Bangkok

sunrays

hi angie,

how much u willing to spend per night per room? if above SGD100 per twin sharing room, then u'll have alot of choices...mostly 4*-5*...

did u chk out asiarooms website? they have rates in SGD, so it's really helpful. But don't book thru that website...there's many out there with cheaper rates.

hptang74

hi angie

i am staying at somerset suwan park view (svc apt). It is located near Childom BTS skytrain.

Btw when are you travelling?

guazi

sunrays,

i think i will want to keep my budget below $100.

susanna,
I'm travelling in early OCt. oh any websites for your somerset suwan park view?

peachbloom

hi everyone!

i just came back from my very first trip to bangkok, and i really enjoyed the shopping!!! truly shop til drop. think my hubby and i walked far more in the past 5 days than the past 5 months before that put together :p

BK is a fascinating city, and there's so much to see and do.. 1 trip is certainly not enuff and i'll probably go back and this time explore the areas outside of the city (wanted to go to kanchanaburi but pick-up was at 6.30am (!).. we decided we were too lazy to wake at 5+ in the morning).

the only thing was that we had a few bombs where food was concerned. my hubby enjoys a good spicy tomyam kung but the ones we tried were not great. anyone has recommendation for the next time i go? and other good food outlets.. I initially thought there surely must be good food wherever we go, so didn't bother to take down the shop names and addreses... but regretted it. Should have compiled a list so we don't get disappointed. but i have to say the nam sing shark's fin soup (at MBK) was really good.. very yummy. though apparently i heard the other ones at chinatown are better and cheaper.

one thing i didn't like was the fact that the taxi and tuk tuk drivers...

**One very important thing to note**:

One of the days we wanted to go from novotel to pratunam market, and the taxi agreed on meter. But we realised that he was taking us on a detour and pointd it out. he gave a black face (quite like a hooligan) then eventually turned back in the right direction after a big roundabout. And when we got to pratunam, my hubby got off first, and as i was getting off, he drove off!!!!! and i only had one foot off the taxi... so i fell off from the cab and suffered from bruises and was actually quite shocked from the mini 'trauma'.... the locals, who saw the scene, immediately pointed to a police car just driving past, and my hubby ran after the police to get that cabby... it was quite awful. i still remember my whole body was shaking for a while before i recovered.

So ladies, PLEASE PLEASE, if you are travelling with your partner, make sure HE gets into the taxi FIRST. on hindsight, it's possible he could have tried to drive off with ME in the car!! there have been horror stories like this, where they drive off with the girl still in the car (especially asian)...

but thank God, i only suffered superficial bruises. it could have been worse. so after that we were very careful - my husband gets into the taxi or tuk tuk first. it's always better to be safe than sorry.

well so that's the mini-drama i had. but it hadnt spoiled my impression of bangkok, the thais are generally lovely and pleasant folks. =)

zenn

Hi peachbloom,

Sorry to hear that but glad you enjoyed yourself. Did you go world trade centre (think now known as Central)? Wonder issit completely closed for reno.

dazednconfused

zenn,
I was in BKK in March this year and Central World (World Trade Centre) was under a HUGE facelift. But the mall was fully operational on the inside!

peachbloom

hi zenn,
i didn't manage to go to WTC... cause all the other shopping malls kept me very busy ;) so not very sure whether it's fully open. seems like wtc is quite a popular spot.. does it sell upmarket stuff or more like siam quare/mbk?

purple_rain

Is there any "rule" to pray at Erawan Shrine? Any dress code like those temples?

I heard that beisde unlimited BTS rides that cost 280baht, is there any other kinda fares like you buy a stored valued card, if u did not use the full amt, so that it can be refunded?

zenn

Hi LS and peachbloom, ya the shops were opened when I was there in feb. wondering abt now... peachbloom, its make up of 3 departmental stores + individual shops.

Hi purple rain, actually i was told not to wear sleeveless but I still see ppl doing so. Guess its not too strict there.

purple_rain

so can wear bermudas & sandals?

