Bali

lovelytulips

considering to go bali for our short honeymoon in sep. it is ok to start booking now? oso, is sep a gd month to go? duno whether there will be any bad weather etc........

jarbebe, please email me your pics? [email protected]

paulineda

I'm back from my 5D4N honeymoon in Bali. I'm glad I have chosen Bali as our honeymoon destination as it is indeed an enchanting place for honeymooners.

We stayed 2 nights at Mecure Kuta Hotel and 2 nights at Maya Ubud Resort & Spa. Both are great in terms of scenery, location & service. Mecure Kuta is located right in front of Kuta beach and we can view the beautiful waves at the beach from our room at the 4th level! Maya Ubud Resort & Spa is situated above the river valley and right in the midst of mother nature. The view is simply breathtaking! We had a deluxe pool villa of our own so we simply spent the whole day relaxing and enjoy the tranquility! Both are convenient places as we walked down the streets of Legian for shopping from Mecure Kuta and Maya Ubud has free shuttle to bring us to Ubud Central within 5-10 mins. Service is good for both as well as the hotel staff are very friendly and accommodating.

Dewa is a nice driver too. I'm glad to have him as our driver and guide as he brought us to a few factory outlets and wholesale centres for shopping!

In a nutshell, both my hubby and I have enjoyed ourselves very much in Bali. Simply no regrets although we spent about $3.5K in total. =)

lovelytulips

hi de snowyz,

3.5k is alot!!!! how much was the accomodation at maya ubud??

considering going bali for my honeymoon also, but dont know if i should start doing my homework and book now.

cjs

Can anyone recommend where should I stay if I want to explore Bali nicely? Seemed like Ubud and Kuta are pretty popular places isn't it? Any nice hotels to recommend? My budget is in the range of S$70 - 90/night. Thanz!

CJS,

u like beaches or the hills? if like seaview n shopping then kuta n other beaches is ur choice....if like hills n peacefulness then ubud is the place
or u can do both...stay few days at each place...all depends on ur preferences

charleon

I'm wondering if anyone can give me ideas on where to stay? I'm keen to stay in Ubud. Will be there from Jul 17 for 4 nights.

Tried booking the Bali Spirit but it's full... My budget is $80-$100 per night. Thanks!

sarah24

I went to Bali for my honeymoon cum post wedding photoshoot. It was Dec 2006, the weather was HOT HOT HOT but so was the service!
We booked a package through Facinating hols and since it was our HM decided to spurge a bit. we stayed at The Bale, Nusa Dua.
PLus pts: The Bale is a nice small boutique hotel, service was impeccable. They arranged for flowers for my photoshoot, called our cabs, has a private cleam beach, all no problem
Minus pt: Nusa dua is really quite far fr everything, had to cab to places daily, quite ex.
So if you are keen to explore, do stay at Kuta/Ubud. If you want lots of privacy and pampering Bale is good for you.
Pls do visit Ku de Ta, the sunset is gorgeous, food so so thou.
We got the cards of the cab drivers we took and called them up to book their services for the whole day. Very friendly pple esp when HB kept announcing to everyone we were newlyweds : P
Thumbs up for Bali

lovelytulips

I'm looking at booking kajane in sep 07. anyone with any comments for this villa?

and, also interested to book a driver. Dewa seems good according to you gals. do i contact him direct? any quotes from you in order to get better rates?

lovelytulips

thanks midas, i'll forward you once i firm up the details....

btw, a friend of mine suggested taking those brouchures from the airport and calling them about their itineries. any pros or cons about those?

lovelytulips,

pros wld be u might get a driver at lower rates..cons wld be there is no guarantee of service will be gd lor.

for me, i took one of the Spa pkgs from the brochures i pick up from airport...service was gd..so its like hit or miss thing lah.

lovelytulips

hi midas,

thanks for the advice. guess i'm more towards finding someone reliable to drive around. more comfortable with that....

just heard from friends that they heard about a 'travel advsiory' as in the aust mentioned that there may be bombing in bali in 1 or 2 mth's time. now thinking whether to go......

lovelytulips,
yes, it was in the news last nite...but hor once they announce like tat means the terrorist no more chance liao coz everyone will be alert n they more difficult to carry out their task..

u can stay away from kuta beach lor during the nite...coz alot of angmo there..ur hotel is in ubud rite?

lovelytulips

hi midas,
i'm thinking of staying 2 nites ubud and 2 nites kuta. then can have the best of both worlds...

dare not book right now, will wait for a few more days to see if there is any more news... but what u say is pretty right.

