Bangkok

alleb

Hi Purple rain,

Hey, thks for taking the effort to write all these details. Now I would know what to take note of when I am going BKK

yanni

Pratunam - when going pratunam, don't forget to ask whole sale min how many pcs and how much.

they normally sell 100-200 baht per pc..
but if wholesale(min 3pcs) a 100baht shirt can drop to 50baht for wholesale price.
so more worth it to just get 3 pcs instead.

trixter

hi ladies!

need all your expert advice please...

Grand Diamond vs Aronma hotel - which will you pick?

Grand Diamond - from the reviews, this hotel is almost a 4 out of 5 which almost perfect. Also, this is slightly cheaper.

Arnoma - Slightly more ex(probably due to its prime location) and the reviews are mainly 3.5 out of 5.

I like that G.Diamond quality is good and good price but its a little far from the sky train station.

I pick Arnoma for its prime location but was taken aback with the "long q at b/fast" and also the room are not usually that clean.

ladies, anyone who have been to the above 2 hotels kindly let me know which is better?

My heart is with g.diamond for its superior suite but my head is telling me to pick the one nearer the sky train for easy excess....

aiyo...headache heahache..

btw, i am going by tiger airways $2 promo!!

dazednconfused

trix...
GRAND DIAMOND!! It is a 10min walk to the Rachathewi BTS Station. And you don't even have to cross a major road. Seriously. Stayed at the Arnoma some years back. Grand Diamond is much better. The breakfast buffet at the Grand Diamond is wonderful too... At the coffee house overlooking the swimming pool.

zenn

LS, thanks! But website dun put pre natal...

Yanling, ok noted! Read fm web Bann Khanitha not cheap rite? Issit walking distance from Central Dept Store?

Purple rain, thanks for sharing!! U must ve enjoyed urself!

Highless, when you going?

Trix, I stayed in both b4 and personally prefer Arnoma cos of the location and room decor

truffle

Hi, may i know where is platinum fashion mall located?

Is there a spa called Chang spa or something? Has anyone tried? Where is it located?

highness

i'm devasted...

tried book for novotel twice thru different web but unavailable... now i try grand diamond oso unavailable..

sianz.. n pek chey.. i'm goin bkk on 11th to 14th.. before dat goin phuket..

pinkygal

Need some advice. Anyone stayed in Novotel Siam Square Bangkok before?I heard that it was renovated. How are the rooms? Are they renovated oso?... As compared to Pathumwan Princess, which of the rooms are nicer and cleaner? Thanks in advance.

feifei

Hi purple rain,

Wow, thanks for all the information leh....Now i now wat i can look for liao whe i go bangkok...U bought alot of favours bk?Seems like you have bought alot alot of things leh..can carry back?

Yanni,
tks for the infor as well =).

Trix,
The $2 tigerair promotion only for One way trip hor? I tried to click the big icon with the promotion, but can't go in leh...so sad lor...

Which BTS station is Big C huh?

How do you go to chinatown?

Tks.Can you email to me other informations on yout trip as well?tks alot =)..

trixter

hi LS! 1 vote for G.Diamond....thanks! Hey, on the way to the sky train, do u walk by the shops, or one of those dark/quiet street? Abit scare arh if have to walk at night from sky train to hotel....u have any problem with that? Oh yes, read about the fantestic breakfast, one big plus!!

Hey Zenn! Ya lor, Arnoma location is good right! So convenient.... is the room comfortable and clean? I like this location!!

Hi feifei! Internet booking is really stressful cos gotta wait very long. what I did was I input the dates I want, then the window will share the dates and ticket prices, then I record the dates I want and then I call up to make my reservations. Faster for me.

There are some way-back tickets at $2 too...and I purposely pick those $2 tickets one..haha.. I think the promo are for those non-peak dates....cos i tried to return on a sunday but there isnt the $2 ticket... so have to come back on Sat... Anyway the breakdown of the promo is rahter confusing. FYI:
Adult Fare: 20.00 SGD
Taxes and Surcharges 184.50 SGD
----------
Total Paid: 204.50 SGD

Dunno how come the fare is $20 when it should be $2 x 4 = $8..anyway, whatever.

humm..I reserved thru phone thus have to pay $6 more..otherwise the amount will be $198.5 if you do internet booking.

Aiyo....my hotel is still a headache!

schnauzie

pink gal - novotel and p.princess are both very nice. p. princess just finished reno so their lobby and restaurant(breakfast place) are very nice. but novotel is abt 50bucks cheaper so i will choose novotel..coz its in siam sq, nearer to erawin shrine and very near to siam paragon.

feifei

Hi Trix,

Tks for the infor on the tickets...me intend to leave on 22nd Spet and return on 25th lor....Mayb I will try again later lor... But its still quite cheap lor =)...so far they only have promo for $9.98 tickets etc, 1st time i see this $2 ticket lor =D....

