Bangkok

aquarius_888

hi MRC we will be staying at Pathumwan Princess...same as Christine.

hi lilybud...novotel not bad...normally if PP fully booked we will opt for Novotel. Equally good location...this time round becos going with PIL and my son, it's better to stay at PP.

lilybud

Thks KA. Will check out Fuji when we go MBK.

Aquarius, thanks for assurance. I booked novotel cos i can get very good rates. Heard that the hotel is quite old.

melodie

duckling, yes.. i'll get a copy for u.

aquarius, u're going to bkk too? hee so qiao!
jus realised after our chat abt bags

lilybud, novotel is good! breakfast good and best location... u can shop ard the hotel also...
Enjoy!

lilybud

thanks melody. unfortunately there's no breakkie for the rates i'm paying.

gals, is it walking distance from novotel to pratunam market ? doesn't look that far from the map but might be deceiving.

melodie

lilybud, mabbe e rates u're paying is too low for them to throw in free bf... anyway u can go for brunch lor
hw cm u can get cheap rates? Accor member?

i think it's quite a distance away fr novotel.. nt sure

dreamdoll

hi lilybud,

novotel has been revamped recently. rooms are def nice
btw, im planning a trip to BKK in may or so, can i ask u how much did u pay for novotel? and where did u get ur rates from?

lilybud

hi dreamdoll. that's good to know. Got the rates thru my company. i'm paying ard 1700b. So far the rates i checked on the internet have been a lot higher. so i conclude my rates are quite cheap ...

summersnow

hi dreamdoll,

are the superior rooms at novotel nice and is the breakfast spread gd? i saw at one website like the hotel and rooms are verie old like dat leh, is this true? cos my travel agent juz inf me dat all the superior rooms at pprincess hotel are fully booked liao. sob...

i now trying to choose betw anorma, baiyoke sky or novotel, can someone pls advise me which one is better?

melodie

christine, if i were u, i'll choose novotel...
i always stay there when i go bkk...

the rooms are nt old leh... moreover, they jus refurnished their rooms, shld be even beta nw.

aquarius, yah, the pics! hee update me when u return ah..

dreamdoll

hi christine,

novotel is really a pleasant surprise.
even the mattress I thought was not bad...breakfast spread was not bad also...I like their dried fruits etc...in terms of location, arnoma and baiyoke sky are def not as gd as novotel...and just across the road from novotel you have the famous thai restaurant (a must-go for me) and also chang's massage that opens till 2am across from the hotel's side exit
and a short walk away is the siam discovery centre where the oishi buffet spread is simply fantastic! it's slightly on the expensive side, but worth a visit!

summersnow

hi melodie, dreamdoll,

thanks for the info! will see which hotel my hubby and frens prefer then.

dreamdoll,
do u remember wat is the name of the famous thai restaurant? i trying to scout for a gd thai rest to go to! oso, hw much does it roughly cost per head for the oishi buffet? i heard fr my cousin dat the spread is really gd.

dreamdoll

Hi Christine!

I can't quite rem the name of the Thai restaurant - but it's "mother's house" or "father's house" when translated!

Oishi buffet prices have gone up since I last went...coz heard they renovated the entire place..and lunch is definitely cheaper than dinner...also interesting that they have different price ranges for different time periods
Should check it out while you're there!

fat

Lilybub - hmm...pratumum is actually not that near to novotel at all. I normally will tak a cab there.

Well, in terms of size of course PP will be bigger than Novotel but it not that bad at all and I prefer their breakfast spread than PP wan.

Christine - my choice for you will be Novotel 1st. If really no choice than take Arnoma.

sakurasan

Christine

The best choice is Novotel. I always stay there when I go to BKK - great location and very decent rooms. They have recently renovated some of their floors so you can ask for these floors when you make reservations. Baiyoke is out of the way. Arnoma is in a pretty ok location but I heard that the rooms are kind of old.

momopo

anyone here knows whether it is legal for me to bring back a yr's supply of oral contraceptive pills from bkk?

it's so much cheaper there.

suetan

sakurasan> I got my diane32's yr of supply fr bk last yr. So no its perfectly legal cos its sold at watsons and all major pharmacy. No need dr's precription

paopei

How about the rice cracker with porkfloss? Can we bring it in? Loves their rice cracker and the pork floss too ...

momopo

suelynn, but it's a prescription drug in singapore. so i wonder whether it's legal to bring it in to singapore...

