Bangkok Hotels which is better?

alan_golfnut

tulip: It's Pathumwan Princess, not Pratunam. Personally, I'd much prefer Pathumwan Princess although I've never stayed at Novotel, but the entrance to Novotel opens rite out to the streets (if I remember correctly), seems rather messy. For Pathumwan Princess, it connects to MBK, filled with not only shops, but plenty of restaurants, so it's really convenient not having to step out onto the streets esp if it's at night and you're feeling paranoid.

tobebride

Hi John,

I've not taken airasia but if you look at the breakdown of your fare for sin to bkk portion, i think you'll find that the tax & fee add up to about S$44 and this is about the tax for changi airport.

From what you said "tax included is incoming thailand tax", i think sin tax is included cos it is phrased as going into bkk.

moreover, bkk tax is 500 baht and you've to pay it at the vending machine yourself when you're about to depart bkk.

maybe have to call them to check.

blurunicorn

Tomatoes:
Juz a word of advice ..
If u really wan to buy, then buy those that have already released the dvd version ..
If not, mostly are copied from theatre ..
My colleague bought ard 10 but only 2 are gd as he bought the latest movies ..

andreal

hey guys,
tiger airway released their promo for mth of Sept, so far server so bz that im unable to check on the air fare leh..:p

Tos who are interested 2 know more can check out tigerairways.com

Heard u guys toking abt BKK airport tax, yeah its Bht500 which we hv to pay b4 we enter BKK departure hall when leaving.

andreal, you trying for tiger airways too?
can't seem to able to get in...think lots of pple are like us trying...hehe...

mngo

i agree that Pathumwan Princess is a good place to stay. i stayed at novotel before, but i not as good and high class at pathumwan

sirwin

alan: yes, I a guy here, no worries, no Q is dumb Q. I might ve confused pples with tis nick, who noe? Yes, I agreed, no point losing temper over e fact tat u can get a item at your desired price, we r a foreigner there in bkk after all.

John: did e online hotel reservation website charge u admin fee for any changes U ve requested for? recalled from earlier posts tat u requested to change hotel or date I can rem.

andreal

hi postpet2,
yeah can get the page but the booking section is always bz...lol
hehe new airline lar, so v.curious..see hws the rate etc.

Any1 managed to get the promo fr Tiger Airway?

alan_golfnut

win: Ah, in that case, if you enjoy golf, the sports shops there sell these golf knick-knacks like headcovers and gloves that are cheaper than in Singapore. Bags are cheap too (imitation), and sportsgear is quite cheap cos they're manufactured there. But the quality material stuff won't be much cheaper though.

Hi tomatoes,
They sell the dvds and vcds at the markets. You can ask them to let you view the disc before buying cos most shops would have a player and tv there. I bought a few and all were quite clear. If not just ask them discreetly if it's taken from theatres and they are quite honest about it. I bought dvds from my past two trips and all turn out good.

John Tan,
Just dun buy so many lah... Each trip I dun buy more than 5 discs so split between my luggage and hubby's luggage.

johnandrachel

tulip

the renovation will be long lor. but they say won't affect much so i believe them. anyway i confirm novotel for my stay frm 15 to 19 oct liao. if its not up to standard, i will make a bad din and make them let me stay in their president suite heheheh..... (dreaming, but still hope got free upgrade.) let me knoe hows the condition if you stay there. Enjoy har...

win
nope. they did not charge anything until now. I gave them alot of problems. (actually is my BIG Missy) today check tis hotel, tomorrow wan to change again.... response not bad. just tat everytime there's a reply, its from a diff person, tan lah, tae lah, pim lah....

thanks for your smug.li.g advice. will see to that if i get some over there.....

sirwin

I've just cfm my bookings for 10-15 Nov 6D5N booking to BKK:-
airflight - Tiger Airways @ $318 nett for 2 PAX round trip
hotel - Asia hotel @ $71 sgd for 5 nites(via directrooms.com) total: $355
total: $673(tat work out to abt $336 per head)

now can start planing for our shopping list, places to recce, makan bla bla bla....

