Bangkok

pink_tulip

I am going to bkk this Sat. Staying in Novotel Siam Square. Our first time there!

Could anyone here tell me how much should I expect to pay for taxi fare from airport to Novotel?

Has anyone exchanged for thai baht lately? What's the rate to expect? I asked three shops in toa payoh today. 24 at two of them, and 23.9 at the third.

To those who have just returned, is it very hot there?

Any advice for me who is going there for the first time?

Hi pink_tulip

I'm going to BKK next week. Changed some Thai baht on Sunday..rate was 24.15 (at Parkway Parade).

Taxi fare shld be less than THB300 (incl the toll and airport surcharge). When I there last Dec, I think I paid ard THB270 (stayed at Asia Hotel). Shouldn't be much different for Novotel since both are quite close by. If you grab a cab from the departure hall, u can save the THB50 surcharge.

June is usually their rainy season. I was there in June 2 yrs back and it rained every evening (thunderstorm). It's the monsoon season in Thailand now. I reckon it's just as hot, if not more so than Singapore.

As for advice, don't listen to people who approach you to go to gem shops etc. Some Tuk Tuk/taxi drivers may also try to convince you to visit places that you do not wish to go. Once I wanted to take my hubby and folks to this nice seafood restaurant by the Chao Praya river. I had the name card of the restaurant, and showed it to the cab driver. Not only did he not want to bring us there (he kept saying something in Thai that we cldn't understand of coz), he dumped us at a seafood restaurant in Patpong .. and the prices at that restaurant were outrageous. We didn't eat there of coz..went back to hotel and went to Siam Square for some Thai food at one of our fave restaurants (which has since moved/closed

Enjoy!

yingal

Hi pink_tulip,
Where did you book your hotel? Initially wanted to book from Asiarooms but worried that the included breakfast is only for 1 person. Does anyone know whether the pricing includes breakfast for 1 or 2?

jasminetea

Hi Yingal,

I booked with Asiarooms before for my Bangkok trip in April and the breakfast was for 2 persons. If you still in doubt, you can email them to ask. They replied very fast.

Cheers~

yingal

Hi Jasminetea,
Thanks for the info.

Have emailed them 2 days ago but didn't receive any reply.

Anyway, think I will go ahead and book since its pricing is one of the lowest. haha

tupper_mum

Pink Tulip,

As my baby have recovered, we are going ahead with our BKK trip, we will depart tommorow and come back next tues. I really hope to be able to "bump" into more singaporeans there! and Hope it would not rain!

pink_tulip

Good morning! Thanks for your prompt reply!

Haha... I was just telling hb this morning that we should go to parkway parade this evening!

Appreciate the advice you have provided. Will bear in mind.

So you are going next week? I am returning next Tues. May you have a great trip too!

pink_tulip

yingal

I thought breakfast is for per pax i.e. breakfast is included PER adult. So for my case, hb and I will both get breakfast. I dunno if I need to pay for my 3+ yr old.

Tupper mum

So you are departing on Fri! We are taking Jet*. What about you? You are taking one kid along? We are taking two gals along. I guess I can't shop much!

tupper_mum

Pinktulips,

We travelling on our own with no kid.

We coming back same day! I depart thursday... My main target is to go there and feast until I grow fat!!!

When will you go Chatuchap? We planning to go on Sat...

Hi pink_tulip

Hah..I'm leaving on the day you return from BKK. Will be coming back on Friday. FYI, I changed from the Indian money changer in Parkway (my regular place - it's the one outside facing Fish & Co)..the chinese one next door opened with a rate of 23.7, whereas the Indian one's first offer was 24. Chinese one eventually also offered 24.15 (we didn't even ask..just turned ard to go and they asked us back to show us the 'better' rate)..but I went back to our regular one. Opening with such a low offer already made a bad impression on me :p

pink_tulip

Tupper mum

I am returning on Tues, not Thur. So you are not taking your child along...mmm...good, you can shop and eat 'peacefully'...hee...

