Bangkok

feifei

I just checked with sawadee on the transfer charges form airport to hotel and hotel to airport, their charges is 1800 baht for pickup in limousine!!... thats too ex hor? Wat do u gals think?

Apple,
ic..so u managed to get any free tics yet?

Purplerain,
but hor, I am worried that might buy those inferior bird nest leh as there aer so many grades lor..

hi feifei,

thats like S$75.. ok price.. BUT in bkk standards, the standard airport-out rates is THB 350.. going to airport rates is about THB 200 - THB300... so paying THB 1800 is very ex.....

hptang74

Hi! Feifei,

I pay only 300THB for limousine service.

If you want the contact, I can give you.

So when are you travelling? I am going to BKK on this Thurs.

feifei

Hi sue,

Can give me the contact? thanks...My email is [email protected]...

Me goign next mth 27th Sept lor...300THB is to and fro? Have u tried their service before? okie?

Jus mi,
wow, u goign same time sas sue leh..keke...

Which are the places u intend to go?

minssy,
ya lor, thats y i find it too expensive lor...

bloomiey

zenn: i think their bird nest is slightly cheaper than in Singapore. They sell their own pre-made bottled bird nest too carrying NamSing logo. premade bottle birdnest i think cost abt S$30 for 6 bottle. (Forgotten.. not very sure) As for raw bird nest, Maybe cheaper by S$50...? It also depends on the grade you buy. Go MBK Namsing buy since food there is better as well.
Zenn that previous post you ask me abt "what is the name of the shop at chinatown which sells tu zha like 'ba who'? Do they have a branch at MBK too?"
You mean those pork floss and dried BBQ pork is it?

I think the limousine service is for 1 way most probably.

feifei: NamSing sell alot of things, dried birdnest, abalone.. Cooked seafood, birdnest, abalone, sharkfins, rice, noodles, etc.. go try it.. its worth the $$$
Trix: Yeah enjoy your walk along Siam Sq and restaurants along there too..

feifei

Hi Yanling,
Tks for the infor... As for the porkfloss and dried bbq tibits, can we bring back to spore?

U mean NamSing is a rest cum shop? Rice?noodles?

Any other nice resturants to reommend around samran place hotel?

trixter

hi ladies....

i know there are bowling alleys and cinema at MBK.... the shops close around 9pm, does the alleys and cinemas close at the same time?

i'm trying to maybe catch a movie or bowl a game or two after the shops are close...

anybody has any idea abt that??

foreverhappy

The pork floss stick i bought and packed inside my luggage so don't think a prob to bring into sg but not sure abt pork slice. You can buy them from chinatown. If you buy more the lady will send it to your hotel but only one of the store do that.

The shop in BKK closes quite early. In platinum, its close at 8pm that very early leh.

zenn

Hi connie, thanks! Will go back to Steve Tailor since will be staying at Arnoma.

Hi Yanling, yes what is the name of the shop that sells pork floss and dried BBQ pork? Do they have a branch in MBK?

Btw, is the security very tight now? Anything which we are bring?

bloomiey

feifei: Yes you can bring those dried pork to singapore. There is no restriction. The shop is located at Chinatown. Its further up the road on the left side (abt 300m away fr NamSing). NamSing Chinatown on the right side. The shop is Lao Ji Lin Zheng Xiang, with a porky pig signage. Another shop selling same stuff is beside this shop also. Both same price, but i know porky pig shop must ask/insist for a discount when they give u the final price. Final price 1200thb, i lowered to 1000thb. They open til quite late. maybe 9.30pm.

zenn: You can find most of their goods in MBK shop but different shop name.Those shop selling tidbits in MBK selling their stuff. No discount if you buy in MBK. Moreover MBK stuff might not have all the nice things that they have at their shop.
Shop name: "Lao Ji Lin Zheng Xiang".. will scan their namecard if i can find 1 at my home later.

i bought the big re-usable plastic bag with zip... throw all my fragile n edible food inside that bag and brought up the plane..

