Bali

Can someone help me?
I'm looking at a 4D/3N trip to Bali and has shortlisted Alila.
Has anyone been to Alila Ubud? Nice?
Or can recommend any other resort within the same price range?
As it's gg to be a F&E trip, any recomendation on the day tours?

Hi Jules,
May I know where did you manage to get the quotes USD680 for 4N at the kajane mua villa in ubud?

Do you guys think it's possible to DIY the trip if i want to leave by this weekend?

hi T&P,

ur DIY is meaning self-drive or private driver guided tour? if its the later, i can help with a reliable driver contact...if its self-drive then sorry no experience to share..u can see my blog for a sample itinerary for Bali though:

http://midas400.multiply.com/journal/item/3

Hi Midas,

I meant pte driver tour.
But i dun think i'll want to go to lots of places, this trip mostly to bum..so a good hotel is very impt. haha..
Can you email me pls?

How abt the resorts/hotels, any recommendations?
Now I'm looking at hanging gardens too..

hi T&P,

i'm not sure wat u really need for ur trip so here's the email contact for the driver...

u tell him 'miss Sam from spore' recommended u to him n ask for his best price...

as for hotel i stayed in 3star type(USD56 per nite only)...not those tat u r looking for so no lobangs for tat

u probably can ask the driver for recommendations though..he knows the place very well
he got lotsa ang moh customers who may hv stayed in such high end resorts b4...

clar

Has anyone got any weather forecast infor in March or May-June period or when is teh best weather to go to Bali to share with me??

Hi Midas,

Thanks for the contact!
I just confirmed my bookings with Alila..=)
Judging from hb response, i think he jus wanna bum in the resort..so maybe I'll just see what the hotel has to offer for short tours.

hi T&P,

no problem...u can still call him while u r there..in case u feel like going out for some shopping at Kuta or go HRC. i highly recommend u go Jimbaran beach for sunset seafood dinner

his mobile is +62-8123970779 (we call him Dewa)

458676.jpg

Hi Midas,

Thanks! I'll keep his contacts! =)
Where else should I go? the must see venues?
The sunset seafood u recommended, are there lots of resturants to choose? If yes, which is good? Ex or not?
For 5D, u think it's enuff to change USD 200 and Rp equivalent to SGD200? The rest of the charges I intend to use credit card.

Re. the power supply & socket, is it the same as singapore?
Thanks again!

Hi Midas,

The cabby rite, does he do short drives? Eg say i only need someone to drive me somewhere and pick me up later? Or he only does day tours?
How are his rates? Go by meter or must nego 1st?
Thanks again

solargirl

hi midas,

about the driver rite, if we book him for few days he will jus wait for us the whole day even when we eat at dinner, he too will wait for us?
like no privacy leh

solargirl

btw, anyone know what the standard usually travel agency rate? to travel to bali for 3D2N free & easy>?

i wonder will its cost me a alot if i go each place , duno there any entry fee or charge?

hi T&P,

i hv a sample itinerary on my blog:

http://midas400.multiply.com/journal/item/3

u can tailor ur itinerary with the driver...even halfway change ur mind want to go elsewhere also ok one

as for the Jimbaran beach seafood dinner, it cost us less then SGD50 for a meal with a whole red snapper(300g), big tiger prawns, sotong, vege, fried rice...we din know there's white rice n pickles included so we over ordered :p overall the price we paid is cheaper than ordering the same stuffs from our local tse char stalls at coffee shops
the restaurant is recommended by our driver...its called Sharkeys restaurant..

i think the currency u intended to bring is more than enuf for 5 days use
we also sign card for our Hardrock purchase coz more ex..

as for the power socket hor...they use the two-round pin plugs..

the driver rates is by the hours one...u call up n nego an agreed price b4 he comes over to fetch u..he does short drives i think but i'm not sure about the rates though.

hi solargirl,

oh dun worry about the driver when u dine...he leaves u alone during meal times n chat with other drivers at the carpark while u guys enjoy ur meals at the restaurants

Hi Midas,

I have contacted Dewa and he quoted me Rp340k for a 9 hr day tour. Ok rite?
But i think i may not have so much time, may only want a 1/2day. Now waiting for him to reply on his rates.

Oh ya, btw the spa you went to for the 5hrs treatment, is it USD90+ per pax or per couple?

Thanks so much for your help!

Hi Midas,

the rates he quoted me shld be for per trip rite? Not per pax rite?
Hee....

