Bangkok

summersnow

can u recommend me a nice thai restaurant to go to please? preferably near MBK or Siam Sq. wana go for the tom yam soup. thanks!

also, i heard that there's some shops which are open at night (something like pasar malam) outside the arnoma hotel & wtc area, is this true?

hi ntogo,

thanks for the info. i was actually hoping to get something for less than $200? or am i dreaming?! thot some of the budget airline i.e. jetstar have airtixs around that range?

not looking to stay @ hostels in my next visit..but looking for a service apartment instead (2 bedrooms).

summersnow

hi kpo,

yup, i think jetstar having some promo now as my colleagues are all so excited abt it. u might want to take a look at their website. i cannot help u much on this as i only going in march, but i travelling by jetstar too... heehee...

ntogo

hi kPo, for less than S$200.. perhaps u might consider lOoking at budget airlines then! they're around tt range.. non-budget air are more ex. hmm, not too sure abt service apartment!

summersnow

have any of u gone for the cultural dance dinner shows? if so, can you recommend me a gd restaurant to go to please for such trad dance shows? i heard that sala nim ramm at oriental hotel i verie gd but the price is verie exp. has any of u been there b4? can i kw how much it costs per person pls? thanks!

duckling78

yan ling

How can we contact the taxi driver u mentioned and is it cheap or expensive?

Can you give us his contact. Can PM me. Thanks.

fat

Hi gals! Gong Xi Fa Chai!!!!!!!!!!!!

Yeah!!!!! Me finally flying to BKK liao....will update my trip when I get back!

wilderia

Yeh.. i'm soo Happy.. Tiger Airways having sale leh.. 75% discount... Wow!! Great Savings..I spent ard $322 for 2 tickets to BKK...Flying to BKK in March..keke

Next looking for hotels.. goddness... i'm bad at it.. haizzz.. Any recommendations??

After listening to wat my gf said - She was out shopping in the afternoon with her family, as she was not feeling well, she went back early to the hotel to rest. When she opened her door, she saw 2 men in her room going thru her stuffs, immediately they saw her, they pushed her away and escaped.My gf suspect tht they belong to those sydicates in BKK, ganging up with the hotel personnels to gain access to guests rooms... Be careful when you travel, not only to BKK.. to all countries too... : )

Got cheap and nice hotels, please recommend hor..

tarea

Wow KatC!

which hotel was tat!!??

Oh ya gals,
how to get to chinatown ah? Only by cab?
The stores there close at 5pm?

thankie!

summersnow

hihi KatC,

yah yah, wat hotel is dat? tell us! i'm sure all of us wld want to kw. my God, dat's scary! 1st time hearing abt such things in bkk!

bloomiey

TaRea: Chinatown has alot of shops, they don't close so early. Probably closing at ard 10 or 11pm. There is a Hualalumpong station closest to Chinatown, but have to walk. So best way is by cab unless you know the way very well. Its Sampeng Lane inside Chinatown that closes at 6pm only. Very small lane full of shops.

Ugly duckling: he can speak abit of english.

carelinwen

I will be going BKK in Mar, first time going. Can I ask if it is easy to get transport from airport to hotel in Siam area by cab? Meaning will the drivers anyhow quote and drive? Or must bargain to on meter?

wilderia

forgotten the name of the hotel. Can only remember is one of a 2 stars budget hotel in Chinatown. Scary right! haiz.. will try to find out from my gf again.

minssy: My flight timinng is very odd.
SIN-BKK: ETD: 1720 (Sin time) ETA: 1850 (bkk time)
BKK-SIN: ETD: 1920(Bkk time) ETA: 2250 (Sin time)

limited seats... so have to act fast!

hi katc,

wah.. so u will only reach bkk in the evening.. will it be abit wasted anot actually?

hee.. limited seats ah? orh.

your $322 for 2 tickets is inclusive of both airports taxes?

duckling78

how Air aisa??
Never been to budget flight?

Any good hotel to recommend....

