Bangkok

dolphin48

To those who just came back from Bkk, how's the weather over there? Is it as rainy as over there? I'm going over this weekend and wondering if it will rain as much as here....

salequeen

Hi, I just returned from BKK on sunday. The weather is extremely hot! Occasionally, there may be thunderstorms or rain but always at night/evening when we were there. If it rains at night around midnight, next day would be cooler for at least till noon. When it rains in the evening, Siam Sq is super dead. Shops seem to close early.

Oh, sometimes it can be windy too. Kinda strange :p

When going to chatuchak, consider wearing a lightweight sun dress- a lot more cooling

momopo

the weather last week was much less hotter than when i usually encounter in bkk.

maybe 'coz it;s raining over there n it's cloudy, not as sunny n hot.

chloef

gals, hv ur heard anything abt the outbreak of Dengue Fever in BKK? My parents warned me not to wear shorts/tee etc..muz fully covered ah!

Die la...salequeen said its "extremely hot" now!

coffee79

has anyone stayed in D'ma pavilion b4?
I'll be going this june, can someone pls share wif me some past experience b4 i commit? heard that itz a long walk to the BTS, true?
thks!

droopy_eyes

chloef, huh? fully covered? May fall sick coz too hot leh. What about spraying insect repellent instead, wouldn't it be a better idea?

Winnie, cheap massages are everywhere. I went to those small shops near my hotel Baiyoke Sky, the ambience not bad, very soothing. I particularly like one opposite Indra Regent along Ratcha Prarop road, call M@B Pratunam Foot Massage. 135 baht for foot massage plus free head & shoulder massage.

okeanosmao

hi coffee,

stayed at d'ma b4. i dun take BTS cos its quite a long walk frm hotel to BTS. its ard 15-20mins walk, took cab everytime.
hotel ambience wise, not bad. quite like the hotel there. near to pratunam mkt (ard 5-10mins walk) nt too bad though. o/s d'ma, got some roadside stalls selling foods/snacks.
but if u prefer nearer to siam square/MBK, its beta u stay nearer to these places..

chloef

hi Droopy, yeah im going to buy mosquitoes repellent..rather than getting heat stroke!

hi dodocefiro, may i know whr u change BKK curr?

Im going flying this Thurs..any gals going over BKK this wkend?

whiteveil

just back from BKK today! Weather was not as hot as i thought as some days r quite cloudy...but it was quite humid there though...no wind.

Stayed at Novotel Siam, great service and location.....people there r generally polite and friendly
would higher recommend anyone to stay there!

jellytots77

yo whiteveil... me too was back yday... u which airline and wat time...

btw everyone... if u 1 2 change $$ pls do so in SG... unless u can find the money changer in BKK not from bank one... cos the bank rate is not as good as those i change in Chinatown lor...

also... try to stay at hotel that is near to BTS cos is easier to go out and to hotel... i stay Bangkok Palace... out of the way... even got WTC also quite ex though is so near... the traffic there is a killed man... so horrible...

yo squid... thanks... i manage to find the macways after ur description... i really go all the way to Novotel hotel start fm lobby entrance and walk and find it... their service is good cos they can speak english... best is they need only a day to finish the shirts... anyway hvn let my FH try the shirt yet... kekeke... btw u still remember how much Bhat u paid for 1 shirt i paid B650 each leh...

siewmai

hey folks,just to ask you all guys that
any1 got any travel and meal receipts.eg the receipts you go sightseeing,cab receipts etc that occur between 20-25April 2005 that you all spend in bangkok?Any amount also can..

If so, can i have it?can email me at [email protected]

tks folks

bellebelle

tupper_mum

I'm going from 11-14. Wow you're going so many days. Planning to go sight seeing? I was there few years ago for sight-seeing. This time, I'm going there to SHOP!

jellytots77

yo white... me too but mine is on the 19/05 @ 6pm and 24/05 at 11am... think u sure got see me one... cos im the last group of ppl tat went on board of the flight... kekeke... u remember... so which seats are u at.... so wat did u manage to buy... me walk until leg so tired and ache leh... how much did u spend...kekeke

whiteveil

Hi Jellytots77,

im at row 6, one of the earliest to reach the airport! sigh! din noe that i have to wait so long before i can even checked in haha...

spent abt $680 for hotel and airtickets for two and $700+ for food, transport and shopping lor....din buy a lot of clothes for myself. just some tshirts and shoes and house decor items. hubby bought some clothes and bag for himself and i also bought some food and gifts for family. really regret din spent more! :p

hw abt u? hw much damage done? LOL

tupper_mum

bLUSH, No lah, I book the $19 two way tickets and conditions is cannot travel in Fri-Mon, so..... I book Thu to Tue loh.

