Bangkok

feifei

All,

Anyone know abt VAT ( tax free goods) in Bangkok? Is it only applicable in shopping malls like MBK etc? Do we have to spent 5000THB for accumulated receipts in order for us to claim VAT?

Do we claim at the shopping malls inside or at airport? *puzzled*

furnana

dear Gers

my thai colleague is here for sales meeting today. Dun worry too much, she even took photo with the army tank

Indeed things r in control

Happy Holidays

bloomiey

feifei: You need to spend an accumulated receipt of minimum 5000THB to claim VAT. Not valid for foodstuff and roadside or hawker. Yes its valid at almost all shopping centre. Some shops/shopping ctr require a min expenditure before they complete the VAT form. eg. Isetan - you need to spend 1000THB to get VAT form otherwise you can't claim.

All VAT refund is claimed only at airport.

As for your answer to other post in this forum, most shops in chatuchak don't have fitting room, even if they do, its a small area enough for you to stand with cloth curtain. Otherwise usually for shorts/jeans, they have a big piece of cloth to cover your waist down then you wear your jeans/skirt meaning your body will be exposed to everyone and your bottom is covered with big piece of cloth.. look like an oversized skirt. For shirt or Tees, usually people would just wear over it to test since its easy.

feifei

Yanling,

tks for the information..Glad you are here to answer my questions lor, if not i really mountain turtle..hee

Where can we find out whether those shops can claim this VAT? where can we get the Vat form?

Actually hor, this VAT,does it matter even if we din claim? like lets say I buy 5000THB of clothes, then din claim VAT, will they tax me or something?
Tink most of the sporeans will claim VAT hor?

Oic..hmm....like that i got to be prepared..keke...tink i will need to go get mineral water cos heard from one of the ger who stayed at the same hotel that our hotel doesn't provide kettle lor...so better buy mineral water from Big C =D...

kaya

any one know abt the shuttle bus service form the new airport to the hotels in Bangkok?Any Link which will show which hotel the bus will stop?

bloomiey

feifei: Nope. Not compulsory to claim cos sometimes you might not have the time to claim especially when you are in a budget flight or long queue when checking in. No tax for not claiming, its just an extra cash for ya. There are many different way VAT form are issued. For Isetan type of shopping, usually you make payment, then ask cashier where to get VAT refund form. After you finish all your shopping in that shopping ctr, you will go to a VAT Refund Counter to get the actual form done with company stamp.

As for those single shops, usually its done directly inside the shop. Much faster than Isetan. For 5000thb, you can claim abt 250 to 300thb. Enough for 1 person food expenditure at airport.. lol. Depends on what kinda person you are, cos its kinda troublesome just to claim that little amt unless you really spend alot.

When you reach airport, you have to go VAT refund office to verify the documents before check in, then after check in to the Custom, then inside you can claim your VAT $$$.

Yeah some hotel do provide mineral water, whereas some don't. Better to drink from mineral water/boiled water cos Thailand has cases of malaria previously. Usually go buy fruit juices

feifei

Yan Ling,

tks..Seems troublesome to claim the VAT hor? need extra time at the airport also lor...hmmm

Ya lor, thats y we intend to buy mineral water from Big C =D...Fruit juices? is it safe?hee

bloomiey

feifei: Very troublesome to claim unless you really can accumulate SG$100 then claiming would be good. but just claim SG$10 and u need to go thru so many signatures and queue just to get that little money. Seems like the amt you claim = the amt of quality time u spent queueing

yeah quite safe. drank alot of fruit juices esp orange juice, coffee from roadside stalls as well as Chatuchak. As long as the stall doesn't have much housefly flying ard, then i would buy

feifei

yanling,
quite true lor =)..tks for your advises...

Okie, tink i will do the same too..keekee..

Do you know where I can go for cheap massage with my hb? Heard that King & I and Healthland spa is good...do u have their website or any idea how I can go there? tks...

bloomiey

feifei: Healthland spa is definitely much better.
If you want cheap massage, there is 1 at Pratunam area. 1st floor entrance looks like a hotel reception (very cheapskate type), 2nd floor is their massage. Not many people there but their skills are definitely much better than those at Suan Lum. There is a foot signage (lightbox) hanging perpendicular to the building 2nd floor. Don't worry, it may look very lousy or dirty but its clean massage

Anyone intending to go Bangkok By Jetstar Asia but have not done the booking?

410363.jpg
SiamParagon Starfish.. Feel Free to touch.

410364.jpg
Suan Lum Ferris Wheel

410365.jpg
Lighting Sold at Chatuchak

410366.jpg
MBK Nam Sing

feifei

yanling,
tks for all the infor you ahve given me...me printed out liao...tks..

Will keep u updated next wk when i am bk..tks... =).

bloomiey

feifei: Seems like not much people going recently except you...

Anyway last month and this month is Bangkok low season usually. Enjoy your trip.

criz

Hi, planning to travel to bkk on 27-30 oct.
since using the new airport, can advice how you arrange the transfer to & fro the airport to your hotel?

bloomiey

A reminder to those who booked their hotels thru Asiarooms...

