Bangkok

bloomiey

Everafter: You can get them at Chatuchak. Just take note that some fabrics/garments may shrinked or expand after wash and some quality aren't that good. So choose wisely..

jus_1mee: You got a wrong info. Baiyoke Sky isn't short of cab. There are cabs parking outside the hotel. There are traffic police around there often too..

deathstar

Hi y'all

been absent for quite a while. Anyway, I was reading the threads which u ppl has posted. Have a different take on the hotels leh.

Personally, I feel that we should stay at a posh hotel when we're in bkk, i.e Novetel, Amari watergate, pathuwan princess, etc.

Let's face it ppl, how often do we travel? If we ain't gonna stay at posh hotels when we're in bkk, are we gonna stay in a posh hotel when we go say... Japan?? Korea?? or even USA, Eurpoe?

Think abt it... It's definately cheaper to stay in a 4star hotel when comparing between bkk and other tour destinations.

Some of you might say words like 'we can spend more $$$ on shopping, rather than upgrading the hotel' and 'hotels are only used for sleeping, no need to spend so much lar'. I beg to differ... the price of upgrading from hotels like Asia htl to Grand Diamond is only a mere 100+ bucks... what do u get in return?? Cleaner hotel room, better spread of breakfast, and not to mention better counter service. Though I've been to bkk several times, I've always make it a point to try out different hotels whenever I'm there. Have listed down the hotels which I've stayed before and my comments abt them..

First Htl: Super old. stayed at the old wing previously. breakfast spread is lousy. Corridor super eerie. Location isn't that fantastic either

Asia Htl: very convenient because it's just next to the BTS station. However, this is neglible if you're travelling in groups of 4 becoz u can take cab wherever you wanna go. Definately cheaper. views for htl room sux big time. Rumors abt ghosts seems quite true but stayed there like 4 times and never encountered anything. Went with a travel agency once and was informed by the tour leader not to take the 9th floor.

Eastin Htl: unless u're targetting on shopping around Pratunam, location is definately not good. Had a very bad experience when I checked in once. Was told by the GRO that my room is not ready as the water heater is faulty and they have not fixed it yet. They compensated by upgrading my room the following day. Breakfast is often crowded and they seemed to have insufficient staff to clear the tables.

Arnoma Htl: First time stayed there and it's a thumbs up for me in terms of cleaness of the room, counter service staff to breakfast spread. Location is excellent as well. Just next to Big C, where there's a hypermart and cinema. Opposite its Isatan. Would recommend it to those who's thinking of staying there.

Anyone care to share any comments?

dazednconfused

HI...
I have enjoyed my stays at Novotel, Pathumwan Princess, Grand Diamond and Centre Point Petchburi 15. Did not encounter any problems at all when I stayed at these hotels. Actually, I have a phobia of budget hotels... But, there are those out there who feel differently and of course, it's perfectly all right. To each his own, I say!! So long as you enjoy your stay in whichever hotel, why should you care what others think?? RIGHT???

bloomiey

Its true that those top 3 hotels which deathstar listed are really very low budget hotels. You pay peanuts, you get monkey. Since you are saving money, then you wouldn't mind the poor condition. Btw, Baiyoke Sky is also a budget hotel, big rooms and great spread of buffet breakfast. Its 1 of the best buffet breakfast in Bangkok. Not all budget hotels are in poor condition. Alot of people spurge more on spa and shopping than comfortable living since in Bangkok itself the living condition and streets aren't really as clean and good as in Singapore. Yes Arnoma, Pathumwan Princess, Novotel are few of the "very good hotel", but not everyone is willing to pay that price. Mostly people go Bangkok for cheap deals thats why saving on rooms are equally important. If you spurge on rooms and airfare, then you might enjoy those service and shopping in Singapore.

angie: Asiarooms, Sawadee, and Precision are few of those with good, trustworthy booking that you can rely on. Don't go searching for cheaper deals and forgotten to research on the agent background.

hazel79

schnauzie

Thanks. I have heard that it is quite happening. They do have set dinner on weekend right? Have u been there before?

echt

hi hazel,
i juz came back last weekend, visited bed supper club too.. yup, they served set dinner on weekend, but it's nt cheap, abt $80 per pax.. e food was alrite, but nt fantastic.. prob more of the unique ambience only.. e club is definately more happening! was packed at 10plus when e dinner was ending..

other places u may wanna try include Vertigo @Banyan (tallest or one of the tallest resturant & bar in BKK) and Route 66.. but i didnt have time to visit these 2 places.. =)

sinkor

Hi LS,

I tried to book Pathumwan Princess but fully booked liao.... so between Novotel & Grand Diamond, which one do you prefer since you have stayed both before. Which location is better in term near shopping centre and BTS. Thanks in advance for your advice.

worry

Hi SinKor,

when are you going? Which agent did you try to book?

