Balloting Exercise July - Jurong West

rong

That's great Diana! It really feels good when your cake/cookies turn out well and others enjoy eating.

Here's the banana cake I've made. Recipe can be found in my earlier post.
1208609.jpg
After mixing all ingredients
1208610.jpg
Some banana as deco on top
1208611.jpg
In my 'oven'
1208612.jpg
Done! Banana got 'caramelised'

rumi78

haha yes yes angie. i want. i only need 4 the rest u can give valerie.. the earning of bonus pt is over. But the last date for redemption of cookware/kitchen utensil is 7/10/2009 next wed, while stocks last.

how do i collect from u? haha drop in my mail box when u walk over. if u do. else i go ur house and collect .. haha

alamak333

meirong, your cake looks yummy...
your wok oven seems to be not bad leh...

agnes, when do you need the bonus points? if you need them by tomorrow, then maybe you can come by house to pick up? i will not be home till late tonight but my hubby will be around...

val, i do not need since i have most of the stuffs... so i can pass you some as well
anybody else needs the bonus points?

rumi78

angie. ok i sms u tomorrow in the evening after work or dinner...forgot ur block and unit no too. haha.. i ask u tomorrow again.

rdnest

Hey, me still short of 2, but my dad would b passing them to me this weekend. Ryan, what did u get huh? wok or pot ?

good to use or not?

rumi78

OMG, we realy sound like AUNTIES hahaah..This is the FIRST time I ever collected any bonus points. Last time i just throw them away haha..

wah ryan, sounds like u had spent $500 over the past few mths in Fairprice. U really a shopoholic fan of Fairprice!

i redeemded the 1st 10 for a turner, now i want a skimmer or ladle... I think the pts ah. so so leh..... must check if got rust. a lot of aunties ransacked the entire stock , opening each box , scrutinizing and putting back..The aunties there keep asking me if i got extra bonus pts to give them hahaha. i just smile and said i dun have enuff. haha

I got quite gd WMF pots liao... not sure abt royal vkb brand.. but rmb u still need to top up a sum of money. from $4.95 up to $29.95 for 20 bonus points.

http://www.fairprice.com.sg/wcsstore/FairPrice/images/catalog/webfiles/index.htm

beachgirlz

ya i got 20points earlier too n exchanged for a ladle n a skimmer. now wan exchange for another ladle. initially wanted to get the pot but hor quality not very good leh. some parts rusty or got scratches so i tink v fast will rust for those scratched areas. no pt wasting 20 or 30 plus for such a pot.

rdnest

1208947.jpg

quality no good huh??!!
aiyo, me still think to get the wok leh.
ah lao want to use it to fry rice.
pan fry not so good in frying rice/bee hoon...

how? Ryan no comment ah?

beachgirlz

i tink its not gd la cos i saw some parts rusty n scratched. if kena water sure rust even more. and the steel also doesn seem veri solid to me. and the way i saw the aunties 'choosing'.. i think must have reason lor right hahaha. diana u can go take a look b4 u decide lor. if not can get the ladles, skimmers etc. ladles is useful for ur bak kut teh ;)

alamak333

ha ha ha, we are so aunty.... my hubby was laughing at me... so happy about the bonus points... anyways, i have 12 so agnes 4, val 4, i have 8 more to give... anybody who wants.. let me know

rumi78

Hey diana,

I think is better u get a better quality wok. I bought a Meyer 36cm Chinese wok from Robinsons during their sale (5% rebate some more for member). It's more ex than the royal one. but is nonstick coated for easy cleaning & is much lighter! Is worth it , much better than scrubbing away the food stuck on the wok and the rusting portion.

wahh u all realy buy a lot from Fairprice. how u all get so many bonus points??

rdnest

thanks Val. Shall get my ahlao go see for himself :p but i guess he will just buy. if spoit/rust liao, then throw lor... sigh, he more chin chai

Angie, me will go attend the lesson on ur behalf too :D if can take pic, sure take alots to share wif u. will update u if there is another such lesson

beachgirlz

yea ask him go see lor. cos i feel its not those cheaper ones at Giant or so, its supposed to be 100+ gd quality de and now is selling us at 30 or 45 which is not very cheap either so hor such quality i cannot accept haha.

