Bali

simlemon

considering hanging gardens too...but really ex. if i koe the hotels so ex, would select maldives instead. maldives look nicer, from the websites. think might stay at mercure kuta. Planning to stay at kuta and ubud. Any activities to recommend in each area???

elaineanne

In Kuta, you can go to Sukawati which the the local's market for shopping. Stuff there are relatively cheaper than in Ubud even for the same thing. There's nightlife there like clubbing etc.

In Ubud, its rather serene. At night you can go to 'town', walk and shop around. Not much of a nightlife though. Day nite, there's many local tourist attraction like Monkey Forest.. Bersakih.

In addition, you can always take a cab to Jimbaran for sunset and seafood dinner. Also, don't miss out on the massage, spa, mani & pedi. Very cheap!

starmed

simlemon
yup..Maldives is a much nicer place...:p the only thing is the daily activites there not as cheap as in Bali..else for the same amt of $$ for hanging gardens..think u can go to maldives for 3 nites or so...

elaine
thanks for the much needed info..
I'm going in aug.. staying in Ubud..

simlemon

elaine n starstar, thx for the info n suggestions. think will stay at mecure kuta n still deciding where for ubud. hopefully got $ for maya. do update again after ur trips!

can u all advise whether to book the tour guide or take cab when ther? I see some ppl actually got a tour guide + vehicle instead of taking cab. cab expensive n unsafe izt? i've tried using map when travelling in hongkong but really not sure whether it works the same in bali.

dreamdoll

hi simlemon,

i took a tour for the rice terrances and the temples, and cabs to other areas of bali for shopping
didnt bother with the maps...

starmed

simlemon
for me, I'm taking the package given by my resort.. got a 1 day tour included n a cultural activity too... it's part of the package provided by the hotel..

simlemon

thx for the replies! seems like takin cab is poss... but I think i will print a map otherwise i will feel v insecure. also, might hv to get the name of the places of interest ready.

well, starstar, gd for u, gettin a package is so much easier!

starris

I'm planning a short trip to Bali in Jul, thinking of contiki Bali. Anyone been there before? Also how should I get from the airport to the resort? By cab? Anything that I should note?

starmed

simlemon
yup..initially also didn't know abt the package provided by hotel..it's only when we go to the hotel's website n saw it..calculateout it's cheaper than just getting a room only.. so we took up the package offer..
lucky the hotel porvides complimentary transfer to/from airport so no worries abt getting to the hotel..:p

starris
u can get a cab from the airport.. heard the blue colour cabs are better.. :p

starmed

starris
it'll depends on how much u are spending there..the things u plan to do..are u planning to shop?etc.. also how many days are u going to stay there? in Bali, the other currency that's popular is the USD...

lilyn22

hubby n i are going to Bali in aug with another couple. I read somewhere about getting a driver who also acts as a tour guide. Is that a good idea? how much is it typically can anyone tell me?

What are the MUST do things there? any MUST go places too?

touraco

i am planning a trip to Bali in aug with my hubby and planning to stay 2 nights in Kuta and 2 nights in Ubud.

still on waitlist for SQ flight...hopefully i can get it else have to take the garuda and i heard it is always delayed?

am planning to go to spa, any recommendations in those 2 places? the spa charges USD, is it ok to ask to pay in rupiahs?

zoeanne27

Hi tourco

I am back form Bali, not long ago.... We took Garuda.... no delay and every flight on time.. We took a transit at Jakarta so that we can reach Bali earlier...

We also went to spa.. its very nice.. u can pay in rupiah..

Hi Lyn
Its a good idea to get a driver who knows the road better than u do.. I and hubby went there and we drove ourselves.. although sometimes we would lost our way, but its still fun N we are used to self drive in whatever country. If u do not like to drive urself, get a driver is better and can bring u to whatever places u wan....

too bad i threw away the namecard that i rented the vehicle... We rented the jeep for around SGD$42 for 2 days N paid $30 for full tanks petrol. so total is $72 for car rental.. I believe with driver, it shd be more ex.....everything, bargain with your best skill.. kekeke

Go to Tanah Lot at around 5pm... sunset time... when the tide is low..u can go over to the temple... and scenary is wonderful. N along the way to Tanah Lot, u bypass many rice field... nice scenary too.....

