Bangkok

maxteo98

Ma22 , i stayed in bangkok city inn b4. typical budget 'hotel', away from the main road. simple breakfast, small room. near to world trade centre, pratunam mkt, it mall, about 10mins walk to BTS. if the cab driver do not know the way, just drop off at BIG C opp world trade centre.

ma22

maxteo, thanks 4 ur input.

Seems like lots o ppl r going 2 bkk next wk, d cheaper rooms r unable 2 confirm liao. Nvrmind la, we only go back 2 hotel 2 zzz. Most o d time out there cheong-ing :p Getting excited .......

snowysun

Hi Jaye,I am tinking of staying at First House Hotel too? How far is it by foot from First House Hotel to main road where First Hotel is located? Id you try walking to Platinum Mall, how fare by foot?

icebaby0

If I am not wrong, the 700 baht is inclusive in all airtickets for leaving BKK for all airlines.

I did a test last month, if I remember correctly, taxes for to & fro to BKK is:
Air Asia - $148
TigerAir & Jetstar - $128

I think so hor...must do test again.

hi nanshee,

there are quite a few money changers in the airport.. but the rates are not as good... its always better in the shopping centres...

hi fiona,

yes its all included already...

annelee75

Anyone knows whether there is any adidas outlet at bkk? I know of one which used to be near the Sheraton Riverside hotel but it has since shifted.. Anyone knows where it is now?

icebaby0

fiona,

never stayed in service apartment. But I heard some frens who stayed in some and say it's pretty okay.

Got 1 place my fren stayed was Evergreen place (located beside asia hotel)

hi fiona,

never stayed in service apartment also.. but u intend to cook meh? else a normal budget hotel of $40 - $60 is suffice...

stay in the hotel that you plan to shop most so that its more accessible...

cheekybee

Hi cynthia, which part of chinatown sells wedding stuff? What kind? Contemporary or traditional? I never noticed them when I was there last time...heehee..
hope you can advise me! Thanks!

tinkybell

I will be heading Bangkok with my hubby in early October and is wondering if you have any recommendation for the followings;

- Shopping (apart fr JJ n Suan Lam)
- Wedding items
- Tailor made shirt (male & female)
- Massage

btw, wish to find out where is chinatown?? any special landmark??

I will be there for 5 days 4 nites and staying at Arnoma and appreciate your comments and recommendation as i am wori i might not find my way for good places.

you may also email me at [email protected]

thank u in advance

ma22

Quite ah, then let me do some input on my recent trip in Aug lah.

Things are getting expensive else it's comparable to Sin. I soon got bored wif Siam Paragon cos the shops are d same in Central World.

Food :-
Fuji Japanese Restaurant has a wide array of selection & reasonably priced. The set menu is value for money. Tried a few restaurants in Siam Paragon & Siam Sqaure that sells real nice fusion thai food that are the locals fave. Can't remember the name thou. What i miss most is the food court in MBK. The fried omelete, pak-thai noddles, beef noodles etc etc were so yum yum. The tot of it makes me drool ........ Slurp slurp ......

Massage was Fantastic ! A must in Thailand. My vote goes to Lek Massage for their foot massage. Loacted behind Novotel Hotel. Cheap, clean & gd ! Lots of S'poreans patronize them.

Next will be Indra Massage for their 2 hrs Thai massage. It's sandwiched between Bangkok City Inn and Aphrodite Inn Hotel, very near to Arnoma Hotel. Did not try HeathLand this time.

Oh yes, <font color="ff0000"> DO NOT PATRONIZE </font> <font color="0000ff"> NEO HAIR STYLIST </font> - 3rd Flr, MBK Ctr.

I wanted a haircut and highlight done while hubby wanted a haircut only.

Anyway, we were ushered to our seats and this sexy thai lady who seems to be the Supervisor offered both of us 1300 Baht each for both haircut + highlight. Since we have lots of time to spend, we agreed.

Hubby was given d "Beckham" look. To me, it's d typical Ah Beng highlight. Wahahahahahahahahaha. Anyway, I'm happy wif d cut n highlight. But the blowing dry is lousy ! Can u imagine, she can blow one side of your hair curling inwards while the right side curls out ????? Funny rite o was that the current trend in bangkok ?