FYI on Asiarooms cancellation/refund...
Asiarooms has a good service for booking for rooms however even though they have promised you refund. They take very very long to refund your payment. Abt half a year or more to get back your money, so my advise to those who booked thru Asiarooms to think twice before you proceed to postpone or requesting for refund.

Go and do some research on their refund / postpone service. Its really not as good as their booking service. Thats why i would prefer precision reservation more than Asiarooms because of this.

There are alot of bad comments for the refund/postpone service they provided. So if you have really booked thru them, DON'T CANCEL & REQUEST FOR REFUND. You will cause yourself more trouble to get back the money.

Same for budget flight cancellation. It takes 3mth for the money to be processed and refunded reason they have to verify all the info and forward to several different department for processing.

yukie

Hi Criz... me n hubby oso travelling fm 27-30 oct...
jus went to their website n it states tat there will be public taxi outside the arrival hall.. previously don hv... mostly likely will be taking public taxi... it cost 1300baht(toyota vios) to n fro if book fm the airport. Any1 can advise how much will it cost to take taxi? Distance not much dif fm old airport...

sinkor

Hi Yukie,

wow! i am so glad to hear from u that there is taxi stand outside the airport!!! I definitely will take taxi too.... :D

dazednconfused

yukie...
WOW! Which hotel are you and your husband staying at? 1300baht sounds steep! From Don Muang Airport, we usually pay less than 400baht to the main shopping areas (Siam Square and Pratunam area). And this is for the meter taxi.

bluebellas

Hi, i came back from BKK the day before the coup. Just wan to share that from the old airport to Arnoma only cost me 250bht inclusive of highway toll for public taxi.

bloomiey

Bluebell: Your taxi is by metered or fixed? you met with a jammed on your way from airport to hotel?
It doesn't cost that much from airport to hotel. At most only 200baht max, but should be ard 170+ baht usually.

yukie: i think almost all the cab in Bangkok is running on toyota vios hybrid model. So its kinda overpriced by 3x for that booking.

I think from new airport to hotel only cost 200baht since its only additional 5km difference. Still waiting for feedback from those who came back taking metered cab n feedback on new airport service.

axedmurderer

anybody been to baiyoke hotels lately.. was thinking of booking that hotel for december.. any advice in regards to acessibility to the shopping areas and night markets and the airport?

wedding9999

Anyone know from new airport, where to find cheap taxi to pratunam area hotels ? Walk where to find taxi from new airport ? Directions ? Roughly how much to hotel ?

Thks !

babyshannon

Hi ian,

I jus came back from Baiyoke sky hotel. u can take taxi (by meter) to the shoppin area. It cost abt 40 Babht.
I took the taxi from Baiyoke sky to the new airport and it cost me abt 250 (include toll charge).(again, by meter)
A new place to stay in with a wide range of breakfast.

Always go by meter, thats the cheapest way!!

bloomiey

Babyshannon: Wow.. looks like the new airport is much further away than old airport. Baiyoke sky not new place to stay.. an old place. Anyway yeah wide variety of breakfast. Never got bored of it.

Yukie: Were you the one who email me asking for the Bangkok Itinerary?
Anyway Arnoma is quite a good hotel considering its price and location.

ian matthews: You getting Baiyoke Suite or Baiyoke Sky? Its located in the heart of Pratunam Market. No BTS/MTR accessiblity, have to walk kinda far distance. Taking cab would be a preferred choice esp if you are travelling with at least 3 or 4 pax. Can walk to Platinum, Pantip Plaza, WTC, Siam Paragon then to MBK. Abt 40mins slow walk to reach MBK

criz

Hi yukie...thanks for the info.
Well, me kiasu booked the F&E pkg from travel agent so inclusive the transfer. Bringing friends along so must be careful loh.

andreal

mi just back from bkk last thurs, weather fine but take note of rain/drizzling starting from late aftn-even.

We depart bkk at the new airport, cab fare from Eastin Hotel to airport is ard 250baht (incld highway toll) which take ard 45mins. Suvarnabhumi Airport is huge and carries alot of retails in e departure hall. Not hard to find e flight counter, however on our day (28th Sep)..system down so our flight was delayed by 2hrs. Crews at e counter look slobbish. Inside departure hall, there isn't seats to rest. Trolleys are located at one far end..at e insolated corner. We were given maps of the new airport when we board Jetstar at SG side, which you can easily get it at the new airport as well.

BTW great shopping in bbk, went to Platinium recommeneded by the gerls. Had a ride at the Suan Lum Ferris Wheel which Yanling posted (100bht?), fantastic!!must try

BE AWARE of pickpockets esp. Chatuchak crowded areas. Those who like to carry bagpacks etc. whether at e back or side. The pickpockets will try to pull the bag front causing the zips to open (esp. those bag w/ 2 zips close up to mit 2gether).Pickpocket then walked away. 2nd accomplice will follow closely behind to get the item out of it.

feifei

HI all,

Me back from BKK yesterday liao...Had a nice time and tiring time there...Shopped alot alot...