Alhana

OIC... thanks. I will check the rates with them tonight. You are so helpful!

pink_tulip

Oops! Sorry! I read wrongly. so you are leaving on Thurs (tmrw) and not Fri. I thought you were going on Fri and returning on Thurs... :p Blur me.

pink_tulip

Tupper mum

The prev posting was for you. BTW, since we are leaving sg on Sat morning, we will most likely go to chatuchak on Sun morning. I have read from here that it is better to go there in the morning so that it is not too hot.

rally

can anyone recommend a decent spa at bkk? someone mentioned king & i before, any others that you ladies can think of? how much is a session there? appreciate any info on this. thnx

pink_tulip

Went to parkway just now. have changed my currency. We too checked out the rates at the shop run by indians. Then we went to the next-door shop. The neighbour gave my hubby 2 rates, i think 24 and then 24.15. when my hubby left the shop, one man came up to us (from that shop) and offered 24.21. Like you, we did not like the way they keep changing the rates. We went to change at the Indian shop. His rate is 24.21, right from the start.

Hi pink_tulip

Wow, that's a good rate. Yah, told ya the chinese one always starts off with a very low offer. I know they're trying to earn money, but it's kinda silly since your immediate neighbour just offers better rates right at the start.

You're leaving on Sat right? Have fun! Novotel is a good place to stay...I love browsing in the little boutiques that are all over Siam Square. And the Amazing Thailand Grand Sale has started (like our GSS)..so happy bargain hunting

pink_tulip

hi! Yes, I am leaving on Sat morning. Our first time there - hope it will be a good trip. Been planning my itinerary these few days.

Are you staying at Novotel this time? May you have fun too!

Hi pink_tulip

We're staying at the Plaza Athenee this time. It seems we stay at different hotels everytime we go to BKK (which is at least once a yr). I've stayed in Asia, Arnoma, Novotel, Siam Inter-Continental (gone already), Windsor Suites, Banyan Tree & Sheraton. Sheraton was the nicest so far..but it's expensive. Nice location too..right at Asok station in Sukhumvit.

Hi Karyinn

The sale runs from 1 Jun-31 Jul, so you'll still be able to enjoy it. The major dept stores shld have sales then, and all the major malls will probably run some promo or something..like what we do during the Great Singapore Sale. Other major cities/tourist spots are also involved, like Chiang Mai, Pattaya, Phuket.

karyinn

I am so worry now. I am going with my husband to Bangkok free and easy .. both of us are 1st timer. I got to take taxi from airport tO Twin Tower Hotel. I heard from my colleague many taxi driver cannot understand english and will just drive u to no where.. how to make sure i can reach the hotel safely?

Hi Alhana

Finally I've found someone who has stayed in Windsor Suites. Initially bked Grand Diamond, no vacancy, then Baiyoke Sky, also no, even Asia doesn't have. Went for Novotel Lotus, also ko song. End up taking Windsor Suites..

Which room did u stay in? Diplomat or Counsellor?
How wld u rate WS?

I've read thru all the threads, just to reiterate, to get fr airport to hotel, either take fr departure hall or the arrival hall yah? Approximately how much to WS if I were to arrive at BKK ard 12noon, taking into account the traffic?

Paiseh got to throw u so many questions.. But this time no transfer arranged, so got to be more certain

Hi karyinn

If you book a cab from the arrivals hall taxi stand (there's a booth there), the lady will ask you where you want to go to, and write it down on a coupon for the driver. I've nvr had problems with cabs from the airport to my hotel. Perhaps you can write to your hotel directly and ask if they can give you the hotel's name in Thai. You can then print it out and show the driver. I booked my hotel room thru Asiarooms, and the hotel voucher came w the hotel's name n address in Thai.

Hi mehmeh

Gosh, I stayed there in 2001. The room was booked by my Thai girlfriend (her friend is the GM of the hotel), and I don't know which room type we were given :p Hubby and I were there for honeymoon then. Well, we liked the hotel alot. The room was very spacious (it's a suite after all
), clean and comfy. The food in the coffee house was good and cheap..we ate the buffet dinner there once. Staff were friendly. Location wise, it's quite a walk to the nearest BTS station (I believe it's in between Asok Station and the Emporium station), but not too bad. We walked to Emporium from the hotel..quite alright.