So when I asked her to wet wif water &amp; blow it in. She threw the hairbrush on the table &amp; mumbles in thai.
Told me off by saying " Y u no say " &amp; I'm like hello, " Y u no ask " ! Afterwhich, she told an/r staff to attend to me while she grumbles away angrily. Her attitude really takes a 360 degrees turn. Gosh, what grief mistake did i make leh ?????

The way she does biz is like chop chop case closed, get out o my shop when u r done kind o attitude. Sigh .....

Just my 2 cents worth.

ngoost

can anyone pls advice on the following :

Chinatown is situated at which area, last year when i was there, abt 6pm @ MBK, all taxi driver refused to take me there. wonder why also???? in the end nv visit there.
wat is the best time to visit chinatown and wat can we expect to get from there ?

Where do shoppers usually go at nite, cos i only know of Suan Lum and streets along Arnoma.

pls advice.

tulipng

can anyone advise me where shld i make hotel reservation? Asiarooms or Precision better? i'm intend to book Anorma hotel for next mth, as for precision, they can instantly confirm my booking, but the price is more expensive as compared with Asiarooms. As for Asiaroom, don't know whether got rooms available or not, and fm my understanding is that, they will directly charged yr credit card although rooms will not be confirmed and will ask you to choose another hotel if your first choice is not available.

pls advise. thanks.

ngoost

http://www.thaihoteldiscounts.com/h_bangkok.asp

came across this website and can be consider as one of the cheaper one.
IMHO,
i suppose if u really choose between the 2. just book via asiarooms. cos next month sure have rooms for hotel. not any peak season. and also u can call the credit card to fight off the charges if u nv booked from asiarooms.

care to share why u choose arnoma ? tks

ngfifi

Hi there everyone,

Im thinking of gg to Bangkok on 12/10-15/10. Currently, Cathay are having a promos of upgrading to 4* hotel at the package price of $404/pax. Package comes with daily breakfast, half-day city tour and airport transfer

However, this is my 1st time taking Cathay Pacific flight. Can any1 advise if Cathay flight is stable as im oso bringing my mum to Bangkok and this is her 1st oversea trip

Secondly, wonder if any1 kws if Bangkok tend to rain very often in October and whether nw is safe to travel to Bangkok?

Thx for advising

tulipng

thanks for sharing, i'm choosing arnoma because basically i'm going to Platimun, Central World and will only in bangkok for 3days 2nights with my cousins, nieces and aunties, 8 of us, think that is the best reasonable hotel that i can think of. any suggestions? actually i hv not book my airticket yet, still looking around. Hv just checked with one of the travel agent, they coded me S$417 for thai airways, 12.25pm flight, free tsf. Actually i'm looking at Jetstar, total cost for airticket and accomdation is S$370(book separately). for cost saving, of course is Jetstar, but the agency told me that thai airways got promo for airticket for oct, which is S$259 after tax, which is quite the same price as budget, but i went to thai airways website but cannot find such promotion, anybody know about this promotion?

dleo

Jen,

Dun worry, Cathay is stable. I always like to take Cathay to BKK cos most of the time, I kana upgrade to executive class when the flights are full. The seats are so comfortable and spacious and the food served are different also.

cassis

Tulipng:

"but the agency told me that thai airways got promo for airticket for oct, which is S$259 after tax, which is quite the same price as budget, but i went to thai airways website but cannot find such promotion, anybody know about this promotion?"

Can u ask the agent again and let me know too? I also want to go to BKK but 12pm flight is no good for me.

Jen: CX is better than SQ in my opinion. I'll check CX too.

cassis

tulipng

the TG promotion has been sold out. Yes, afternoon flight is out for me. I need to work in the day.

Can u tell me which hotel is better: Bayoke Sky (seems like smacked right in the middle of smelly dirty hawker stalls?), Grand Diamond (not convenient), Arnoma (convenient but ex?), Holiday Day Inn Silom (whereabouts?)?