nurse

which hotel will u gals recommend? will be going to BKK in Mar 06. or any website to book BKK hotel rooms cheap?

bloomiey

nurse: Yes. online bookings there are a few
1) www.asiarooms.com
Comments: No problem, but make sure you don't request for changes or refund otherwise it will be nightmare for you
2) www.sawadee.com
Comments: Good
3) www.asiatravel.com
Comments: Good
4) www.precisionreservations.com
Comments: I booked from here, slightly ex than the above but 24hrs online live webchat. 100% safe, Fast Response

You can take either 1 of the popular online website to book your hotel.

bloomiey

paopei: Me too. I Love BKK Porkfloss stuff. Nice, yummy n cheap. When ya trip to BKK?

Other then frozen and fresh poultry/pork are NOT allowed (not even a little bit), bak kwa allowed alittle bit only probably few pieces, Other Dried pork, chicken stuff are allowed.

ohstrawberry

Hi, people

I'm back from BKK on sunday. Heard that here rained almost everyday, BKK weather was good the past few days i'm there. Morning is cooling and drizzled in the evening.
Stayed at Samran Place again.
Had been to Pratunam market - opened from Mon to Fri ard 8am - 5pm. Had bought lots of clothings and belts there, but no trying cause wholesale.
Also been to WTC - now having discount coupon promotion, buy 800baht worth of regular price item and entitled to a chance of lucky draw which consisted of different discount coupons for your next purchase, it can be 10% to 50%.
Also to Suan Lum night market - nothing interesting us though, cause my friends and i wanted to spend more at Chatuchak.
Chatuchak - as usual crowded. We saw 2 men fighting and they were approaching us, so scared that we faster ran for our life. Hahaha, unusual experience this time....
Chinatown in the evening to have dinner - went to Nam Sing. So fed up, waited for nearly 30min for the 2nd dish to serve, so angry and complained to the captain, food not bad but service lousy.... Not going back there again. Hai Wai Tian is better....
Tried Sumo Japanese restaurant at MBK,very slow service and the most agitated part is they serve those ang mo who came later than us, lousy service too.....
Had tried the Thai restaurant in WTC 4th floor, not bad, except the green curry not so good. Tom Yum Koong is the best.

Hi, paopei
The porkfloss rice cracker can bring into singapore, no worry la....

fat

ohstrawberry - thanks for the info mentioned above. Despite some unhappiness, but I think overall you did enjoy your trip rite? kekeke....I agree with you that the service in some resnt are pretty bad. The last time I went to their Coca Steamboat resnt also like that. Can you imaging that we waited almost 20mins for 1 miserable small bowl of rice! Cant believe it man!

lilybud

Hi Gals ... back from BKK last night. Stayed at Novotel. No complaints but praises ... very good location. Superior room is slightly small but very nice (newly refurbished). Stayed for four nights. We walked to most shopping centres like Mbk, Siam Paragon, Siam Discovery and even all the way to Pratunam market.

Went to Oishi Grand for dinner - the Jap buffet at Siam Discovery Center. Lunch is 650B ++ and dinner is 850B ++ (around 1000B nett per pax). Love the spread. The teppanyaki is fabulous ... should try if don't mind paying the money ....

Tried Fuji at MBK. Food wasn't that great though ... maybe that's because of what i ordered. They have weird pricing.

paopei

Hi Yanling, thanks for the info. Will go next week 19 Jan-24 Jan. Can't wait anymore hehehe
Hi Ohstrawberry, thanks for the info. Which room did u stay at Samran? The bathtub clean or not? Last time I stay at 809, got big bed (2 supersingle bed put together) but the bathtub is dirty. SO wanna check with u about other rooms. Thanks

bloomiey

ohstrawberry Did you manage to find Sampeng Lane @ Chinatown? Hopefully i can find it.

Any other recommendation for cheap and nice buffet dinner and good service? haha...

weixiongy

paopei> hehehehe im going one day after you. will be staying at baiyoke sky^^

thanks to marilyn and yan ling for the info on bkk^-^ really great help.
by the way juz wanna ask a question for my wife hehehehe where to get w.a.c.o.a.l stuff? is it cheaper then buying in singapore?

paopei

Yanling, I got 2 buffet at Novotel and Intercontinental. For lunch, Novotel: 500 baht, Intercontinental 750 baht. Dinner is more exp
Anybody tried Daiichi buffet? I saw from another web, looks quite nice. Japanese buffet ... but dun know how much.
wxyang, yup ... I got the file from Yanling too. Thinking wanna go to Erawan Shrine. Thanks a lot to Yanling for the file.
Enjoy ur trip,ok?

pinkblusher

Used to travel to Bangkok very often due to business travels but not now... I'll go mad with the massages, shopping (esp for Warcoal bras), and tailor make all my office attire (thinking back then, was nuts but I can spend 1K plus cuz it's really cheap!) does anyone knows when is the non-peak period to visit BKK when everything is on sale and air tickets are cheaper?

