Bangkok

stacy

Me wanna check with you gd pple. Where can I find good & skilful tailor / seamstress? Tot of making some pant suits when I plan my visit to BBK.

Pls assist.

Stacy

jellytots77

thanks everyone... so helpful information

hi squidhead... can i know how many days does it take to custom made the man shirt... and wat measurement did they take... cos my FH not gog and thinking of buying shirt there and seem like u get a great deal... btw where isit located

squidhead

hi jellytots

We went to Macways on Sat evening to take the measurements. Shop is closed on Sunday. We requested for a fitting first to make sure everything we wanted is done before they make the rest of the shirts. Told to go back on Mon for fitting and the rest of shirts were delivered to our hotel on Monday night (around 8pm).

Your FH not going, maybe you can bring along one of his shirts to the shop.

Here's the address:

392/13 Soi 5 Siam Square
Opposite Novotel Siam Square

When you come out of the hotel lobby, turn right and its along the first row of shophouse. If don't remember wrongly i think its the 3rd or 4th shop. Don't worry, you can find it easily.

momopo

anyone know whetehr it is very far to waslk from arnomo hotel to d'ma hotel?

'coz i m thinking of going to d'ma hotel to make suit from joy collection.

squidhead

hi jellytots,

Yes, Macways is inside Siam Sq. I think it would be easier to locate it when you find Novotel. FYI ... Siam Square is not a shopping centre. Its a big area consists of many shops which is called Siam Sq.

racherlle

hi Squidhead!!

tink we stayed at Novotel during the same period!
juz that i went back on Wednesday!
which level were u in?
i'm on lvl 11.. hmm they gave me a smoking level room coz all the non smoking rooms are fully booked..

jellytots77

oh squid... ya hor... i forget that siam sq is all those shop house one... okie.. i will take a look out... btw wat kind of colour and material will there be and is there any design for shirt hur... btw juz curious to know why shirt need to custom made... thought can by OTR leh...

squidhead

hi racherlle,

Yes, i remembered we took the same flight to BKK and both of us r staying at Novotel.
Which row were u on the plane?
I stayed on level 14th in Novotel - non smoking room, the reception told us it was a newly renovated room. They asked us if we wanted a smoking or non-smoking room.

hi jellytots,

Macways have the fabric there for you to choose. Tailor made shirts are better because it will fit you better compared to OTR shirts. Also, you can choose what kind of "design" you want, e.g short or long sleeves, hidden pen pocket, buttons for tie at collar etc, etc.

racherlle

hi Squidhead!

u managed to get a new room? tat's gd! hw was the room? nice? i saw a brochure from the hotel.. the new room looks great! mine is the old one.. wat time did u reach the hotel? i'm on the last row.. row 30..

we might have bumped into each other during breakfast.. i'm always one of the last few couples that came in for breakfast at ard 10-10.30am.. kekeke..

Squidhead and Racherlle,

We are on the same plane to bkk on fri?
Racherlle, i think i know which are you liao. Me and FH were at row 30 also. Mine's A and B... yours whd be E and F?

Alamak, i was trying to locate the Papaya restaurant. My colleague gave me their namecard. All in thai one, cannot read ah. *wasted* Next time bah.

squidhead

hi racherlle,

haha! u were sitting in row 30 A n B right? I was sitting in Row 29 D n E.

I guessed that could have been you becoz there were not many couples I saw in the boarding area. I think I saw you at Siam Discovery Centre or Siam Centre on Tuesday.

New room is nice, everything new new lor. I reached the hotel ard 1pm becos my transfer fetched some people to Asia Hotel and Twin Hotel (??) first before going to Novotel. I hungry man when I reached hotel, after checking in went to makan at Mae Khun Mae Restuarant opp hotel.

Skywolf,

I think you mistaken liao .. Me n Racherlle travelled on Sat leh.

Papaya Restaurant was easy to locate for me as I stayed at Novotel. Read in this forum that its near to Macways n its crowded, so when hubby went to try on his tailor made shirt I went out of shop to look for it. True enough, even at 1pm there was a queue (about 10 persons). Went back at 2.30pm, this time no queue but staff not very friendly lah. The spicy pork soup too hot for me and even my hubby who's good at eating spicy stuff commented that its hot! I find their pork got porky smell one. Chicken wings yum yum!

chloef

Wow..so many updates, my eyes crossed man! haa

Thks Droopy, ill bear that in mind..and see if i can try to switch to rooms on higher floor. "Grin"

Hey any suggestions on whr i can get household deco, nice posters/paintings etc...

Aiya, seem to hv so much to shop for..oh btw, how's the exchange rate over there in BKK?

