Bangkok

scobido

heee thanks ohstrawberry

will defintely go chatuchak weekend market. hv u bought yr placemats n lamps there? how's e quality?

this thread is really useful, a lot of info for sharing

aquarius_888

hi hi planning to go BKK in Jan with family. Anyone here flew by Tiger Airways before? Any comments...I tried Air Asia before...quite bad. Thanks!!!

ohstrawberry

Hi, chamonique

Yes, it's rather far to walk to MBK, i'll suggest to take BTS from Ratchathewi to National Stadium station.

Hi, girls

Had sent the pics to you.

Hi, moo

I had bought some lamps there, so far so good. Place mats wise, i saw alot pretty one but i dun need so i didn't buy lor.

Hi, paopei

I had enjoyed myself, very relaxing and do nothing except shop, eat , see see look look and massage.
Centre Point Petchburi 15 studio room is so good, i liked the room alot, very comfy.
I had sold some CDs too, earn 300bahts for 3 CDs, hahaha..... What a nice trip i had! The only disappointment is i had left my sunglasses on the plane back and the Lost and Found can't find it. So sad....

ohstrawberry

Hi, van tay

You can go Big C to find those daily necessities. Big C is opposite WTC their 2nd floor sells mostly daily necessities and food stuffs, and 3rd floor sells clothing, shoes, stationery and electrical appliances. 4th floor is their food court. For shampoo and shower gel, you also can try BOOTS, it's like our watsons. I liked their Botanics facial products, there's one shop in Big C, it's beside a shop selling ladies shoes. There's also another outlet beside Erawan Shine, there's alot of outlets around shopping area.
Wild rice? Is it from Japan? There's one supermarket at Sukhumvit sells only Japanese foodstuffs, it's call Fuji UFM (located at Sukhumvit Soi 39)

whiteveil

personally tried the LD acne control treatment when i was there in may.....overall comments: Good! attentive and friendly service! will definately go again

chamonique

Hi Ohstrawberry,

Thanks for the pic. At least I feel more relief now after looking at the pic. I have also booked my trip on 6 Jan. I got the air tix from SQ 2 To Go promotion…R u also staying in Samran this time? Maybe will bump into u…
I havent book the accommodation yet as directroom.com does not have the rate for Samran yet.

adeletes

hi anyone,
2 tickets to let. i had booked and confirmed flight to bangkok on the 3dec to 6dec with no hotel stay. anyone would be interested? please note flight ticket is free, but taxes you have to pay. please email me at [email protected]

ohstrawberry

Hi, all

You're welcome.
Chamonique, you can try this webs to book for Samran place, quite cheap.
http://www.asiatravel.com/thailand/samran/index.html
http://www.sawadee.com/bangkok/samranplace/
http://www.resorthotel.net/thailand/hotels/bangkok/samran_place.htm

I had booked with sawadee before, i liked their service, prompt and fast reply. My sister recommend me the asiatravel as she just booked them for her dec trip, she find theirs not bad too.

I had booked with Directrooms before for Bangkok city Inn, I find that their service not very good, cause when i checked in, the receptionist told me the Directrooms haven't booked for me and it was past working hrs. Lucky they let me have a room first then called them the next day, if not i think i had to sleep on the street that night.

ohstrawberry

Hi,schnauzie

Emporium is at Sukhumvit, beside Phrom Phong BTS station. This mall is more like a classy type of mall like our Paragon. I find their thing abit pricey, thus only been there twice and never go back. So far only went there for the Japanese food at Fuji restaurant. There's a NaRaYa store nearby, saw alot of Japanese there, also that area got alot of massage places and spas, Bodytune is near there too. Also Mambo cabaret is just nearby, had to walk past the Bensasiri Park beside the mall and you will see the Cabaret theatre.
Visit their web here: http://www.emporiumthailand.com/

ohstrawberry

Hi, chamonique

This time round might not stay at Samran Place, might stay at Bangkok City Inn. Cause my friend wanna stay somewhere near to WTC, although i prefer Samran Place.

