Bangkok

ohstrawberry

Hi, tulipng

I going 1 wk before you. I had booked my air tickets thru valuair ($138 - earlybird price), try lookin in their website for the price and book directly thru them. Think their earlybird sold out for March liao, you can check out other pricing.
They're very efficient and reply fast, i liked them cause they had assigned seats so no need to rush for seats when u in the plane, unlike other budget airlines.
Their website is http://www.valuair.com.sg/

ohstrawberry

Hi, tulipng

I had realised just now that they had changed their price wef this month liao.
My $138 had not included the tax, after tax, it's $193 (tax is $55), still very cheap.
Though they increased their price abit, i still find it quite cheap and worthwhile.

andreal

hi ppl,
i just got bk fr BKK yest nite.
Yesh Eastin Hotel is great, our 2nd time stayin there and svc still very standard. The 1st nite mi & hubby got a twin bed room, so 2nd day early morn we requested for connection door rooms & wif 1 room a queen size bed. We were happy that they act arranged for us immediately.

All of us really enjoy ourselves there, not as rush and tired fr the previous trips. Those who haben been 2 bkk definitely must go Suan Lum many craftworks, art deco, clothes, accessories much nicer and unique than other places. Do order the ala carte dishes fr the sector called 'Seafood' inside the open makan & entertainment area. Wah the tom yam, bbq squid, steam fish very shiok and cheap.

As usual we went Erawan Shrine, Yaowarat (Hai Wai Tian Sharkfin) then walk to Sampeng for some shopping. Din really get much thing at MBK, instead most of em got at Chatuchak & Suan Lum...and that is enuf to turn our legs wobbling haha. Mayb this time round got 4 of us, more daring to try the local snacks eg. like fried insects. BTW i tink its the strawberry season? cos the strawberries we bought at Chatuchak were big, red and sweet!!!

After trying Thai Airway this time, felt that in term of food and svc it is beta than SQ..but one thing lar no tv screen but its ok for us.

cottoncandy

me planning a trip to BKK in 2nd week of march..can anyone advise me of any cheap airfares?

ahjo77

Hi pple out there =)

i am thinking of staying at First hotel during Good Friday weekend in BKK ...any comments for their accomodation

jo

destiny

Hi AhJo77,

intially I also booked First hotel. But after passing by the Hotel, it looks old and its very near the main road. we decided to change to Eastin Hotel after we come back from Pattaya.

seemic

hey gals.. i am thinking of staying at Meritus Suites, State Tower on my trip there in may... Anyone stayed there b4? Or anyone know of the location? Is it convenient?? Thanks! =)

arwenwild

hi all, need some advices here. me comtemplating between baiyoke suite n asia. Have stayed in asia before, like the location but hearsay suite has a better room than asia, considering the room rates are abt the same. Also, other than the location is not as good as asia, anything else around baiyoke suite is worth going/eating? like to know which is better, more worth is.thanks alot.

meijia

Hi michelle,

My colleague stay before. She say the room is nice but the location is a bit out of place.

Hi Chocz,

I have choosen Asia over baiyoke suite cause the review on suite not that good. I read the review in the website called asiarooms.com.

This will be the 2nd time i stay in Asia.

Anyone know any good massage??

clayre

Will be going BK this Fri. Its my first trip with hubby so I'm really excited. Would really appreciate if anyone can help with the following:

1)I heard bargaining is a must at most of the markets. But how much to bargain?? 50%?

2) Any good & cheap tailor to recommend? Hubby would like to tailor pants for work.

3) Where to watch Caberet shows?

4) Do u think we should go see any heritage/cultural sights?? If yes, any to recommend?

Thanks!! = )

ohstrawberry

Anyone just exchange Thai Baht???
Any good rate? Where?
I had done a comparison this week, very low at Bedok area ard 23.00 to 23.25 only. Bugis junction less than 23.00.
Anyone had change better rate, pls kindly share.

sputnik

Hi ohstrawberry,

Think the current exchange rate not very good. Checked with some money changers at Change Alley last week, range was from 23.00 - 23.20. Sigh....

U going to Thailand soon?

whiteveil

its my first trip to Bangkok with hubby too and we r at a lost in deciding the hotel and no. of days to stay....our main motive will be clothes and home accessories though.....would like to stay in a 4/3 star hotel....can anyone help me? How many days will be 'sufficient' for shopping huh? heehee :p

fat

Hi gals........

Me juz came back from BKK last week...the rate that I change b4 I went was 23.30. Over their side is 23.15 the max. You gals can try the money changer at Suntec City, the one opp Watson....very good rates.

Mostly all hotels can book to watch Cabaret Show with shuttle service as well. There's 2 diff places where is held....one is in Asia Hotel(which has a smaller stage) & the other one is called Galaxy.

Bargaining at Chatuchak & Patpong is a MUST!!!! I know it may be riduculas but at least 50%. Trust me!

If solely on shopping on clothings & accessories, the hotel you shld stay is Pathuwan Princess which actually link to MBK ( their biggest shopping ctr ), overhead bridges to link to Siam Ctr or Siam Sq and from Siam Ctr, there's another link to Discovery Ctr ( another shopping ctr ). Ard Siam area, there's another hotel which is Novotel Siam....is all within walking distance except for Patpong ( MTR-alight at Sala Daeng Station), Suan Lum Nite Bazarre ( their new undergrd MTR - alight at Lumpini Station), Chatuchak Market ( MTR - alight at Mo Chit Station ), Emporium Shopping Ctr ( MTR - alight at Phrong Phong Station )....Most of these stations have to change train from Siam Station( something like our City Hall Station) which is lococated to the 2 hotels that I mentioned above.