Does anyone knows what kinda adapter i shld bring if i wana charge hp in hotel. Cos BKK socket is different from ours, theirs seems like 2 pin... Isit hv to buy those multi plug? but those is 3 pin so that once u plug in, u can use 2 pin but BKK vice versa?

I oso wana buy genuine nokia hp accessories. I saw alot of hp shops in MBK 4 - 5 flr previously but mainly sells hp & calling card. Anyone has any idea?

sunrays

hi purple rain

i saw a shop in MBK ---it's a nokia shop. not on the 4th or 5th floor where they sell electronics & hps....it's a normal shop on the 3rd level if i'm not wrong.....i'm going nxt week...let me chk it out & let u know if i see it.

noscon

anyone know the exchange rate for baht now? I changed at 23.2 yesterday but so low.... wondering if I was 'chopped'? But I don't want to go far to change $ so I still change.....

noscon

hi purple rain

I will be going 22-25jul so guess wont bump into each other. Are you gg by budget airline? where are you staying? yeah so low hor.... kana chopped even before I go!
good thing i didnt change much

foreverhappy

hi everyone iam back

Purple i think samran is a good place to stay for its location.

Walk most of the time but still take cab when tired or travel to other places.

ere is the summary hope its help.

Took airasia ok for the seat spacing.
Reach Bkk at abt 5.30pm
Took Cab from the departure hall to samran place 171 baht. Purple you need to print the map of the samran place so that taxi driver knows the place to go cos not many know.

After that at abt 7.30pm we walk to MBK for dinner. take abt 15 to 20 mins walk depend on how fast you walk. most imptly have a good map with yu. the map the airport staff give me i think is not detailed enough. Luckily the other time my friend took one for me and that map is good. I just rely on the map for direction.

We did not plan much therefore after dinner we go back to the hotel to rest and there is many stall set up by the road side on my way back to the hotel but i never try their food.

On the 2nd day, wake up 6.30 then have breakfast in the hotel, then we walk to erawan shine. It take abt half an hour to walk from samran place.
very sunny for all day, there is a few stall outside selling joss stick but i just go inside and buy. for 20thb, you get a pack of joss sticks and 4 string of flowers.

actually want to go to grand palace but becos we are so near to Big C and there is not enough drinking water left so we walk to Big C and bought 24 bottles of minerals water for 88thb. At the same time we bought snack and ice cream so that we can have something to munch if hungry at night. Since the mineral water is too heavy for us to enjoy the trip to grand palace we have a change of plan so we took a cab back to the hotel to place the stuff.

After resting for a while we took a cab to chinatown, so happy that the taxi driver knows he place and he drop us near lin zheng xiang. we bought a lot of stuff and the lady is nice to send it to the hotel so i can enjoy myself if i wander around here. we then went to hai wai tian for lunch. Shark fin, bird nest, a plate of fried rice with salted fish and a plate of fried seafood noodle. yummy yummy. cost total 800 thb.

then we walk to sampeng lane. saw nice earing there and did not buy much there except some small flower, paper rose & ribbon from there. Thinking of making my own wrist corages. But its a maze there cos u just keep walking.

Actually wanted to try T&K but after we have walk in sampeng lane, kind of tired and it start pouring so we take a cab to MBK to shop for wacoal. from chinatown to MBK 80 thb. the taxi driver ask me to give me 20 thb as tips but i never give lor cos he also not sure of his way.
we have dinner at fuji rest at siam centre. Food not bad and price is reasonable. total amt spend 600thb.

then we walk back to the hotel again.

on the 3rd day went to ctc in the morning, we bought the 1 day unlimtied trip ticket for the sky train. it was crowded and i managed to carry back my favour too. but kind of heavy. cant find the stall that Impulse has mentioned but managed to find another stall.

Purple chopstick can be find at ctc for 100 pcs cost 700thb. i also bought a ang bao box(so nice that i am too tempted to buy it).

After walking for a half day at ctc, we take the train back to the hotel and rest. then we take the sky train and travel around and we have dinner at MBK food court again. tried other food then buy shoes. take train back to hotel.