John: from e directrooms.com website, renovation will last till May 2005, but they also ensured minimum disturbance to guests

johnandrachel

just wana say and confirm that airasia flies from SINGAPORE CHANGI AIRPORT to BANGKOK no need go senai at all. think alot still not very sure so just to let you all know lah.
Tigerairways got quite a good head start for their $1 air tics. I also went to try for fun during that time but cannot access. too flooded liao. heheh...

win:

wah i going 5D4N, you goin 6D5N, even longer. How much you thought of bringing over? Then maybe i can scale down from your figure. dun really noe how much to bring? change how much here or there. already changed 500 at suntec. rate was 24.00 last monday. the rest maybe till i reach bk. you going wit your love one or friends? i counting down to my trip liao. 39 days to go Hooray....My missy already got all the things plan liao. My job is to eat and follow walk with her and carry her shopping bags...(kana like ah saum)

droplet

I am planning to go to bangkok for shopping (not going for sightseeing) in oct, is 4d3N enough for shopping??
plan to take the flight to bkk at 8.30am and come back at 830pm flight on the last day

sirwin

John: we were thinking of setting off on wed instead of thurs which is sg PH. For a start, i might change 400 bucks 1st in sg & another 400 bucks in bkk(depending on hw much I spent in e 1st 3 days) there. If not enuff, I'll withdraw from my sg bank there(with cirrus/maestro network). I be gtg with my wife, e 1st 3 days will be for us to recce like makan,massage,praying,plc of interest etc. & we will start serious shopping from Fri evening onwards. We still ve abt 2 mths to go, so is slowly gathering e recommended makan/massage info from bkk threads.

adeline: 4D3N shld be enuff(try to fall on e wkend to go to wkend mkt). On a budget note, tiger airways got e timings tat U wan, I gtg off early in e morning but coming bck reaching 6:10pm sg time.

andreal

Hi ppl,
can check so far hws the quotes & svc fr directrooms.com?
Oh yeah when will the rainy season end at BKK?

Hi John,
Haha airasia always shows the pop out screen @main site stating 'convenient transit point - Singapore to Lapangan Terbang Sultan Ismail/Senai iternational Airport' too misleading..
Hhaah if u really got upgrade due to bad standard must tell us k so dat the rest will take note leh.

Hi win,
did u book the flight directly fr tigerairways or agent? cos when i do the booking, it shows under Fare Class-G for 2pax (round trip is $338) hmm did i calculate wrongly?

droplet

Anybody requested for hotel late check out like around 4pm before? Does novotel siam sqaure allow late check out?

andreal

Hi Adeline,
Just curious wad is yr reason for that huh? flight schedule?

i nvr stay at Novotel Siam b4 but had tried to make such request at other hotels. The recept will only say 'try their best' if the room not taken by other guest the nxt day. Meaning if alot of ppl book rooms at that hotel esp. during season period, then chances of such request is v. slim. U can still try, no harm cos who knows they can offer u other arrangement *smile* i bliff the recept will still check w/ u wads yr reason for that too.

Act. there are hotels which are nice too, even tho they cant give in to yr request...they allow u to check-out 1 or 2hrs pass the actual check-out time.

droplet

Hi Andreal,
My reason is due to flight schedule, have already book with tigerair, going to bkk at 8.30morning & return flight is 8.30pm. so hope to have late check out.

andreal

Hi Adeline,
oic..okok got u nw hee. Ermm just my experience..that time i stayed at Twin Towers Hotel, we left our baggages w/ the recept counter. Took tos impt things like $$$, passports, flight tics wif us. The staffs tagged em wif our names and room no., we collected em when we ready to go to airport. For us, we just rest at the hotel lounge so off and on will check our baggages over the counter :p

Hey u can try to email Novotel Siam to see wad they say? Meantime let's wait & hear wad the rest of the ppl here.

sirwin

Hi Andreal,

I cant comment on e quote cos I juz go direct to directrooms.com(John is using them) & they r pretty responsive, realli like get bck to u within 24 hrs kinda of committment. Dec's weather is gd & see fr e forum somewhere tat e rainy season ll end mid of Nov. But understand tat there is 1 day(King's bday?) in Dec & was advised to avoid tat day(most shops closed?)