Trix: They have midnight shows on weekends too.. not sure abt weekdays, there might be also if i not wrong. Update me.

worry

Any idea any hotel in BKK has transit timing? eg. only charge us for 10-12 hrs, instead of the full day?

zenn

S, I understand some hotels do ve half day charge but not all.

Anyone just back from BKK? Heard its been raining?

worry

Hi Zenn,

I have a friend who bought the air tickets by Tiger Airways to BKK at $142 per pax (including taxes). is it consider cheap?

chendol

Anyone did facial at Healthland Spa? Looking at the price (60-90 bucks) it's quite expensive for Thailand prices...

But if I do go for facial would want to go for more reliable one like Healthland Spa but it's quite pricey!

worry

I heard BKK got Dreamworld. Is it nice? Do they have a website? And how to go there from Chitlom BTS?

trixter

i got this guide from flowerpod..thought it is quite useful and interesting...so sharing it with you here...

<center><table border=1><tr><td>
mime_msword.gif
BKK Guide
BKK Guide.doc (48.6 k)</td></tr></table></center>

bloomiey

Some info from BKK Guide posted wasn't that accurate. As far as i know MBK and Chinatown NamSing both restaurant prices are same. Food are good too as compared to many places. Food are average priced.
Baiyoke Sky Buffet Lunch/Dinner wasn't that good. Limited Food. Only breakfast was good.

dazednconfused

S,
DreamWorld in Thailand isn't exactly in BKK. It's situated on the outskirts on BKK. Fun for the kids. But don't expect it to be like the Dream World in the Gold Coast! Think Genting Highlands.

ger_ger

Anyone come across Adidas factory outlet in Bangkok before. There used to be one near the Riverside Shopping Centre where Orchid Sheraton is but has closed down when I went there last december.

worry

Thank L.S and Yanling for clarifying.

I think i will skip dreamworld.

By the way, does anyone knows which hotel does not have Gala Dinner for New Year Day's Eve? Budget is not more than $100 per room. Near BTS and Shopping area. Had checked Ambassador and Asia Hotel. Both got gala dinner which cost more than $100 per person. kind of expensive.

By the way, does anyone knows whether BKK hotel is strict with the number of ppl in the hotel room?

dazednconfused

yanling,
Ya. You're right. Genting does have more thrill rides for grown ups!

S,
Try Grand Diamond Hotel or Centre Point 15. Both are about a 10min walk to the Rachathewi BTS Station. Most hotels will limit the no. of guests per room. But you'll need to check with the individual hotel.

bloomiey

S: As far as i know, most hotels worldwide do have a restriction on number of guest staying in 1 hotel room. If they have evidence or noticed the number of person staying in a room does not tally with your booking details they might charge extra rate based on 3rd person to your charges.

However, it is still possible to 'smuggle' in more than the stated no. of person you booked for that particular room. Make sure the room you stay look as if only 2 person is staying only. You can save quite a sum of money booking for twin sharing while 3 person staying. Most people do that for F&amp;E.

Yes most hotels in Bangkok do have gala dinner for new year eve. So you gotta spend some money on the compulsory dinner which is kinda ex. Even if you are not going to eat, you still have to pay.

worry

Hi Yan Ling,

thanks. I'll think about it. I'm going with my husband and relatives. Altogether 6 of us. And they want to squeeze all 6 into one room. My husband and I personally Don't like the idea. 3 in a room is ok but 6 is too ridiculous. If we ever get caught, we must pay the full hotel rate. I have suggested to them to book two rooms but they jsut want 6 in a room. But i don't know how to reject them.

dazednconfused

S,

Wow... 6 in a hotel room is quite a squeeze! And with such a large number, I'm very sure hotel personnel will take notice!! Perhaps it's better not to take that chance. Won't exactly be a very nice image of Singaporeans, don't you think?? ... Sneaky and trying to take advantage. Whenever I encounter fellow Singaporeans behaving unreasonably while I'm overseas, I feel so shy and embarrased!! My opinion only, of course.

chendol

Tiger airways is alright! Left on time and reached back on time! Just arrived back home today.

Healthland is nice but the walk from SArasak BTS to Healthland (10 mins) is quite dusty to bear that in mind if you come out all clean and want to stay clean.