Thks!!

Squidhead... okie, okie. Thought you and racherlle had went on Fri. I thought i remembered got another lady also went on Fri. Hmm.. could be mistaken.

Chloef,

I chged in SG for 23.68. When i reached Bkk airport (after landing and b4 clearing customs, there's this 'small' shop at the right side doing foreign xvhg. theirs was 23.72. Not sure what's the rate whd be now though...

squidhead

hi skywolf,

no problem! I missing BKK now ...

Chloef,

I changed in World Trade for 23.77 I think changing in BKK is better. In Sing, I changed for 23.5 and 23.7 before I left.

racherlle

wah!!!!!!
SQUIDHEAD!
u r really gd leh!
haiyo! i didn't notice u leh! errr.. i'm juz too excited to go shopping.. keke.. oh dear didn't notice u were so near me.. hehe
wow u even saw me at Siam discovery centre ah.. me juz blurblur walk.. call me mah!!

when i was at the boarding area.. i was tinking where is Squidhead!? hehe
i saw a few couples.. but dunno which one is u.. were u guys standing near my bf and i at the boarding area? hehe
we are always the last few to reach the boarding area whenever we fly.. haha hav to run.. haha last call already :p

wah i tink i reach the hotel earlier than u.. hw come the hotel staff tell me no rooms already

i tink some of the guests have not checked out yet.. lucky the smoking level rooms are not smelly.. or else i will faint.. hehe in fact for the 5 days i was there.. no cigarette's smell.. hehe i cheong to COCA to eat.. very hungry too.. :p then i went Chatuchak after tat.. sooo warm!

hi skywolf!
tink u r mistaken!
squidhead and I were on the Sat's flight not Friday :p

squidhead

hi racherlle,

Dun dare to call you, if wrong person very paiseh leh. Your bf or hubby quite skinny, wear glasses right? I don't think we were standing near you when boarding time becos the moment they announced the row no. for boarding, we went in liao. Hubby said why go in so early, he always like to last call then go in the plane heehee ...

Wah, you bought quite alot of things when I saw you at Siam discover centre.

When I reached the hotel, I had to wait for awhile. So went for lunch first before getting the rooms. The hotel said got no more double bed rooms, only next day got. But they said they will join the beds for us and we will check into the double bed room the next day. We were thinking can join beds can liao, changing rooms so troublesome. Moreover, its a new room so we said no problem to get that room.

As for breakfast, we are usually there about 8am. Wah, first day eat alot of breakfast, by the third day I sian of the food liao. Only ate one blueberry danish. I went to Chatuchak on Sunday morning and Suan Lum in the evening.

One the first night, got a little scare! Two guys were following us, according to my hubby. After awhile, I think they knew we knew about their existence and they walked away. This was in Siam Sq at ard 9.30pm so it sort of frightened us and we went back to the hotel.

Did you go for Chang foot massage near the hotel? Quite good leh. Saw one couple actually bringing their son (abt 4 years old) to do the foot massage too!

bellebelle

I'll be going in June. But hotel not yet book so any recommedations as in which is more convenient? Novotel? Pathuwan, Baiyoke Sky, Asia? What are the things I can see there?

racherlle

hi squidhead!

hehehe yupyup! my bf's real skinny! i juz told him abt u guys.. he said he roughly noe coz he said we stood there for awhile while waiting for the plane door to open.. haha i juz daydream and can't wait to get out of the plane :p

haha yup i lugged home some Zebra pots and kettle that i bought earlier at Prathunam.. quite cheap!!
juz happen to pass the Zebra store then went in and came out w so many tings haha :p lucky they are quite light.. or else will faint! tat explains the big bags that u saw :p

ohhh okiee!! we only wanted King size bed.. they did suggest us to get the single beds but we didn't want.. so we stick to the smoking room which has a king size bed!

wow u were really early for breakfast!
my bf and i are used to sleeping late at nite.. so not used to waking up so early for breakfast.. hehe no wonder didn't get to see u at all
yup on my 4th day.. i juz ate the omelette.. so sick of the breakfast buffet..

hey i went Chatuchak again on Sunday afternoon after shopping at MBK... the weather was great rite?? hehe actually wanted to go to Suam Lum in the evening but both of us were realy tired so we went Suam Lum on Monday.. hehe bought more tings there..

oh dear.. lucky u guys were ok.. scary..

haha i planned to go for manicure, massage etc.. but didn't managed to go any! haiiiiii! haha coz too bz w shoppingshopping..
hmmm i saw one foot massage juz opposite Novotel.. even at nite like 10plus still very crowded! wonder whether we are toking abt the same shop..