$338 for 2 PAX is correct/reasonable cos mine is $318 via e tiger airways hotline. So your breakdwn shld be:-

$169/PAX(actual fare: $60*(2x) to-n-fro + $49(taxes, charges))

So if cfm, do go & book cos tiger airways is also on ladder pricing, i.e. actual fare start from $40(think tis price is sold out, hence u got $60 to as high as $140(if book near Dec)

I've do tentative check based on my trip dates wrt valuair & airasia,,,more ex at e time of my booking & timings is nt I preferred though I wld prefer allocated seat rather than free seating if I ve a choice. I did try SIA due to e $148 offer but as usual valid oni for e mth of Sept.

Hi Adeline, yes, usual practise is like wat andreal mentioned, leave ur barang/luggage with e hotel after chkout,,,or rather late chkout is usually till 2pm(subjected to availability as e hotel might be fully booked & hence need to rel ur room to others). Put ur req. under remarks column if u book online & see what they say. Probe them even if they did nt mentioned anything after cfm ur order.

blurunicorn

Hi ppl,
Here's some info for your better planning ...
Dec's holidays in Bangkok:
* 06/12 - King's Birthday
* 10/12 - Constitution Day
* 31/12 - New Year's Day

Btw, Thai do not celebrate Xmas ..
Try not to go during their holidays coz most shops dun open ...
Agree with Win, try to avoid King's birthday ..
Some temples may be closed as well, like 'Grand Palace' ..

caicai

hi folks , i just returned fm BKK . alot of shopping n massage ...dunno why , after attending the massage session, whole body pain :p
kekeke
hmmm , i hv to admit Pathumwan Hotel is the best i have seen . I stayed @ Baiyoke , like what some one mentioned , very crowded + chap at the area . Not a very nice place , though cheap + near garment centre . BUT for those price conscious , i think Baiyoke Sky is a good choice , after ASIA hotel.
for those with $ to splurge after saving on your air tixs, think staying @ Novetel / Pathumwan is good .
though AMARI is also quite near to garment centre , the bldging kinda old leh ? I stayed at AMARI blvd at the outskirts of BKK , that place is beautiful. very cosy , romantic . but ULU lah

andreal

Great dat u guys bring out abt King's Birthday.
Cos i tot of flyin to BKK fr 3-6 dec, 6 dec falls on monday, can check w/ u all will the day b4 dat be affected?

BTW Natas fair gona b end of this mth 24-26 Sep? will pop-by to see 'IF" there's any gd deal anot hee.

Hi win,
thks for explaining the fare and doing the breakdown, nw i got it! :p
So i will expect a various fees at diff period...hmmm. Yeah the beta promo dat airlines offer nowsaday usually is for that mth itself or the nxt.

hi Unicorn,
oh thks for the info *Smile* i've got down the PHs u highlighted, loks like there only 2 wkends in dec which are more ideal for mi to go BKK. U tink the day b4 these PHs be affected as well?

hi caicai,
i experience abit backpain (after effect) when i got bk to SG too :p

blurunicorn

Andreal
As far as I know, during the eve of the PH, the ppl will be preparing for the celebration ..
But if the PH falls on a Fri or Mon, will have lesser traffic jams as the ppl like to travel out of town ..
Try to avoid the King's birthday, it may be nice to see the celebration but majority of the shops will be closed ..
May affect some roads as well ..

sirwin

John: so I will go bkk earlier than u nw? your missy muz be pretty disappointed after all e planning/countdwn, izzit? No choice liao, rice bowl comes 1st,,,hope ur flight/hotel are amended accordingly but for flight, there is definitely a class charge of ard $30-$50 per PAX per way?

any1 here leaving for bkk in oct/nov? thnks.

mtdt

wow...

now really have price war for BKK air tickets!
Air asia only $0.49 for the first 5000 tickets for this month and $19.90 for next month to march05.

Now my tickets seems so expensive!!