I think maybe different agent got different allocation number of hotels. I am going BKK in Dec and had tried Asiarooms to book for Arnoma, Novotel, Pathumwan, Asia hotel, etc. but all is fully booked. So i try to book with Hoteltravel.com and they have Arnoma available. If you like certain hotel and your agent don't have, maybe you want to try with other agent and see whether got vacancy?

sinkor

dunno i suay or wat! try to book Pathumwan Princess and Novotel and kena unvailable leh!

I am booking thru asiarooms.... going on 28/10.....
hmm.... S(worry), thanks for your advise.... will go and try other now..... pray hard for me... in fact, hubby want to stay Marriott but i feel not worth leh.... see how lah...*headache*

babykhoo

wondering if anyone has any hotels to recommend in the sukhumvit area. i usually stay in siam area, PP and Novotel. But this time I thought of trying somewhere different. Furthermore seems that sukhumvit area got more choices for spas.

any recommendation? i'm looking for hotels around the standard of PP and Novotel Siam Sq

dazednconfused

sinkor...
Did you managed to secure a hotel room for your trip to BKK? Looks like i'll be off to BKK again in Dec! Just in time for X'mas shopping! I have enquired with sawadee.com about the possibility of staying at either Grand Diamond or Centre Point Petchburi 15. Wish me luck!!!

sinkor

Hi LS,

Still trying.... now waiting for the status from Precision liao.... i gave up on asiarooms.... i tried 2 times in asiarooms and all failed! abit pissed off! haha.....

bloomiey

Babykhoo: Try Bangkok City Inn. Nicely decorated rooms.

sinkor: Its coming near to End of year. many holidays coming soon, so probably most rooms are taken up.

feifei: Nice food ah. The only thing i go to Bangkok is for Bird nest and Thai Mango Sticky Rice. Other nice food you can find them mostly at Siam Paragon (those food street) near food court lvl 1... theres a wide variety of nice snacks and pastries. I have tried some of them. Quite nice.

bloomiey

feifei: yeah thats good enough. Considered 1 of the best you can find ard Bangkok and their food esp noodles. the 500 baht bird nest has alot more bird nest inside compared to the cheaper ones. Same size bowl for all price. Kinda ex, but to me still worth it.

Peggy: Nope didn't stay there. If you scroll thru this topic, you can find 1 photo of Bangkok City Inn. It has very nicely decorated rooms with warm lightings. Heard room was clean. Breakfast not too sure, prob average.

feifei

Hi Yanling,

tks for the infor...me dripping with saliver liao...

Ask you hor, for our hp charger, do we need to bring any special plug there?

erikbecker

Hi All, have gained many valuable tips from this post so thought of sharing my experience after coming back from Bkk last week.

Lodging - Bangkok City Inn. Value for $$ clean and quite standard for 3 star. Booked thru Asiaroom.com. 5 stars for location, close to Big C, World trade centre, platinum mall.
Fly by tiger(As usual cos cheap & 2 hrs flight)
Airport transfer by Taxi - remember to say magic word "Meter"
Must try - Mango stick rice 60baht for 1 box, I'm not sure if this is the standard price
Went to Pratunam market, Platinum mall(Must buy min 3 pcs for wholesale price), MBK, Chatukchak, Patpong, for shopping.
Went to Pattaya for sea sports - not recommmended coz of long journey to n fro of 2hrs per trip. Sea is clear blue with many japs n koreans tourists. But everything need to be paid for like sea parasailing, snorkling, banana boat, jet ski etc.
For Food, went to Chinatown for sharks fin 300baht (think rest's name is LI XING), Baiyoke sky hotel dinner buffet at 460baht per pax(Very worth it, nice scenery and diff variety of food), MK steamboat (A La Carte style of steamboat like CoCa) and roadside hawker(You may try Pad Thai, their local fried noodle, very nice) etc.

feifei

Hi erik,

Platinum Mall also have wholesale price?seems so nice...do you know the operating hrs of this Platunum Mall?

Did u bring any hp charger along? need any special plug?

Everywhere also got sell teh Mango stick rice?*yummy*...

Where is this MK steamboat huh?