If you have the budget, why dun choose Arnoma hotel? I am on budget thats y intending to book Samran Place hotel..cos only $30+ a nite...

zenn

Good morning!

Feifei, yes $2 is one way. Nearest station for big C is Chit Loin station.

Trix, yes the Arnoma room is clean an spacious. Its very convenient - walking distant to Siam and pratnum but sometimes we lz will take taxi to MBK. V cheap oni :p G.Diamond is abit like apt style which comes wif small living rm n small cooking area at living rm and ve bedroom separtated but the find the design v odd and we dun like the wall paper color. Looks abit old.

trixter

hi feifei!

good luck hor...my travellin date is sept 20-23. I jus went online to check the rates and find no more $2 on the dates i selected liao...gosh.. fast man.

I also planned to take budget hotel one..then lucky i bought cheap tickets so now can spend a bit more on accomodation...hehe..

I think I more or less will take Arnoma la.. abt $110 per night. Going to find the cheapest deal now....

Is this Samran location good? Maybe I can consider this too!

Thanks Zenn!! I think I'm going to pick Arnoma!

Hey, anybody book Arnoma cheaper than $110 per night?? Kindly recommend the website to me...thanks!!

I got my current rates from http://www.discount-thailand-hotels.net

feifei

Hi Trix,

Thanks ger =)..Samran not bad lor, but hor, heard that the room is like our Costa sand chalet like that lor, bery basic. Hmm....becos we intend to spend more on shopping, thats y want to choose this...

U can go to www.res24.com to see the reviews and pics and rates of the hotels too...

CC2,
u booked the $2 ticket too?

Hi zenn,
tks for the information =D...Big C is a supermarket huh?

trixter

Hey CC2, My departure is 13:05! What about you?? Which hotel are you staying?

Hey feifei, i tried to check all weekends but seems like no more $2, but I saw many $2 for weekdays like Sep 18-21 - can you travel on weekdays? opps..then u will miss the weekend mkt...hehe...aiyo..

thanks Zenn!

purple_rain

Hi feifei,

U can take cab to chinatown, no BTS nearby. There's a mrt nearby called Hua Lampong (spelling seems incorrect) but hv to walk very far. I took cab from Samran to Chinatown only 60 baht. Cos I'm going to Sampheng Lane, so ask the taxi to stop there.

Hi Trix,

Samran Place is worth considering cos of the location, thou it may be a bit low class, but for the price, is worth it. There's roadside stalls when u come out from hotel, A&W abt 5 mins away.

I booked at $37 per night at www.asiatravel.com

feifei

Hi Purple Rain,

Can email the chatuchak map to me at caterppi792yahoo.com tks...

Sampheng Lane also got lots of stalls there?

Hi Trix,
Ya lor..i wanted to go to the wkend market one lor... Do u know what time the pratunam market opens and close? I only know chatuchak opens abt 9am and close abt 6pm in the evening hor?

zenn,
tks for the infor =)...

purple_rain

Hi feifei,

Sampheng Lane sells mostly on accessories, cartoon characters items. It's like a cross junction with many street stalls. Things are cheap there too.

feifei

Hi Purplerain,
tks...sent you a mail too..

Sampheng got sell hellow kitty things? me loved them =)...do u have the map of this Lane? jsut tell teh cab driver this Lane and they know it? hahas...scare my pronuciation not accurate..hehe

bloomiey

feifei: Sampeng Lane is located towards the end of Yaowarat Road. Its just a small lane inside therefore there is no details of stalls there. Stalls are located on both side of the lane. Since its a lane, that means there will be scooters and tuk tuk riding along the lane so be careful. Kinda Squeezy lane prob only 2.5m wide.
Just tell the taxi driver, they know it. Otherwise just tell them yaowarat, Sampeng Lane. They definitely know, if don't know then the driver really newbie liao. They do sell cute stuff, handphone accessories, cartoon character soft toys, hair accessories, stationery but some small items are usually sell in few pieces. Something like wholesale purchase. Remember to U-Turn back after u finish with that lane, the next section is bulk wholesale of shoes, if you continue, it will lead you to nowhere and its far away. I always remind people that cos I hope no one will follow my mistake and out of curiousity to continue walking the shoes section where you definitely won't buy anything there, cos they sell min of 12 pairs of shoes. No shop will sell 1 pair. Walk n walk n walk... til so tired then manage to come out of that small lane to get a taxi.
Probably 1.5hrs you can finish the lane if u visit all the stalls and some stalls have 2nd, 3rd or even 4th level.