Fourth day, go to Pratunam in the morning, bought some polo tee and t-shirts. buy nothing much also.

then walk back to hotel cos after so many day of walking , my leg is very tired so we went back to sleep. then we walk out to platimum mall cos it rains half way when we making our way to pratunem maket again.

Bought earings and bag and have dinner there. Bought durian too. but the mall close at 8pm so early so we walk back to the hotel.

5th day go to grand palace in the morning. taxi fare 61 thb. then in the afternoon we went to Big C for lunch. taxi fare 111thb. wanted to go nan sing but too lazy to walk so we bought the wan tan mee opp grand diamond back to hotel for dinner.

last day didnot go any where becos flying back to sg. hop on to taxi at abt 12pm cos flight at abt 4pm. intend to go to airport for lunch. the taxi driver ask me whether i want to take express way so i told him no cos must add 60thb and dunno wat 20thb. and luckily we did not cos is only cost 163thb when reach airport. on teh way to the airport we received sms that the flight has been delayed. sian, but the problem is th flight is only to depart at only 8.20pm when its suppose to depart at 4.20pm. tht mean i need to wait for another 4 hrs.. FAINT.

but luckily i went to air asia counter to query and managed to change a ealier flight at 7.20 pm but by the time i reach sg its alrady midnight so have to spend money on taxi fare. sigh.....

bloomiey

peachblossom: yeah the taxi drivers are driving a big roundabout even though u requested from meter. Had the same experience with ya. Was charged abt 170thb + tollway just to travel from Chatuchak to Siam Paragon. He drove along Rama III to Rama IV tollway etc.. zzz.. took abt 40mins. I guess there is nothing you can do, otherwise the same thing would happen, they would just drive off before you alight fully. I paid in full without complaint so the driver just happily went off. Thats one of the taxi driver tactics to get more $$$ without fixed fees..

apple: Your fate is much lucky than me. Noticed recently several AirAsia flights get delayed by few hours because of engine problem Was fed by AirAsia some dry BK Burgers and mineral water. Mine was delayed from 4.45pm up to 1.30am. Reach Sg 5am.
Those taking AirAsia Flights, be prepared for flight delays for many hours. so don't be too happy til you board the plane.

Purple Rain: I don't think anyone would look at your dress code at Erawan Shrine.. Btw for travel adaptor, i thought you can borrow it from most hotel.

I beginning to hate all the hotels rooms housekeeping/room service. Everytime despite making several calls to ask them come and repair/fixed some spoilt stuff, nothing was ever done. This time i requested my choked water basin to be cleared, calling them almost 7x and nothing was done. They don't even bother to come up and fixed it. Moreover its a 4* to 5* hotel. Then i had to bear with the choked basin while brushing my teeth, washing my face.

Oh ya.. Nam Sing Fried Rice and Noodles also quite nice

noscon: where did you change your money? Sad to say its terribly low... The lowest you can get even in town area is 23.50 or 23.60

foreverhappy

Yan Ling i did not ask them for the reason for delay.
All i think is budget airline so bear with it. haha.

no dress code in erawan shine. Purple u can borrow the adaptor from the hotel but they required u to deposit 50thb.

Purple u can walk to pratunam from samran place. abt 15 mins walk should reach.

noscon

yanling

yeah i know....
i will be careful next time.... never know anyone dare to sell for so low... thought each dealer roughly the same... never mind change some more in bkk....

zenn
i booked at www.asiarooms.com.

purple_rain

Hi Apple,

Welcome back! I have tons of qns to ask...

Isit to print the map from asiarooms website? But it was quite brief & in English, afraid that the taxi drivers dun understand. As for the map, I still kept one that I took from airport 4 mths ago... but will still get the updated ones.

hv to go up to 3rd floor to departure hall? Did the cab go by toll way?

That's far to walk to erawan shrine, can take BTS? Alight at Chit Lom BTS?

What wedding favors u bought? All these stalls isit in one cluster? If yes, then I can find them easily...

