Bangkok

worry

Just want to know whether Chatuchak is still in business? Sometime ago, the newspaper mentioned the market is partially destroyed but my friend who went last week said the market is still in operation and no signs of destruction. Is it really closing down in future? Thanks.

hoshi5

Hi Tingz,

I'm also taking Jetstar leh!!.... Also the earliest flight at 7.15am!!... so qiao!!...

Maybe we will get to see each other!!...

U will be there for how many days?.. me only 3D2N... hehe...

Btw, where did u booked Arnoma from??... me booked from sawadee... but quite exp....

tingz

Hi hoshi, hahaha i also 3D2N, coming back afternoon flight. u?
How much u book at sawadee? i book from asiarooms.com for $101 per nite.

3D2N like too short hor? Not enough to shop hor?

hoshi5

There's quite a few of us going... so not sure how much is per room... but think it's abt $230 for 2 nights...
Actually wanted to book pathumwan princess from asiarooms.. but fully booked liao...

I'm also coming back afternoon flight..!!...
Guess we are abt the same....

ya lor!!.. really not enuff to shop...

Still thinking whether got time to go for spa at healthland or not...

Have u prepared the itenary??... me thinking whether to go to chatuchak market or not.. either we go on sat early morning, then go MBK whole day.... that will be one full day gone liao.
For Friday, thinking of going to the nearby stores like Zen, BigC, Gaysom... don't know can cover or not... or even prathunam market...!! Gosh, can't cover everything... haha!!...

tingz

aye, guess we be on the same flight back too

we hv decided to skip the spa this time, cos really no time, the last trip we were there for 5D4N also not enough liow.kekeke.

think when we reach there on friday, we will go to those nearby department 1st, to grap some lingerie and also hb wanna tailor some shirts and pants. i have heard that there is this mall call platinum mall like quite good, some say better then MBK, so think will drop by there. At night maybe will head to memorial bridge nite market.

then on sat will go chatuchak, then there is another shopping place near somewhere there, forgot the name liow, heard that quite good also, so will go there ba. hahaha.

dun really have time to shop on sun though. kekekeke.... so excited. :p so much place to shop, so little time...

hoshi5

U not going to MBK?...

Also heard abt the plainum mall.... but some say that the quality not so good...

Where is the memorial bridge nite market?... is it the suan lum market?... Is it near Arnoma?...

Sorrie har.. it's my 1st trip too!...

tingz

dun think going to MBK, find tat the stuff there not really cheap. And usually dun buy much from there, so thinking of exploring other places.

suan lum is not memorial bridge nite market, find that suan lum stuff very ex. can get exactly the same thing at chatuchak at much cheaper prices, some la, not all :p. Actually not too sure where is the memorial bridge nite market, will take a cab there, hehehe.

its ok la, exchange info hehehe :D

hoshi5

So, must really go Chatuchak hor... hehe...

Then where can we shop at night??....

Very precious time, so must fully make use of it... hhee...

Is the jams really that bad??...

Do u think got time to go to chinatown??.. hehe..

hoshi5

I heard that Chatuchak still have... think half the place is gone... hehe.. the things are also cheaper...

So still worth the effort to go...

hoshi5

I heard that Chatuchak still have... think half the place is gone... hehe.. the things are also cheaper...

So still worth the effort to go...

miralyn

Im gg BKK aft CNY, 23-27 Feb (4D3N) on Tiger Airways.

1st time der, very excited, seems to be shopper's paradise.

So far i've gathered that 2 most popular online hotel bookin site is Asia Room/Precision. Seems rem i've booked tru Asia rooms b4 & upon ETA KL, paid cash in RM, thus saved on exchange rate.

Must go shopping plc: Chatuchak/Pratunam/Chinatown/Sampeng/Siam Square/SuanLum

Massage plc: Healthland

Tried do research but very confused by their road (gt poor direction sense anyway
), Can any 1 pls share their hotel & itinerary?

tingz

hoshi, at nite can go the memmorial nite market, suan lum and patpong i think. But not advisable to buy stuff from patpong, v ex, its a well know tourist trap, kekeke... go there walk walk and see the different nite life, :p

jam ah? so far, i have not been in a really bad jam yet. if u r worry, u can take the train there. I only been to the chinatown for the "nam sing" seafood, find it over rated, same $ as here and not v nice too... but that jus me la.

Heard that chatuchak only a small part is affected, but business as usual :D heheheh... trying to get some decor stuff there...

hoshi5

Tingz, where's the memmorial nite market?.. wat is selling over there?... dun think will go to patpong coz very scary... too messy I think..
Btw, is the nite market or suan lum near arnoma??.. hehe...

Still hoping if got time for massage... really want to try... Or do u think Arnoma has got massage within their facilities?... hehe..

Yah yah, heard abt the nam sing too!!... they have a branch at MBK 3rd floor.. so I will go there to try on the 2nd day after I go to CTC.... heehe...

