everywhere too!!

hi sailor_p,

do you remember how much was your accomodation at novotel siam? i am wondering if i shd just stay in the popular asia hotel or pay abit more for abit more comfy...

bloomiey

zenn: Khao San is near to Chao Praya River... Something like chinatown style if i not wrong, i haven't been there.
As for Sampeng, its inside Chinatown. Tell them Sampeng Lane, if they don't know, then tell them Yao-Wa-Rat (Chinatown) Sampeng. Its a small small lane about 3m wide i guess. Scooters and tuk tuk like to squeeze in along the lane so watch out for traffic when u walk along the lane. The taxi will drop you nearby the lane which is along Chinatown. You will see lotsa accessories, soft toys and stuff ard inside and ard that area.

Yeah true Suan Lum stuff are ex, if you wanna buy, then buy more, the price would be cheaper. We bought things in bulk of about 5 to 10 so isn't that ex after bargaining.

hi to those who had stayed in asia hotel before:

1) is the superior room OK?
2) does it have a safe inside the room itself?

sailor_p

minssy, i did the booking thru zuji.com, gave up on asiarooms as most of the time, the hotels i try to book are not available. thru zuji, i pay $151/night (all the taxes included) and you get instant confirmation. i know it's a bit ex but i don't like all the waiting and then the other party tell you that the rooms are not available.

zenn, just show passport or nric (that's what i did, i lock my passport in the safe in the hotel). for vat, you need to spend 2000baht in one recipt and you need to accumulate 5000 baht during your stay in bangkok to claim vat at airport.