hehe did u go to Cabbage and Condom restaurant?
i went there on Tuesday nite... the food is ok.. but a bit expensive.. dinner for both of us like 1000 baht..
oh ya then i saw the King and I spa there.. wow didn't noe it's so far away from Novotel.. tot it's juz near our hotel.. i was still aiming for it..

racherlle

hi blush!

i will definitely recommend Novotel for the convenience factor.. BTS is juz only like 5 mins walk away...

my bf and i practically took BTS most of the time.. coz no JAMS and wierd taxi drivers..

squidhead

hi racherlle,

Yup! I noticed you like daydreaming away for shopping
. Yes, your bf was standing ard to wait for plane door to open.

We didnt do much shopping becos didnt need to get anything for my place. I assume you getting your place soon right? That explains the pots and kettle. I find the shopping not cheap in the shopping centres, the prices are comparable to Singapore.

Chang massage is opened till 2am. There are a few massage shops opp Novotel.

Nope! Didnt go to Cabbages n Condom. We were at Robinson at around 4pm. Not hungry so didnt go to Cabbages.

Didnt shop much in the end. Don't have much things to get. Regretted not going to Chatuchak on Saturday. Went on Sunday and after going back to hotel, regretted not buying some more of the hand painted flower pots! My total check in luggage weight was only 20kg!

racherlle

hi Squidhead!

hehehe yup! i've juz gotten my keys.. starting renovation soon this mth..
yup agree that some of the tings are not cheap..
hmmm i didn't really enjoy my shopping at Chatuchak.. coz of the heat and also can't bargain much from the stores there.. i only bought a vase and some cute bags..

i bought a lot of stuff from Suan Lum.. lamps,cushions..
coz u can't find such stuff in SG..

haha my bf and i were so worried that our luggage will be overweight! hehe lucky we didn't!
had a hard time moving our luggage and lights to the airport.. :p

jellytots77

yo squid... tks for ur info... do they help u to design cos my FH not gog leh... so scared make already he dun like how... and how long did u all spend on choosing the design

squidhead

hi racherlle,

Yes i agree that you can't bargain much at Chatuchak. Tot can bargain at least 40% off the price quoted but most shops only give 10-20% off.

Suan Lum market .. the stuffs there seem more upmarket, alot of house decor stuffs.

squidhead

hi jellytots,

Don't expect anything like them drawing up the design for you. Its basically talk and they have some ready made shirts where you can use as examples. Just tell them what you want, e.g long sleeves, w pocket or not .. etc ..

I think you would know roughly what your FH wants/needs or likes. We spend about 15 mins deciding on the material and about 5 mins on the design.

squidhead

racherlle,

Got your keys to your place. No wonder you bought lamps n cushions. Have fun decorating your new place. I remembered when I got my place it was hard work but after everything was settled, it was good to come back to your own place after a hard day's work.

Just wondering .. where u staying huh?

racherlle

hi blush!

Baiyoke Sky had gotten pretty gd reviews from my friends too.. but for the major shopping malls like MBK.. u hav to take cab there.. cabs are cheap but the jams are pretty bad.. so waste time..
as for Novotel u can walk there..

racherlle

hi squidhead!

ohh okie so u hav settled urs already

so i presumed u hav settled ur AD too?
hehe btw hw old are u? I'm 25 this year..

my new home is in Sembawang.. hw abt urs?

squidhead

hi racherlle,

I got ROM about 5yrs ago and my customary in 2001. I am 29 this year .. old liao :p

Your place in Sembawang? haha! My place is also quite near to there. I am staying in Yishun, nearer to Sembawang side.

aiko

I will be going to Bangkok this coming June. Thinking of staying in D'ma Hotel, any comments on that?
By the way, does anyone know whether Suan Lum provides courier service? Thinking of buying lamps n some other household stuffs from there..

asura

Any one thought of buying curtain cloth material back from bangkok? YOu think/ know if it is cheap there? Any idea how much does courier cost from BK to Sg?

Hi amy,

Try applying for the tiger airways credit card. Vrey cheap now... Bangkok palace hotel, 3D2N with return air fare and transfer is $118 before tax. My colleague took tiger airways before, say not bad. Just dont get to choose your seat only.

andreal

hi minty!
fr Arnoma to D'ma is quite a distance if u wana walk (ard 25mins).

chloef,
u can check out hseholds deco, painting etc at Suan Lum/chatuchak. There shd be some other places too.