I had a hotel to recommend : The residence Rajtaevee. They had standard hotel rooms and family suites too. Family suite had 1 bedroom with King size bed and the another bedroom with 2 single beds, 1 living room and 1 bathroom. Actually wanted to book this room where 4 good friends can stay together in a room, but didn't take this cause they got only 1 bathroom in the room, you know la, girls will spend more time in the bathroom, thus we dropped the idea. I think this is good for couple with children or mostly guys travelling together. If you book with them directly, is about 2500baht/night inclusive of VAT and breakfast. Or you can book from asia-discovery at http://www.asia-discovery.com/bangkok/residence&spa/room.htm, it's much cheaper at only 1800baht.
Visit their web: http://www.residence-hotel.com/

paopei

Hi Chamonique, u can try www.asiarooms.com ... normally their price is cheaper. I booked with them last month when I went to BKK. I stayed at Samran. Their response is very fast, stated at there within 48 hours but I received within 24 hours. Will book with them again next time

paopei

Hi Ohstrawberry, wah ... good, u enjoy urself so much. But BKK is really good place for food. Miss the food now ... U so good, can keep go bkk. Envy u hehehhe I have to wait my hubby's leave, can't confirm yet. Plan to go again next year maybe Feb or March. Last time didn't go massage at all. Next trip will go massage and eating. Dun wanna shop too much already. Last trip bought a lot of shirts for my gal. And Big C, bought a lot of daily things, spend 3000 baht just in Big C. Siao hor ... Not sure yet wanna go BKK or Chiangmai

paopei

Hi Chamonique, just take cab. Quite easy to find cab in front of Samran. I didn't take the BTS cause quite dusty, can't imagine have to walk under hot sun somemore. Just take cab, easier ... but avoid 4.30-6.30 pm, very bad traffic jam. I stuck in the traffic jam for twice, so bad ...

sabafugly

hi ladies, im tryin to get 2 tix to bkk on 16th dec. but seems like its pretty hard to get dem. dose who got it, care to share where u gt it from? thanks :D

chamonique

Hi Ohstrawberry,

Have you or anyone you know stay in The Residence Rajtaevee before? The rooms look nice in the photos but not sure if the actual place is really as nice. Can consider cos there are 4 of us travelling. I have also shortlisted Baiyoke Suite cos they have quart sharing but I find it quite out of the way if we want to travel to other places like MBK. The only good thing is Pratunam mkt is just at its doorstep.

Hi Paopei,
Is is safe to book with Asiaroom? I have read quite a few bad comments about them in thailandfans.com.

shirley_htt

For your info, if u are planning to spend more time on chatuchak weekend market, don't go in the morning.

We went in the morning and by afternoon, we can't find a place to sit and eat for lunch. The market seems far from any shopping complex or restaurants. We don't want to eat at the market either as we are afraid our stomach can't take the food.

In the end, we went off for late lunch. And did not come back to the market again.

terilyn

Hi BBK Pple,

I'm planning to go BBK somewhere off-peak season like Feb 06 cos' price cheaper, but can't wait til then. Currently price r very high till Jan 06.

Anyone can share How much you are paying for the High season now.

I'm looking for 3-4D F&E by any airlines.
How much is the airport tax?
Which Hotel?

bellebelle

I would recommend to go Chatuchak in the morning as the temperature is cooler and not so crowded. As you walk you can buy their snacks and eat as you walk around so you won't feel that hungry. I especially love to eat the mini cream puffs yummy...

sabafugly

hi terilyn, im goin on the 16th - 21st. for 6d5n. flyin by SAS. 10pm depart. 4pm return. airport tax is ard 70+. stayin bkk palace. cant rmber. but on the whole, payin 379..

ohstrawberry

Hi, hoshi5

My sister had booked with airfares just recently. She find it the web useful cause can easily find the lowest price for all the airfares.
I had DIY for my last 2 trips to Bangkok, usually i will compare prices first, then decide which to book from. So far i had booked my air tickets from valuair(when the prices had not shot up) and Zuji (when they having promo on SQ last July). This time round might book with jetstarasia. Hotels i had booked with directrooms, asiarooms and sawadee before. So far i find asiarooms and sawadee more reliable, but i will do more comparisons with other webs before deciding which is the best price.
I find that booking thru webs are definately cheaper than thru tour agency, thus i will always DIY my trip.

ohstrawberry

Hi, paopei

You know what, the price for Samran Place at asiarooms had increased, i had booked with them for the recent trip, now i see the price different already. Other webs are giving better price for Samran Place.
Oh yes, BKK definately a good place to shop, eat and massage. The 1st time i went with my hubby also no massage, thus we made it a point to must have massage for the recent trip. Wah, really relaxing. My husband actually dun like BKK in the first place cause he kana con before there, but now he loved it so much that he dun mind every year go back there.
Haha, i also always spent alot at Big C for their daily necessities, i brought back about 8 boxes of toothpaste recently, hahaha, i also siao one.....

ohstrawberry

Hi, chamonique

I had not stayed at The Residence Rajtaevee before, actually want to, but my friends dun wanna 4 girls sharing 1 bathroom, it'll be chaos for us to fight over a bathroom later, hahahaha. But if i go with my parents, i dun mind staying this hotel. Actually for such low price, dun expect too much cause they only provide the most basic staying condition, anyway to me, hotel condition not that important, cause i'll spend most time shopping and only go back for sleeping.

