Bangkok

pigsinc

I just came back fm BKK and I wld advise all to change money there. Before I left, most money changers here were only offering 23BHT but at the airport in BKK, they were offering 23.18. And I changed at Pratunam 23.28

seemic

hi mrswang

complex city is actually opp platinum mall... also another wholesale centre, they sell in 3 pcs. Of coz, u can get 1 pc, but that'll be more expensive...

Complex city got some shops selling plus sizes clothes, then quite a no. of office wear also.. I got some work shirts for about S$8 each..

HTHs...

bien

Anyone can intro me more shopping mall beside the below shopping mall.. Anymore shopping mall is nice to shop

1) Siam Paragon
2) Central Plaza (which includes Central, Isetan and Central plaza shops)
3) Platinum Mall
4) Siam Square (opp siam paragon)
5) Siam discovery centre and siam centre nothing much but nice to see (more high end stuff)
6) gaysorn (high end stuff)
7) central chitlom (departmental store)

cc2

I just came back midnight, the rates yesterday at Pratunam is 22.98.

I have 2 pre-paid Happy SIM card to let go. 1 card still have around 26 baht and the other one dunno the amount cos didn't check. Expiry date is 8 Dec. Letting go both at $8.50(postage inclusive). Interested pls email me at [email protected]

mrswang

icebaby,

i need your help!

How to tell the taxi driver to the hotel? i heard that no much pple know this hotel?

thanks so much! =)

icebaby0

mrswang,

if u book from asia room...there is a thai address there. Print 2 copies (cos u will need to give one when you are at the hotel. Alternatively, u can give that 1 copy to the hotel then take their "hotel card" at the reception.

To Samran, taxi around 350 baht. When from hotel to airport, it was 400 baht (included a trip from MBK to Hotel)

mrswang

oh dear! i print e map only.

me at airport now le.

thanks anyway. i try to tell them near asia hotel see whether it help.

princessa

Hi..

im goin to Bangkok on Dec 6th, i'l be staying at Baiyoke sky. besides Pratunam, Platinum, MBk & Central World; is there any other nice places to shop?

sarzy

May I know are the cafes and eating places still open in Suan Lum ? Thinking of going there for dinner cum shopping during my Jan trip to BKK.

hi june,

suan lum opens till like past midnite... there is a long eatery (like our long house) at a corner.. u must buy the coupons first and use the coupons to purchase food..

scobido

hi there

maybe gg to bangkok for the 1st time in early jan 08 to buy some home accessories. may i know some of the shoppg ctrs that sell that n which budget hotel will u recommend?

any recommendations for spa/massage?

lemonade88

siam discovery centre, mbk, central, paragon and chaktuchap for home accessories n furniture

samran place is cheap n good. abt $41 per night. room is just like our chalet. located near to asia hotel n 1 bts stop to siam sq.

next to samran place is a massage palour tt charges 199 babt for foot massage.

bel_yeo

I will be gg to BKK next Fri! Staying @ Samran place. So excited!

Btw, do u advise us (2 adults) to take bus/taxi fm the airport to the hotel?

How to go Platinum Mall from the hotel?

Thank you! Thank you!

icebaby0

Bel,

take a cab. Fare is around 330 - 400baht. So if the taxi drive say 400 baht for all (i.e. toll & the 50 baht service) take it. It's okay.

To Platinum Mall, take a cab. Should cost around 35 - 50 baht. The last time I drop off at Pratnum, cost me about 37 baht.

**At Samran, to catch a cab...best u cross over the other side. (i.e. when u leave the hotel, turn left...walk down, there is an overhead bridge to a 7 eleven...there also got pple sell sticky mango rice....easier to catch a cab) Be careful for the "tutu" drivers. There is a service staff there, a young man (more like 17/18 boy) he wears lipstick or whatever, but he is very++++ nice.

icebaby0

Bel,

I never eat around Samran or had any massage.

Chinatown is a good place to find food...esp those road side stalls.

Service staff from Samran itself.

**Leaving office now. Any questions, just post or PM me at M4M. Cheers!

changni

Hi hi all.... am flying to BKK in 2 days n staying at samran - excited!!
hows experience with samran anyone?

btw just chking -- by any chance anyone having their AD in jan 2009?=)

lemonade88

Do have samran's contract number with u. most cab driver do not know the way to samran. have to call n ask for direction. once u reach hotel, ask the receptionist for their businese card.

u can try www.asiaroom.com and search for samran place. there're alot of review in there.

icebaby0

Here is my advise:

Go to this website: http://www.hotels2thailand.com/thailand-hotels-map.asp?id=284

Print 2 copies of the address in Thai and the map.It should help.

