Bangkok

squidhead

hi skywolf,

haha! so u r also going to be on the morning flight on Jet*Star? Me too! I know Racherlle taking same flight as me.

Looking foward to the trip .. me havent pack my luggage yet :)

deremi

hey ladies,

i just came back frm BKK on wed...
do alot of shopping there...the wheather there super hot...cant tahan...

some info for those who wana go BKK
which hotel stay is near all the shopping area.

Arnoma hotel near EGV mall n central world plaza
walk abt 10-15mins can reach MBK, siam sq, siam discovery centre, bangkok hardrock cafe n some small shops...oso near MRT...

its oso convenience to take taxi go Chatuchak and Suan Luam abt 10mins will reach...

Suan Luam open at nite time 6pm...quite nice there got some cafe there n a foodcourt...
Chatuchak open at morn time 9am only weekends...sell many cheap stuffs, foods, drinks n fruits...

hope some of my info will help...

andreal

hi Deremi,
thks for the info, at least for nw wun worry abt the weather cos i am aware june is the starting of rainy season.

skywolf,
enjoy k!

jellytots77

Hi anyone...

I will be leaving BKK on the 19/05 6pm flight... by then i reach BKK and check in to hotel will be abt 9+ to 10 liao leh... my hotel is Bangkok Palace... juz one to ask for the 1st nite where shall i go for dinner and walking... cos so late liao think most of shopping area close liao rite...

rally

jellytots,
altho the shopping centres are closed, you can still take a cab to sukhumvit area where they have street hawkers, peddlers selling wares, restaurants, pubs open till at least 2am.

alternatively u can visit suan lum night bazzar at lumpini area (cab takes abt 15min) that opens till midnight. They have some restaurants there as well and u still can do some shopping there too.
Patpong in silom is another place that stays open till 1am, more of a night market area but prices here are considering more ex n must bargain hard, also go-go bars, pubs are plenty here.

if disco is your thing, u can check out the latest places at sukhumvit where all the young trendy thai pple often gather to pple-watch. Opens till 2am.

jioupz

stayed at Bangkok palace too. We walked to the back of the hotel and there's stalls & 7-11. Had fishball noodles from the road side stall outside 7-11. super yummy! not forgetting the Meiji yogurt drink dat taste exactly like original flavour Yakult but in BIG bottles! Less than a S$1 per bottle. yum yum yum! maybe i should drop by during the week... all these posts I've read made me missed dat place sooo much...

banyan24

Hi all, and Hi to LingO also

back from bkk with some info to share.

Stayed in Asia hotel. No strange encounters. Room old but bed is comfy and clean. Got a nice evening sunset view. Bath is dim but ok clean. Breakfast is good but everyday the same. Naraya shop (bags and stuff) at hotel lobby
bts train on level 2 is a plus point. the calypso gay show nothing fantastic (600B)
Shopping:
1. now Robinson having sale. 10% off wacole brand but limited size left.
2. SIAM discovery and siam center nothing much leh. Though loft and Zen got interesting thgs, but i prefer cheaper bargains at chatuchak and pratunam.
3. Gaysorn too high class, can buy in Singapore.
4. central world plaza- waste time, duty free more for Japanese tourist in my opinion.
5. Big c is good for drinking water, food stuff. clothes there also reasonable price. didnt try foodcourt as closed at time i went (9.30pm).
6. Pratunam market and pratunam centre - all the clothes you want, mostly cheap. Some better quality clothes price also reasonable. Of course must bargain.
7. chatuchak- whow, didnt cover all shops, too big, beri hot. must go, if take bts, willl enter gate 2(i think). get out from the clothes section got so many other interesting thgs. bought a watch at 100b (fake diesel watch. so many handicraft shops.
8. suan lum- nice and cheap lamps. dun buy other handicraft from there. me kana chop when buying candles.
9. patprong- a lot of stuff but nv buy or ask price as advice from this thread the thgs r x.
10. street vendors outside mbk bts bridge and central world got good and cheap bargains (my thai friend said every wed less street vendors).