agnes how much is ur wok? i hv a very small one which is hard to fry veg not that i fry veg often la lol. but if i wanna get a better wok one day i can consider urs. hehe.

alamak333

hihi, one thing when getting teflon stuffs... must get the high quality teflon coating... or else teflon will flake after some use... so also why some people prefer stainless steel.. with stainless steel, it is supposed to be non-stick if heat is not too high I think

rumi78

my Meyer wok cost $53 + discount.. hmm i thought i keyed in the price just now haha...36cm is not too small not too big, just right. most imptly is light, nonstick and easy to wash..the cover is not see through glass just a light opaque steel cover which is light also, anyway i never use the cover before. hahaha i use that to fry my sambal kang kung. yum yum! same here, not that i fry often haha

rdnest

wow sambal kang kong, my fav leh!!
Agnes, must teach me when u free, k?

also, i need to borrow one apron, old old one can le. (else me worry tt may dirt it)
need it to use in coming lesson on sat.
anyone can lend me urs?

beachgirlz

wow 36cm is gd i guess.. mine is lie 12 or 15 cm lol. maybe can fry egg nia. $53 is ok. when i wan buy i go ur hse see then go robinsons hehe.

rumi78

Diana, can borrow from me.

I got a BLACK colour apron.haha.. I have not used it since the last wash but quite crumpled now.. u want to borrow?

Valerie.
wait for robinsons sale. sometime they have a $5 cut out coupon can save more!

rumi78

oh yah.. kang kung quite easy to make leh...i just print the receipe from online and just anyhow fry hahaha. Very nice. BUT SMELLY.. hahaa.. the smell lingers in the house for quite a while. i mean i cooked the belachan sambal kang kung

rdnest

thanks agnes! shall sms u tmr or fri evening to borrow tt apron.

me find youtube very informative. it has lots of egg tart making videos. great for reference when reading recipe.

me go find got sambal kang kong or not :p

ryanon123

agnes, which type of sambal sauce did you buy? i usually buy the singlong belacan sambal .. last week sunday times i think got a recipe on egg tarts. i can't remember well but i think i cut it out.

20x bonus point not that hard la.. that time i have steamboat i went there buy everything so collect quite fast. i change for the non stick wok w/ cover ... saw that it is the most worthwhile in terms of discount so i got that lo... not sure about the quality etc but i supposed the better quality is always heavier cos the stainless steel they use is thicker. meyer / tefal etc brands their wok is usually lighter because you can see they cut down on the thickness. if you compare the same brand with different model, the heavier one is always the most expensive.. and actually i already got a wok la.. but then still got it so it's now like still mint wrapped in my kitchen. dunno when will open and use.. maybe 5 years later when the one i'm using now is spoilt? ha ha (mine is meyer now i think)

i got one small tefal one to make eggs.. but i also don't use it cos i find it too small liao.. ha ha very hard to flip .. so i got another bigger tefal i think 16 cm type ... still ok.. then find it too small if i want to cook pasta ... so i got another wmf one i think 24 or 28cm.. funny...

when i got that wmf 28cm saucepan.. i think it's not worth it to buy 1 by itself.. so i got the whole 7 pcs set.. ha ha...

add it to my collection of already 2 zebra 16 and 24 cm pots.. i think can frame them up liao.

val, i think the auntie open and close many box is just very typical them la... it has nothing to do with the quality etc if one is already very nice they will still want to open a few box to be sure it's the best. HA HA.

rumi78

fri evening i only back at abt 930pm..let me know when u want to collect.

haha i am very ambitious.. but so long still not baked anything!

ryanon123

dunno what to eat later... everytime walk around JP looking for dinner very sian ... probably go ntuc buy carrot, potates, corns and spare rib.. throw them all in the soup with chicken stock. + rice can eat liao.. simple one easy .. 15 mins work.

rumi78

ehh no leh. i buy the pure belachan in a rectangular cube + add dried shrimps + those grounded pack of chilli (that is pre fried by my mum)..
VERY NICE hahhaha but very smelly due to the pure belachan haha

rumi78

yah i agree JP got NOTHING to eat.......