As for traffic, it should not be too bad at that hour. Usually traffic is bad in the early morning and after office hours (it starts to jam up after 4pm). I can't recall the taxi fare, but it won't be very high. Prob ard THB300. The taxi rates there depend on distance, not time. Even if you're stuck in 1 place for a few min, the meter doesn't seem to move. Seems like a bad deal for the drivers :p Yes u can take cabs from arrivals or departure, but taking from arrivals will incur a THB50 fee. Still, if you're worried that the taxi driver may not understand where u need to go, perhaps it's better to pay that B50 and let the counter staff instruct the driver accordingly.

Hi pink_tulip

What attracts me to BKK...hmm...food, shopping, food :p Hehe. And I take the chance to visit my galpal too. Hubby loves shopping in BKK, more so than in SG. He nvr struck me as someone who liked shopping, but he just loves it there. I was pleasantly surprised! He loves the Tees, bags, sunglasses..all the cheapo stuff lah. I'll buy tees, lingerie, bags, shoes etc. We're gonna go for the spas too..i need a massage real bad!

Hi Alhana

U're such a dear! Flying tm morning, so really very last min on this. Thanks so much for all ur info! Appreciate it so much..

Is the bfast nice? Hahah.. Abit OOP

tanjls

Hi Karyinn,

I booked twin towers too! I statyed there previously....we took a taxi from airport to the hotel, when queuing for the taxi they will ask u where you are going. Print out the map of the hotel location to help you coz the hotel was previously known by another name (I can't remember rite now...but try to find out thru the net). From the hotel, when u want to take a taxi get the bellboy to help you tell the taxi driver where u are going. I found that when we did that, the taxi won't bring us to all those factory outlets. Also, get a card that has the address and instructions on the back from the hotel so that when u want to return to the hotel, u can just show the driver the card... =) hope this helps...

Hi mehmeh

Eh..the breakfast was alright..the usual stuff like eggs, bacon, sausages, toast, cereal...the spread wasn't very wide, but I remember the eggs being really good. Still, that was 4 yrs ago, so I have no clue what it's like right now
Let me know how it goes ok? Enjoy ure trip!

durian

Hi .. I just came back from the twin towers hotel.
We got a taxi from the departure hall.. went up to the second/ or third.. cannot remember.

if you book from asiarooms, they will have a thai language address in the booking coupon. Just show it to the cab driver. Tell him use highway/toll way.

No problems at all (for 2 girls). It takes about 250B , plus toll(60B, I think).

Just act cool.Say nothing but "bai meter" and shove him the address :D

oh ya... the food for the twin tower room service is yummy.

and always get the bell boys to hail you a cab, and remind them to tell driver not to round too much, cos you will know since you always go bangkok. It works.

karyinn

hihi.. thank you for the advice. my colleagues scold me why 1st time go and choose free & easy as they know i am quite blur in directions and places. i have asked asiarooms for address: 88/2 Rong Muang Road, Patumwan, Bangkok 10330 Thailand Hotel Location : City Center Area : City Center
Is this Thai Address? I thought should be thai words?
Yes my colleauge did suggest i go to departure hall to take cab. As the cab in arrival hall mostly will drive u to factory. But then i still worry
u girls stayed at Twin Tower. Is it good? Should we carry our passport everywhere we go or leave in the hotel?
And when ask the bellboys to hail cab for me.. do i need to give tibs?

karyinn

oh now i saw the thai address in the print voucher. I so blur.. never think of printing it thou. And also, have u all been to Seacon Square?

Hi krayinn

I take cabs from the arrival hall all the time, and nvr once have I been driven to any where but my hotel. As for passports, I'd bring them with me if shopping at malls. At certain malls (like Emporium), if you show them your passport, they will give you a tourist discount card. Not sure if they still do that now though. If you're afraid that it'd get lost, then make photo copies and leave the original in the hotel room safe. It's better to have ID with you when you go out.