Purple Rain: got buy soft toy? hee.. buy n keep for your future babies.. :p

trixter

hi purple rain, thanks! guess what, i jus booked Arnoma thru asiarooms....waiting for confirmation.

hey, this samran look really decent...but this time i'm going for more "luxury" hehe...next time i'll sure consider samran!!

feifei...sorry hor, i have not started consolidating my destinations so i have no info on what time pratunam mkt close lei...

i'm going to print out p.rain's notes for my planning...hehe...anyone has any "must-go" or "must-eat" recommendations to give?

on my mind are these few:
1) MBK - Nam Sing for all the delicacies...
2) Paragon - Food court upstairs...
3) All the main shopping malls for retail therapy
4) Chatuchak weekend mkt & Suan Lum mkt & prantunam clothing center
5) Visit the famous temple
6) China Town - for dunno what...

Hope my 4 days will be fulfilling man...hehe..

what else besides shopping and eating and massaging?? nothing much except the night spots i guess....hehe...

zenn

trix, fyi arnoma provide free shutter bus to central dept store.

i wonder does novotel has such service?

purple_rain

Hi Yanling

I did not buy soft toys, some of them are very big, like mats. Wanted to bring them home but worried abt excess luggage. I will go back again... LOL. To me, its seems like a 4 lanes or even more. I keep walking up down, left right. Bought handphone pouch at 10 baht each, the colors are so sweet. Wanted to post those pics but I could not find my USB cable to transfer photos. =(

bloomiey

Purple Rain: Hand carry those soft toys. hee.. they won't weigh much. Can hug them on the plane

You got take photos of Samran Place? Can email me see see? if u have, email me [email protected]

Trix: Go Chinatown only got few purpose.
1st is to go Lao Ji Lin Zheng Xiang buy Pork floss/stick, snacks, etc cos can bargain for discount for eg. 1400baht can bargain to 1100 or 1200baht. Pester them til they give in cos sometimes they don't want to give. MBK has some shop selling some of their item, some are same price but you can't bargain in MBK. I told them friends recommend me into your shop and i also recommended alot of people and came here few times, past few times you also give me discount.. so he gave in and give discount. hee..
2nd purpose of Chinatown: Eat Street Hawker along and outside Nam Sing... Those BBQ Seafood stuff..
3rd purpose: Go Sampeng Lane Buy stuff listed above.

By the way Siam Paragon Food Court at Level 1, Underwater world at B1.
The nice food aren't inside food court but outside food court, alot selling pastries, ice-cream, etc. Those stuff smells nice
so can consider buying some snacks. The stalls has about the about the same design as our takashimaya B2 those snack stalls..

zenn

highness, congrats! plan ur itinerary? btw if u going to chang massage or marble hse can check for me if they ve pre natal or massage for pregnant and how much?

thanks!!

carinal

zenn,
My friend went for a pre-natal massage at Healthland. It's not advertised on the website, but you can call and enquire. She was about 4-5 month preggie then.

highness

zenn, my colis recommend me healthland,king & i, and gold hand thai massage (opp asia hotel)... the rest i not too sure, haha...
anyway, tink i oni go for massage at bkk, will be goin for spa at phuket bah..
i intend to go r&r(= naui-ing) for tis trip, haha.. honeymoon mah... muz relax.. keke..

zenn

Hi carinal and highness,

I ve called healthland n cfm they ve pre natal massage. I will definately go for that but just wondering is there any other in siam area so that dun ve to travel so far everyday hee

highness, where is king and I?

pinkygal

hi schnauzie

Thanks for the reply..

I am still considering between this two.. is there any good packages tied up with these 2 hotels... pp and novotel? Do let me know....

schnauzie

pinky - im not sure i coz book air tic and hotel separate to get the best price. package cost more coz they provide convenience..my 2 cent's worth

highness

King n I tel: 0-2653-0700
the name card doesn't have the address leh.. haha.. got the map but in thai... it's btw nana n asok station, near time sq bah.. @ SOI 12..

highness

anyone tried booking with sawadee? my credit card was being approved n charge last nite, will they send me a reservation email? i oni got the email saying it's being charge leh...

cookie13

hi gals,me going Bkk in Aug too...read your recent posts,they r very informative, thanks!

ehh...I got some questions:
1/where is pratunam wholesale centre and how to go there? is it the place where they sell bags also?
2/ Yanling : where is Lao Ji Lin Zheng Xiang huh?
3/ anyone heard of bo bay centre and ribbon centre(dunno right spelling anot)?