Bangkok

racherlle

hi deathstar!!

thanks for ur email!

hi butter!
hmmm juz enjoy urself and dun tink too much..
have a great shopping trip!

pink_tulip

Hi again!

Just wondering, is it 'weird' to book one-way air tics from two different budget airlines? Eg. for the going trip, book Airasia, and the return trip, book jetstar??? I am looking at their flight timings and this thought came to my mind. Anyone tried that?? Or should we book from 1 airline only??

estben

Hi butter
So you are flying there this sat, me and my gf too just the 2 ladies. Flying in the morning by which airline? ours SQ 845am staying at Baiyoke Sky. What about you? How many days will you be there? Ours coming back on Monday night.
Hi postpet2
You flying to BBK when? I also heard about the news on BBK but we have already book liao than how ours is only 3day 2night. Let's all pray for safety ya don't think about the bad things than it will be an enjoyable and fruitful trip. I always believe in fate whatever will happen will happen whatever will not, than will not happen. Always think of the bright side, cross our finger and pray for the good! Now BBK berry happening cos of the New Year, be prepared to be splash water by the locals... cannot get angry leh cos its part of the celebration.
Well let's think about buying, eating bargaining look see look see siok man.... now berry looking forward.........

pink_tulip

For thos who have been to BKK... what is the check-out time? 12pm? Did you all request for late check-out?

I am now deciding on the returning flight timing, so I would appreciate if anyone could share what kind of timing is ideal.

mum2b

hi pink_tulip,
check out time is 12 noon, we asked for late check out to 2 pm (flight was 4 pm+), but only get until 1 pm. but it's ok coz we can put the luggage in their luggage room then go out for more eating n quick shopping nearby

btw, we were approached by some men claiming that MBK or Grand Palace is closed because of Thai King's birthday, which we have read in other forum before that this is a part of a bigger gem scam. so we ignored them and truly we found that MBK and Grand palace was wide open with so many tourists inside.. I don't mean anything, just sharing here.. and it does pays to be careful in foreign country ya? N just now I found from Google that King's b'day is 4 December

septembre

Hi girls do you think it's safe to travel to BKK now?
Heard the militant may move from the south to the city and BKK is taking precaution already.

pink_tulip

Hi Mum2B

Thanks for sharing!!!

Which airline did you take? Which hotel did you stay at? Oh yes, appreciate that you shared with me what you experienced. We will be careful and ignore strangers who approach us.

mum2b

hi pink_tulip,
no problem at all! i gained so much info here so thought of sharing back ..
we fly by air asia n stay in first house hotel. air asia is not bad, though got delayed several hours when departing from sgp. the flight back was on time, luckily. if u book air asia, make sure u provide hp number, coz when the flight schedule change, they will send sms to notify you. first house hotel, hmm.. not recommended even though the buffet breakfast is ok considering the kind of money we pay.

hi esther,
I am flying by Air Asia this Sat.
Our flight is schedule to fly at 10.55am and we will be back on Tue night.
I will be staying at Eastin Hotel.
Oh... I thought the festival only starts on 13 April? U mean, they will start splashing water before this date ar? Scary... dun want to walk around wet wet...

pink_tulip

Mum2B

Hi! OK, I see. Thanks!

AirAsia - return timing is not bad, reached SIN at 8pm+. I am also considering Jetstar. The returning flight will touch down at Sin 11.20pm. Kind of late, right? Afraid that my little children will be tired and cranky (after we have checked out of hotel, the hours before we board the plane). But hb suggested putting luggage with hotel and then we can go for "more eating n quick shopping nearby". If they are tired, can always find a cafe etc to sit down and let them rest. We need to be at the airport at least 2 h before the flight departs right? So means that we need to reach airport at 5pm+ (BKK time).

judetan

i be going to BKK with my gal fren, just the two of us..anyone also going on 30th April (3 days 2 nites)? We are staying at Baiyoke Sky, flying by Tiger air, per person is around $300.

pink_tulip

Hello everyone!!!

I have already booked my air tickets (jet*) and hotel room (novotel siam sq)!!!
Hope I did not book too early. My trip is in June. I am really excited about it!!

pink_tulip

BTW, thanks to all who have shared with me on DIYing trip to BKK, online hotel booking, booking websites, hotels, airlines, etc... Your helpfulness is appreciated!

racherlle

hi pink!!
i managed to book 4 nites of stay for 109 per nite too!

the other time i book for my parents it's 111 per nite..

when are u going???

racherlle

wow u booked so early!
hehe
i'm going from 7-11th May

hehe yup this is also my first trip to BKK!
been to other parts of Thailand.. but not BKK! hehe..

pink_tulip

Racherlle

Hee hee... ya, I was wondering when to book... then hb said go ahead... hope nothing happens to upset our holiday plans!

Your first trip? Must share with me upon your return ok?

squidhead

hi racherlle

u going from 7th-11th may? Heehee .. me too leh! But I only going for 3 nights. Me also staying at Novotel and its my first trip to BKK. Maybe we will bump into each other :) Which airline u traveling by?

deathstar

I know there's this worrying period now that everyone is concern off, becoz of the terrorist attack which might spill over to bkk....

well, i live by this motto - If you're destine and your time's up, it doesn't matter where you are or what you're doing... If u have to go, you have to go.

