Bangkok Accomodation - Advice

erowen

i been to baiyoke sky (not for stay, just for their buffet), will say it is not as convenient as novotel.
and i find baiyoke sky surroundings very noisy and a bit smelly!

hakida

sugarbabe,

i am gg to BKK on 19 june,will be staying in Pathumwan Princess.Any recommendation for spa and massage near Pathuwan Princess???

sugarbabe

hayashi hakida,

i'm not too sure, i neber been to BKK b4.. sori... mayb others can help? come back n share experience with me, k?

cute_devil

Hi hakida,
juz be back from BKK few weeks ago, i stayed a Pathumwan Princess, it's v.convenient hotel.
It will be easy for you to go ard.
MBK shopping center, one of the largest shopping center in BKK, juz a stone away. Opp. the hotel is Siam Center, Siam Sq, etc.

As for spa, i'm not sure, but if you want to go massage, all the massage centres are located beside NOvotel Siam Sq Hotel. Juz go to Novotel Siam Hotel, and exit thru the side door, there will be couples of choices.
Tried one called Marble House, also reccomended by some girls here. Quite good though.

erowen

hi sugarbabe
i never stayed in pathumwan princess, but i heard it's pretty gd! i think quite a few SCians stayed there before, maybe they can give u better feedback.

jojok

I was back just last week, stayed at Novotel. Very good service & breakfast. Tried the massage opp Novotel, "Chang..." very good & it costs only $400baht for 2hours. The room is nice but seems to have complaints for mosquito. Pass by mable house, seems not bad too but it costs $500baht for 2hrs.

Novotel is near to Hard Rock Cafe, Coca restaurant. I prefer shopping at MBK, Chatuchak.

colt77

Hi Jojok,

Is the massage for unisex?? Full body?? Is the HRC and Coca rest. within walking distance to Novotel??

Anyone know where got sell cheap, nice baby, children clothes and acessories in bangkok??

karate_cat

Yes HRC and Coca is very near to Novotel. Would recommend you try Canton steamboat(which is opp. Novotel) rather than Coca.

I believe all the massage parlour there is unisex, unless it's some kind of "special" massage which is meant for men only???

melken

sorry if i sound too ignorant...but regarding the spa thing...what do have to bring? need to wash up?

and so they provide a room for changing? coz my friend said she went to one and has to get naked in front of them to change instead of letting giving a room to change into robe

happily_married

Hi, have anyone tried MK Suki? It's the cheaper local version of Coca and a LOT tastier (btw, I think Bkk Coca tastes bad). The price is fantastic!! They have an outlet at MBK. The MK in Singapore is quite lousy and the price ... X4 of there.

If you want great spa experience, I think Marriot Hotel is good. I normally just go to the nearest massage parlour to my home (yes, it was my home for almost 2 wonderful years). Oh, I love to have my hair shampood there too. Shiok head massage!

For normal Thai massage, you just change into their PJs. But for oil massage, you've got to remove everything except undies. For both types, my gf and I or just 1 couple can share a room. Most places for traditional, the whole place is divided by curtains. For oil, they normally have rooms/cubicles.

I personally feel that TM revitalises me so much so that I can go back for another round of 18-holes. For OM, I feel that it relaxes me well for the night sleep. For those with lower pain threshold, opt for OM. hehehee

I personally prefer PP as it's right beside MBK and easier to walk to the train station.

I also enjoy shopping in Emporium (Sukumvit Soi 24). It's a upper class shopping place where I get all my bras and panties supply. Tourists also get 5% disc there. I also love the food there esp the fried rice in the food court. The Jap rest there is also cheap!! A simply Hiyashi cost only about $5!!

nibnew

Me jus back from BKK last week but dunno why keep wanting to go back there again, like never shop enough cause i only went for 3 days. Anyone feel like this before? Oh pls help to knock some sense to me.

exbride

Hi Karen

You are not the only one ... I just came back last week too. Was there for 4 days and is thinking of going back again.

Regretted nver buy many things from there . .. :C

karate_cat

Me too! At least 2 twice a year. Don't know why never get sick of goin to Bangkok leh!

Eat and shop, eat and shop! Very shiok!!!

nibnew

Ha Ha thks god i am not the only one feeling this way. Every day at work think of nothing but shopping at BKK. But to go there again in such a short interval would be impossible, no $$$ liao. so sad!!!

iloveoreo

Me going end of next week!
i'll be staying at D'Ma Pavillion.
Need to check with those who stayed there before, for superior room, do they provide 2 single beds or 1 double bed?

andreal

hi oreo!
i've stayed at D'MA just last mth. U can request either 2 single beds or 1 double bed when u check in. Just take note incase if ur bed request is nt avail at dat moment, u might need to wait awhile for them to arrange for ya. (eg. b4 u check-in, many ppl request for double bed)

curl

Me & my fren (ladies) are going to BKK on the SQ promotion. Taking the midnight flight on 12 Aug (thursday) & staying at Asia hotel.

Just wonder if anyone leaving on the same day & also staying in Asia Hotel? If yes, then perhaps we can share a taxi there .. its kind of safer with more pple cos we will arrive past midnite bkk time..

blue2003

Hi hi
I am also going on 12 Aug taking night flight. But I have booked the eastin hotel. Did you book it as a Free n Easy Package? Comes with airport transfer.

Hi oreo,
Me also going end of next week. I'm leaving on 6th aug on SQ. managed to get the promo tics. But my hotel still haven't book yet.