banyan24

Continue

Food: wah, mostly really cheap and good.
1. Fuji at mbk- food quite ok but price is good. 3 pax oni S$15+ (eat until full full).
2. MK siam- can try, price reasonable.
3. wanton mee outside asia hotel - not so nice leh.
4. Nam Xing at chinatown- sharkfin so so(600b), but horfun the best (200b).
cant find tangyuan and dunno which birdnest shop to go. oh yah.. talk about chinatown...the
hairclips wholesale so cheap. 6 of different colour but same type is 30b (eg).
5. black canyon coffee.. food good but drinks so so leh. but price good also.

the pedicure (200b) in mbk level 5 not good.

asura

Hi Jes,

Thinking of going to bangkok on the tiger airways credit card promotion. Am so happy to see some okay comments on Asia hotel. Cos Asia Hotel is priced at $128 for 3D2N with tiger airways return flight. and it's the most convenient! Was waivering over it cos was reading the thread and worry that it is spooky. Can let me know which level you staying at? Cos i heard that some levels got no windows.

Cant wait to start shopping for home decor!

fan

Any of u try to change the passenger name for the tiger airways flight? Me called to change names... the person who ans said will change immed and re-send me the revised itinery... But after one wk, never receive leh... I called up the hotline, the guy who answered said he has no authority to change it... so stupid... v frustrating leh.... U gals have any such encounters?

Hi jes,

Thanks for ur detailed description... make me more excited abt my trip liao... BTW can I ask u if the clothes in pratumun quality good or not? cos I was thinking of giving it a miss if the quality is not good... Also, how did u go to Chinatown and what is the best time to go there? If I go after breakfast, will the shops there be opened? Did u go to the Sampeng Lane near Chinatown? Thanks

dodocefiro

Hi Jes
Thanks for the info. I'm heading Bkk on this Friday and put up at Asia Hotel too. Has the renovation completed at the Hotel? How to go to Healthland Spa Message and Nam Xing at Chinatown, does the bts train reaches these places? Does Healthland Spa provides traditional message and what is the cost?

chloef

Hi Obaesom, u've got mail!

hi Squidhead, i hvent got my card from Thai yet (the Visitor card)...wonder if i can still get one from u..since my office is near PS Atrium ..hee, Can can?? ;p

Thks!!

banyan24

Hi all, I'll try to answer what i noe coz only 1st time in BKK,

Whiteveil: Big C like carrefour, its a megamart opp central world plaza, near pratunam. Central departmental store - got a few, I went to the 1 in chit Lom (beside chit lom bts).

Asura79: me stay in level 8. try not to get 805, my brother stay in that 1- shower abit faulty. think the no window room (cabin room) is level 4 if im not wrong.

fan: pratunam clothes quality oki leh, but best to judge it urself. i bought eg. jean skirt for 170b, and a black cotton top for 99b.
me took taxi from Asia around 75+b. i thk open quite early (10am onwards). me reach 11+am for lunch than shopping. thk after 4-5pm shops closed. i didnt shop in sampeng lane as so crowded when i reach there. so many shops along the way- selling fish maw, hairclips, accesories so oredi buy enough before i reach sampeng

banyan24

Dodocefiro: when i stay there didnt notice got reno going on, maybe complete liao. healthland spa traditional thai massage(2hrs) at 350b in common room with curtain, 450b in vip room. tk bts to surasak station, exit by exit 3 (stairs on left and (up)escalator on right - so have to go down by stairs but once come down walk towards right. u r in the right direction if u c a convenient shop, a cafe, some shanghai restaurant, than bayer company. will reach the healthland spa after 5mins of walkiing. oppsite the spa u will c st louis hospital. if in doubt check with bts station staff. sound very troublesome, but actually quite easy to reach with bts.
nam xing got 1 outlet in mbk level 3. thk go there can liao if u only wan to go nam xing as chinatown can only go by taxi.

banyan24

hi chloef, u can get the visitor card if u reach bkk, go to siam bts tourist information centre. so many on the rack, can grab a handful
but actually i never got to use the card as central got own discount at info counter, robinson got sale liao so cant use visitor card. all the others (mbk, chatuchak, suan lum of coz cant use). hope this help.

obaesom

Hi Chleof,

You can also get the VISA discount card and maps from the Tourism Office at the Thai Embassy at Orchard Rd since it is nearer to your office. You can go during their opening hours or call them first.