Where would you be staying? Mainly we go there makan, shop only.

yin2

Hi tupper_mum, can i know which airlines u booked for the price of $19? I'm looking for a cheaper rate flight.

squidhead

hi jellytots!

What! the guy charged you 650 Baht! He charged me 750 Baht leh! Somemore I tailor made 4 shirts! Unless you tailor made alot thats why he charged you cheaper .. but I think u did only one right? We tried to bargain with him but he refused to lower the price.

Wah lau! Feel so cheated!

jellytots77

yo white... kekeke... then u got notice me bo... cos i was one of the supper late one to board the plane... six gals.... hmm... my tix and hotel per pax is $271 then apending on food and shopping abt $600+ nia... but bought some wedding stuff things and clothes, bags and shoes... hmm... but still feel not enough man... kekeke

yo squid... oh maybe the material diff leh... cos i do 3 shirts... 1 is cotton the other is i duno lah... but i know tat he got mention tat if i 1 2 use duno wat material then more ex lor... where did u choose the material fm.... book or those rolls of fabric there.... maybe mine is serve by the owner tats why or wat... i also duno leh...

tupper_mum

Blush, I will be staying @ chinatown, I am those who love to eat, not so onz for shopping.

Hopefully we will have good weather while we are there.

squidhead

jellytots,

I chose the material from the rolls. He didnt mention that different material diff price. Anyway, there's nothing much I can do. I was not served by the owner. The owner is like from the Middle East right? The guy who served me is quite plumb and short.

whiteveil

Hi Jellytots77,

icic.....ya saw many wedding favours and nice evening gowns on sale at MBK and Patunam Market...so envy those who are preparing for wedding! so cheap and nice

which hotel did u stay? Hw is it?

jellytots77

yo squid... oic... think i was served by the boss tats why he give me a better price lor... dun worry lah... ur price dun varies too much too mah... as long as the shirt is nice i think is still worth it lor... cos u dun get to pay such a price for custom made shirt rite...

yo white... wedding favours got meh... i didnt manage to see leh... i was actually gog there to find favours one leh... so ur AD over already or still along way to go...

me staying at Bangkok Palace... okie lor.. but abit out of the way to BTS lor... u leh?

whiteveil

Hi Jellytots77,

u can purchase wedding favours such as chopsticks and potpurri at chatuchak...they r v cheap but too bad my wedding was over last yr haha.

i stayed in Novotel Siam....not bad location and service. overall its a 4 star price with 5 star service! like their newly renovated room as well

siewmai

hey,anybody willing to help me by giving me any recipts if you all visit bkk from 20-24th April 2005. I need it urgently..b it travel receipts or meal receipts also can.
urgently needed

andreal

i just bk fr BKK fr 19 - 22 May stayed at Eastin. Really enjoy, went massage & bought alot of things bk. Hubby and friends managed to go for fishing even. Ok Weather in BKK starting 2 show signs of rainfall. Sky was dark early in all morn, lucky the rain went off fast. Perhaps tos going in mid-end jun shd be prepared.

Same thing the Thai oso enjoy Vesak Day, but over there..they called it Buddha Day. All of us managed to squeezed in Erawan Shrine that day ard 8pm++, they bliff for this day at this time if u pray, will be v v 'ling'!

Well we oso had our 1st experience taking the ride in bkk MRT (diff fr the usual bts) was fun keke. its so convenient, fast & cheap. Do try & remember to ask for the route map fr the counter.

Zen & Tokyu were hving Sales then & hope still going on, as usual bought lingeries la. Ok for those who got time, must go Sampeng!! many wholesalers, shoes, accesories, textile, tibits, stationaries (eg 6pair shoe for ard S$30.) We took a cab fr Hotel & ask to stop at the main road outside Sampeng, then walk inside the lanes.

Those who prefer IT stuff can check out Pantip Plaza & Fortune Mall/Plaza? Bought a bluetooth usb adapter for S$30+ only.

Too many things to see, buy & to be discovered so we plan to go bk ard Dec again ;P

karyinn

is MBK & Chatuchak open all days Mon to Sunday? What time open and close at what time? Pls advise i am going there first time..

yamiyogurt

hi karyinn

MBK open 7 days a week.... normal shopping hours... 10am to 10pm

Chatuchak on sat & sundays.... 8am to ard 5pm... not sure exactly what time all the shops close

chloef

moi jus got back fr BKK!! Suan Lum nite mkt is a muz go place... ;p Lots of nice stuffs for the house..hee

fan

Me too... juz came back from BKK.... Nice places to visit are Sampeng, Pratunum Market, MBK... These are the places where I bought the most things.... I find that there is nothing much to buy in WTC and Suan Lum though... Siam Discovery centre is a nice place to sit down drink coffee and relax...