So i say~~~~ HECK THE TERRORISTS and enjoy all your stay at BKK every single bit. No point worrying!! as someone mentioned earlier, the least we all could do is to register our names with the mha website and hope that all's okie. =)

cheers people!!!!

dodocefiro

Is anyone planning to travel to Bangkok before 31 May 2005? I've one SIN-BKK-SIN ticket via. Valuair which I've put up on sale at S$100. If you're keen, pls look for thread under Honeymoon and Travel in the discussion forum: S$100 Valuair Air-ticket to Bangkok for Urgent Sale.

racherlle

hi Squidhead!!!

so coincidence!!
hopefully can see u there!

i'm travellin w Jetstarasia... on the morning flight..
hw abt u??? scarly we are on the same flight!!

squidhead

hi racherlle

OMG!! We are going to on the same flight girl!! Yes, travelling on Jet*Asia dept Sin 0920hrs. Just curious, how much did you pay for your trip? I booked mine with Chan Bros during Nata travel. Comes with 3 nights hotel (w breakfast), airport transfer (2 way) and half day city tour. I paid $360 (including airport taxes) per pax.

sputnik

Has anyone tried buying bulky stuff from Chatuchak and shipping back? E.g. furniture. Was wondering how much it costs to ship back and how long it takes to reach Singapore. Do they deliver to your doorstep? Anyone can advise?

racherlle

hi Squidhead!

my bf and I managed to get free airtix on the return leg (BKK-SIN).. so we paid in total $154 (including tax) for 2 airtix (SIN-BKK-SIN)..

as for the hotel.. i managed to book it at SGD109 per nite inclusive of breakfast for 2.. so total of 4 nites it's SGD436..

Total amount spent for 5D4N - $154 + $436 = $590 for 2 persons...
so tat means per person is $295.

squidhead

Hi racherlle

Wow ... that's cheap! What time is your return flight? So have you got your itinerary planned out yet? Still got about 3 more weeks to go :)

racherlle

hi Squidhead!

i took the late morning flight.. i tink it's 12pm... reach SG at 2.55pm.. coz the nite flight is pretty late.. will touch down at SG at ard 1145pm.. still need to work the nxt day..
i guess u took the night flight?

hmmm nope! haven't planned anyting yet!
geee! hw abt u?? hmmm so far only plan to go there and get my household and decor stuff..
and maybe look at wedding favours and cards..

squidhead

hi racherlle,

I will be taking the night flight since I plan to take the next day off anyway. Usually when I travel, I will take the next day off to unpack my luggage and rest a bit before going back to work :)

I have a rough itinerary plannned out, thanks to all the advice and info I got from this forum. Decided to go to BKK since me and hubby like Thai food and since we havent been there, we thought we just see how. As for the shopping, I dont think I will shop much as my impression of BKK is more for ppl getting married soon or for those who are getting their house soon. As for myself, I got married and got my place about 4 years ago so I don't think I will be buying much household stuffs.

obaesom

Amazing Thailand Grand Sale 2005

(1 June - 31 July 2005 : Nationwide)

The Amazing Thailand Grand Sale, Thailand's shopping extravaganza offers world-class shopping, a diverse selection of quality products and services, special discounts of up to 50% and promotional offers being extended by participating department stores and retail outlets along designated ‘Shopping Streets' in Bangkok and the popular tourist destinations of Chiang Mai, Pattaya, Phuket, Hat Yai and Songkhla.

Over the weekend at BKK, rate is 23.52.

But to check the daily rate at Bangkok click on the following link from Siam Commercial Bank.

https://www.scbbusiness.com/exchange/bk-txtexchange.htm

deathstar

yeah... i would say it's quite good.

Anyway, any of u ppl out there knows where's the prime location to shop for babys and pregnant womens' clothings in bkk??

banyan24

Hi all bkk experts, I would like to find out:
If I reach around 1600hrs at Asia hotel on a wkday(dunno exact time required from airport to hotel). where is the best place i can go from there? Im actualy at a loss of planning the iternary as 1st time to bkk. going to be there for seven days. 2nd day got temple tour in the am. wic is the nearest supermart? thanks

Hi deathstar

Can I have the list too? My email address is [email protected]. thanks loads.

Anyone of you saw this ad by Thai Embassy abt 2 wks ago? The one where we can mail/fax over a small part to indicate which part of thailand we are gg and the embassy can send over some info?

I faxed over that next day. Guess what? Not only the embassy sent over 2 Bkk brochures (1/2 cm thick each), a brochure on "Say No" to strangers offering % at any shops, it also comes with and 10b % coupon for a 1 day BTS pass (i know it sounds kinda 'odd') and a 5-30% discount card!! Cool!! It can be used @ most of the shopping ctrs mentioned in this tread! Its a promo with Visa, and is valid till Mar 06!

So excited now...