370 ORCHARD ROAD Tel: 67372644 ( Open 915am - 1645pm / MON - FRI )

fan

Hi jes,

Thanks for all ur advice... May I know how much is the taxi fare from Asia Hotel to the airport? I will be staying at Asia too.... second time staying at Asia.... I am v satisfied wif Asia, esp love the convenience that it is interlinked to the BTS station.

durian

Some of you may be interested in hair sevcices

Info from my Thai colleagues:

Rebonding 1500B
Hair cut 300-500 B (very high class place liao)

My personal experience at MBK.
Hair rebonding : 1500-2000B forlong hair.. price depends on whether using Loreal or Shiseido.
Digital /Japanese perm about the same price
If want to do "hair spa" or "vitamin", add about 300-500B more.
Hair cut 250B, wash, cut and blow.. (good skills, hubby veryimpressed)

I will go again to do rebonding. Savings for my long hair is enough fo rmy chap air tickets

fan

Hi tiewster,

I stayed at BKK Palace once many yrs back... The rooms quite OK... just that in terms of convenience, I still prefer Asia hotel. There are many cabs outside BKK Palace targetting tourists..The cabby will approach tourists and ask them to take their cabs. I took once then they bring us to some jewellery shops... and they charge v high for taxi... So better dun take those taxis..

Hi durian,

Did u use Loreal or Shiseido for the hair rebonding. How long does it take for rebonding, treatment and cut? Is there a package price? Cos I interested to take up the package for trimming, rebonding and treatment. My hair quite long, length down till the bra line.

There is a hair salon (4-5 stories high) at Siam Centre... looks v professional and they even provide free internet access... I cut and did treatment to my hair last Oct when I was there.... v good.

Hi Clare,

Thanks for the info.(220 B is quite cheap).. Just to share wif u gals... be careful with the taxis there... My fren told me her col went BKK recently and in the end missed her flight back to Spore cos the taxi driver took her on a long ride (> 1 hr) so as to earn her $$... her col insisted that the taxi go by meter... so the cabby , in order to earn more $$ out of the trip, took a v long way.. So in the end she missed her jetasia flight and had to pay $100+ for another air tix back to Spore. So be careful. What I did that time was I negotiated the price with the cabby before boarding , we didnt go by meter... so no matter what, he will not take us on rides as the rate is fixed liao.

I'm back...

Squidhead, aiya, we same flight leh. Got turbulancec when almost reaching bkk rite?
Then got, erm, a large grp of ppl... heard they tell a stewardess they celebrating mother's day, and are staying at asia hotel...

Ah... i think i ganna chop @ seafood dinner at suan lum... think i went to the wrong shop. Haha... Agree with Jes on her comments on the various areas though.

Cannot take tut tut one. The one we took from Erawan shrine to chinatown 1st told us chinatown was closed on sundays. Later chged his mind to say open at 2pm. Then drove us to 2 of those tourist shops to shop, we told him no. Then he said if we walk ard in e shop for 10 mins, he'd earn 1 diesel coupon. If got buy, he'll get 2 coupons. What the h#ll... Waste of our time... somemore its 100 bht. Frm chinatown back to hotel we took a cab, only 71 bht (we round up to 80 to give driver). He dopped us near Big C coz he dunno e hotel's direction. We walked back from there.

Tiewster, one of my frens stayed there a few yrs back. Erm, she was saying it was erm... 'haunted'. Recep area got a big statue of Buddha, supposely to guard against those 'things'. It was a few yrs back, so i'm not sure if you want to treat it as a valid feedback.

clarewoo

Hi Fan,

As we took a limousine from the airport to the hotel, we could roughly gauge the timing and my hubby also brought out a map to make sure the driver don't take the long way (from what I remember, from Asia Hotel to the highway maybe take only 10 mins then highway will link all the way to airport). The taxi driver did ask what time is our flight so we told him an earlier timing (for fear he purposely take a longer route :Þ)

jellytots77

yo jes... can i know tat sampeng is in chinatwn which part... does the map show where isit... see u mention tat along the st got sell stuff liao... hmm... where is it... btw did u went to the sampeng lane to see... wat do they hv there... tks... so many question

droopy_eyes

I am back!

Skywolf, I so so agree with you, the same thing happened to us when we took the tuk tuk from Wat Phra Kaeo. I told my hubby dun take already, he still wants to take, in the end exactly like u all loh. My hubby still says it's an experience woh. Duh. The taxi so cheap, got air-con & meter won't move much. So no matter how cheap or how many places they offer to go for 20 batt, DUN TAKE THE TUK TUK, waste time only.