Some taxis do not know the name of the hotel but they know how to read the Thai address. Airport to hotel is around 350baht onwards. So if they offer 400 baht + tolls, it's okay to take.

As for the condition of samran place, as mention several times, as long as you are not expecting 3-5 star standard, it is fine. Hotel is far better than First World Hotel in Genting. Bathroom includes bath tub.

bel_yeo

Hey! I am back fm BBK ... Samran Place.

As icebaby said, it is really fine if you dun expect too much. To me, it is more like a motel.

As for shopping, I really dun brought much things. I love the weekends market!

Went to the massage palour next to Smaran Place for foot/body massage, its quite okie.

Been travelling by Skytrain ... fast & cheap! Took the MRT once too.

vine

BEL - is samran near the Skytrain station? how near? how you go chatuchak? by skytrain too? is MBK within walking distance?

How about to Airport? How much if going by cab?

bel_yeo

Hi vine ... it takes abt 5-10 mins walk to the skytrain stn. Yup, I went chatuchak by skytrain too. Quite fast. I dun walk to MBK coz it just 2 station away. But u can walk if u want coz I walked fm Platinum Mall back to my hotel. Quite a long walk. =p

From airport to hotel - 350 bht & from hotel to airport - 300 bht. =) Enjoy ur trip!

vine

hi bel,
i suppose samran place dun have internet connection hor? any idea which hotel have internet connection?

hi vineyard,

have but quite expensive

from samran, walk along the main road towards ratchathewi BTS.. there is an internet cafe along at the corner...

vine

minssy - i was thinking is there any hotel that provides free internet access?

i'm going on 31 jan. recently i heard fm my friend have tiger promotion with air fares at $0

hi vineyard,

i dun think so... they are hotels and therefore there will be a higher charge for internet access...

internet cafes prices are quite low...

not_firmed

Wongz.. tiger having promo now.. can try to get there...

Vineyard.. I'm gg on 16 Jan..
I heard that only budget airlines include airport tax of 700 bht where non-budget airline doesn't include that??

joey888

Hi Bel,

How's their MRT? It's underground and so is it safe? I intend to go Suan Lum and travel by BTS then transfer to MRT. The BTS looks new and safe since it's skytrain. But for the MRT, is it similar to BTS? Kindly advise me. Thanks.

gera78

anyone letting go of their air tickets for
trip to BKK for Jetstar or Tiger Airways? I wanna travel to BKK on 30th Apr to 4th May on F&E package.

Pls PM/email me at [email protected] if you are letting go, thanks.

sailor_p

May I find out whether is Suan Luam Night Bazaar and Chatuchak market still around? I went to these two places in 2006 - since then, I heard news that these two places would be closed. I am heading for BKK in end April - yeah, just bought the tix under the Tiger Airways promotion.

march0311

I also bought the tix thru the Tiger Airways promotion. going in early apr. hopefully wun die of heat stoke.. hehe. now need do alot homework and research.

stnov

hey sailor & march....we bot the tix under tiger promo too...going early apr as well....=)

march...when will u be going...im going on 06 apr morning flight....kekeke

any good hotel deals to share...im thinking of either samran place or baiyoke boutique hotel...as for CTC market....not too sure but my fren went in nov last year and it is still around....can consider pratunam area for shopping otherwise....malls + wholesale centres....dats wat i understand....=)

ducky

I'm going to bangkok this 18th - 21st march... not my first time but wan to know how to get to chinatown-sampeng lane from samran place hotel? pls advise... thanks!

Can also advise, best time(morning,noon or night) to go there and amount of time to spend there... thanks again

icebaby0

Duckyduck,

You have to take a cab to Sampeng Lane from Samran Place. (Do cross the overhead bridge and take a cab..easier). Should cost around 35-50 baht to reach.

Go in the morning. Afternoon will be close.

Time spent will depends what u end up shopping and buying. Hahaha. Alot of cute stuff to buy (those that u see on shopping carts in singapore/or novelty shops)

ducky

hey icebaby,

thanks for replying... but i got some more qns leh... How do i tell the cab driver?they can understand? 35-50baht is by meter? Morning around wat time they open?

icebaby0

duckyduck,

I normally go after breakfast around 9am. Some shops will be open liao. Got food around the area too.

Just tell cab driver Chinatown - Sampeng Lane (u can show them the map also). Oh, sorry the cab price is for Pratumna market..hahaa. I can't remember how much...but I think less than 100 baht by meter? *paiseh*

smurfy

For those who have stayed at Samran Place before, please advise if there is safe box and hair dryer :p in the room?