U must go to Mt Batur , volcano and the lake.. nice scenary....

mandy99

hi touraco

i have just been back from bali...
the trip from kuta to tanah lot is 45 mins.
i would recommend that you get a day trip as wat i did was i took a cab from the street.. and they went on a big round and also demanded tips.. sigh.. the taxi rides are not too pleasant.....

simlemon

hi all, i m planning to go bali around end oct. heard from some frens that the monsoon period tat time is bad and many sea activities will be disrupted. care to share whether tis is true???

ms_cutton

hi simlemon,

the monsoon period isn't that bad according to me bcoz me and my HTB juz love the place. hehe.. fyi, im indonesian but going to get married with my lovely singaporean man and even we're going to held our holy matrimonial in Tirtha Uluwatu in Bali. It's a very famous place for international couples to get married there. Such a beautiful and peaceful place.

If you need more info about bali, please dont be hesitate to email me and if you're planning for your prewedding PS i can give you some vendor and pricelist that is more cheaper and professional then B.Y.O, besides they know lots of beautiful places to go for PS.

Btw, my email address is [email protected]

simlemon

hi agustina, congrats on ur coming marriage! it is really lovey to hold your wedding in such a beautiful place. i cant wait to go ther for my honeymoon too but have been disturbed by ppl saying abt the monsoon period during tat time. so i'm askin for advice.

i hope to go bali but some frens hv suggested me to go phuket. after hearing from u, most likely i will continue with my bali honeymoon. thx so much! if u hv further details on the lovely place, pls feel free to share with me as i'm planning it free & easy!

lingz

Can share some of the recommended places for Spa, massages in Bali. We will be staying in Samsara in Kuta. Any comments on this hotel?

i'll be going to bali for holiday in 3weeks time. i've booked my flight n hotel stay but yet to confirm my airport transfer. anybody has any recommendation for cheap n reliable transport service?

thks a million..

rinnie

Hi ppl..Bali is a very nice place..miss that place...went there 2 years back..I can't remmeber the names of the spa but do take a copy of the phamplet at the airport..they have a lot of info there...do try their spa. It's cheap and good..However, dun go for their dolphin trip..my bf and I had to wake up reali early...like 3am and we went to this place...could see some dolphins la..but only a while and not that near you also....

The food's cheap too but somehow their chocolate drink is horrible..so dun order that..it tastes very diluted...

Do try their water sports too..Cheap and fun!

Oh ya, do remember to bargain! Ladies, u can buy bikinis there..real cheap..they have little shops along the roadside..

And they usually charge in US dollar..so it'll be good if u have US dollars..they do accept ruppiah but cos the note is so small ar, sometimes they dun give u back change....

So it'll be good to have both currency actually...=)

xiaohei

Hi ppl,

For those who has been to Bali can you share with me if these beaches are nice and good for swimming and sports? Or you usually have to take a boat to somewhere for such activities?

- Kuta
- Nusa Dua
- Seminyak
- Ubud
- Legian

Many Thx!

simlemon

hi, i've seen some tour guides provided at some internet websites and the charges seemed high, all in usd. is it poss to book the tours ther directly, eg the volcano tour or we can go free n easy?

xiaohei

Hi Midas,

Ok so if i wanna stay near the beach, which one is recommended? And which of these places is best for shopping? I'm planning to stay 2nites at each place.

Thx!

sarah24

Hi all, was thinking of going Bali for my honeymoon. Would prefer a willa , budget abt 4-500 per night. Any recommendations?

alec

For anyone visting Bali. I have the perfect driver who will take you anywhere on the island. His name is Dewa , pronounced "D war". He is a kind, considerate and safe driver. He can do escorted or your own customized tours. We were in Bali last week and he gave us the tour of our lives for a week. We have promised to return and use him for a longer period of time. All that I ask is for people who are looking for the "real people" Bali and want to be around a good man, book him. If you know anything about the Balinese they are the most unassuming and kindest people who do not like or make trouble. I mention this because a before we arrived Dewa was driving a friend ( the person who actually recommended we hire him)
dewa aslo offered very reasonable price full day US$.35/8 hours inclusive. gasoline, driver, a car and Parking fee. we understood the gas increased alots since last year.

dewa Email ; [email protected]

Dewa's web www.baliexploretours.com

Mobile +62 81 239 70 779

Enjoy It!

melon

Can someone give some advice on Bali, I hv not been there, planning for a trip in April.

