Bangkok

aquarius_888

Hi zenn

My hubby got 2 shirts from a tailor...I cannot really remember the name but I think it's called JAMES Tailor...something like that...good workmenship. They will deliver to the hotel once readt. That day my hubby happened to overheard another hotel guest's conversation and shockingly that guy one shot order 16 pcs from that tailor. If you keen I try go back and find the namecard.

zenn

Hi aquarius,

Yes pls! Do you remember how much and how long they take? Cos we are going for 3days oni. Not sure if can be in time...

Thanks ya!

bortei

hi aquarius, i also looking for reputable and good tailor?
i will be staying around siam sq area....

Hi Yanling, our bangkok guru, would you happen to have any recommendations for good tailor??? =))
My other half is thinking of going a suit.

miko, i have stayed at a hotel called sol twin...is it the same hotel? if so, then i will say the hotel is very normal but i didn't really like the location.

so no one is flying to bangkok next monday?

zenn

Anyone tried calling taxi driver Tong? I called but cannot get thro....

Hi bortei, I will be going end of the mth....

bloomiey

Bortei Khan: Not really a guru. Just that i been surfing websites and forum during my bored working hours all across for the countries that i will be visiting so that i won't get lost even if its my first visit and also making my trip a fruitful one. Suit, i am not sure which tailor best because there are some poor tailors there.

zenn: Bangkok taxi drivers aren't rich like Sg Taxi. Their earnings are so little hardly enough to pay mobile bills. lol. Guess he won't answer overseas calls. Most drivers take back less than 1000THB per month, so you can imagine how bad their lives are, working so hard yet earn little, thats why i usually ask taxi driver to keep the small change when a small amt could make a big difference and smile to their life.

zenn

Hi yanling,

Oh... so you usually call them when there? If not how to arrange wif them?

Btw if I did not remember wrongly its pretty easy to get a taxi there rite? If so I will save the trouble

von_teh_su_su

Yanling (bloomiey),

hi hi thanks for recommending Suan Lum nite market...heard from my frends there are quite a lot of nite market for shopping, where can i find it...

anyone has any idea....i am leaving on next wednesday...hehe...anyone same slot as me....! hehe

zenn

Hi vonz,

Another nite market is Patpong but I will prefer Suan Lum to Patpong. Btw, Suan Lum is very BIG. Don't think you can finish one nite.

paopei

Hi Vonz, u can try Pratunam Complex&Pratunam Market. Lots of things (shirts, pants etc) to buy. You can just tell the driver "Suan Lom" If u go Suan Lum, remember to bargain (really "bargain") cause normally their price is a lot higher than other place. Eg, I bought wallet only 100 baht in MBK, in Suan Lum, they told me 400 baht. Exactly the same. For Chatucak, can't bargain much even u bought quite many. Last trip, didn't buy much things from there. Hth

von_teh_su_su

hi zenn & paopei,

thanks for the recommendation...yah i heard a lot of ppl saying MUST go suan lum nite market....a lot of things to buy...hehe must note it down in my travel list....cos one and half years back i went, no heard of suan lum, haha......sure must bargain with them, if not we sure kana "cai tou" kanna chop..! haha....

happy working..... good day

miko2006

Hi Zenn and Bortei,

Do you know of any massage parlour near to Twin Tower then.

Since location is not that ideal...gotto prepare to walk a lot and need MASSAGE soon after!!! haha

Buying Bras and Panties is it the best to go into Isetan (in world trade centre) to get the best bargin? Anywhere else???

Tks.

bortei

hi zenn, me leaving next monday...

Hi vonz, me leaving on wednesday leh, =)

me now a bit apprehensive abt taking cabs on my own from the airport. Cos i usually book package one, inclusive of return transfer.....now headache, cos me very poor at bargaining...and scare the taxi driver will bring us go see jewellery or the lucky buddha. =((

Yanling, is it far to walk from the departure hall to the arrival hall?

bloomiey

zenn: yeah taxi are easy to get in BKK. Anywhere down the road you can hail for 1 much easier than in Sg.

paopei: yeah most stalls in Chatuchak nowadays don't really let you bargain much. Only manage to bargain by abt 10baht to 50baht at most for a T-Shirt. Some even say its fixed price but still they are much cheaper than Suan Lum. But i still prefer Suan Lum, much cooler, cleaner and neatly arranged stalls.

vonz: i guess Suan Lum is second largest market after Chatuchak. Don't eat any food at Suan Lum although there are lotsa food stalls there. Alot of housefly on food.

paopei

Hi Yanling, I'm diff with u
dun like Suan Lum cause feel like the price is higher than Pratunam and Chatucak. But the place is tidier, cooler than chatucak. The food at SuanLum not nice, tried it before.
Hi Miko, I bought underwear from Chatucak about 25 baht/pc. Got lots of nice nice underwear and bras. It's not Triumph or Wacoal brands though, I think should be local brand. But the material is ok, comfortable ...
Hi Bortei, u no need to bargain with the taxi driver. Insist in meter and says"NO" if they wanna bring u to jewel shop to get free gasoline. I encountered few taxis and tuktuk like this in front of Baiyoke Sky hotel. U just tell them NO and out from cab if they really insist. Make sure they know ur destination and ask to on the meter.