How abt the pollution there? is it really really tat bad?... hehe... scared coz my family got sensitive nose... so not good lor...

dreamer17

juz back from BKK....

i think if u guys visit platinum mall...u wont feel like goin to chatuchak...unless u wan to buy house decor stuff...

i went plantinum mall first then next day went chatuchak...went for 2 hrs went off and go back to plantinum mall...

actually i feel MBK nothing much after u visit plantinum...somemore plantinum if u buy 3 pcs got wholesale price...

hoshi...
u can wear H5N mask if u scare pollution...hehe

suishi

Hi dreamer,
i heard clothing size in BKK is small, izzit true?? How abt those in Platinum Mall?? I'm a L-XL girl, will i have difficult in find my size??

Is Arnoma Hotel near to Platinum Mall??

sorry for so many qns so i'm first timer there.

cloudiey

Helo ...

Where is Platinum Mall located? Took wat BTS?
Going to BKK on thursday.. but haha still blur.. duno to go where to shop.

dreamer17

hi suishi,

i think platinum mall is better for buying clothes...sizes should not be a problem...

and arnoma is quite near platinum...mayb 5-10mins walk...from hotel walk to main road and cross to opposite side...turn to ur right and walk towards a flyover along a bridge...and turn left at the cross junction and walk further...u shld be able to see it as its a big mall..its just beside Grand diamond hotel...and u wont be able to take a taxi as its too near and the cab driver might not wan to fetch u there...

eat can try somboon seafood...i think their website is www.somboon.com....i order a live grouper abt 700gm...steam with soya sauce, vege, tom yam kung soup and 1 more dishes + 2 coke + service charge...spend abt 1100baht..

also try the jap food at siam paragon call fiji and the MK restaurant

mikiko99

hi girl

I'm going BKK ard chinese new year period. Anyone have any good places to eat, shop, visit to recommend ?

Anyone going there during cny??

dreamer17

hi miralyn

i have stay at eastin a couple of times...seems to be a well known hotel to singaporean..wanted to book for my dec trip but the hotel is fully booked...

room is ok...normal hotel room...just beside D'ma and bangkok palace...

jessi

Hi Miralyn,

I had stayed in Eastin in my recent trip to BKK last week. The hotel is quite ok, but I'm not sure if they have non-smoking room cos I was giving a smoking room and the smell is quite strong that i had to go buy a can of air refreshner. :p

We also encounter some weird stuffs that the lights and tv goes on and off by itself in the middle of the night. Not sure if it's cos of the centralised control in the room. It freaked us out abit, wondering if anyone had faced similar during their stay in Eastin?

listan

Hi, I am going to BKK on 01 Feb 07, has yet book the hotel, been thinking about Eastin.

Is there any recommended hotels around the same rates as Eastin? (Had stayed with Asia Hotel the previous time, very pleased with the stay)

sabrinalai

i am thinking to go for holiday on jan 12 to 16 (5 days 4 nite), for shopping n relax.. BUt i still cant decide on Bangkok or Hong kong. actually i prefer HK than BK coz the whether is cool and windy in HK, but the problem is i dont think i can get any clothing in HK now (winter). Can anyone advise me? I like to buy dress, office wear, shoes,bag and stuff like our orchard far east.

scobido

Anyone stays in Baiyoke Suite b4? Any nice shopping malls and food places?

1st time in bangkok...a bit lost cos there are so many shopping places to visit and different ares for shopping...

can anyoone help pls?eg which hotel etc

tnx

scobido

hi mao mao

read from your previous postings that you had stayed in samran place. is it far from platinum mall?

i heard from my friend that if we go to the weekend mkt, we hv to haggle for the price but not for the malls. is it true?

any difference bet platinum mall and siam sq, world trade shopping mall?

arnoma hotel seems to be in a good location also...

sabrinalai

Hi Tingz, hoshi5,
I also goin to BK on 12 jan,booked arnorma hotel yesterday through asiaroom website,but still waiting for their reply.Airline wise,thinking of jetstar the earliest flight, but my HB said is too early, coz iwe staying at woodlands, ard 5.30am have to take cab to changi airport liao.I have some Question abt the airline n hotel:
1)for the hotel, i just booked yest, izzit too late?i worry no hotel room...
2)for jetstar, where to chk in Dingapore,Changi airport terminal 1 or budget airline terminal?
3)arrive at BKK new airport?

appreciate for the replay..thanx

listan

Hi Sabrinalai

For jetstar checkin, it's at Changi Airport T1, and arrive at new BKK airport. However, I read on the news that the new airport may be closed for restructuring, but the date is not confirmed yet, so presently, my jetstar ticket still indicates that arrival is at new BKK airport.