Hi rally

King & I is a good one, but you've already mentioned it. The other one I hear people talk about is Marble House (think there's one near Novotel?). I've nvr been to both, but I heard that both are good, decent and rates are very reasonable. For King & I, a 2hr Thai massage costs ard B400 or B500. Spa treatments will cost more of coz...ard the range of B2,000 to B4,000 depending on the treatment type.

winliz

me back from bk for 2 weeks already... stayed at Asia. Highly recommended cos 2nd floor is e BTS already.. v convenient..but its damn hot thou.. i was like floating all e way outside unless when i'm in Airconditioned shopping centres.. sigh.. haven gotten over e shopping virus.. now still shopping in Sing... So many things to buy at BKK...

karyinn

Thank you... on friday when i reach there.. i will go MBK first to familiar the area around twin hotel

Winnie,
Did u buy alot in BK? first time there?

durian

HI Karyinn,

I stayed there.. many times liao.

bell boy no need to give tips. 95% people dun tip, but this time we did. I see them everytime i go there and their service have been very good all the time. Just press 20B to them when you leave if you want, small sum to us but definitely make their day.

Feel safe to leave your things at the safe. security is good, and you have your own key.

there is key drop service, but they are not that strict. so dont leave valuables in your room. keep it in the safe.

oh ya, i went to Neo at MBK to cut my hair again. this time i got a lousy person washing my hair, and did not get my fav stylist. anyway, still not bad for 250B heheheh..... the cut is better than some 40+ dollar per visit salon here. there were a few singaporeans also cutting their hair there... we can't help looking at each other and giving the knowing smile... good deal.

This time i discovered a cheap and nice place for noodles and papya salad at MBK. dunno the restaurant's name, but they have plenty adverts near the entrance. Just ask the guard and he will point you to the right direction. it is on the ground floor. Just a warning, dun ask for spicy papaya salad. even a chili queen like me got to down crysynthemum tea.. and my whole face turned red.

durian

oh yes.. the massage place opposite twin towers is decent. if it is really late, just have it in the hotel's spa. still reasonably priced, and i heard the jap tourists love it. I think their massage skill is better than those outside

Lots of tourists go there. I tried the brightly lit one, and not the dimmer looking shop.

Hi Alhana

For our taxi ride fr Airport to hotel, there was a big hiccup. Admin person at the counter wrote sthg on a slip to be passed to the driver, driver looked then aske "Where u want to go 'tonight'?"..For fear he wants to get us to take his cab, we said MBK. Who knows, he drove us to MBK immediately! After thinking thru, his question is "Where u want to go to now?"

*Slap forehead* Firstly our luggage was huge! He shd have known any tourist wld go check-in at hotel 1st rite? Moreover what's the purpose of writing on the piece of paper & not taking us there???

Anyway, in future, I shall just show the address of the destination in Thai whenever I take a cab

Windsor Suites is a slight walk fr Asok station, quite a short walk. Abt 5 min.. Enjoyed my stay there, service was gd & the hotel staff are very professional. Bell service ran to lift lobby to help us with luggage as we were checking out. The bfast was pretty okie too.. Like u said, the eggs were great! Loved the omelette!

I got my Thailand Visitor Card & went Emporium to buy my lingerie.. Only bought 2 bras, which came up to SGD32... Woohoo! Was very pleased with tt buy. Strangely, TVC says purchases need to be paid with VISA, but the cashier accepted cash. So in all, I saved on the conversion charges

Shopping was great too! Bought a total of 3 bags. 2 for myself & 1 for future MIL.. 3 pairs of shoes for myself!! MBK has quite nice shoes at only 199B. Bought another pair of shoes for my wedding, coz it only cost SGD10

Here's the pix of it
291058.jpg

Brought FH to Nam Sing & Papaya Restaurant to try fr u gers recommendations. He enjoyed Papaya Restaurant very much, though he found it abit too spicy. Had the usual chicken wings, papaya salad, noodles & tom yam pork soup, for only SGD10. Nam Sing wasn't too great IMHO, didn't like how the sharks fin was prep. Pref the type usually found at wedding dinners.