How long does it take to travel from Ubud to Jimbaran?

Thanks again!

hi T&P,

rp340k sounds ok...i was qouted rp350k last time
yes, the rates is per trip not per pax...if u can find another couple to join u then u pay half only..from ubud to Jimbaran takes about 1-1.5hrs depending on traffic

the 5hrs spa pkg is USD90+ per pax...converts to about SGD140+ per pax for full 5hrs service...very worth it
actually Dewa helped us to get a further discount on the listed prices on top of the 20% for direct booking with the spa...

jenzhuzhu

I was being intro to Dewa as well. However, dun find the rates reasonable and i joined the Quick Silver cruise which i find it a bit deceiving as its nt reali fun and ex (paid USD70/pax)

Try to talk to the local taxi driver as most driver offers a package cheaper

We were offered rp300K when i was there for my HM for the day trip

Juz my 2 cents of worth for those considering Dewa svc

jennife,

not sure about the Quick Silver tie-up thingy...coz i already knew cruises r waste of time b4 my trip. we got the private driver is also due to Ubud area does not allow 'outside' Taxi drivers to pick up passengers from ubud area..the 'king' tat governs ubud province reserves all rights for ubud residents who earn a living driving private taxis..its either we go there then find taxis or we book private drivers. but if u r staying at kuta beach then yes u can 'shop' for a reasonable deal coz lotsa taxis on the streets...my fren was charged SGD80 per day by the kuta taxi driver there..

juz my 1cents...

bortei

hi ppl
i'm planning a trip to Bali.

Really appreciate the advise from the Bali experts here.

- What's the difference between staying at Jimbaran and Nusa Dua?
- Anyone stayed at Hyatt or Conrad Bali before?
- Seems like Hard Rock Bali is quite a popular choice too.

hi bortei,

i've nvr stayed at Jimbaran or Nusa Dua b4 but my fren who stayed at Nusa Dua complained tat there is nothing much to do outside the hotel as the whole stretch of the beach is juz high-end hotels...no shopping etc.

if u r first timer in Bali...i suggest u stay at Kuta beach instead..its the most happening beach in Bali...Hardrock is at Kuta..there's shopping, restaurants, spa everywhere in kuta.

but if u prefer peace n quite...Nusa Dua is the place to go

tsubame

Intending to go Bali in March, 1st time going, so looking for advise too.

- Realised the flights going are all in the late afternoon/evenings?

- Regarding Day Tours, can we go there then book? Or must it be booked b4 going?

- My friend recommended staying in Ubud, because she finds Kuta too touristy. Is there shopping in Ubud? Hubby and I are not bum around type, we were bored stiff in seaside resort, so there must be some activity in the evenings.

Thanx!

hi Cat,

- i stayed in Ubud during my last trip...its a nice cultural town..quieter than Kuta definately. but u may find it boring coz there's nothing much at nite (most shops closes after 6pm..accept restaurants). if u wan happening then stay at beaches better...the more touristy the more happening lor. n more intl. shops at kuta (like Hardrock etc.)...shopping in Ubud is juz buying handycrafts stuffs like wood carvings n paintings etc. got some small boutiques tat sells balinese designed fashion also lor..really nothing much lah.

- SQ flys to Bali 3 times a day...morning, afternoon n evening..diff prices.

- private day tours can also book after u r in Bali..

hope tat helps..

my bali blog: http://midas400.multiply.com/journal/item/3

tsubame

Hi midas,

Thanks. Think we will go for Legian or Kuta accomodations. Friend says the mosquitoes there real big?

Checked SQ but my dates only got evenings. Anyway, cheapest is still Jetstar, also get there in evening. Garuda no return flights available for my return date.

That's why wondering if can book tours only when reach there since evening already, else the following day no program.

Anyone tried White Water Rafting in Bali? Is it safe for 1st-timer?

hi cat,

our hotel puts mosquito coils in our room everyday..so not so much mozzies attacks while i was there..got bitten a bit bit only. hubby din hv the problem at all

nvr tried White Water Rafting at Bali...i was thinking go Australia then try coz their river will be more exciting..also dun go those cruises tat say can see dolphins or whatever..waste money. a lot of pple go liao complian nothing to see (accept the sea..) hehehe..

tsubame

Hi midas,

Finally booked my flight. Going with Garuda in the end, going there in evening, coming back in afternoon flight. So only 3 full days there, don't think got time for white water rafting.

