Bangkok

aquarius_888

hi pooh it's considered not bad already.

bbpooh

i changed mine at jurong pt basement...the one near the meizhenxiang...

thanks obaesom...will check it out...

is the emporium worth going??? or i can get the underwear at Zen and Central World Plaza at the same price???

destitonia

hi pooh,
i also going to stay at arnoma but i goin gon 15..i know there is a Chang foot massage near Novotel..think it's not bad, got quite good review..

icebaby0

Anyone has a picture of the place Samran which "ohstrawberry" has sent out? If yes, pls. email me.

Cos I am bring my son and parents for this trip. I just like to show my parents how the place look like before booking.

Pls. help email to [email protected]

estben

Anyone got any comment abt Novotel? This time round i am staying there, had stayed at Baiyoke sky, eastin, and d'ma bf, so thought of staying at novotel because of its location..... so happy finally going to BBk again, like ohstrawberry mentioned going to be BBK addict!!!!!
icebaby, u might want to check rooms and location via www.asiatravel.com whenever someone mentioned abt hotel, i would tend to check its facility, location and rooms etc.... might help.
Hi pooh, you got a good rate hor, now i only saw 23.9 to 24 where did you change?

whiteveil

Hi Esther

i have stayed at Novotel in May for 5 days....they have just renovated the hotel rooms and so everything is new and clean! nice reno too! thumbs up for their service also! highly recommended

destitonia

anyone been to dreamworld before? thinking of going with hubby..wondering how to get there if dun get the package from hotel..and also, dunno from there get cab to go back to hotel or not...

ohstrawberry

Hi,people

I had tried Indara Massage during the last trip to BKK. Had tried the foot spa and whole body oil massage. My hubby had tried the foot reflexology.
Overall, their service is good. I enjoyed their foot spa alot, so soothing until i fall asleep. However the oil massage not so enjoyable. First they applied tamarind scrub on me, it stinged the small wound on my leg and i was asked to take the shower in a bathroom with transparent glass door, so pai seh. Although it's in a couple room, but still not used to take a shower which so revealing. Perhaps it was also my first time experiencing being scrubbed and massage on my chest area, so i felt quite tense during the whole massage.
I'll recommend Let's relax (sukhumvit branch), although it's only can reach by cab, but the place is beautiful and relaxing, i had tried the thai herbal massage there. Can be quite painful but their service is good, i even got a complimentary ball point pen, flower tea and mango rice after the massage, and it's cheaper than Indara massage.

bbpooh

hi ohstrawberry,

how to we get to Let's relax? can you give me the address? actually i have planned for my massage in the night time ard 10-12pm so that i can fully utilize my time for shopping thus would prefer to have my massage near Arnoma Hotel...

can anyone advise whether Emporium sells more variety and cheaper underwear or just get the underwear at WTC will do?

icy42

Hi there!

I'm a newbie here.. can anyone advise whether the airfare is a good buy at $302 (round trip w/out thai airport tax) for 2 pax? Novotel or Asia Hotel better? My sis's boyfriend can find Conrad @ SGD$80 p/nite.. Good buy? Need advices b4 i confirm.. Tks in advance!

Icy

blueroti

hi Icy

your airfare sounds pretty cheap. i'm paying about $480 for 2 pax - flying by AirAsia.

am paying for centrepoint service apt at about $76 so think your conrad deal sounds pretty good - that is provided the conrad hotel there is as good as the 1 here.

novotel is more expensive than asia hotel but heard it's pretty good - my hubby's friend just went there recently and said it was good.

blueroti

by the way, does anyone know where is the best place to get the thai tidbits? eg. pork floss twist, crackers. is it MBK?

sereneli

Hi Icy,
Your air tickets is quite a good deal cos mine is $296 nett per pax travelling in Jan 2006 via Swiss Air.

Hi Blueroti,
You can buy from MBK and ask them to pack into carton boxes if u buying a lot, then u can just throw in to cargo when u come back. Alternatively, some friends said that tidbits from Chinatown is fresher

aquarius_888

Hi Icy, your airfare consider good price. We just booked ours...travel by SQ and price for 2 paxs is $582.

Blueroti...I always go to MBK...the shop I think is called Xin Dong Yang...something like that.

blueroti

Hi serene
thanks for the info. but will the crackers be crushed if they're packed into carton boxes and check in?

thanks aquarius. the last time i went to bangkok, i bought the crackers from MBK - can't remember which shop though. but will look out for xin dong yang then.

jule

There's this shop in Chinatown (in fact 2 side by side, but I recommend the one on the right facing u) which sells all pork based stuff.. like pork floss, pork crispy strips etc. It's cheaper a little. If you are going Chinatown, can get from there on the way. Else CTC Market also has 1 stall which sells,and the auntie gives discount when you buy more.

sereneli

Hi Blueroti,
No prob! So far, been doing that everytime I went bkk and it's ok lah.

Hi Zenn,
Heard from a fellow forumer that it's not bad and she showed me the pics that she took. I booked PJ for 8 adults travelling in Jan there too. One night is about SGD 42.00.

Hi Jule,
I always can't find this shop in CTC, any idea near where?

icebaby0

ohstrawberry,

Thanks for the email. But need to enquire how the standard room is differ to superior room at samran.

All,

As for exchange rate, I checked at pple's park, it's also 24.2

I got my airticket for 5 pax, at $610 (inclusive of airport tax and not the 50 baht) but travelling only in Mar'06 with Air asia

estben

Thank you serene, 24.25 quite a good deal, my working place only 23.9 novena sq......... northpoint 24... is mustafa foreign exchange at mustafa? Kindly advised thks

sereneli

Hi Esther,

No prob. Yeah, it's at Mustafa itself.....they have 2 outlets, one at serangoon plaza and one at the old mustafa itself....both are very near each other actually.

xenacute

i just back from BKK & want to let you all know that the leonard drake ultra senstive facial treatment is simply awesome at BKK...at 1700B but you can get a 10% discount if u apply for the tourist card at Siam Discovery Centre....