I stayed at Pathuwan Princess and Novotel Siam before. I want to try a new one. Asia Hotel is old and haunted I read in other threads, right?

tulipng

hi cassis,

so far, i only stayed at Pathuwan Princess, Novotel Siam, Hoilday Inn Hotel &amp; Resort Bkk(chitlom BTS) and aronma hotel. hv not try other hotels yet.

i don't know where is bayoke sky, grand diamond and Holiday day inn silom as for aronma, the price is quite reasonable, as is convenient. Do you hv any budget? for me, i perfer aronma hotel that side, cause is more convenient to mvoe around, as i like to go platimum n pratuwan that area. there is one cheap hotel, bangkok city inn, but did not know how the hotel like, but heard that quite ok.

tulipng

hi cassis,

so far, i only stayed at Pathuwan Princess, Novotel Siam, Hoilday Inn Hotel &amp; Resort Bkk(chitlom BTS) and aronma hotel. hv not try other hotels yet.

i don't know where is bayoke sky, grand diamond and Holiday day inn silom as for aronma, the price is quite reasonable, as is convenient. Do you hv any budget? for me, i perfer aronma hotel that side, cause is more convenient to mvoe around, as i like to go platimum n pratuwan that area. there is one cheap hotel, bangkok city inn, but did not know how the hotel like, but heard that quite ok.

cassis

OK, maybe I'll consider Arnoma. Yes, I dun want the hotel+airfare to exceed S$500 for 3D2N stay in BKK. I'm going after office hours and coming back on Sun. Thanks for your help!

tinkybell

i will be travelling with CX to Bangkok on 4 October. the previous few times also travel w CX, very good experience n the flight attedance is very helpful....

cassis

I'm horrified by the breaking news on TV that a budget airline has crashed onto the runway at Phuket airport!!! EEEEWWWWeeee.

jc79

me taking TG end OCt.... err skipping any budget this round coz gog for house items shopping.. gota carry big luggages :p

sarzy

Have anyone stay in The Residence apartment at Petchaburi Road, behind Siam Paragon before ? Also, Is Suan Lum nite mkt not gonna close down after all ?

summerkitty

hihi, which budget airline crashed? i just booked mine recently ... going by Jetstar and staying in Arnoma, total cost per pax is S$335 for 4 days 3 nites. I booked my hotel via Asiarooms.. seems cheaper than booking thru Arnoma Website.
btw, any recommendation for good seafood ? Are there any more MK steamboat restuarant ? been there i thk more than 5 yrs ago...

noscon

hi kitty

same here. i will be taking jetstar n staying at arnoma too. Can you share with me whats good to do, shop or eat there after u get back?

i think the budget airline is 1-2-go that crashed.

noscon

anyone can share whats the approx taxi fare from the new airport to arnoma or anywhere in siam. Is it better to use meter or just settle on a px? Thanks

hi noscon,

if by highway, should be about under 200baht, excluding the toll fees (20 &amp; 45 baht). if by small roads, its also under 200 baht, but if there is jams which most prob there will be, then the journey will take quite long...

noscon

kitty

im gg b4 u.... 27sep and its my first time taking jetstar n staying at arnoma tho not my first time in bkk....

actually they say now the weather is not too good in bkk... mainly raining as it is the rainy season but i hope it wont rain when we r there...*cross finger*

i havent gone to wtc(i think now they call it central world or something) dunno what to xpect. I went to the mbk, siam discovery area the last time.. you been to central world?

thanks for the tip... seems nearer than the old airport...

hi noscon,

not sure abt that though but if traffic is smooth, it should take about 40mins if i did not remember wrongly...

central world is good... got zen inside.. many many many different stuff to see..

preciousmoments

I just returned from 5D4N trip to BKK. We took Jetstar for the 1st time too. It was a small plane so took off very punctually. However, the pilots on both flights were not able to forecast turbulences so both times we were in for 'roller coaster' ride. Hee hee...

I stayed 2 nights at Novotel Siam and 2 nights in Grand Sukhumvit by Sofitel. I must say Siam Paragon and Central World are huge so endless shopping and food!

They have sheltered bridge all the way from Siam to Central World and Central Childom. We bought the most things from Central Childom cos they have lots of offers compared to Paragon or Emporium.

It did rain at night while we were there but all right for us cos we were in shopping centres. To take cab from airport, go up 2 floors to the departure halls to take those cabs that drop passengers. If you go to the taxi stand below arrival hall, will have to pay a fixed rate that comes up to near S$10 difference.

MK is still around but pay a little more for Coca. We tried both and felt Coca is definitely nicer and food is fresher. Something you must try is Sizzler's. There's one at Siam Centre and one at Central World. Very CHEAP! Hubby and I ate their daily set (lunch and dinner, 7 days a week from 169 baht) with drinks and cost us S$19 only with free salad bar buffet! Try to avoid dinner cos the queue was terrible.