Was going to do it in Cairns, but low water when we went, not available. Anyway, will concentrate 3 days on sightseeing and shopping on last day b4 leaving for airport.

Will email Dewa and see if he is available. The full day tours on his baliexplore website looks okay. We can ask him the skip the sights we are not interested in right?

bortei

hi Midas
thanks for yr info!

hi Cat when are you leaving? I planning 26th april - 4 day 3 nights, but haven't book yet lei.

Hi Midas,

I'm back from Bali. Alila is beautiful...it's true what they say...u wun wanna leave the resort much..haha..but it's only for those who likes peacefulness. It's very quiet and tranquil..at night, you don't see guests walking round or hang out at the lounge for drinks. No kids at all in Manggis and only a few very cute ones in Ubud.

I got Dewa to drive us around for a day, cost us Rp340k for 9hrs and USD4/hr thereafter. Very nice and friendly guy, accomodating too..instead of seeing the volcanoe, he recommended us the twin lakes instead and the waterfall somewhere nearby.
My next trip back to Bali, I'll definitly ring Dewa up..may even get him to organize my whole trip there as he has good hotel room rates too.
The only thing I didn't like was this resturant he brought us to for lunch...it was mainly for tourist, which I didnt mind, but that place was full of huge flies...i didn't dare to eat much..but no choice have to eat there, cos I only noticed the giant flies after I started at the buffet table and we were running behind schedule, so no time to drive to another place to eat.

We went to Jimbaran for seafood dinner at Sharkeys..the food was bad and the pple dishonest. I think u can find much better bbq seafood at any bbq store in sg. No kidding..We saw customers who had picked fresh prawns..only to have they left the order area. Tsk tsk..i also dunno if my lobster was the one we picked. My squid also came much much smaller. and worse thing is, all the food tasted the same, burnt and tasteless. Even the sambal chilli didn't help to "perk" up the dishes.
They have shifted along the stretch of beach, as the place you went to was closed for construction. Now, there's only Sharkeys, no other seafood resturants. So maybe the standard dropped lots since ur visit since there's no competition now.

I strongly advised others who are gg to Bali to give this place a miss and go somewhere else instead. While the seafood is relatively cheap compared to Sg, I think it's not worth the trip with the bad quality of cooking. Just my two cents worth.

It's true you can prob find drivers who are around Dewa's rates or even cheaper when you are in Bali..but somehow I don't feel very good getting a cabby from the road or any agency..I prefer to use someone through recommendation. Feels safer..and more trustworthy. heee...=)

hi T&P,

u r back....glad to hear u enjoyed ur bali trip

so sad to hear about standard drop at Sharkey's..we ate until we dropped during our last trip there leh. did u feedback to Dewa about it?

hey, u got pix to share? i curious about the twin lake place leh...maybe get Dewa to take us there if we go Bali again

Cat, the private tour can skip places u dun wanna go...or insert places from another itinerary tat u interested to go..100% customisable

oh, by the way, rp300k and rp350k is actually SGD8+ difference only...i rather trust the 'word of mouth' recommendations than getting some strangers from the streets hehehe...

tsubame

Hi midas,

No reply from Dewa yet.
How?

I prefer recommedations too. At least got references. If not lucky, your choice off the streets will ruin the whole holiday that you paid for. Not worth it.

Bortei, I'm going 13-17 March. Flight confirmed, now deciding hotel. Choosing between:
1) All Seasons Legian Hotel
2) Casa Padma Hotel & Suites
3) Wina Hotel
All in the Legian area, and nearby to shops.

scrumpee01

We just came back from Bali too. We stayed in Alila Ubud, another boutique hotel by the people who managed Alila Manggis. Beautiful resort to stay in. We spent US$780+++ for the 4D3N Spa Indulgence package for 2 pax.

T&P,
we went to Jimbaran beach for seafood as well, there are alot of Seafood stalls there leh...not just Sharkeys. We are spoilt for choice on which stalls to choose. The food was all grilled but it tasted great.

Hi Srumpee,

Darn..so Dewa lied to us? Cos he said the whole stretch closed for renovation...so left Sharkeys...

When did u come back? Maybe we were at Alila Ubud at the same time? U stayed at Manggis? We stayed 2N there too. Prefer Ubud much more..so pretty ya..