Went to MBK,chatuchak,Platinum,Pratunum market,Big C,Central dept store Isetan etc...so many palces to shop...really shopped til my legs can't walk..hee

The new hotel is bery nice and bright...Was bery crowded there.

There is this The PIZZA COMPANY there which sells nice pizza. A combo meal with a ex-pan pizza,6pc drumlets and a drink for only 299THB which is abt $12 lor...bery nice...

Those who are going bkk, do check out the Pratunum market and center cos the clothes, pants, jeans, maternity things there are REAL cheap cheap if you buy at wholesale....

Imagine hb and I came bk with 6 bags....weight abt 51kg,lucky was not charged for over baggage limit..hee.

I woudl recommend my hotel, Samran Place too cos bery convenient though its not those 5 star hote, but the room is clean,toilet clean, good service...worth the $37 per room...

yukie

hee... L.S, no lah... andreal n babyshannon only paid 250baht for the transport fm airport to hotel... so me oso goin to take public taxi...

Yanling... nope, i'm not the 1 who ask for the intinery... but i don mind if u can email me...

bloomiey

feifei: Welcome back.. you really bought alot. Lucky airport never tax you. Some people got taxed for bringing too many things in because ICA Officers thought they bring back for resale.

The new hotel you mention at where? Hotel name?

feifei

yanling,
ya lor..heng huh =)..hee

New hotel? The one I stayed in was Samran Place lor...tink not exactly new hotel as it has been there for abt 2 yrs liao...but bery good for location...

big_head_gal

hi everyone in this thread =)

i'm going to bangkok next week. do you know if levi jeans and addidas products are cheaper there ? if yes, where should i go to ?

thank you

dazednconfused

big_head...

We love Levis and Addidas! If you shop at the malls (Emporium, Central and Zen) you'll be assured of genuine stuff. And yes, we bought Levis and Addidas there and they do cost less! Isn't BKK fantastic?

vey

has anyone here stayed at TWIN TOWERS recently?
any comments?
any shopping malls within wallking distance?

axedmurderer

heya.. thanks for the input.. im most probably heading to baiyoke sky hotel...

is pratunam market the weekend night market where they sell lots of cheap t shirts n stuffs?

and by the way this is my first time flying.. wat happens if i have lots of luggage.. am i disallowed to bring them into the plane or something? how does the baggage claim thing work in the airports?

bloomiey

ian matthews: Pratunam market is open everyday. But more stalls on weekends. Pratunam market and chatuchak sells alot of cheap t-shirt. Most things at Pratunam are wholesale whereby you need to buy a few to get cheaper rates but still they are available in single piece too.

How many days are you going? Only 1 limited size hand carry luggage is allowed to plane. Other luggage are deposited. Excess weight will be charged which isn't worth it, so try to bring less.

mao_mao

ian matthewws,

Tink hand carry can only be 8kg and a certain dimension of bag lor...try not to bring too many clothes there as u can be SURE that you will get your clothes there =)...try to minimise your clothes...bring soem folded big sports bag to be put into your luggage so that they can be used to put the loots u bought bk from bkk...hee

minpooh

Hi FeiFei,

I'll be going to BKK and staying at Samran Place end of this mth. May i know how did u go to the hotel from airport? Airport Shuttle Bus or cab?

Mindy

mao_mao

Mindy,

feifei here...changed my nick...

Okie, back to your questions...I took a cab lor..din take the shuttle bus cos scare bery far lor...I got the telephone no of the taxi driver whom we engage...bery nice man...friendly and honest too...We even booked him to send us to the new airport on our last day...We paid 400THB for him to send us from hotel to airport...

Tink should be around 240-250 thb from the old airport to samran cos our flight was the last flight at the old airport...Tink if frm new airport to Samran, might be also 400THB lor...

Good choice for staying at Samran =)..But they dun provide kettle lor...u need to buy mineral water...most of their mineral water taste saltish leh...

axedmurderer

heya thanks for the inputs yanling and mao mao.. ill be going for 4 days 3 nites.. i dun think i have a problem from singapore to bangkok since ill be carrying minimal stuffs.. im more concerned when im there in bangkok fully loaded with stuffs to bring back to singapore.. im not sure how it works at the airport there in terms of depositing baggage.. anybody with experience care to enlighten on this? thanks a lot

mao_mao

ian matthews,

You are most welcome =).

Hmm...let me share my experience here...When u go in to check in your luggage,u will put your heaviest luggage onto the belt 1st...then see whther u have exceed the baggae limit. I travelled by finnair the other time so each pax baggage limit is 25kg each. So as long as you dun exceed too much, still okie one lor...Tink those bulky bags, u should check in, the rest can hand carry..But do know that they have a limit fo rhand carry luggage too...cannot exceed 8kg..

Different airline diff limit leh...Which airline will u be travelling by?

mao_mao

stonesiz,
u can try www.sawadee.com

I booked my hoel , Samran Place from there...$37 per nite =)..

ian matthews,
hmm...this one hor, i am not so sure leh...tink u got to call them to check it out lor...