Kiasu dun pays man...

andreal

hi Unicorn,
thks! okie i beta dun risk going that wkend liao, gota change my plan :p

MTDT,
airasia $19.90 haben start rite, i heard in news they gona hv such promo but 4got issit tis mth or oct leh? the price is for 1-way or return trip?

johnandrachel

Win

let me know more when you return from your trip leh. especially recommendations to good food places. My sway sway postpone partly also due to my Missy scare of oct rainy season in bk so when she found out that my company is going to advertise our services, she grab the opportunity to change the dates. now got to pay bit more for the air tics and hotel. about 80/pax lor. now still waiting for directrooms to reply for hotel availability confirmation. Hope everything can settle soon....

sirwin

John: yes, wil do since i'll b bck on e 15th where u b gtg on e 25th, merely 10 days diff, info shld be more updated & my weather forecast wil also be accurate.

johnandrachel

many days din check in liao.came to c wat's talking recently...
but then seems tat everyone has got their necessary info liao? nothing new meh....
well then i got interesting enquiry. the thai girl shows any recommendation? me and my missy wanna go check one out if time permits....
So let the ball start rolling again

don tell mi nobody went for that har... i won't believe one....keke....

rally

john,
can go patpong for those thai shows, dunno which recommended tho.

host,
eastin is old, but i loved it. rooms were nice, bathroom big and breakfast was good. only bad thing was that abit far from BTS. good to bring a map of the hotel with thai words and directions to show taxi drivers cos alot of them dun know where it is.

momopo

wanna recommend arnoma hotel, it's in a real good location. near to bts, just next to big c, n right opp wtc. u can walk to pratunam market from there as well. it's about 90/nite if u book from asiarooms.com

karyinn

Hi professor, are they good? I am thinking of asia hotel. I read through the thread it seem very close to shopping area. pls give me ur advise as i am first timer to bangkok..

momopo

yup it's 90 neet depending on the exchange rate. it may fluctuate just a little.

are the twin towers good too? it's only 50 i think.

professor

hi karyinn,
as for yr budget Baiyoke suite and pratunam park(newer) hotel is valuable.. the ground floor of Baiyoke is a whole sale market and pratunam market jz out side the hotel..is convenient..and walking distant to WTC.. and MBK and Siam squre (abt 20min).is easy to get cab there too..

booboo

Hi HappyTea

Is the hotel near to most of the shopping area & taxi know the place?
Going end of next month, plan to stay at Arnoma hotel but after see the hotel u introduce, seen not bad too. Just the location not sure is it gd?

Any gd & cheap place for shopping too?

Need ur help ;)

happytea

Hi Booboo, the hotel is 5 BTS stops from SIAM station, considered far. but its only 2 stops away from Mo Chit BTS where Chatuchat mkt is.

There are no tourist-like shopping ard the hotel, got shops and stalls and a better cafe and a big DVD rental shop opp the hotel.

its only few mins walks to the Ari BTS, and when we took cab, we told the taxi driver to go to ARI BTS. From the main road, turn left into the small road and go straight, the pink color hotel is on the left.

how many days will you be staying there? if 4 nites there, it will be good that you choose 2 hotels, 1st 2 nites at this Relfection Rooms and go to chatuchat mkt on sat, and last 2 nites at a hotel nearer to MBK/Siam for last min shopping.

For cheap shopping, chatuchat mkt/MBK/Siam are good places. for Suam luan, i did not go there, but heard that its not ex but still chatuchat is cheaper. Patpong distact can see but not to buy! haha

booboo

HappyTea

Thanks for the info.

I will stay there for 5D4N. Very lazy to change 2 hotels
Mostly will book Arnoma hotel, friends told me this is a gd hotel & location. But Relfection Rooms look great, so still not sure yet.
Will take note on the cheap shopping place. How about any gd place for food (any type of food)?

happytea

My colleagues also say Arnoma is good, but i still prefer to have 2 hotels so that wont be that bored w same place and breakfast! hahaha

The Central plaza(previous WTC), just opp Arnoma, there is this Grand Canyon Coffee (like our coffee club) on the 6th or 7th floor, serve very nice and cheap thai food w good view of the town. there are other outlets too but this is a gd place at WTC. hmn, we spent SGD11 for one meal for two.

And Yaowarat Rd (Chinatown), its a one straight road, where tourist buy the pork floss tibits and restauarants for shark fins and bird nest, but we like the "roadside" bigger scale seafood stall. they wear uniform too, this trip we were there on monday so the road side is quiet, and we went up to their aircon shophouse to eat. cost ard SGD30. must try their glass beehoon w crab. yummy!