von_teh_su_su

Bortei Khan (bortei),

hahah, me leaving on wednesday nite toooo....10.30pm flight..my package includes 2 way transfer, so no worries for cab...but shopping here and there sure need cab one...my last trip to bangkok, taking cab was ok...not scary...

last trip brought all my bras @ CENTRAL department store..i think, price ok...hehe..roadside stalls, i didnt even tot of trying...haha....

paopei

Bortei, the only time I took cab without meter is only when we wanna went to airport. From Samran hotel to airport 300 baht, the driver paid highway fee. Hth ...
And if got people ask u whether first time go BKK, never ever tell them "yes". I always tell them that we come BKK a few times already. So they not interested to offer u go those places ...

fat

Hi gals!!! Me come back liao.....very tiring...shopping non-stop....

Siam Paragon - Its very huge! their Paragon dept store is very big too....the rest of those boutiques are not fully open yet...went to their underwater world too...very nice and much better than ours in Sentosa...its 450baht per pax

Siam Center - recently newly renovated...visited their Coca restuarant for 2 days...very cheap & yummy!!!!

Tokyu @ MBK - as im stayin Phathuwan Princess...if buy lingeries you get add 5% discount if you are a guest with the hotel.

Pathuwan Princess Hotel - also newly renovated...it looks very posh and cozy too

Khao San - Nice place...1st time visited this place although went BKK every year. Its much much better than Patpong nite market coz its much more spacious and stuff sold there is the same as patpong but price wise its cheaper and some stalls you dun need to bargain much at all. Restuarants there are countless...many choices! If take a cab from MBK its about less than half an hour.

marilyn_chh

vonz,
suan lum is a night version of chatukchat, just cooler, smaller and more organise. Well, just dun make that place the 1st stop. The price there is CUT THROAT expensive! ridiculous!

bloomiey

KA: Yeah Underwater world is big and lotsa marine fishes unlike sentosa only those usual sharks. Too bad no travellator.. have to walk, but good thing is they got many resting place to sit down when you are tired. I haven't been to Khao San. What you bought there? Pathuwan Princesss Htl room big?

Anyone booking Tiger Airway July promotion to Thailand? Very cheap.. $9.98 one way trip.

paopei: yeah baiyoke sky hotel outside has alot of tuk tuk and taxi waiting in the morning. They all wanted to go to jewel factory opp MBK and always asking whether anyone wants a ride for 20bath to jewel factory then to MBK.

aquarius_888

Hi Zenn and Bortei...it took only one day. ie I go today, measure, choose fabric and tomorrow afternoon they sent to hotel already.

Pls note this tailor is not really the cheap ones...cos the shirt cost around $30+ to $60 depending on material. However the workmanship is good...in fact the 2 my hubby got from them looks very much like Springfield type.

zenn

Hi aquarius,
Thats good cos only there for 3days so worried not enough time. You managed to find out the address? Btw, they accept cash only?

Hi Yanling,
Ya I also prefer suan lum to chatukchat. Cannot tahan the heat.

$9.98 is to phuket rite? Think to BKK is $29.90. Still cheap but mainly weekdays oni...

Hi KA,
Where is Khao San? New place?

Hi miko,
Sorrie no idea any massage over there...

fat

Hi yanling, the room is much bigger compared to Novotel Siam. Bot two pairs of 3/4 pants, necklaces, earrings, shorts, slipper....all in total less than 800 baht...good buy!

summersnow

hi KA,

welcome back!
i'll be staying at pathuwman princess for my trip in mar too!

any nice thai restaurants to recommend near the hotel? and did u go to any spa?

oso, khao san is someting like a nite mkt rite? isit the backpackers' paradise?

fat

Hi christine - the hotel is great! There's 1 new thai restn in MBK...its on the 2nd level...juz next to the link entrance to your hotel....

Heard the massage & spa in Pathuwan not bad thou I never tried before but my galfren tried...she said not bad thou slightly abit ex than those outside but they can do it in your own room....

summersnow

hi KA,

thanks for the info! can't wait for my trip! heehee...

ask u, muz we pay to use the swimming pool and jacuzzi of the hotel? hopefully not.

i've not been to BKK for more than 10 years and so is rather blur now. heeheehee...

bloomiey

zenn: Today last day for July Tiger Promotion. Khao San is located above Chinatown near to the Chao Praya River. Haven't been there so don't know whats nice there. Probably bars and pubs if u often go clubbing.
Phuket got shopping like Bangkok anot ah? My only idea of Phuket is like a holiday beach resort.

miko2006

Anyone been to this ' Memorial Bridge's Night Mkt in BKK

They sell clothes and accessories both brand new and second-hand

Heard the price there is known to be EVEN lower than the one at Chatuchak (JJ) wkend mkt?

bortei

tks for for the information. =))

currently i still need detailed info on good tailor who can do suits and also good massage centres?
any recommendations?