villahaven, thanks for the webby...

lovelytulips

ha... true. but guess what, heard from friend that SQ flights are fully booked for that period.

wait can go but no flights for me....
hahah

shin_yan

Hi lovelytulips,

I just returned from my honeymoon trip in Bali and had stayed at Kajane for 7 nights. I would like to share my experience at this villa.
I am really satisfied with everything it offered, the service was excellent. They did their best in accommodating us and will always put on a friendly smile whenever they greeted us. Prompt room service too!
I booked into Beji villa located nearer to the entrance. The room was spacious, clean and well decorated, with flowers on the bed when we arrived. It has private pool (3x9m), open-air garden bathtub, separate shower and toilet. Two thumbs up!
Our package include massage, spa treatment and candlelight dinner. Everything was excellent!
Kajane is right in the middle of Monkey Forest Road and is accessible by foot to the Monkey Forest and Ubud Market. There is this Ubud restaurant along Monkey Forest Road that offered cheaper food as compared to others in the vicinity. We went there for dinner almost every night.
Overall i had no qualms about staying at Kajane and would recommend it to all honeymooners to Bali.

lovelytulips

hi SK,

i see u here too... hahha....

shin yen, do you have the rates cos i think the webby doesnt show the rates. i suppose u went for those honeymoon packages? btw, do they provide transfers for u? photos too, if possible. thanks.

alone

Hi, i just came from Bali yesterday. I booked SQ flight in early Apr for 4pp cost ard 1.4k. Then booked hotel accomodation at Sahid Raya. It's pretty near to Kuta Beach, just across the road. It's not really near to the shopping area of Kuta, needs to walk say 10-20min? Didnt keep track of the time, just slowly stroll to enjoy the scene and it was lovely. Booked Sahid Raya with a travel agency and tt time, there was a promotion, so only cost me 90 per rm per nite! Afforadable and comes with free breakfast and hotel transfer!
The overall experience is ok, got pretty worried when on monday the day of my departure, saw on papers abt Aust govet issusing travel warning. Things look peaceful there with alot of foreigners on the beach. There are security guards there too and they scanned the cars too (but sometimes they didnt check all cars).

One word of caution, when u arrived at the airport, if any officer try to push your luggage for you, do not let them help. They fakely helped me push to the customs and asked me to opem one handcarry bag for them to check and then pushed me to the money exchange to change $. Then i said no need then he asked me for svc charge. Then my bf returned as he went away for awhile, maybe that's why they picked me as target!!!! Angry. Coz i didnt want trouble, so i said gave lor although my bf didnt want. They wanted US dollars which we didnt have, so they said SIN dollars. My bf gave $2 but they so greedy, said $10. I gave then he said his friend too, so i had to give $20! I scared not to give as I am in Indonesia not S'pore, what to do?? Sobsob. What kind of svc for $20??? Shameless crooks.

Although this makes my first day experience badm we still throughly enjoyed my PS at Pura Tanah Lot and Blue Point for my PS and the scenary is simply fabulous.

When flying back home from Airport, remember to keep Rup100k for airport tax per pax. If possible, do your shopping in the city and not airport. Things are more exp say 2-2.5 times more. If u wanna use $, it's not advisable, coz i changed at 0.58 but they changed at 0.4 there.....Wow....so unfavouable.

shin_yan

Hi Wasabi and lovelytulips,

You can view the photos at the tripadvisor website:
http://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g297701-d567269-r7343387-Kajane_Mua-Ubud_Bali.html
Also you can read about their reviews. They provide useful info.

I paid about USD1300 for 7 nights stay in Kajane villa. Took the special honeymoon package which include 5 hours spa, 30 minutes foot massage and candlelight dinner. Airport transfers were not included in the package but i requested it for free on the basis on 7 nights stay with them. They gladly gave me.
Do email them directly, think they will try to provide you the best rate. Do note mine is off peak season rate. They charger higher for peak season from mid jul onwards...according to them, they are fully booked during peak season in aug. I am not sure about sep,oct though.

olengjuz

LT > Did you book your package online or thru travel agency? If agency, which one is better?