Ops, guess i have asked alot of questions...hee...cos i am goign bkk next wed liao so now need to clarify some doubts lor..
U came bk by the old BKK airport? Must pay 500THB tax hor?

andreal

mi too heard abt the news from channelnewsasia yest abt the emergency state in BKK. Im going bkk this sat..aiya headache

Asked my thai colleagues, they said act still safe as long dun go out at nite. But im worried and tinking of cancelling. Like to hear your view.

MFA advises Singaporeans planning travel to Thailand to monitor developments

SINGAPORE : Singapore's Foreign Ministry (MFA) says the situation in Thailand remains uncertain.
The Ministry and the Singapore Embassy in Bangkok are closely monitoring the situation.

The Foreign Ministry advises Singaporeans intending to travel to Thailand to monitor developments there closely.

If they decide to travel to Thailand, the Foreign Ministry says they should register with the Ministry through its website at .

This will enable the ministry and its embassy to contact Singaporeans and render them the necessary assistance.

The ministry says Singaporeans already in Thailand should also closely monitor news on the situation there.

They should take the necessary precautions for their personal safety.

During this period of uncertainty, Singaporeans are advised to monitor the news, remain in a safe location and avoid areas where there is risk of disturbance.

Singaporeans who are concerned about the safety of relatives and friends in Thailand can contact MFA or the Singapore Embassy in Bangkok at the following numbers:

Ministry of Foreign Affairs

Hotline: 6332-0000 (24 hours)

Fax Number: 6476-7302

Embassy of the Republic of Singapore in Thailand

Address: 129 South Sathorn Road, Bangkok 10120

Contact Number: 001-66-(81) 844-3580, 001-66-(2) 286-2111

Fax Number: 001-66-(2) 286-6966

- CNA /ls

bloomiey

feifei: Yes you need an adaptor for the plug. They are using 2 head plug, different from SG 2head plug. Anyway you can rent/borrow them from hotel counter.
Many places sell mango sticky rice. Airport also have, inside 1 of the small cafe/restaurant near 2nd floor escalator. Selling ard 180thb.

Thailand is kinda in a big mess right now. Hatyai having suicide bombers, Bangkok having military overthrow. Its really up to individual whether you wanna take the risk to go anot. Since its still peaceful over there as there have been no death/riots but you never know what will happen. So those going are taking a 50-50 risk.

*Good time to change currency if you are planning to go there in few months since Thai currency will plunge badly.

lux

I think it will be advisable not to go now.. My hubby is there currently and was scheduled to be there for the next week or so but is now trying to book the first flight back. He is saying looks not too good because everyone have no idea what is going on except for cable TV and there's fear the military can cut off that access.

It might be bloodless now but as this continues I doubt BKK who depend heavily on tourism can take the hit of many days out of business. Ultimate fear is that a blow out can occur between ppl and the military. While the unrest in hatyai will take this opportunity to infiltrate to BKK and instill fear in the government.

lizzybunny

Hi ,
Me and my hubby also going BKK at mid Oct. Currently dun know wat to do also. Booked the airtickets and hotel online alredi. Dun know shld postpone or wait and c the situation. Just hope situation wil turn out well.

feifei

I will be goign bkk next wed lor...now this type of thing happen..haiz...so disheartening =(...Got a colleague who supposed to go tmr...duno whether they still going anot...I will call the air ticket company this morning to see if i can postphone my flight lor...Only thing is i booked my hotel online, so now dunno can postphone anot =(....Also bought travel insurance from AIG, now also duno how...

Anyone any idea whether can we claim from teh insurance company?

andreal

me too be going Bkk but this sat as scheduled.but outa 5 person in my grp, 1 can't go. Have not activate my travel insurance yet, will do that only the day b4 trip.

feifei

Andreal,

same here lor..i will go next wed lor..haiz..when will u be back? so worrying over there hor? but heard that its bery peaceful there leh...

andreal

feifei,

hehe hanor cos with my thai colleagues update/explaining wads going on, i felt comfortable. Also keep close to news update. mi back by nxt thurs nite, eh by then u be at bkk liao

u going with hubby rite?

yukie

oh... btw, it's not b'cos of the current situation tat they r selling so cheap... i bk my accomodation in early sep...

yukie

Hi sinkor... me n hubby oso travelling to bkk in end oct... 27-30 oct...
flying by Jetstar... they landing @ the new airport... fm the website, it seems tat we hv to take shuttle bus out to take cab...

janetwedding

I'm flying there 2molo noon and back on Tues. From the news, seems like everything is under control, juz tat u able to see army and tanks tats all. Might be even better since there r army around to look after our safety, isnt it?

sinkor

Hi Yukie,

aiya.... we no chance to meet as i taking airasia nite flight! ya, heard that have to take shuttle bus and we see how its go bah.....