I'm planning to make a visit there as a tourist this time. Sure miss the place lots!

melodie

lilibud, u enjoyed ur trip!
bot anythg interesting?
which flr did u stay in novotel?

ohstrawberry, do u noe wat r the opening hrs for sampeng mkt?
trying to plan my itnerary now to pass to my driver in Bangkok so that he can arrange his schedule.

pinkblusher, imo.. jun/jul is the best, Thai sale starts ard tt tm. But tixs won't be cheap tt tm unless there's a promo.

bloomiey

paopei: i saw from forum someone posted photos of the food from novotel and intercontinental, but wonder was it a Christmas buffet. Seems yummy to me... Yeah u too enjoy your trip. Will try to update more info when i am back at night before the day you fly off.

wxyang: Wacoal and Triumph can get from BKK. Would definitely be much cheaper there. I think get from MBK if i am not wrong.

melodie

lilibud, u enjoyed ur trip!
bot anythg interesting?
which flr did u stay in novotel?

ohstrawberry, do u noe wat r the opening hrs for sampeng mkt?
trying to plan my itnerary now to pass to my driver in Bangkok so that he can arrange his schedule.

pinkblusher, imo.. jun/jul is the best, Thai sale starts ard tt tm. But tixs won't be cheap tt tm unless there's a promo.

jule

I just touched down in Sg last evening too. Weather was sunny all the way in BKK. Stayed in Centre Point, good rooms with internet access but breakfast limited choice, filling still.

Went shopping at Pratunam Mkt, JJ Mkt, Sampeng Mkt, MBK, Khao San Rd. Most of the stalls at Pratunam closed by 6, Khao San Rd is good place to chill out n have a drink, has small stalls too. Left JJ Market by 1+ cos very hot.

Ate at nan sing for lunch and service was quite fast then. The bird nest not so good but Sharks Fins was better. Also tried Zen Japanese Restaurant as I usually go Fuji. Zen was alright except the sashimi not so nice.

Seems like the bras at BKK getting more exp... didn't buy much this time. The Zen Discount for tourist is not valid for Wacoal Products. For wider selection, can go Siam Paragon.

Also went the Cabaret Show at Asia Hotel, though it's a small scale show, it's quite interesting.

elaine77

Im going to bkk on the 13 jan.. which is this friday.. looking forward to it.. going to shop til drop.. kekee..

for those who just came back.. are they selling chinese new years thingy there now like those chinese hanging deco etc chun lian.. and accessories now in chinatown there?

aquarius_888

hi lilybud and jule

Can share with us how is the weather like now in BKK? Going on Sat so need to know if it is cold like SG or not. thanks!

summersnow

anyone been to this open air restaurant which is on top of the state tower called sirocco? their website is http://www.thedomebkk.com/web/sirc_home.html. heard fr my sis dat it's a verie grand place to visit. but how's the price like? any idea anyone? :p

i went to their website to take a look. the ambience looks great, but i think the price will cost a bomb too...?

bortei

for those who booked the flight and hotel separately, without a package, do you just take the cab from the airport?

I will be staying at novotel siam sq, how much will it cost from airport to there?

10Q!!!

aquarius_888

Hi Bortei I also booked flight and hotel separately...so will have to take a cab from airport when we are there...ranges from 200 to 300 baht I think.

marilyn_chh

hello everyone,

I'm back too.. Stayed at superior room in D'Ma Pavillion. The room is quite ok, the bathroom is big with separate showers and bathtub. Took cab everywhere and each trip never exceeds TB100. In total, i think we spent abt SGD40 for cab fare. Shop and eat so much..Dinner at seafood market restaurant is an eye opener but quite ex for 2 person. Spend like SGD$60 perpax. The concept is quite interesting where you need to buy the live seafood and fresh vegetables from the market. They cahrged differently for different cooking style.