I am going on 01 Feb, and have not booked the hotel room yet. It depends highly on whether it's peak season or any major events going on in BKK, to determine how fast the rooms are taken up. Moreover, today is Christmas, so maybe you just wait for one or two days for the reply.

hoshi5

Hi Sabrinalai,

I booked my hotel from sawadee... think it's better since they charge in baht, and not in US like asiaroom. Initially I booked from asiarooms for pathumwan princess, but no rooms.

Wah, now u booked from jetstar, it's pretty expensive... think it's at least $280 per ticket including tax.... If for me, I will booked other airlines... coz price wise abt the same...

Like lissy said, it's from T1.... arrival, doesn't matter lah... so long as it's reaching BKK... haha...

miralyn

Hi Sabrinalai,

I've booked my hotel (Royal President) direct.
Feel deal better then thru agent websites.

For example mine booked 4nights:
Sawadee: THB 12000 (NO breakfast). PLUS Subject to website currency exchange rates.

Direct: THB 10120 (With breakfast) Pay in THB @ hotel.

Savings: Hotel THB 1880 + breakfast (THB 195 X 2person x 4days)= THB 3440/ S$146.30 (based on xchange rate 23.512 http://sg.finance.yahoo.com/currency/convert?amt=146.3&from=SGD&to=THB&submit=Convert)

However also subject room availability esp if your travel period is peak season/nearing, my trip is in Feb End, thus still have vacancy.

sabrinalai

hoshi5,
For jetstar, they hav jetsaver n jetflex.Which u booked? may i know the diff btw these two? coz the price so diff leh.
if i book jetsaver, it only cost me $432 (For 2pax, return)..

pepsi

Hi all, just to share, I just came back from Bangkok. Do bring a cardigan along since it is quite cold in the morning and evening....and their higher-end shopping malls (siam paragon, central mall) are very cold too....maybe because not many people. Initially i wanted to wear bermudas to go to chatuchak, luckily I didnt coz the BTS was freezing...and the weather was quite cooling even at chatuchak.
By the way, dont ever try the japanese food called "Ootaya" or something like dat....very salty....in the end, we ate the rice and bought KFC next door to go with the rice.
And for those flying back to singapore, can consider trying the Kinramen at the Thai airport. About S$10 but good though it is quite far from the jetstar departure gate.

pepsi

Hi sabrinalai, actually i didnt go to a lot of places....only went to MBK, Siam Square, Siam Paragon, Siam discovery centre, Central Mall and Chatuchak, Plaza 29.
To me, no point going to siam discovery centre, siam paragon and central mall coz things are around Singapore's price. MBK has a lot of 199 baht shoes and bags but the products are fairly standard, the shops are selling more or less the same things...Nevertheless, think u can spent 3/4 day there at least. Then cross the bridge from MBK to Plaza 29, they sell quite a lot of far east stuff, a lot of clothings for girls (nothing for guys though). Personally, I like Siam Square the best, clothes are a bit more expensive than MBK but more unique and of better quality and still cheaper than singapore. For pregnant ladies (I am!), can go to a lane at Siam Square called the Little Siam. There are 3 stalls selling maternity wear....it is the only place I chanced upon maternity wear. 2 stalls sell quite "auntie" stuff but the 3rd stall sell quite nice stuff at prices much cheaper than Singapore.

sabrinalai

asiaroom and sawadee no superior room liao (Arnorma hotel)..But they do have delux room, but have to top up $30 pernite..how??do u think i find another hotel better or just take arnorma hotel?

listan

Hi, i am deciding on Ibis Siam hotel and Eastin, anyone has stayed in these 2 hotels before? I have long hair, and wash hair in the morning, a little concern if there is a hair dryer in the room for Eastin?

yc_mw

Wonder if anyone is going to BKK soon, and can help me get a few stuff.. I'll transfer funds over to you prior to dept, and VAT refund can be kept by you. Pls pm me if anyone is interested. Preferably trip is before Mid Jan.

worry

Hi Piglet, I'm going tomorrow. How many are you buying? If sg_bride is not convenient, I can help you buy if less than 5 pieces. I am taking Tiger Airways so only 15kg luggage. Then i predict i will also shop and buy a lot of things.

jodareth

Lissy,

Me stay at eastin before, 2yr ago...near railway station.. have to walk quite far to siam centre,mbk etc..
Tink the hair dryer, have to call room service for it..

Anyone know whether chatuchak still there?? Going end jan 07...Where all the shopping market goes to?

dazednconfused

Hello...
I'm thinking of staying at other hotels besides the usual ones (Asia, Anorma, Novotel, Grand Diamond, P. Princess, etc). Has anyone stayed at Bossotel? It's close to the Shangri La, but is a boutique class hotel. Any ideas??

dreamer17

lissy

i dun advise to stay at Ibis siam...stay there during my trip 1 wk back...hotel is cheap and new but quite out of the way...no makan nearby...rm very small..no hair dryer...jus a very simple hotel to sleep for the nite..i rather stay at eastin or pay more money to stay at novptel...

most taxi drivers do not know where is ibis..coz its too new...