Hi Yan ling

But how can we contact him when we reach thai that means we need to get a prepaid card to call har?

He speak a little english that means we have to write the address in thai so that he can bring us to the place we want har?

so i can call him at the airport to pick us up to the hotel right....so his cab fare is reasonable?

bloomiey

Ugly duckling: call him from public phone in airport. Errmm location i not very sure how much he knows. But i guess he should be able to know most of the hotels in BKK and Tiger Shows. Cab fare reasonable? I guess there are only 2 type of taxi. Metered and Fixed Fare. Of course metered is cheaper definitely. Tell him u want by metered from where to where.

harrods: depends on where u wanna go eat. Big, expensive restaurants? or Just cheap restaurant or any food is fine? Shopping? Branded? For a normal person, I think about S$400 or less is sufficient as transport is cheap.

carelinwen: Normally there are alot of cabs at airport would quote you a price to hotel. Go take taxi at DEPARTURE HALL instead of arrival hall. Bargain for taxi to go by meter. No meter, then don't board. Taxis nowadays are more safer than tuk-tuk so don't worry.

hi yanling,

check with you.. is it more ex to take the taxi from the arrival hall? how come must take from departure hall leh?

carelinwen

Hi Yanling,
U mean the taxis don't have designated Q like ours, so just ask them until one agrees to on meter? What if all 'pat kat' and quote you same exp fixed price?

Thanks for the tip, but do you know roughly how much it will cost for the trip(incl tolls and some allowance for jams)? Scared on meter also kena taken extremely long route.

carelinwen

Hi minssy,
The tiger airways one is an offer for those paying by Visa, incl sin airport tax and all fuel charges. BKK airport tax must pay at their airport one (500THB). I tried a search and the price came up to $301 for 2 (reach there sat morn 10.40am, depart on tues 2.55 pm).

But I decided to go by Jetstar instead though must pay slightly more cos they have assigned seats.

hi carelinwen,

wah.. like that ah.. then its actually more ex than jetstar....

tiger is free seating ah? wah! like that means pple will sure KS and rush in like mad leh.. hee...

carelinwen

Hi minssy,
No lah, jetstar more ex. tiger's promotion is cheaper but it is free seating lor. I very scared about rushing and fighting for seats, my friend went by tiger and said you cannot win those aunties one!

hi carelinwen,

izzit?? hhmm, oh! i know why.. the other time i checked the prices, some were under the $38 promo.. ok now i know..

wah cant win those aunties ah? wahahahh! siao liao. then you think you stand a chance? :p

btw, did you happen to check those free & easy packages by say, konsortium or other travel agencies? i was told that the nett payable amt could be cheaper if there is a promo...

wilderia

MINSSY:Comparing with the timing with Jetstar, i prefer the timing with Tiget Airways.at least i can go bk office to clear some work first before boss disturb me when i'm away. haha...Anyway, the timing is ok la.. giv & take lor..hehe

For flight tickets, To be exact. shd be $314 incl tax in Sin, excl. 500 baht.

First time taking Tiger Air, but accordingto mymaid, she said Tiger Air is better than Jetstar.. so jux try lor..keke

bloomiey

minssy: cos most cabs at departure hall refused to on metered. At arrival halls, those cab arrived at airport after dropping passengers usually go by meter. Moreover at departure hall, there is this person who will be helping you to write the hotel name in thai language, he charge abt 5baht i think. Then its hard to get metered taxi there. So its better to wait at arrival hall if you want to get metered cab, although its slightly easier to get 1 there then departure hall.

hi panda,

hee.. :p

hi katc,

hhahah! i see i see
i prefer the first flight out and last flight back.. more of to maximise the timing in bkk...