Where is a nice n cheap place to stay, and can provide the names of the places to visit names of the markets for shopping?

hi melon,

u plan to stay at the beaches or the hills? i got lobangs for the hills(Ubud area)..USD56 per nite incl. BF...its a nice resort

but first timers usually likes to stay at kuta beach...i dun hv lobangs there though. maybe other forumers can help?

melon

Hi midas,

thanks for yr recommendation. I visited yr site, the mountain and sunset pictures are amazing. I guess its a v romantic place to be, nicer than the beach. Could you provide me more info and the good deals u got for yr trip?

hi melon,

all the lobangs i hv is written in my blog liao...juz click on those links there to explore. i planned my trip 100% online
if u hv any specific qns, juz post here or PM me...i'll try to ans them the best i can

chipndale

Hi Midas,

I am planning a trip to Bali with my hb in mid march. plan to stay in kajane mua villa in ubud for prob 4 nights. One issue we had is with the airport transfers.. you mentioend that u booked a private driver for the airport transfer? 190k Rp for the airport transfer is 2 way? or 1 way only? how much is that in SGD? was the driver reliable? ie, did he pick u up from the airport on time, and from the hotel back to the airport punctually as well? Why didnt you opt for a taxi service as airport transfer instead, and choose to get a private driver?

sorry for shooting so many qns at u! kinda blur cos its my 1st time going to bali!

hi jules,

190k rp is about SGD32...its per way per car(can sit max 4/5pax)..to Ubud. the driver i came to know by word of mouth..very reliable
punctual n knowledgable..i chose to book him is also becoz i booked 2 private day tours with him also..for a fixed full day rate, we get to customise our itinerary n timing as well..

jules,

yes, u can juz book the airport transfers...wats ur email addy? i send his contacts to u

jj,

for me, i always go to a single place for a week...can relax n enjoy, no need to rush. its my style lah...even Genting i also stay 5 days hehehe.

leehz

hi midas,
saw yr pics... looks very relaxing. u must hv enjoyed yourself a lot.

hi jules,
is the villa that u r staying in those villa type w private pools? can i know how much is the room rate?

hi jules,

i've gotten a special price of 150k rp for the airport transfer for u...coz i referred a few frens to him liao
pls check ur mailbox for the qoute n his email contact. he replys his mail pretty promptly..do ask him anything regarding Bali..he'll advice u accordingly

jj, thanks...ya, me enjoyed my trip very much

chipndale

hi midas, thanks very much for ur email!!

jj, the villa i have shortlisted has its own private pool abt 4m by 8m.. price is abt USD680 for 4 nights.

chipndale

hi jj, i shortlisted based on price as well as reviews and photographs from tripadvisor. the other villas i shortlisted were villa de daun in kuta(decided agst it cos its smack in kuta, so prob quite noisy) and the elysian in seminyak. villa de daun costs abt 125USD per night, elysian was abt 180USD per night.

jj, when's ur travel date? do u juz require airport transfer or private day tour as well? i can help u initiate the first email to the driver to get a better deal...but need to know when u'll be travelling

leehz

hi jules,
thanks... saw The Elysian... very tempting too. Saw their website's packages. quite reasonably priced too. so many nice villas around. cant decide which one... hehe

Hi midas,
prob will be travelling mid mar. i cant confirm yet cos i've not made any bookings yet. looking more for private day tour. airport transfer may not be necessary as the package i'm looking at already provide airport transfer.

talking abt this, do you know if the hotels do transfer btw hotels/resort? the flight we r looking at is a night flight. intend to stay over at a cheaper hotel before checking in to our preferred one the next day.

hi jj,

oh..u also going in march? same as jules leh...
as for inter-hotels transfers i think depends on individual hotels themselves ba..hotel hopping is quite common in Bali though..my private driver provides inter-hotel transfers too. prices maybe tied to the distance..depending u intend to hop from where to where. maybe once u confirm ur hotel booking n found tat they dun provide such service, i'll help u ask the driver
day tour wise, his charges shld be around $320k rp per day..