Hi Midas,

Pics not ready yet. But the twin lakes are really nice..it's up in the mountain and at the place where Dewa stopped to let us take pics..it was very misty cos we were in the clouds! Will share the pics with u when they are ready. The hb is doing all that..

d1amonds

hi Srumpee and T&P,
I'm also planning to go to Ubud in April. How did u all book ur hotel package? Straight with the hotel or thru internet or..?
Mind sharing with me.
Can also PM me. Thanks!!

bortei

hi Cat
initially i'm thinking of Nusa Dua, but my frends said the area is rather quiet and my hubby prefers some night shopping.

so now i'm thinking of Legian too.

I'm looking at Hotel Padma Bali.

Anyone stayed there before? can i walk to Kuta shopping area from this hotel?

hi T&P,

tats weird...Sharkey's is located along the same stretch of Jimbaran beach..there's many restaurants on the left n right side of Sharkey's. its difficult for Dewa to lie tat all the rest closed for reno leh...did u go there b4 sunset or after? if its dark then maybe u dun notice tat Sharkeys only occupies a maybe 50-100m of the stretch only. nvrm lah, nxt time u dun go back there lor..

Cat, can u PM me ur travel dates n details? i help u email Dewa..he usually replies his emails everyday one...but he has many email accounts though.

tsubame

Hi bortei, my colleague also advised against Nusa Dua. Better not.

T&P, given what happened regarding Sharkeys, now I'm a bit apprehensive regarding Dewa...

Midas, Dewa replied. He has 2 rates:
- Susuki Apv 2005 Rate @.375,000/day/9hours
- Toyota Kijang Rate @.325,000/day/9hourstour
I supposed you took the Toyota?

People who have been with Dewa, can kindly advise if the Toyota is okay as I am prone to motion sickness if ventilation is not good, and/or the ride is jerky. Don't wanna spend the trip being carsick...

hi Midas,

We went right at sunset. There was a stretch closed for renovation on the left. But as it was drizzling, we didn't check out the beach on the right..maybe there really was some other resturants or maybe there wasn't...nvm..i'll just rem never to go Sharkeys again!

Hi Mulberry,
I booked my trip with Holiday Tours. I'm the lazy tourist..dun like the hassel of booking air-tics and accomodation myself..also, it's almost the same prices if I book the rooms myself thru the hotel/buy tics from SIA, so might as well get the agent to do all for me. Holiday Tours/Jetabout from the same co. and they have pretty good rates.
I think Srumpee prob booked direct with Alila cos I saw the package on their webby.
If you are keen to book the rooms urself, most resorts/hotels can do so online. U can check out other sites such as zuji too.

Hi Cat,
I took the Susuki APV and it cost me 340k for 9hrs. But I understand different season, different rates. I think the toyota Kijang should be pretty good for 2 pax. If I rem correctly, Alila uses that car as their cabby. Not too sure..have to check with hubby thou..if it's the same, then shouldn't be too jerky. DO NOT BOOK ANY Susuki Jimmy if u decide to rent a car yourself or get a cab from another driver..sure car sick! Dunno if Dewa has a susuki Jimmy cos he offered us another susuki at a cheaper price of 300k. When we asked if it's a susuki jimmy he just replied yes..but he sounded a bit blurz...so dunno if we were toking abt the same car. haha

tsubame

Hi T&P, thanks for your reply. Looks like Dewa is charging me rather high for his service. I don't think they have seasonal rates... Is this a sign that we might not suit...?

BTW, do most guides provide the sarong required to visit the temples? Or will we have to rent it every time we visit one?

sarongs can be rented at the tourist sites...but hor, i find tat all Balinese temples look alike so i wld suggest u dun go to too many coz u'll get bored after seeing the same things for a while

tsubame

Hi midas, you've got mail.

Don't think will be visiting Besakih. Even travel guides warned that it is not a pleasant experience. But want to visit at least: Taman Ayun, Ulun Danu Berata, and Tanah Lot. Is Uluwatu worth a visit?

Hence my question about sarongs, cos read that some guides will provide. What is appropriate wear for temple visiting in Bali? Is sleeveless acceptable? Is headscarf required?

I rather like your itinery, most likely because I'm not interested in same things as you. I can minus out the Git Git waterfall and Kuta shopping, but put in Ubud sightseeing & shopping, and will like to visit the marketplace in Bedugul. We more like to see people and markets, then craftmaking.