I had booked with asiarooms before, so far so good. Actually just take Thailandfans for reference la, the hongkongers in there can be quite exaggerating sometimes, it's useful to search in Thailandfans for more info in finding good eating places and massage places. There's always risk in booking on net, just be more careful and dun disclose credit card info to any unreliable net lor.
Cheers.... Enjoy your booking.

ohstrawberry

Hi, Shirley

You should try their food in Chatuchak, most is their local food, i also liked BKK street foods, so far i dun have any problem with them, useless you had very sensitive stomach, if not you should really try them out, so tasty...
I usually went there about 9am then shop until 2pm, have lunch then go back hotel to put things down. The crowd usually came in ard 11am.

xenacute

hi ohstrawberry,
thanks a lot...that was reallie useful....i also not too sure whether the dermalogical pdts there are cheaper but think they retail Nioxin shampoo cheaper than singapore ....i will check out their pdt price list when i am there & post it once i am back ^_^....but i heard from friends that the facial services really quite good....comparable to singapore or better....dun know real or not though....

shirley_htt

Hi aspiration,

On that day, it is the opposite for us. Morning is very hot and afternoon it is cooler. That is also the reason why we regretted not going in the afternoon.

Hi ohstrawberry,

On the first day, my father ate at a restaurant, he already have diahorrea. Moreover, we went with family, I rather not take such risk to eat street food.....otherwise I will be blamed.

As we go with family, the shopping pace is also slower, so morning time is too little for us.

paopei

Hi Chamonique, I booked Samran Place through asiarooms last time and no problem. Actually last time I compare few web and found this web is the cheapest and got quite good review from www.hardwarezone.com so just booked from it. But like Ohstrawberry said, all internet transaction sure got the risk ... suay suay, sometimes, got problem ...

paopei

Hi Ohstrawberry, not so sure about the Samran price. If next year go BKK, maybe will stay in Bangkok City Inn or PJ Watergate. Actually I still not sure wanna go BKK or Chiangmai.
Hi Dear, thanks for the photo. Looks like PJ watergate quite nice, the room clean. How far is it from hotel to MBK or Big C? BTS? 10 mins walking? Thanks

peiyi

hi,paopei

If u wan stay Pj watergate, pratunam is very convenient for shopping. But if u wan go MBK or Big C, BTS..that is very far to walk and about 20-30min.

ohstrawberry

Hi, ladies

I had booked my next trip with Zuji, travel with Scandinavian Airline, $209 per pax (including all taxes).
Will be leaving on 05 Jan 10.10pm and back on 08 Jan 4.20pm. Quite a good deal leh, actually wanna book SQ cause now got promo, but suay, the day i wanted already fully booked. And this is the cheapest i can find though leaving on 5 Jan near midnight, actually we wanted to leave on 6 Jan, for the sake of money,we decided to leave a day earlier.
Still deciding to stay bangkok city inn or Samran place, my friends still can't make up their mind, will book later.

If anyone interested in going BKK from 06Jan to 08Jan, i can provide some references and infos for you:

Jetstarasia:
GO: 9.20am(SIN) - 10.40am(BKK)
BACK: 2.55pm(BKK) - 6.15pm(SIN)
$223 per pax (including taxes)

GO: 12.45pm(SIN) - 2pm(BKK)
BACK: 2.55pm(BKK) - 6.15pm(SIN) or 7.45pm(BKK) - 11.10pm(SIN)
$212 per pax (including taxes)

Airasia
GO: 11am(SIN) - 12.15pm(BKK)
BACK: 4.45pm(BKK) - 8.05pm(SIN)
$213.98 per pax (including taxes)

Singapore Airlines
GO: 7.40pm(SIN) - 9.05pm(BKK)
BACK: 4.10pm(BKK) - 7.35pm(SIN) or 6.30pm(BKK) - 9.55pm(SIN)
$239 per pax (including taxes)

These are all from the respective airline website, you can book directly with them.

noscon

I'm gg bkk in jan06. can anyone advise me how much is e taxi fare fr airport to novotel siam sq hotel? want to make sure im nt being rip off later...

also can anyone point me to a good websites to understand all e good shopping n eatg places as it is my 1st trip to bkk after 10 yrs...