We also ate at Fuji restaurant. Personally we felt the food is good and the set meal is so cheap compared to SIN. The chasoba is yummy too! If you're going to chatukchat, you can drop suan lum from your list cos the things there are so much more ex. The starting price that is quoted in SL is at least double of what in chatukchat!

Pratunam market is the best for clothing, bermuda, men's shirts, jeans, winter wear, men hooded jacket, children clothes, shirt with cute graphics etc... For the same thing in pratunam, the price is generally at least 30-40% more expensive in chatukchat. For accessories like handphone chain, earrings, bags (minimum 3 piece but can mix design), children stationeries, hello kitty stuff, etc is very cheap. Bought 12 pairs of earrings for 102TB ( simple studs, pearls and dangling earrings)..My gf bought those beaded necklaces with shell pendant for SGD 35-50 TB. We could not get any shoes in Chinatown cos they sell mostly wholesale and you need to buy a minimum of 6 pairs for the same design! but some shops does let you mix and match. Bought a very pretty hooded winter wear for TB690 (that's like SGD29) in pratunam!

Oh yeah, sharkfins and bird nest is nice at Nam Sing.

Massage at let's relax is good though painful (very "suan"). The place is fantastic. We did thai herbal massage for TB700 and at the end of the massage, we were given a plate of mango and rice each..Simply yummy!!

For those who wants to do nail art, do it at Siam square. It's usually TB199 for 10 fingers..Very nice design. We did ours at pratunam shopping centre using machine. Paid TB99 but damn lousy. The manicurist painted my nails too thick and it didn't dry properly. By the end of the day, my nails were so ugly and some of the design already peel off... really regretted doing it..

Anyway, here sharing with you our itinerary. Hope it help you gals in planning your BKK trip. a you can see, we din even have time to go to MKB and siam square for shopping..haha...

<font color="0000ff">Day 1</font>
Pratunam area for shopping
Dinner at fuji restaurant, MBK

<font color="0000ff">Day 2</font>
Shopping at Chatukchak
Foot Massage at Happy Massage near our hotel
Dinner Seafood market restaurant

<font color="0000ff">Day 3 -- Bad planning cos chinatown and sukhumvit is very far apart. Had difficulty finding cab and in the end took tuk tuk which cost us TB250</font>
L:unch at Nam Sing, Chinatown for sharks fins and bird nest and shopping at Sampeng Lane for accessories and bags.
Massage at let's relax (sukhumvit branch) at 5pm
Dinner at suan lam open air food fair and more shopping

<font color="0000ff">Day 4</font>
Pratunam for more shopping
Hotel pick up at 3.50pm.

<font color="ff0000">christine</font>
dun eat there..it's very very ex! can puke blood...may be go for a drink there..heard it's around SGD$16 for a drink..

summersnow

hi yanling, mrc,

thanks! cos my sis strongly recommended the place, so i thinking of going. hmmm... maybe can juz go for a drink then... heehee...

marilyn_chh

hi aquarius,
thanks for the warm welcome..
it's good! sunshine everyday.. in the afternoon, the sun is quite burning :p Bring sunglasses and cap. I bought a "xian dan chao ren" sunglasses there..haha..

dreamdoll,
well, transportation wise we have no problem since we took cab everywhere..from D'mA to MBK around TB40-TB45, to sukhumvit around TB80 and to chinatown around TB80 also. We reached hotel almost midnight everyday..not a problem for 2 girls

7 eleven is just opposite the hotel and there's a "lin zhen xiang" pork floss shop across the road (opposite bangkok hotel). Luckily we bought the floss from the shop. For the same item, the airport is selling at TB100 more! We bought this "dog poo" floss at TB80 and airport is selling TB180! I spent TB300 for several food items in the shop and this amount can't even buy me 2 packet of "dog poo" floss from the airport..hehe...

I've stayed in Asia hotel before and the lobby is quite dim but for D'Ma, it's bright with tall ceiling. It's just give me a better feeling. But of course, Asia hotel is more convenient since it is link to the MRT.

i would recommend it if you like shopping for clothes! shopping at pratunam is very good and within walking distance from D'MA. you can practially stay there for 2 days just to shop for clothes..

Oh yeah, someone mentioned the fish maw soup at pratunam shopping centre. Yeah, it was indeed yummy! very cheap also TB35 with noodles. The "or jian" is nice but extremely oily. The tom yum soup is very very nice too. We spend less than TB200 (less than SGD8) there for 2 person