YA! Airasia's flight always delayed... The other time, my departure flight was 4.45pm, i only rec'd sms at 3pm... flight was postponed to 1805hrs...

mskazama

Wow...
i just went to jetstar webby i think their flights are below 200.
Anyway my husband and i plan to spend relaxing days there in Aug. Any good hotels with nice spa facilities to recommend?

alleb

Anyone can advise me what are the brands in BKK that are cheaper than in singapore?
I mean like LV is cheaper in paris and Esprit in HK, what's in for BKK?

Thks.

bloomiey

Jasmine: I don't think any branded stuff are cheap there, i went into a few of the branded shops like Burberrys etc and found their prices are way over-priced than in Singapore. Hardly anyone would enter into the shop. Other than branded and non-branded lingeries are cheap, nothing else is cheap for branded stuff. Don't think anyone would go Bangkok for branded deals but more of cheap deals and bargains that you can get. A poloT here selling abt 120, there selling for ard 200.

Purple Rain: Departure Hall at level 2. Don't think there is level 3...

dazednconfused

noscon,
Married life is good.
Yours??

Bangkok has changed a lot these 10 years! From P. Princess, you'll be able to get around rather easily. The shopping and food is fantastic. If you love spa treats, you'll be in heaven too. I always go to Healthland along North Sathorn Rd. They have various treatments available. My favourite is the one-and-a-half hr aromatherapy body massage. It's less than 900Baht. Lovely ambience. Really spa-like. Not the hole-in-the-wall variety. But do make an appointment before you go!

I'm sure you'll have a ball of a time there. Take time to relax and unwind too. I think a lot of Singaporeans who visit Bangkok are guilty of rushing around as if Bangkok is going out of style tomorrow!

dazednconfused

Amanda,

If you like to be around the shopping area, you may wish to check out P. Princess which is so conveniently located next to MBK and opposite Siam Square. Then there's Novotel in Siam Square itself. If you don't mind walking, check out Grand Diamond Hotel and Centre Point Service Apartments. Both are situated along Petchburi Rd are nice hotels. They also cost less than Novotel and P. Princess. I do like P. Princess and Novotel, but I don't mind walking at all. Helps me burn off the extra calories from the yummy food Thailand offers!! Hence, I think it's better for me to save some $$ and spend it on spa treats whenever I'm in Bangkok!!

I hope I've been helpful! You can check out Bangkok hotels at www.sawadee.com
I've never had any problem with their service before.

purple_rain

There's a new hotel in Pratunam area. Pratunam City Inn, abt SGD$35 per night

Pratunam City Inn - A Boutique Hotel First Class Accommodation At Budgeting Price For business travelers and expatriates one of the most prestigious locations in Bangkok Located right in the heart of Pratunam area

highness

hi, any nice boutique hotels to recommend? going there for HM.. :p

saw this bangkok boutique hotel.. think it's situated @ sukhumvit area... izit convenient?

foreverhappy

Hi Purple

Hmm i print from samran place website itself. it contain a map on the hotel as well as it write in both english & Thai.

As for the map, should not be a problem lah.

Yes arrival hall is on the 2nd fl so hv to go up to 3rd floor to departure hall. DId not go by toll way as the driver did not ask me and paid 171 from airport to samran place. But when returning, the driver ask me whether i want to go the expressway but i told him i don't one to go cos he said need to add 60thb & another 20 thb dunno for what.

Yes u can take BTS to Chit Lom BTS if I am not wrong. then walk to Erawan shine.

I bought the pepper & salt human figures. I feel that it is more useful then keychain. The stall are not in one cluster u need to walk a round. Best to have a map and jot down the section name and address so next time u will be able to find that place again if not its too big for u to go back to the place u have passby. keke
Hi Zenn

Yah they asked me for 50thb deposit for the adaptor.

purple_rain

Tiger Airways is having 50% promo again. Book from 24 Jul - 30 Jul, fly from 1 Oct - 31 Oct.

It seems the flight timings are better than what I have booked for my coming trip.

icebaby0

zenn,

I think it seriously depends on where u stay, whether there is jam/etc

I know from Samran to Airport was around 180 baht. But that was because no traffic jam.