wahh so fast i take so long to cook soup..

dice the carrots, potatoes, sweet corns, chicken meat. mushrooms.. wahh.. i think i take 30 mins or more....

how i wish everything is pre-cut... just rinse and throw in..

i use dashi no moto (Japanese fish stock) the brand without MSG as a soup base. is a base used for cooking miso soup as well and cooking various japanese dishes... ur chicken stock got msg or not?

alamak333

agnes, i used those small metal tart shells to make the egg tarts... but you can probably use your muffin tin if the hollows not too deep... you can also buy those disposable aluminium shells.. unfortunately, i don't have those metal shells now.. if not can lend to you... will send you the recipe when i get home today

beachgirlz

ryan.. cos i also looked at a few pots n woks la.. so i know why lor hahaha. i don wan to rummage ard like them so i gave up looking for a gd one so i got the ladles instead hehe.

ya u cook so fast?? then how long u take to boil ur soup b4 its ready to eat?? just dicing n shaving i take like half hr.. then boil take another half to 1 hr.. by then no need to eat le hahahaha.

beachgirlz

ya la everytime i go back my hse, i will tink of wad to eat at jp.. so sian. nothing much unless u eat at restaurants.

angie i also wan the egg tart recipe hehehe. tks!

rdnest

15 mins? that's fast leh!
me berie lazy to peel & cut & wash
so tapao... bery bad for children actually
but my boy eats anything so mummy oso chin chai.
Meimei drinks milk :p

Agnes, no worries abt the timing
I'll come by when u r convenient. sms u k

FYI, youtube dun hv video on frying sambal kang kong. shall we make one ourselves? hehehe...

ryanon123

got so long meh? lol... i think the chicken stock i use got msg.. the maggie brand... next time i will look for this japanese type w.o msg.. hee

rumi78

JP too many resturants liao.. too ex to day every other day.. food court also ex and not relay nice. waiting for new kopitiam to be renovated hope for nicer food.

if u all dun mind to detour, there is quite a popular (many pple) food court just beside Pioneer mrt. Eat there or da bao form there but got to take train back to boon lay stn. haha,else go to sheng siong.. (also sianz)..

Angie, alum shell easier but quite ex in the long run right, now that phoon huat is no longer around jurong east, where can i get cheap baking stuff nearby?

rumi78

ryan.. u got to order that no-msg brand dashi no moto from ME hahaha

those small packets sold at supermarker usually got msg. this one i mentioned is big pack.. they sell it to jap restaurants.. so u cant see smaller pack being sold here.

my jap cooking teacher recommended us to buy that brand. but need to buy at least 1 box and buy from the warehouse...
is 1 KG. we can split the amt equally by x pple.......
i split the 1 kg (500g x 2 packs) amg my mother & sister currently. can use to cook porridge soup, marinate chicken meat , make dashi stock whatever.. most impt no msg.. haha.. and taste good too.

ryanon123

once again, 4 units at our area is launched for sale by HDB today.

Blk 677A, #07-269 $344,000
Blk 677A, #16-269 $353,600
Blk 677C, #04-279 $332,200
Blk 678A, #14-315 $346,600
Blk 678D, #12-351 $355,700

You can do a flash estimate of how much your flat is worth, resale value should be about $30,000 to $40,000 on top of HDB price.

Strangely, #12-351 although lower than #14-315 is selling $10,000 more. They must had profit for the 7-11 which is at that block. Hee

rdnest

Wow, Ryan, u super fast leh!
(but got 5 units offered,nt 4 rite :p)
me still browsing the site on tt pinacle flats
So small & ex... sigh... Think no chance to stay in/near central liao

rumi78

actualy is not necessary that higher floor always commands higher price. The valuator should look at the amenities nearby, the blocking facing (afternoon sun or north south facing?), facing the street or open space/pool. In resale market, pple look at ur condition of the unit, how well u maintained it.. the renovatoin. some pple think nice enuff no need to do major reno.. cut cost so can ask for higher COV..

wow. realy going to make profit. I got mine <240 leh hahaah. but I prefer to rent out in future.. if got money to buy condo. haha. though getting further out of reach due to the crazy prices.