Went to their big Supermarket Big C.... Manage to find the soya bean sauce which my MIL ask me to buy.... Tried many supermarts also cant find....Lucky hee or else cannot jiao1 chai1 when come back...This sauce v nice... much better than Singapore one which is v salty....

fan

Oh ya BTW, I tried their steamboat MK restuarant..not bad leh... the portion bigger than Coca and much cheaper.... I tried both Coca and MK.... Still prefer MK (soup have more taste as their vege set really comes wif lots of vege) I ordered the seafood set from Coca and additional meat dishes, still soup not so tasty... But one thing for sure, Coca's chilli is better than MK's one...

clayre

Urgently selling off my Bangkok Tickets (1 pair) as I just found out i'm in the early stage of my pregnancy hence not suitable for travel. Details as follows:

10th June, Fri (Air Asia Flight 5011)
Depart Sin : 10.55am
Arrive BKK : 12.15pm

12th June, Sun (Tiger Airways Flight 117)
Depart BKK : 7.40pm
Arrive SIN : 11.05pm

Selling at absolute cost price of $300. Price includes Singapore taxes but excludes hotel. I will be absorbing the $120 name change fee.

Pls contact me at [email protected] should you or your friends be interested.

Thank you so much for helping to spread the word.

andreal

hi fan,
we tasted Coca this time and found that the soup base bery 'dan' ..wasted, shd hv went to Sizzler instead

btw wat brand of soya bean sauce u got fr Big C? nice? we bought the rice noodle fr there not bad, hubby bought a long pillow (lenght of 2 pillow conbimed) oso..aiyo.

sue1

Hi! Andreal

Glad to hear that you enjoyed the trip.

Very happy with the stay at Eastin.

Btw there is a short to Sampeng Lane. From White Orchard Hotel, cross opp and turn into a side lane at the cross junction.

I still did not shop enough.. Planning to go BKK in Oct with hubby to shop shop...

tupper_mum

Hi all, my baby is having stomach flu and high fever, as such, I would like to cancel my BKK trip and transfer out my package.

The travel details :

2 tickets
9th June, Thu (Tiger Air 102)
Depart Sin : 08.35am
Arrive BKK : 10.00am

14th June, Tue (Tiger Air 103)
Depart BKK : 10.40am
Arrive SIN : 14.00pm

Letting go @ $180, the price include $71x2 ($142) of SIN airport tax and I will pay for the name change fee.

Air-tickets only, does not include hotel.

Interested, please contact me @ [email protected]

mich03

Hi Whiteveil,

Me also interested to book Novotel Siam but heard that there are some renovations going on till Oct 05. Did you experience any inconveniences or dust/noise pollution during your stay there? Thanks.

whiteveil

Hi Meixia,

dun worry abt the renovation.....theres no noise or disruption at all
think those who din noe wun suspect anything too!

I stayed at 13th floor...u may wan to get the same too! Nice rooms they have, gd value for $$$!

Staff at Novotel v polite, always greet us whenever they see us and even helped to press the lift button for us. hubby and i felt like royals there

mich03

Hi Whiteveil,

Wah .. seems like you are v. impressed with them. Good good .... think i will confirm them liao. haha .... Urs is a superior room?

Btw, which airline did u book with? Me in a dilemma - my colleague who took jetstar asia said the seat is too cramp ... even tho it's just a 2 hrs flight, but i still dun want to feel too uncomfortable in these 2 hrs. But, if i take the normal airlines, the price is almost double the price of a budget airline. How?

Also, can share share what are the place that i can go there? Why not we talk in private? Mind if you email me @ [email protected]? Hope to hear from you soon! Thanks!

andreal

Hey Sue!
u stayed at Eastin too? er are you the one whom i spoken thru email? kekeke..envy u going bkk in oct.

Yup yup...ur direction to Sampeng oso bery easy to follow

fan

Hi Andeal,

The brand of the soya bean sauce is in Thai ... The logo is a fisherman with a fisherman's hat.. U try to search... only available in Big C... The bottle is plastic unlike the other brands where the bottle is made of glass. They have two formulas of soya bean sauce, Formula 1 and Formula 2. Mine is formula 1.

Sampeng is a very good lane for shopping.. many wholesale items there to buy... but of course u have to buy at least 3 and above to qualify for the cheaper wholesale price.