Thanks!!!!

fat

Christine - Definitely is FREE!!! So enjoy to your fullest! The gym is free as well

Miko - I believe the nite market you mentioned is called "Victoria Memorial Nite Market". Its not that popular bcoz its pretty small.........been there once a few years back & quite disappointing

summersnow

hi KA,

ooh, the gym's free too? aiyah, dun tink i will still have the strength to work out aft all the shopping. heehee...

can i kw which floor is yr room on and is there any view?

annabelle

Hi ppl... can offer me some advices? planning to go bkk this march but wonder if booking from travel agency is cheaper or ala-carte more worth $$? if travel agency can advise which agency? thanks alot...

summersnow

hi annabelle,

if u dun mind travelling by budget airlines, then jetstar is having a promo now. but u have to book by tomorrow. u might want to check out their website. as for hotels wise, u might want to chk out www.asiarooms.com

if u dun wish to get involved in the hassle of having book everything yrself, u might want to chkout this agency website www.planettravel.com.sg. i book my package thru them cos i verie lazie wan. heehee... i oso going i mar...

bloomiey

annabelle: it would be cheaper to book yourself than from agency. Anyway Bangkok is a cheap place to go. Airport transfer by taxi is cheap as well. Just go do some research on places you wanna go then take cab everywhere. I think planet travel charges is on the high side. If you want, go to the usual place, People park complex... the pink building and check out the prices.

annabelle

Hi christine, thanks but i checked already jetstar asia for 2 pax round trip already costs 446 leh... after adding hotel baiyoke sky stay think abt 418 per pax liao le...

yanling, me checked out sunny holidays hor pkg flight by thai costs 464 after taxes leh hotel baiyoke sky... think e difference between pkg and book ourselves 50 bucks bah... still thinking which to take leh as scared jetstar asia like valuair will delay flight again cause tat time went bkk coming bk flight delay 3hrs...

bloomiey

anabelle: which flight does sunny holiday offer? For budget plane, it only cost abt $100 to $200 for round trip to BKK. For Baiyoke Sky hotel booking, low zone deluxe room which is a standard room for most people cost abt $290 for 3 nights. For Junior suite low zone it cost ard $380 per room for 3 nights as well. All these depends on the day you booked, the earlier you booked or get a promotion deal, you get good rates for a trip to BKK for as low as $250 for twin sharing. So overall you can save more than $100. Moreover paying by US$ is cheaper nowadays as the currency has dropped.
Yes budget airline flights are usually delayed reason due to the fact that they are "budget" and have no priority in confirmed landing spot. Therefore those normal airlines have the priority to land and not budget airline and so poor budget plane have to fly round the sky while waiting for the control tower to confirm a landing spot. I took AirAsia to BKK too and noticed the plane made several 45 degree tilt of the plane... About 6 times.. Horrible. Try getting an early morning flight if possible.
Love Baiyoke sky breakfast.. hee.. If every morning i can have such breakfast spread that would be great.

annabelle

yanling, isit? btw sunny offers thai airways. budget airline 100-200 onli? which airline btw? cause i checked jetstar asia first flight there last flight back costs me 446 liao leh so each pax is 223 leh...

bloomiey

annabelle: cos you have to booked few months ahead. Abt 3months ahead, if possible half year is even better. Book flight first, then about 2 to 3 months before departure book your rooms but make sure it doesn't fall on holiday otherwise fully booked again. march is too near, that's why its so expensive. the rates for flight vary just like currency. Today rise, tomorrow might drop. Weekends departure/arrival might be slightly ex too.
You can try checking airasia. I think theirs are one of the cheapest flight to BKK when there isnt't any promotion.
If you depart and arrive during the promotion period for Tiger Airway, only cost $100 including tax per pax, cos flight charge is $9.98 per way and include tax about $90.

stussy

Hi annabelle,
think Jetstar is having promotions now... you may want to check out their prices. But their prices vary depending on which day and which flt. Generally if you depart on Tue/Wed/Thu, it shd be cheaper. Can try jotting down the pxs for each flt for tt few days u r interested in, then try to get the best/cheapest combi.

I managed to get Jetstar tkts at $38 each way from their earlier promotion (so tt's $76 for return trip, $151 incl taxes). I'll be flying out on a Wed last flt, coming back on a Mon second flt. ;p We booked the tkts abt 1 mth ahead...

i also managed to get rooms at Novotel for only $104 per night (w/o bf thou). So total is abt $359 per pax incl taxes for 5D4N...

sky25

hi annabelle,

u can go to people's park centre B1. There a focal travel offering a package @ buy 2 nite's get 2 nites free. d last time i ask is app 320 per pax n u can choose 5 hotels to stay (asia, twin towers, eastin, narai n another 1 which i don rem.) Fly by SQ (if i'm not wrong). But hav to check d timing la.