Those who are intending to go BKK before March 2006, do rem to get the Thailand Visitor's Card after clearing the customs. Useful if u are intending to buy stuff fr the shopping malls

Hi mehmeh

Welcome back! My, the shoes you bought are really pretty! And cheap too!

So how did you get from MBK to Windsor? Grabbed another cab? Heh..yeah it's best to take the thai address down, just to be safe.

Good to hear you enjoyed the hotel stay. How was the room? Was it nice? Heh, yes I remember that the eggs were good. Although eggs are easy to cook, some places just don't make very tasty omelettes. I had the worst scrambled eggs in this hotel in KL once..ugh..made me wanna puke. And it looked like puke too :p

Well, we're leaving tmr. Haven't packed yet..always wait till the last minute coz I'm so darn lazy. Glad to hear you don't need the Visa card to use the TVC...I don't want to charge anything to my card unless I really have to.

Hi Alhana

U're going again?! Wow.. I wish I cld too

Why not get this pair in pink or black? Very worth it...Shop is called In Zeen (or In Zen?) on 3rd floor..

MBK to Windsor, took train fr National Stadium, changed at Siam then dropped at Asok.. No pt taking cab, partly coz I bought the 100B day pass with unlimited rides.

The room was okie leh.. Thought the lobby was very impressive with the dark teak wood used. But furniture in the room looked dated. But if not very spacious to place all my buys!

Sounds like u wld be eating eggs again! Heehee

Which hotel u staying at this time?

Hi mehmeh

Yeah, I go to BKK at least once a yr..just to eat and shop :p Better now with the budget airlines ard...much cheaper. We're staying at the Plaza Athenee this time. Haven't stayed there before..just wanna try it out. It has a nice pool, and we want to soak up some rays.

Yeah, the Windsor rooms did look dated, but they were spacious and comfy. Was the room you got big?

The shoe you featured was bought in MBK? It's pretty, and sure doesn't look as tho it only costs S$10! I can't wear open toe shoes tho...my toes are all splayed out :p

When's your wedding?

Hi Alhana

Sounds like ur trips to BKK are a pilgrimage..heehee, but I must say the food & shopping are great. My only complain is the weather

Oh Plaza Athenee, sounds beautiful.. Seem to have seen/heard abt it. The room at Windsor is def big enough for 2 of us. Guess the benefit is tt it's an all-suites hotel. Last Dec I stayed in Grand Diamond, also all-suite, cheaper & newer. Was gunning for tt, but fully booked. Dun really like the cramp ones.. Heehee, afterall it's a holiday

Hmm, the big day is 3 Sept. Coming rite up.. Agree tt the shoes dun look S$10, sthg similar in S'pore costs almost $100

U started packing oredi? I only packed at the 11th hour, literally.. Heehee

Hi mehmeh

Haha..guess you could say that. Thailand is my fave vacation destination in this region. The beaches are also our fave, but since we're only going for 4 days, there's no time to squeeze in a beach vacation this time round. We went to Krabi in June last yr, and Phuket/BKK in Dec.

Yeah, since BKK is relatively cheap to visit, we decided to splurge on the hotel. Not often you get to stay at a nice one anyway. Will let you know how Plaza Athenee is. We wanted to book Intercontinental, but it costs the same as Plaza, and there's no breakfast in the package. Plaza has breakfast included, and their pool looks really nice!

3 Sep..must be excited! Took your photos yet?

Heh..i just finished packing. Not taking much..luggage practically empty! But they will be full on the way back

Hi Alhana

Yupz, quite excited right now.. Have completed PS in March, so now quite relaxed... Only doing up the guest list & AD schedule

Do update when u get back k? Since u're such a season shopper at BKK, do let me know where else can get gd buys at gd prices k?

durian

Hi lingo,

I cannot remember liao. Only remember that the banner was green in colour

If you want to eat chinese food, can give the restaurant opposite namsing MBK a try also. HK food, quite nice porridge, and a large jars of herbal tea for the scorching weather.