I did the nail art mani-pedi at Plaza 29 (as recommended by the guide attached above) and it was great! Cramped, but didn't take very long -- about 1/2 hr for the drawings... won't recommend full scrub or cuticle cutting -- not too hygenic in my opinion...just the painting is cool enough.

peiyi

hi twinkle,

u booked tiger airways? Their seats are giving number or like air asia not seating number give?
Please advise, and i will go with friends and family total 8ppl thru tiger airways on dec. Hotel i booked was Pj watergate, i have been there b4 (Pj watergate). It is alright for me. very near to pratunam mkt..

worry

Yeah L.S. YOu are right. If got caught worse. It is so shameful.

But anyway, just now go my cousin house. Manage to convince them that it is not safe to squeeze. Told them a lot of consequences like if get thrown how, no place to stay, etc. So they kind of ok lor. So now we book 2 triple room. So 3 in each room now. It's a relieve for me. Phew...

Twinkel, I kpo here. Tiger Airways is not giving out seat number. Is first snatch the seat then you get it. And Tiger Airways is departing and arriving on Budget Terminal. Not Terminal 1 or 2.

worry

Hotel in Dec is very expensive. They increase the hotel rate quite a lot for stay that is after Oct. Somemore a lot of hotels fully book already. Some got Christmas Gala DInner, some got New Year Eve Gala dinner. All these dinners more than $100 per person and is compulsory. So expensive. So headache. So hard to find.

dazednconfused

S...
Good thing you managed to convince your relatives to get 2 rooms instead of only 1! If you're lucky, maybe you guys can have rooms that connect!
Yes, most hotels will increase their rates during the Christmas season. This is true for hotels everywhere in the world. Try enquiring thru sawadee.com... You do not have to give out your credit card info till they can confirm your reservation for you. I have stayed at the Centre Point Petchburi 15 several times before. Rooms are HUGE. There's a small kitchenette in every room too. Located only a 5min walk to the Pratunam Wholesale Centre. And a 15min walk to the World trade Centre (Central World). The BTS Station is also nearby - 10mins walk away. I believe they do not have a Gala dinner that guests must attend. Their going rate is about S$80/nite. Slightly more if it's a triple share room. Their buffet breakfast isn't fantastic though. Adequate, but not great.

I have you have a good time planning for your trip!!

everafter

Hi Twinkle,

Can u share ur trip? Any good buys?? I've nv been to massage, was thinking of going to Healthland, but dunno which is gd...Is Thai massage painful?? Which branch is more convenient and closer to shopping areas?

worry

L.S. I ask Sawadee b4 a few hotels but they say is full. so I ask them to give suggestions. They give me Centrepoint Wireless but I don't know is it near BTS.

I got ask Asia Hotel, wow the gala dinner is $109 per person. Ambassodor is $121 per person. These gala dinner even more exp than their room. I was wondering wat they eat since the seafood there should be cheap. I think next time if I wan to go BKK in Dec, better dun go around New Year Eve or Christmas Eve.

zenn

Just back from BKK last nite....

Yuki, tiger airway is alright. We left and back on time.

S, if you don't want to spend to much on accomodation, can go for cheaper hotel. BKK has wide range wif diff pricing.

Everafter, which hotel are you staying? Healthland spa is good. If you are at Siam area, can try Chang massage, Lek or Marble Hse.

For those who plan to go healthland spa and suam lum, you might wanna do it same day as its pretty nearby. Taxi fare only cost 40 baht from healthland to suan lum

worry

Hi Zenn,

For accomodation, I dun mind low - mid range pricings. But found a lot hotel got gala dinner thingy. I'll continue to search.

everafter

Hi Zenn,

I'll be staying either at Grand Diamond or Baiyoke Sky. Wanted to go Healthspa for massage, but dunno which one to choose. Can u recommend? As this is my 1st massage

zenn

Everafter, opp grand diamond there are alot of massage saloon. i been to M@B - cheap n good. Healthland spa is definately worth going. You can try both. I can go massage everyday whenever I go bkk heeee