Amy,
some of us had tried budget airlines. Im flying by airasia this coming thurs, booked my room thru directroom.com

AIKO,
i stayed at D'MA b4. The bkfast is good & room ok..just that staffs & svc not dat professional. Hv u booked aldy? i cant recall there's any courier svc at Suan Lum, mayb some1 else can confirm on dat. oh we also like the deco stuffs there. When are u going bkk?

Asura,
i nvr bot textile in bkk, only knew there's a lot of textile at pahurat(yaowarat) or pratunam.

droopy_eyes

hi chloef, I dunno the x-chg rate in BKK coz I din chg any $$ there. my hubby chg at 23.7 at Far Est I think, my frien chg at 23.8 at chinatown.

Mmph, as for paintings & home deco stuff, I really like those I saw at Chatuchak.Zen Zen type. I got a vase for my brother & a wine holder for my home. If u can stand the heat, the place is interesting. Get those small battery-operated fan, it helps! Suan Lum also got but more expensive, must bargain more loh.

I tell u I took one whole week to "recover" from all those walking under the hot sun! Bangkok very siong eh! But cheap lah. hee hee...

I hope u can get a higher floor! My frien's toilet got a stench, I told them to chg to higher floor they dun wan...

Skywolf, my hubby just told me it took longer than 15 min to walk fr CHitlom to Baiyoke Sky. Hee hee...I must be lookin at interesting things along the way that I forget the time...chloef, one thing abt Baiyoke Sky is u won "get lost", it's so tall, u will always know which direction to walk twd the hotel! Ha ha.

racherlle

hi Squidhead!

nah not old lar.... still young!
haven't reach 30 mah.. hehe

wah we are so near ah!

hmmm u can see my home from the MRT travelling from Admiralty to Sembawang.. new flats.. white and green in colour..

aiko

Hi Andreal
I will be going to bbk in late June. What do you mean that the staff n svc not that professional? Is D'ma near the BTS?

jellytots77

yo squid... oh tats fast... now i go measure my FH neck, shoulder and sleeves length man... then can go buy liao... do they speak english and are they good at colour combination... cos are getting those shirts for our wedding leh... got to match my WG and EG mah... sianzzzz

Droopy,

me also lor. hardly notice the time as i was looking at the wares @ the roadsides. ;)

Hi Blush blush,

I stayed there last wk.
All i can say is tat its a value for $. You hardly whd want to lament coz of the price.

squidhead

hi jellytots,

I thinking bringing your FH shirt there would be easier instead of measuring it yourself. They do speak English as for colour combination .. i am not very sure becos we didnt have to do any colour combination.

precious_02

Hi.. jus came back fm BKK last sat.. stay in Baiyoke sky... hotel is real good.. convinent and walking distance to Chit Lom BTS... u wld't find it far to walk to Chit Lom BTS as along the way jus fm outside the hotel there is a lot of stall so by the time u walk along will be near to WTC liao then jus another 5 mins walk will be to the BTS..
BTW, Baiyoke Sky hotel on the bangkok map is called baiyoke II so dun be confuse..

droopy_eyes

Precious, u also stayed at Baiyoke Sky ah...me too. The view during breakfast good hor.

Guess what, I saw a bag I bought at Bangkok for 199 baht in OG the other day. It cost $29 here, so happy. kekekek.. I really regret not getting more bags.

aiko

I understand that we can go to chachutuk by BTS. Does anyone know which station should we be alighting at?
Heard that chachutuk is also opening on Friday besides the weekends...Is it true?

xynn

I just came back from Bangkok yesterday. The BTS is Mo Chit. You just follow the crowd when you get out of the station. It was my 1st time there but i had no trouble getting to Chatuchak. Heard that it opens on Friday but not all stalls will be opened. I simply loved the shopping there. Try to go early coz they open from 8am and also to avoid the afternoon heat. The stall owners dun give much discount. I got at most 10-20 Bhat. If i ask for more, they just ignore me. Guess they only give more discount if you buy in bulk.
You can get a map of Chatuchak from Thai Embassy. I got a map so i already decided which sections to visit before i went. :p

clayre

I booked 2 tickets to Bangkok between 10 to 12 June (Fri - Sun) but due to some personal reason, I'm not able to go and hence have to sell them at cost (including taxes plus name change fees but excluding hotel). If you or you have friends who are interested, do check out my thread at:

Marketplace & Exchange Corner: Others "Bangkok Tickets (1 pair) For Sale (10-12th June)"

dodocefiro

For those who are visiting Bangkok soon, pls have your money changed here. I just came back on Sunday, over the weekend where I was in Bkk, the exchange rate has dropped to 23.49. Luckily, I've changed it at the rate of 23.80 before I left.