$314 incl tax ah? hhhmm, ok that sounds cool.. but i heard tiger has cramp seats.. (my frd told me).

hi yanling,

i see i see.... so that means you did not pay the so called 'standard THB 300 baht' for the taxi fare yah?

berszewai

hi yanling,

are their departure and arrival halls in the same building? Will it be easy to located the departure hall once we cleared customs?

bloomiey

minssy: haha.. i haven't pay any fixed price rate for cab. All go by meter. No Meter, no deal. it doesn't even cost 300THB. 200THB is more than enough to get you to most places ard BKK. FYI check in hotel usually ard 12pm to 2pm depending on hotel. i don't think the seats are cramp, after all, i took air asia which was the most cramp of all budget airlines, but still enough leg room.

Bernard and Sze Wai: Yes, same level if i am not wrong. Departure and arrival are side by side only. Terminal 2 is just walking distance from terminal 1 separated by a 2nd level escalator. I also abit blur in their airport cos of custom, VAT, tax and stuff.

Remember to check in early especially budget plane cos the custom check in at BKK is damn slow otherwise you would be running abt 1km from custom to bus transfer. Imagine carrying abt 7kg of hand carry luggage running 1km. Its tiring.

wilderia

Hi Yanling,

I'm kinda confused ...You wrote:

carelinwen: Normally there are alot of cabs at airport would quote you a price to hotel. Go take taxi at DEPARTURE HALL instead of arrival hall. Bargain for taxi to go by meter. No meter, then don't board. Taxis nowadays are more safer than tuk-tuk so don't worry.

minssy: cos most cabs at departure hall refused to on metered. At arrival halls, those cab arrived at airport after dropping passengers usually go by meter. Moreover at departure hall, there is this person who will be helping you to write the hotel name in thai language, he charge abt 5baht i think. Then its hard to get metered taxi there. So its better to wait at arrival hall if you want to get metered cab, although its slightly easier to get 1 there then departure hall.

So DEPARTURE HALL or ARRIVAL HALL...blur liao

von_teh_su_su

hi all....

i will be flying off to Bgk next wednesday by Fin Air....flying off on wednesday @ 10.30pm, and coming back to singapore on Sunday @ 7.30pm....booked the airfare & accommodation @ $318 per pax...includes taxes...

2nd time there, last time went with TG and stayed @ Asia Hotel, quite convenient...this time round staying @ Bangkok Palace...heard it is just renovated...

heard from my frends who just came back, now bgk has a lot of nite market that opens till 3.00am....anyone knows where these nite markets are located at..? and also a new siam paragon..which sell those branded & high class stuffs, just like our paragon @ orchard.....

hehe, me intend to go for the MK steamboat or cocca...shoick man...haha.......

bloomiey

zenn: i heard only valuair has allocated seating with meals onboard probably. Other than that, Jetstar, Tiger and Airasia all meals are payable and free seating.

vonz: Depend on which market you go to. Some open as early as 3am and some closes late. Check it out before you go as some market might use be a useless 1 where you come back empty handed.
The only night market i can recommend is Suan Lum Night Bazaar.
Siam Paragon do have alot of branded shops, but also alot are still under renovation. i guess they are International price... Its as big as Taka, very spacious shopping.

KatC: Sorry my mistake. Take Taxi from ARRIVAL HALL.

bloomiey

zenn: i heard only valuair has allocated seating with meals onboard probably. Other than that, Jetstar, Tiger and Airasia all meals are payable and free seating.

vonz: Depend on which market you go to. Some open as early as 3am and some closes late. Check it out before you go as some market might be a useless 1 where you come back empty handed.
The only night market i can recommend is Suan Lum Night Bazaar.
Siam Paragon do have alot of branded shops, but also alot are still under renovation. i guess they are International price... Its as big as Taka, very spacious shopping.

KatC: Sorry my mistake. Take Taxi from ARRIVAL HALL.

bortei

anyone going to bangkok next monday?
me kind of worried about taking cabs from airport to hotel....me not very good at bargaining leh...

hi yanling,

i had taken jetstar before. its not free seating. seats are assigned and of cos all meals and drinks are payable for budget airlines.. btw, value air doesnt travel to bkk...