Bangkok

liverpool11

Hi all, just to share my experience while I am staying in Pratunam Park Hotel .

This was a company sponsor trip for my wife company. I am just tagging along and accompanying her for this trip. On the 1st day while we check in, it took us almost 3-4 hours. Reason is we specifically tell the tour agency that we want a connecting room for her manager family (2 Kids 2 adults). But the hotel reply was that there aren't any connecting room left. We then wanted only one room with and extra bed, so that we can go back singapore and argue with the tour agency to refund the money, but this also cannot be done. Staff was rude and unaccomdating during this period all the while. Keep talking to each other in thai during our conversation.

The hotel is also super out of place, not near to any MRT at all, you need to walk at least about 20-30mins just to reach the nearest walking station.

Coming back is also a problem, seems like most the taxi drivers don't even know this hotel exist. I have to even guide them where to go.

Conclusion, even if someone provide me free accomodation to stay there. I won't even think twice to reject it.

So far, I still think Asia hotel in terms of pricing, venue and location is the best value for money.

sweetpea

Hi Noscon, I just came back from BKK 2 weeks back. From my understanding from others and from my experience, Taxi from Airport should not cost more than 250 Baht. This excludes 50 Baht Surcharge if you take the highway, and toll. Toll should be by PER CAR and not per head. Was ketok once before and now I make sure it is per car. One piece of advise: pay your tolls on the spot with ur money at the toll counter. Dun let the driver pay for you first and then later he claim back the total with a discrepant amount.

sweetpea

And also agree with liverpool11 - Think Asia hotel has one of the best locations and prices. I have not stayed there before...but when I was there the few times..I did wish I had booked Asia instead..coz its so convenient! and for the same price as Tower Inn which I stayed, Asia is a better value.

aquarius_888

Hi Sweetpea

Thanks for sharing on the taxi fare...I remembered we paid 300baht most of the time but now I know can be lesser. kekeke

Have stayed Asia Hotel before and the hotel room, location, breakfast and most important pricing is really good.

noscon

sweetpea

tks 4 e advice but how do u tell e driver u want to pay e toll yrself? their english quite ok isit? or u insist on 300baht n no more b4 boardg the taxi?

anyone knows of a seafood restaurant where u pick ur own live seafood n dictate how u want them cook? i saw it on travel n living channel on e cable a few times n alwaays e same place...

icebaby0

Just to inform those who wish to travel cheap next year feb and mar'06.

Airasia is offering one way from $29.99(total airfare + tax from $122 onwards) to BKK.

Tigerairways is offering one way from $9.98 (total airfare + tax from $99 onwards) to hatyai, krabi, phuket, etc

Check their website for details:
1) www.airasia.com
2) www.tigerairways.com

I booked for 5 pax to go in march'06 to BKK...can't wait!

princessjen

hi aquarius,
wah like tat u zhuan dao lor..tats cool..
i din neg cos we took e cab frm e taxi counter lor...then e gal said toll pay driver...next trip i try to bargain..keke can go to BKK in jan06 soon..

sweetpea

Hi ladies...forgot to mention, when I said 250 Baht..its by meter..not by nego.

And no worries about English, so far, I have met all English speaking cab drivers in Bangkok. To pay toll urself, before you reach the toll station, prepare your bahts. 20 baht denominations are good. as u approach the toll station, ask them how much and say that u will pay. Then pass the money to them.

sereneli

Going bangkok with my whole family (6 Adults) in Jan 2006. Want to check if there's any service apartment there that has 3 rooms to a flat. Alternatively, anybody tried Bangkok City Inn?

blueroti

Hi anyone stayed at Reflections Hotel before? the rooms look really cool. but wondering if it's really out of the place.
any idea?

tarcie

I just came back from BKK today.

Actually i dunno why, but apparently the taxi charge me only 150 baht to go to first hotel from the airport. I think the taxi will charge more if you stay in a more expensive hotel. And he did not charge any toll too.=p

blueroti

has anyone stayed at centrepoint service apt petchburi hotel before? the reviews on asiarooms are pretty good. i'm almost sold on staying there.

mitzi

Hi Tarcie

How is First Hotel? Is it really infested with cockroaches like some of the website mentioned? Or really clean? I am thinking of staying at the Tower Wing for my next holiday.

zenn

I realised that Samran Place is quite highly recommended here. Can I check where exactly is the hotel located? Convenient?