Hi oreo,
I also coming back on the 10th 11.15am flight. Still deciding between arnoma and grand diamond pratunam. Any advice?

curl

Hi Blue Blue

Thanks for response. I booked tickets & hotel separately. I got asia via internet at S$56 per nite or 3 nites & comes with a day pass free for sky train.

yennyh

Hi all, I planning to go BKK 10-14Nov, booked the tigerairway, but still searching for a good budget hotel. Anyone bein to First Hotel (Next to Baiyoke Suit)?? Please advices.

ckluv2travel

Anyone tried Baiyoke Suite before? Have read feedback on Baiyoke Sky but haven't heard much about Baiyoke Suite. It's cheaper so was thinking of staying there.

rally

hi ckluv

read in other forums that suites is much older hence cheaper. Slow lifts, yellowish bed linen are some of the grouses. Sky would be a better choice but much more expensive.

Eastin, Ambassador (standard wing)are some alternatives. range is about 25US per night including ABF from internet.

shell78

HI ckluv2travel, I personally dun like Baiyoke.. Why dun u choose Aronma. It is opp Central Plaza (formely known as World TRade centre) Within walking distance u can walk to Chim Lom BTS>..

ckluv2travel

Thanks for suggestions. Yeah I also got apprehension about Baiyoke Suite...didn't seem too enticing. Tink will try Arnoma, not too expensive.

Hi Shell, have you stayed at Arnoma before? how's the hotel like? from the website, it look clean and new...but sometimes, we just can't believe the website...
Is it really near BTS?

zenn

Just back from BKK and stayed in Grand Diamond. The hotel is more apartment style and service is gd. However for location wise, Arnoma is better....

shell78

Hi postpet2, Arnoma is beside gayson (brand shops), next to it is Inter-con Hotel then holiday Inn Plaza then is the BTS.. Is abt 5 min walk... I did not stay there but I recommend my friends to stay there & they said is gd...

Heard that GRand Diamond is not bad but it is not very near MRT... But it is near Pantip Plaza (like our Sim Lim)

princessjen

hi ckluv,

I will be stayg at Arnoma on my coming trip to BKK..here's the webby for the hotel : http://www.arnoma.com/2004/
this is highly recommended by my frens in terms of area n near to BTS..

Hi postpet2,

try stay there lah..so near n opp central world plaza..5mins walk to BTS n Erawan Shrine..

Hi Zenn,

hw's yr recent trip to BKK??

zenn

Hi princessjen,

Hey Arnoma looks gd! Aiya shd ve stayed there when I was there... anyway u make a gd choice. Its super convenient!

I only went there 2 days cos following by Hua Hin. Trip was gd. Shop till v tired, seafood n massage there so cheap hehe

sirwin

Hi zenn,

can I ask wat is Hua Hin? mkt or shopping ctr? & which seafood restn/chain did u go? at? I m interested!

Hi Princessjen, Paiseh, I coming here to dig for more info to gather, so once our list is out, let compare, if some plcs tat we gathered r e same, shld be worth e efforts gtg...hee

princessjen

Hi zenn,

Its okie...there's always another time to BKK..
next time u choose to stay at Arnoma lor..
Glad tat u enjoyed yr trip..

Hi win,

Hua Hin is another area in central Thailand..tis place more to beachy/resort/spa kind..pple usually go there R&R..many high end hotels like marriott,hilton & regent are there..hv not been there myself there yet..cos i think long journey by bus...okie..wil let u know once is ready

No problem wil let u know once i m back..btw, when is yr travel date?dun tell me is the popular long holiday period?

zenn

Hi win,
Hua Hin is another part of Thailand. It's 3-4hr drive from BKK...

We went to Kuang Sea Food @ 107/13 Soi Rang Nam, Ops ESSO Gas Station Tel : 026425591 The seafood there are fresh and price is reasonable.

sirwin

okie, nw I can recalled Hua Hin liao, saw e view of tis resort outside 1 of e agency sometimes bck, like koh samui, for R&R.

coolz, ll note dwn e seafood restn addr in my list. thanks zenn.

sirwin

so also in nov though nt fall during e long hol period...so tink there is quite a no. of pples fr sb.com thread gtg in e mth of nov...

pinkforest

Hi wedding9999, i stayed at First Hotel before.. its a pretty old hotel.. unless u dun mind. Overall, i'll give it a 4/10.

If you're on a budget, I would recommend Asia Hotel.. average and convenient.. the skytrain station is linked to the hotel (not sure if this is yr first time to Bangkok.. but i always choose to take the skytrain to beat the traffic jam).

Well, if budget isn't a problem, then take Arnoma Hotel. Pretty new and i think its 4star if i'm not wrong. Everything pretty new inside. Its opp World Trade Ctr, and just 5mins away to skytrain station. Price is slightly higher than Asia Hotel.

Hotel D'Ma & Bayoke Sky Hotel oso not bad but not sure of price. Convenient location too but not near skytrain station lah. Gotta go around by taxi or foot.

wedding9999

Thks pinkforest !

I wanted Asia hotel too but I last min booking for next mth so may not be able to get Asia hotel.

We hv budget & Asia hotel is within our budget.

Aroma hotel too expensive for us.

Hotel D'ma seems pretty far....;p...so is Bayoke Sky & think price also abt same as Aronma.

How abt Baiyoke Suite & Eastin ? Think they also far, right ?

If not near skytrain, so got to take taxi ? Troublesome ?

Easy to go MBK fr Baiyoke Suite & Eastin ? Can walk ? Where can shop ard there ?

Thks so much !

pepsi

Going to confirm my tour booking today...can anyone comment whether Baiyoke Sky or Arnoma is better (coz both are the same price $228 for 3D2N by tiger air)?
Pathumwan princess is $358, more expensive arnoma..is it worthwhile to go for Pathumwan Princess as compared to Arnoma/ Baiyoke? Thks!