Also wanna try Bebek Bengil in Ubud. My sister-in-law also highly recommend it.

hi cat,

i've done a 'reply all' to Dewa...hope he will revise his prices for u

i initially hv Besakih in my itinerary, but Dewa say pple there very rude n entry tix r very ex so he advice dun go better. so i did Taman Ayun, Ulun Danu Berata and Tanah Lot...all worth the visit accept Taman Ayun is a desserted temple..can still walk around n take pix but can't walk into the temple grounds like i did 14yrs ago...but still took a fair bit of pix of Balinese structures there
entry is rp6k per pax i think...about SGD1 only. as for Uluwatu, i din make it coz its one of the 3 famous sunset sites in Bali n i only managed to go Tanah Lot n Jimbaran beach...will do Uluwatu on my nxt visit...heard the monkeys there damn aggressive..Dewa will tell u about it..if u want to see the monkey forest @Ubud hor (monkeys there quite tame), ask Dewa to drive u guys to the back door of the forest..otherwise u'll be subjected to rp10k per pax entry fees

errm if u r not going to any other temples other than above mentioned then no particular dress code...juz wear jeans n t-shirt enuf. can double check with Dewa if sleeveless n shorts ok for Taman Ayun anot. the rest i think no restrictions..

Gd decision for not going to Git Git...aiyo climb the stairs until i wan to die only to see a not so impressive waterfall hehehe. Bebek is highly recommended by me too...but hor their famous crispy duck a bit over-rated lah. sg pple like us ever tried Peking duck one will find the standard lose to chinese cuisine lor...but still tasty though if u wanna try once
there's a roast pig place quite famous in Ubud too..but only opened for lunch...its called Ibu Oka. ask Dewa about it..its a tuckshop kinda dining experience..many ang mohs go there try the roast pig 'babi culing'. we missed tat coz we only found out they not open during dinner time...so tis place also KIV till my nxt visit

tats all for now...if u got more qns, can ask me or Dewa k?

tsubame

Hi midas, replied your email. Thank you very much for putting in a word.

Proposed itineary:
Day 1 -
Barong Dance
Ubud sightseeing
Elephant cave (if got time)
Mount & Lake Batur
Sebatu Temple (hmm, which temple is this?)
Rice Terraces at Tegallalang
Finish with hand batik and weaving process in Tohpati Village (which we will forgo for more time in Ubud if necessary)

Day 2 -
Taman Ayun Temple
As described, "a stopover at the Monkey Forest, and nice view of terraced rice field around Pacung. Afterwards you will climb to the mountain country with cool crisp air and flowers everywhere."(Sound of Music in Bali?
Botanical Gardens, which we will likely skip
Ulun Danu Beratan Temple
Stop at the local fruit, vegetables, and spice market (Yeah, we like visiting local Pasar)
Tanah Lot Temple

Day 3 -
Shopping in Seminyak, Legian, Kuta on our own
Evening tour of Uluwatu
Dinner at Jimbaran Bay

*Sigh* Will not have time for white water rafing, spa, nor to try Casa Luna. But, this means there's reason to visit again.
See, I haven't go yet already thinking of next trip...

hi cat,

u r really a midnite cat leh...always writing posts so late hehe.

errm...Barong dance very boring one leh..hehe. n its like 1hr+ long..story line is typical hero save the village from monster kinda story. but if u nvr see b4 can try lah..dun say i din warn u k.

nvr heard of sebatu temple...nvr been to sukawati too..no comments.

oh ya, at the fruit n vege mkt hor, bargain hard hor...they jack up prices one..if dun like their offer juz walk away, they will slash prices to half 2secs after u stepped away..coz there r plenty of stalls selling similar stuffs..they rather earn less a bit then lose ur biz to competitors
same applies to all shopping u will do on day3..

chipndale

hi hi.. anyone know if the sumatra earthquake affected bali?? a bit worried cos i already booked my accomodation and flights to bali for 3rd wk of march

tsubame

Hi Jules, different island lah. Not affected unless it triggers Bali's volcanoes...
I going next week you know. Anyway, my driver only just emailed me. Don't think he will be leisurely emailing if something is happening.

tsubame

Hi midas, we first time go, so should at least see one of their famous dances. Bargain no problem lah, I leave to my husband. I hopeless one.

And yah, me always sleep late. Normal is 1 a.m. Considered early compared to some of my friends already. Work whole day, go home sleep, immediately have to go work again. Must squeeze in some private time what, so late night lor.

hi jules,

Bali island is even further from sumatra than singapore leh...we only felt tremors, they probably felt nothing at all hehehe.