Anyone stayed in Arnoma? Its very convenient but heard quite old?

zenn

Hi blueroti,

Yalor. Arnoma around $107 per nite. Any cheaper and yet convenient one beside Asia?

I stayed in Eastin early this yr. I quite like that hotel except that location not as convenient.

Anyone???

sweetpea

Yep..Arnoma is nice. Clean..and the stuff are very friendly. Breakfast is good too...location is superb. Just pricey, and a little crowded maybe.

zenn

Thanks sweetpea!

Fates, pathuwan princess confirmed gd but x leh!

Any other cheap and gd one? Btw, anyone stayed in Eastin or Reflection Rooms recently?

aquarius_888

Fates, yeah...PP's price quite expensive and also difficult to get rooms...will be staying there when I go in Jan next year. Still waiting for confirmation from travel agent.

mitzi

Anyone stayed at First Hotel before recently? Any comments? I'm still thinking whether to change the hotel cos there're quite a few bad reviews about First Hotel.

destitonia

hi all, im going to bkk with hubby for the first time. Read in the forum that no need to bring so much clothes there cos can easily buy from there. But i also read that over there the sizes are quite small..worried i may not be able to get cos me and hubby quite big size..

mitzi : i also was looking at first hotel but becos of the many bad reviews, i dropped the idea. staying at arnoma cos asia fully booked..

mitzi

destitonia: Arnoma more exp leh, thus out of my budget. Booked First Hotel in a rush, now regret. Thus thinking of changing. sigh..

Wonder if anyone stayed there recently, can provide some reviews..

ahjo77

hi Mitzi

I Had stay in First Hotel in eariler this year ,..end march ...and we stay in the tower wing which is the newer one n i find that the hotel room n loation is not bad leh ..quite clean jsut that breakfast is so so onli....for those who like to go pratunam n central world plaza ..i find this hotel is quite accessible to them

ahjo77

another budget hote that you can conisder is Samran Place..however for the breakfast tis not buffet ...its a set meal..thus those big eaters might not be full ....keke

mitzi

AhJo, really ah? I dun mind so long there's no cockroaches/rats loh. Cos I saw from some reviews, that there are.. Scared the hell out of me kekeke..

And I also heard that even though there's confirmation that you booked a room, you go there, end up no available rooms, and they throw you in the main wing! Which is very old and dirty..

tarcie

Mitzi,

I think first hotel is okay. I stayed at the main wing. It is not dirty, but please dont stay at the 9th floor as it is more noisy. You can request a change of rooms if you are not satisfied. It is definitely cheap though.

fates

Oopps okok....ya Pathuwan Princess is on the high side but it's so comfy loh. Heee...
And convenient as MBK is just beside it

Hi ariesta, depending what you want, but you can mostly find bulk purchases for your favours in CTC market......

mitzi

tarcie, thank u so much!! U stayed Main Wing? OH.. that's the older building rite? Hmm.. but the reviews not like what u say haha..

zenn

Hi Ahjo,
Where is Samran Place located?

Any comments on PJ Watergate Hotel and Baiyoke Sky Hotel? Which is more convenient?

mitzi

I stayed at Baiyoke Sky before. The view is great! Is at Pratunam. But not so convenient cos it's not near to any BTS. But for me, cabs are so cheap (by meter), so everywhere I went, I took cab! And I love the view from the hotel

Now, any comments for Eastin/First Hotel please? Now headache which to go for :p

mitzi

Eastin fully booked for Dec

I'm stucked with First Hotel. Prays hard that it's clean and no cockroaches/rats!!! :p

hi mitzi,
I stayed in both Eastin and First Hotel before.
For location wise, First Hotel is much more convenient. I am quite okie with the hotel... just that need to wait pretty long for the lift at times.
As for Eastin, it's more classy and "comfortable". But have to walk quite a distant to Pratunam side.

mitzi

hi butter, thanks! So long its clean, I'm fine
Just that saw some reviews that it was kinda infested with 'unwelcome guests' that's all :D

bbpooh

hi destitonia,

i just change my thai bhat yesterday at 24.1 dun know is the rate good or not....me will be going to bangkok next thursday staying at Arnoma Hotel, can anyone advise whether there is any massage near the hotel?