Chloef, I can now give u the verdict of Baiyoke Sky.
I am lucky in the sense that at first I stay on 27th floor, then there is this medicated oil smell, so I request to chg room & they gave me 47th floor. View much better! The room is big lah but not as nice as I have imagined. The best thing is the view at the 76th/77th (where we had breakfast) & 83rd/84th (the music bar with live band and the open air observation tower) The view is awesome. Outside the hotel are clothes stalls bustling with business, so the place is not quiet or ulu loh. But quite a distance from the skytrain station, abt 10 to 15 min to Chit Lom station, when the weather is so hot, no joke. Take cab better but make sure they on the meter. By the way, recommend u a foot massage place near Baiyoke Sky, opposite Indra Regent along Ratcha Prarop road, call M@B Pratunam Foot Massage. It's a small shop, but I think got 2nd storey. 135 batt plus free shoulder & head massage. While we were there, there were a lot of foreigners. No regrets choosing Baiyoke Sky but make sure u r comfortable with the room, ie no strange smells, or else ask them to change.

Droopy, u also ah? Ya lah, my FH lor. Said go bkk nv try tut tut cannot. I was like... haiz. Kinda 1/2 expected after reading e posts. Just that they wun believe us gals who had took the time to do some 'research' from this forum. He now said no more. hahaha...

15 mins reach chitlom? got shortcut? I walked frm bkk city inn (near big c side) to chit lom, round gaysorn's corner, onwards towards chitlom. abt 10 mins liao. We wanted to go to Pratunmam Mkt, ended up we cut across Indra Regent's lobby and towards Baiyoke sky hotel. Got some sort of a small area for clothes lor, but dunno whether was that Pratunam mkt or not... I also couldnt find the chinatown mkt where some gals mention the hair accessories...

andreal

wah so many posts...

sampeng is one of the area in chinatown, there are lanes along it. On the map, lok for Yaowarat (chinatown), okie on the left end of Yaowarat, u shd be able to find Sampeng or Sampeng Market. Then further down after Sampeng is Phahurat (aka Little India). Sells mainly accesories eg. hello kitty, strawberry shortcake, betty boo. Oso got hangbags, toys, hair accesories, slippers. Abit of hsehold stuffs.

Bangkok Palace i heard so-so only, everytime i go BKK passby there..hmm mayb its at one corner so kinda lok 'quiet'esp. at nite.

Hi jes,
u really dropped down alot of lobang etc hor,thats gd *winkz* i hope the wacoal sales still on by nxt wk.

skywolf,
loks like u brought bk alot of experiences at bkk *S*

Yah, lots. Not all are bad though. Hee...

When we were @ chatuchat, there's this stall selling those flat heeled slippers. Those that comes with brown strings and looks kinda braided. Can b found in SG too. Was quoted 199 bht. As we wanted to get a 2nd pair (FH's mum tompang us to buy), we asked for to reduce to 190 bht. The person heard us wrongly. Thought we say 180, so he said 180 ok. He confmed by pressing on calculator the amt (they norm use calculator to tell u how much if they cant understand u). A few more chicken to duck talk, the price was reduced to 150bht. Really! We were only sort of like trying to confm e price. I think the guy was thinking we want to bargain more, so he told us 150 bht. Off we bought, 2 pairs @ 300 bht. Hehehe.

droopy_eyes

Skywolf, no leh no shortcut, we just walk fr Chitlom, cut thro a shopping complex beside hotel intercontinental, then walk all the way straight down, see Indra Regent cross the road. Yee? I thot the most 15 min...dunno if I miscalculated...hee hee...anyway, 2nd half of the trip is taxi taxi all the way already.

Actually I find Pratunam Market got nothing I like. Chatuchak got more surprises & some quality like better like that.