If want to buy fried seaweed, it's cheapest to buy from MBK's Tops. The other tibits like freeze-dried durian, the best price we got was 120 baht for 100g pack.

Can share more if you guys need any help.

noscon

hi SZ

Is arnoma hotel sheltered all the way to central world? cos im expecting it to rain when im there according to some of the online weather forecast...

arnoma hotel is e hotel across central world. Is it far to walk to mbk from central?

ngfifi

Not too sure if anyone had stayed at Baiyoke Boutique b4?

Had just booked my F&amp;E to BKK via TG at $415/pax but not too sure if the above mentioned hotel is gd coz hubby says dun spend too much $ on hotel

preciousmoments

hi noscon,

The bridge from Arnoma is not sheltered to Central World but maybe you can borrow umbrellas from your hotel.

From Central to stroll all the way to MBK using the sheltered bridge and shopping centres, I estimated 15 minutes or more. That's provided you are not attracted by the shops in Siam Center and Siam Discovery Center. Hee hee...We got a little lost in the shopping centers to MBK cos made too many stops to buy things and sometimes have to go one floor up or down to find linking bridge. Hee hee...

If you don't mind the heat, walking along the main road is much faster.

cassis

noscon

how much did u pay for ARNOMA alone, excl the airfare?

I feel I've been cheated by my TA who told me that my SQ night flight (N class) is full, which I saw it with my own eyes on the system, and therefore I need to top up $60*2=$120 for upgrade to Q class.
Today, he informed me that Arnoma Superior room is fully booked for next weekend (28-30 Sep) and I need to top up $30*2 to upgrade to Deluxe room.

I checked the rates on asiarooms and asiatravel which offers cheaper rates but I don't dare to check for availability becos I must first input my credit card details to confirm booking. I'm really not sure if he is telling me the truth.

All in all, I'm charged over $1,100 for a 3D2N tour via Singapore airlines, with airport transfers, breakfast, halfday city tour (which I don't really need). It's a really expensive trip indeed!

Of course, I booked on Mon night when the NATAS fair is over. I must hv missed out on a few good deals...I can't take Jetstar,CX cos the flight times are not good for me. For TG, I understand I've been too late...

noscon

SZ

I would want to be attracted to the shops in Siam centre and discovery ctr :p wanna shop shop shop!!!
i find it happily confusing when i shop and lost my way!

Cassis

I paid $110 for arnoma per rm w bf. i booked it early last week via asiarooms but i checked yest that it increased to $113 now but shd still be avail. i trust asiarooms cos i booked there b4....but i also crossed my fingers whenever i booked too...

yeah i agreed that your trip is exp but you are very well taken care of the whole trip(SIA, airport trfer) and deluxe room....

anyway budget airlines are more exp and always fully booked nearer the date of departure esp for the good timings.... since u r gg for 3D2N you would want to reach there earlier to enjoy your deluxe room and do more shopping....

which TA did you go to?

i think next time you try booking everything yourself so that you have more control over the bookings rather than listen to TA who might be out to make more profit...

but hope you enjoy the trip....

cassis

thanks noscon

it's still very expensive although it includes all those riders, which frankly, I dun need...i just want a good location and a clean bed/bathroom. i din want to take SQ but becos I had an event on fri, i cannot take leave to fly by other airlines in the day. i'm only left with SQ.

some ulu TA not worth mentioning here. i usually DIY and ala carte but when i checked the singaporeair.com fare, it was just too ex. $600+ I recall.

i dunno how far the new BKK airport is from the city. How much will it cost?

ngfifi

I've got a F&amp;E package to Bangkok, departing Singapore on 19/10 and returning on 22/10 on SQ flight. Flight timing is 1050 from Singapore and 0450 from Bangkok

Hotels wise is staying at Centrepoint, which is in Pathumwan shopping area and package comes with airport transfer plus half-day city tour.

Package is already fully paid for at $540 per person but coz this package was because my mum last min back out, im willing to let go the package at $500 (negotiable)

If you are interested, please do email me at [email protected]

Transactions will closed based on COD terms and need to be closed soon as agency need to issue air tickets by next week