I got sooo many good buys there....i so excited to share with you all.....can't wait to go again but hmmm, think the dermalogical pdts there may not be that cheap after all...

the sheer tint suncover is like 1840B there....does anyone know the price of this pdt here in spore??? Cos, i may be going at mth end again....hurray....& I think Novotel is a really good location for all shoppaholics for me....heee

qoo_grapes

I heard that Golden Mile exchange rate is 24.5 today.. not sure if it's true.. i goign to confirm tonight.

Does anyone know how to go sampeng? Heard is a good shopping place for shoes, accessories...

blueroti

my brother who has been to bangkok before said actually it's cheaper to change your money there - so you may want to consider.

xenacute

Hi estben,
Novotel is a very good choice cos along the way to MBK, there is already a lot of nice shops...(but shops here more expensive than MBK a bit lah).....also a lot of massage places just next to hotel...sO VERY VERY CONVENIENT ^_^...for the 3 days i was there, i went for massage every night....the massage shops there close very late like 1am...but last treatment start at 12am lah....i shop until my feet cannot tahan before going to the massage shop to do foot massage...lol..i am always the last customer loh....heee, so as to maximize my time mah....^_^

Also, Novotel also got offer in-room massage services 24 hrs round the clock...but more expensive la.....but at least if really got no time still can squeeze in massage loh...lol

i really got no complains with Novotel...service good & fast...rooms new & clean....only complaint i have is the breakfast....but then again, breakfast preference is very subjective loh....cos actually, their food is not bad but their western food better than their chinese food...but too bad, i like chinese food better....but on the whole, still a very good choice....

I booked from asiaroom.com ...

xenacute

hi schnauzie,
it is 65 mins...but i suggest that u go slightly earlier cos they will ask u to fill up a form before treatment.....what i did was that on the first day that i was in BKK, i went to Leonard drake first to confirm my appnt, to fill up the form as well as to apply for the tourist card...so that i dun delay my time on the 3rd day when i go for the facial.....I made the facial the last activity before going to airport so it impt to give yourself enough time & emphasize to them that u need to rush to airport...

mindy

anyone going BKK in early Jan? can share which budget airline offer best rates and which online hotel to book..
me planning to stay Phathuwan
thx

sereneli

Hi Mindy,

I am going there on 6th Jan night and back to SIN on 10th Jan.

Booked the following online :

Zuji : Swiss Air - $296 nett
Asiarooms : PJ Watergate - $42/night

aquarius_888

hi JL...my friend recommended me asiarooms to book online...if you plan to stay pathumwan better book now cos I had a hard time booking my rooms there. I am going second week of Jan cos 6 - 9 Jan fully booked. First week no more rooms already unless you willing to pay higher for deluxe then maybe got chance. Second week maybe still got chance. I saw Jetstar Asia's rate not bad.

icebaby0

Yah, today AirAsia giving away free tickets!

Argh...i made my booking 1 week earlier..could have had free tickets for 5 pax. I so angry!!!

elaine77

Im going to bangkok on 13jan back on 16th jan.. by tigeraiways.
I book thru agency.. i think mine is expensive leh.. compare to what you all have booked because my hubby wants the transfer to be arranged by the agency.. he felt that its safer this way..I will be staying at bayioke sky, i paid total of $710(2pax) of hotel and air-fares.

I think among all the buget-air, airasia is the cheapest. Our friend took before airasia.. he said the service is very bad.. so we decide not to take airasia.. we will try tigerairways this time, usually i took finair to BKK but this time finair all fully booked on coming back on 9th jan... going on 13th jan is expensive..

chatterbox

hi elaine,

I'm leaving for BKK on the 12 jan and coming back on the same day as u. By tigerairway too :D
I got my tixs real cheap for slightly < $200 for 2 pax. I'll be staying at Grand Diamond :D

Cant wait to fly there and shop till drop!!!!!

foreverhappy

I never been to BKK so i need advise as to which place can have nice shopping and food and which hotel is cheap yet goos too. Going by budget airline is save har. Never try before leh.. Thanks in advance

icebaby0

now seems like the website is jam! Haiz. I thought of booking 1 more trip to BKK in 3rd qtr of the yr. Then surprise dh (more like he bo bian but to go with me!)

icy42

Tks for the info.. My final confirmed flight &amp; hotel:
Jetstarasia - SGD302 for 2 pax (exclude thai airport tax 500bhat)
Baiyoke Sky Hotel at SGD94 per nite (i'm paying S$376 for 5 nites)

I know that my flight deal is good, recommended to all who have yet book. Cos jetstarasia.com has S$18 (w/out tax) air tickets to alot of places. I managed to book a S$58 (to bangkok) &amp; S$18 (back from Bangkok). still it's worthy cos u save that little bit for shopping..

My query here is, anyone stayed Baiyoke Sky b4?
Wat's the diff between the low flr (22nd-49th) &amp; the normal ones?
Standard room size - isit very small?

Awaiting kind replies from anyone here.

Tks in advance!

sabafugly

hi guys.. have anyone tried to dine weekend at bed supperclub?? if yes, do u guys know the cost for 2?? im tinkin of dining dere. but ive no idea how much its gonna cost.. and if its worth it.

terilyn

I'm flying to BKK on Feb for 6D5N.

Flight: Jetstar Asia (return) S$111 (incl.tax)Depart: 5.30pm
Hotel : Twin Tower Hotel (Standard) S$55 per night

TOTAL :S$248.50 (All in)

Good deal.