When u go Chatuchak? We quite heng, we went on Sunday & it rained that morning, so whole day quite cooling...

droopy_eyes

Skywolf, read previous post n realise u r at Suan Lum on 6 May. Me too...hee hee...had dinner there at the place with the gigantic stage.

banyan24

Hi fan, taxifare around 230b from asia to airport. waited for those taxi that brought ppl for check-in. dun get from those waiting at the roadside, my friend told me she kena chop (700b to airport)

banyan24

Hi jellytots77: thk andreal ans ur question liao
wun miss the streets with all the hairclips and accessories as its along the way to sampeng lane(sure will passed by). me blur sotong 1st time there also no problem.
I actually asked around for directions, kept on walking left after passby the three shops selling pork floss dogshit (lin zhen xiang).

banyan24

Yup andreal, but still feel not enough. wah..saw very nice home decor items at chatuchak but only managed to 'lung' a few home. the celadon ware there r so beautiful also, but not cheap at 300b for a leaf shape plate (big). btw, birkenstock sandals only at 129-199b there, quality quite oki.
alamak all, do update here if got cheapairtickets+ accomadation to bkk. muz go again

opposite asia hotel got 1 grill/steamboat buffet call cocowalk price at 79b/pax for buffet dinner. food variety quite oki consider the price. alot of thais dine there. can try.

banyan24

My hubby went for movies (100b) at mbk while im doing pedicure(200b). but that level 5 pedicure i find no standard leh. got any pedicure to recommend? btw, may i noe where in mbk is that salon that u ppl r talking abt? thanks.

banyan24

three of us took tuk tuk 2x (50 -100b), no problem leh (with my thai friend). but she did mention usually tourist kena chop. tuk tuk ride nothing much too, somemore so smokey, but fast loh, reach destination faster compared to taxi (i feel).

Droopy,

Oh, so you cut thru? I didnt know leh. I'll walk to hotel intercon there, then still straight onwards towards gaysorn, turn right at gaysorn's corner, then towards Big C. I had wanted to try some shortcuts, but FH said no need to tempt possible danger and we can still look at those wares on the main road.

I went chatuchat on sat. Hot hot hot! Suan lum haiz, ganna chop ah. Went to wrong plc to makan dinner. Costs us 3000+ bht for 1 lobster, 1 crab, 4 big tiger prawns n 1 plate of kailan. Convert to sgd its ok i think, its the fact that we ganna chop than i gek sim. Yah, sunday quite cooling... was telling FH gd day to walk chatuchat.

jellytots77

yo jes... yap... i hope i can find it too... gog nxt week so excited

btw know wat is the exchange rate now... think bery low leh... sob sob...

also vesak day period sure super crowded one... sob sob sob

jellytots77

hi deathstar can i hv the list too... [email protected]

btw anyone can help where is this cabbage & Condom located... and is King & I Spa near to it...

anyone also hear of Indra Sq... wat is tat and where isit... which part of pratunam...

jellytots77

calling ohstrawberry... i remember reading through the archive that u mention abt Mambo... can i know where is it located and can i buy the tix on tat day itself...

ohstrawberry

Hi, jellytots77

Mambo is situated at Sukhumvit Soi 22-24 (very near to Phrom Phong BTS - You walk towards the direction of the park beside Emporium).
Yes you can buy the ticket on the day itself.
Any pro, can call them at 02-259-5128.
Enjoy your trip.

momopo

for the tourist discount card at major shopping centres, can we bring photocopies of our passport instead of the passport itself to show them?

'cos i don't feel safe bringing my passport out with me.

squidhead

hi skywolf,

got back on Tuesday night. No, didnt hear the group on plane telling stewardess that they are celebrating Mother's Day. I stayed at Novotel ... good location. Was sitting at Row 28 on plane .. u leh?

Went to Chatuchak on Sun and even thou it was cloudy still felt very hot. Spend about 3.5hrs there .. could have been longer but too hot liao and the place quite confusing ... always like end up walking same place.

Hubby tailor made 4 shirts at Macways for 750Baht/shirt. He is quite pleased with it so good for him, because he hardly shop :p

Next to Macways is the Papaya Restaurant. Menu in Thai, had to get the waiter to recommend. Ate fried chicken wings, spicy pork soup, mango salad and spicy noodles .. total was 230 Baht. Nice n Cheap!

For those going there soon, here's the discount offered that I know:

Siam Discovery Centre n Siam Centre - obtain a Tourist discount card at info counter (passport needed). Discount varies from shop to shop.

Emporium - used the Thailand Visitor Card. Discount of 10% for lingerie.

Zen - Get Tourist discount card from Customer Service (passport needed). 5% for lingerie.

The Thailand Visitor Card can be obtained at Bangkok Airport (there is a small stand after clearing customs).