Hope Im not too lor sor.....(long winded)....

ohstrawberry

Hi, Sputnik

Yes, i'm going to BKK on 15March. So now starting to seek for better place to change for Thai baht. So sian, all the rate so low....
Are you going there too?

Hi, ...(fat)
Thanks for your info. The rate there also not so good ya, i think i better change in Singapore. I'll definately go Suntec money changer to take a look, thanks so much.

sputnik

Hi ohstrawberry,

I'm leaving later this week. Went to ask the money changers at Change Alley yesterday, best rate was 23.30.

cottoncandy

I heading for BKK on 10th Mar
flying by Tiger Airways at the 1pm flight, anyone on the same flight? will be staying at novotel siam square hotel...

same as u gals, have been checking out the rates now.. only saw 23.00 at penisula shopping centre & scotts food court.. will also go check out the one at suntec city soon...

magix

hey gals, i am planning to go on 11 mar... i thot the rates will b better there?

3 yrs ago when i went there, it was gd rate, ard 24.50... now dropped... i used to change at their World Trade Centre. The rate was quite good as well.

haven been there for a while, am very excited to go there again!
anyone wif updates?

yamiyogurt

hi pple...

my first choice hotel : Arnoma is fully booked. they gave me Ambassador Hotel instead. Is it good? is it near any amenities??

maya

Hi chocz, I stayed in Asia hotel a yr bk and then BSuite just a mth ago. I prefer BS bec of the location, just in the pratunum mkt area where there's lots of things to buy. But conditions not as good as Asia. But if you're not fussy, can do lah, after all, you prob'ly stay out the whole day. Also, it was much bigger in size bec it has a bedroom and living room.

milo66

hi ladies. jus to check is emporium the place where they have 1 whole storey full of lingerie? and how do we go to pratunum market by bht? thks

magix

hi sweet, am staying in bangkok palace. its furthur compared to the rest of the hotels but i have stayed there b4 and i kind of like it. have stayed in Asia hotel which is a star higher than BP but ironically, the conditions r worse than BP. besides BP is much cheaper. makes no sense to me to spend more on a hotel that is nearer to the shopping centre than using it on cab fare. the cab fare wun add up that much. juz my thots.

ling0

Hi Sweet

Think we r taking d same flight....Tiger Airways on 10 Mar at 1.15pm!
I'll be staying at Asia Hotel......
253133.gif

milo66

hi ling, where did you bk ur asia hotel accomodation from? i saw on direct room web that they have std room, is those w/o window kind?

ling0

Hi milo66

We booked thru tis website: www.asiahotels.com
Think those rooms w/o windows r "cabin rooms"....but if I'm not wrong, some cabin rooms do hve windows. If u wan room wif windows, wld sugg tat u book d "superior room"....but d room rate is slightly higher......

yamiyogurt

chamonique, my departure date 19 march.... still so early i dun think fully booked.... most prob becos ambassedor cheaper so travel agent book that for me lor
i have no choice. i wanted baiyoke sky, they also say no rooms !!! a bit sad but hope that ambassedor is good lor. they keep tellin me its better than arnoma... n that it's they new wing I am stayin at. there is nothin i can do leh.....

yamiyogurt

but i decided not to let that spoil my mood

anyone bought home n decor stuff there ? or luguages ? i m thinkin of just hand carryin a small bag there so that i can buy a new lugguage there ? whats' the aver cost huh? or is it cheaper if i just buy from spore carrefour?

cottoncandy

hi Ling0!

^5! imagine we might bump into each other that day!
.. u done up your schedule liao? is this your first visit to BKK? how many days u staying?

hi yami

for me, probably i will just bring empty lugagge there.. coz got too many at home to buy a new one in BKK.. heard wat some gals did was tat they put the smaller lugagage (with your clothes and stuff inside) into a bigger lugguage.. then on your way back, can use 2 separate luggages loh...

yamiyogurt

sweet, for me i need to buy a new luggage cos old one too worn out already..so deciding whether to buy it here in spore or go there then buy./

ling0

Hi Sweet

Yep yep, we might bump into each other tat day! Heehee....tis is my 4th trip to BKK, will be staying there 6D 5N! Love BKK so much tat I intend to travel there at least once a yr....juz spent my x'mas there last Dec! Hve not done up my schedule yet....but will b going to visit "Bai Long Wang" Master 1st....hve u heard abt him b4?

cottoncandy

hi Ling

U going for so long ah? *envy*..

nope, havent heard of him b4 but then i dunno much about masters lah, so it is no surprise that i never hear of him... u visiting him to get some dates?

ling0

Hi Sweet

My trip to BKK is always 5D or 6D....scare not enough time to shop, so prefer to stay longer.
Nope, not for getting dates....tis is actually my 1st visit there....heard tat many HK or Taiwan Stars go there to seek for his advice. My Auntie who is a Thai, told me tat we hve to reach d temple before dawn or we wun get a chance to see him as d queue will be very long. Tat means we hve to set off in d middle of d nite as the journey is abt 2 to 3 hrs! But my Auntie told me tat we r not suppose to ask any ques, d Master will say whatever he wans to tell u......

So hve u plan ur schedule yet? U going in a group or juz d 2 of u? Is tis ur 1st time to BKK? (Oops, sorry....too many ques....hope u dun mind!)
254210.gif

cottoncandy

hi Ling

no prob! yup, my schedule 7788 liao
.. just going with my hubby... hehehe and yes this is our first time to BKK.. i m having my PS on tues.. so on thurs will fly to BKK for a short trip and also to make a suit for hubby for AD..

u also going with bf/hubby?