Wonder how much is the diff. Would you engage personal driver?

lovelytulips

hi SK, i have not booked my package but found some travel agencies quite ok.. as in the prices. but some i called, they say the prices arent out yet.....

i think i will engage a driver. think more efficient ba.... and u know there is someone there.....

seminyak9

I am also thinkin of goin to Bali for my HM in Dec...wonder if it is a good time to go or if the travel advisory is timely..sigh

Also the tix for jetstar always reach at strange timing...anyone got good tix??

hislove

Hi deanna chua,
I oso going in oct for my HM.
when u going?
staying where?
Not monsoon rite?
Got some frens warn me saying that period is monsoon..
but i check some websites they say Oct is a gd time to go.. super confused now..
Me oso going on SQ, 15 Oct. staying at seminyak..
a relatively new villa resort

bride2bee

Hi Shin Yan,

Im very interested in Kajane. Is it possible for you to share some pic with us?

Hi Jess,

Which resort at seminyak are you looking at? What are the rates? Care to share?

deannachua

hi jess

- me going 11 to 16 Oct.
- staying at aston legend at sanur. Also quite new villa. Pic on website look nice so I hope it is nice lor. http://www.astonlegendsanur.com/
- no lar, not monsoon but problem is, it is adil fitri (?? spelling) and a big indonesian holiday so I heard that is will be VERY VERY crowded in bali .... so sad coz already book and cannot change plans

hislove

Hi Deanna,
13th oct is Hari raya
so ur first 2 days of ur trip maybe affected
but Bali is predominantly Hinduism & their native religion.. so maybe not so bad
Mayb crowded like wat u say coz their holiday

Hi wasabi,
i'm staying at Aston Sun Villas.
I bought at a package deal with Diners travel at NATAS fair

deannachua

hi jess,

not the balinese. its the rest of indonesia who will converge to bali because they have 1 week holiday after ramadan. this is from 14 Oct to 20 Oct. Jammed packed situation confirmed

hey, we staying at the same hotel group - aston. yours in seminyak, mine in sanur. is yr package good?

hislove

hi deanna,
Really ah? Bali will be crowded? I staying Kuta/ Seminyak area.. sure super crazy..
oh really? same hotel grp? i didn't noe. hehe..
My package not bad..
Hotel will upgrade us when we told them we're honeymooners.
I think we paid abt $1500 for 2 persons.
4D3N, SQ, transfers, got spa for 2 & BBQ dinner
What about u?

deannachua

hhmm, I going for 6D/5N,
Abt $2K. SQ, transfers but nothing else.

Hope not as crowded as pple say. but frens were there last year, they say traffic so bad. 1+ hr to get from airport to kuta. faint.

olengjuz

Fwah..looks like going in Sep seems better timing. I check the internet rate in asiarooms and rate seems cheaper in Oct. Thot it should be more expensive since it's their peak season (+ holiday)?

hislove

Hi deanna,
wah.. really ah?? the traffic so bad?
thot from airport to KUta only take like 15 min?
according to my resort website..
my goodness..
hope it's not crowded man!

Hi SK,
really?
the rates are cheaper?
interesting..
so u going in sep?

deannachua

Hi SK

Sometimes asiarooms rates not updated coz they not the"instant confirmation" type. Usually the hotel websites and those "instant confirmation" websites rates are more accurate.

Hi Jess
Also hear people say only so not sure. I also hope not so bad coz I want relaxing holiday
. I check the bali travel forum site, also like my fren reported. Good thing is our villas quite private, not the HUGE 5 star international type. Imagine Q-ing for bfast with hundreds of folks. And pool full of kids like pasir ris / ntuc resort ~ shudder ~

hislove

Hi SK,
yup! I booked my package already.

HI Deanna,
I jus got news from 2 locals.
I got 2 colleagues from Bali.
They said that period ok leh.. not that crowded.
They strongly advise me to hang out at Kuta. haha..
They said will be fun.. that's the place which will be crowded.
Then they said Seminyak where I stay is boring.. haha.. more for quiet honeymoon stay. Which is gd for me lor.
Like ur villa, private kind.

ngfifi

I wonder is any1 here is gg to Bali for holis soon?

I need a very big favour for those whom r gg as i wld like to purchase a cake from Uma Sapna which is situated at Seminyak

This cake means a lot to me so wld really appreciate if sum1 cld help me to bring it bk to Sg

olengjuz

Most flights are fully booked to Bali. Don't want to spend so much when that amount of $ can bring me to other places. Sigh.

SK,
hv u tried looking at those flights tat transit at jakarta? some of them not ex..juz troublesome to transit...think qantas n garuda has such flights.

lovelytulips

SK, garunda transits at jarkarta. earliest i heard is 7am depart sin, reach bali ard nn. another one think depart nn, reach ard late afternn. the 7am flight seems ok... not much transit time... cos most flights to bali are late.....

so, is oct a good month to go bali? mite need to change my plans.... do they have monsoon period?