Bali

dol

I am planning a trip to Bali and so would appreciate if anybody care to share his/her travel experince there, what is a must do/see/eat in Bali ?? we would love to spend 1 or 2 days diving so if anyone know any good dive shop pl let me know.

Many thanks!!

apple

Hi dol,
are u planning to go to the quiet beaches or the "busy" one?? Kuta beach is the more popular beach with shopping, surfing but if you are looking for a quiet retreat/honeymoon, prob can try Nusa Dua. There are also some tour packages which you can hook up with to visit their historical temples and also Kintamani.

There is this forum which you can visit...tons of info on bali.

http://www.balitravelforum.com

historygal

hi, i'm a history student. in one of my seminars, my lecturer said that Bali is not authentic... it's touristy culture is actually created by a european. part of dutch culture policy..so, bali isn't all that it seems to be :)

crys

Fried rice with an egg at the cafe/shop at roadside (if you are daring to try) is fantastic!!!

dol

thks all for the info, will be off tonight and hopefully will have some good story to tell your guys after my trip.

dol

Just got back from Bali and would like to share with you guys about our trip.

Rule 1 : the ultimate motto to survive Bali is "bargain, bargain and bargain" !! Everything is negotiable in Bali, from T-shirt to accomodation! Even those up market hotel is negotiable !

Talking about accomodation, Bali has plenty of them unless it's super peak season. Personally, I find those smallish cottage offer better ambient and value for money. Always ask for discount and chances are you WILL get it.

Rule 2 : Don't accept anything free from the "local' even if they insist it's free/No obligatio/welcome gift etc, the truth is at the end of it they will take it as an excuse to force you to buy something from them!

Rule 3 : Don't buy everything on you first day! thing tend to get cheaper and cheaper the longer you stay (rather is we get smarter :)!) When bargainning, tell them you've been there days/weeks/months and have already bought a similar item at lower price, , better still show them if you really have it! the stall owner have the habit of comming up to you to quote a very low price if they see you carriying the same item.

There's no rule 4 or 5 as it's really quite easy to survive Bali , but if anyone is planning a trip and would like to know more, I'm more then happy to provide whatever info I could in this forum.

Have Fun!

blee

Hi Dol,
Thanks for sharing with us your fantastic tips!

Did you stay in the town? Are things cheap over there? I've heard due to tourism, expenses in Bali is actually quite high.

Very surprise to hear that up-market hotel is negotiable! You mean I just go to the reception and ask for discount?

Seems like need to have more practise in the market before I can survive in Bali :)

Did you enjoy your trip? What is there to see/do in Bali?

dol

Hi Blee, sorry to reply so late. We stayed at Kuta area for the first 3 night and move to legian for the next 3. Would like to stay in Ubud if going again. Kuta is where all the actions are, club,restaurant, shopping, surfing etc you'll get tired of all these after a while. But bcos my BF love to have a few drinks at night so we are stuck at that area :-(

I notice that in Ubud, there are lot of smallish resort and they are quite balinese and cosy, ideal for couple who want to get away from it all. Quite a number of SPA resort there too, one even have their own hot spring !

Thinsgs are actually quite cheap there IF you master the art of bargainning. We had a 6 dishes meal at one of the local eatery which our driver brought us and the total cost was like S$4 !! Transport can be quite ex though, especially if you charter the car with driver. For a group of 4 or 6, then it'll be very reasonable, we pay about S$60/day for a van with driver as we wish to have total freedom on our itinery and a more relax pace. Package tour offer from the hotel are mostly quite expensive. Diving cost about US$80 per person, white water rafting and picnic tour are easily US$60 per head so I guess you can say that tourism expenses is high. But to see and feel the magic of Bali, is actually quite cheap, just walk about in Ubud, enjoy a traditional Balinese Massage at Candi Desa, eat in a local market and go for a Barong Dance performance, these are all unbelievably cheap. I pay S$10 to have TWO balinese lady to rub my body for one whole hour !!

Yap I enjoyed my trip very much but then again I have always enjoy ANY holiday at all :) What to see/do in Bali?? hmmm....well, I'll say, eat(cheap even in restaurant), drink (<S$2 beer), shop, sleep .......I especially enjoy the soak at the hot spring ! must try !

That's all for now, any body going to Bali, feel free to ask question. Will be glad to help. Cheers !

blee

Hi Dol,
Reading your posting has definitely lighten my Monday blues! I'm now all ready to work hard and earn $ so that I can go Bali! \(^u^)/

dol

Hi blee, u r right, must work hard and earn all the $$$$$ and then play even harder. Whenever I feel stress, I always think up a holiday destidation and let that be my motivation! Work well ALL the time! Have fun!

angph38

hi Dol,

hv booked a trip to Bali, but the package came with 3 nites stay at Dwira Hotel (2* only) at Kuta area. am thinking of upgrading to a 3-4* hotel. any recommendations?

pkg includes a full day tour to kintamani, so hv one day free &amp; easy. what are the places we can visit?

jpoh

I posted this on the Marketplace topic too. I just won 2 SIA tix to Bali worth $1270 at a D&amp;D. Valid until Aug 2002. Am willing to sell at a discount. Please contact me if you are interested.

rene

Thinking of going to Bali for honeymoon and stay at Melia Bali Villa, Has anyone stayed there b4?? Another other suggestion for nice n romantic resort?? My budget is around $4k for 6D/5N...

muimui

hi rene ,

i also intend to go to Bali for a short honeymoon

i have my eyes on SWISS-BELHOTEL BALI AGA at Nusa Dua. seems like a nice place n fits my budget also. intend to go for 4D3N via SQ. total for both of us is ard SGD900. best is they have shuttle service to Kuta. I dunnoe about other resorts.

rene

Hi muimui,

you mean only S$900 for 2 persons?? Is it b'cos of the discount that they were offering?? That's really cheap. What does ur package include?? Have u booked?? Personally I prefer resort as compared to hotel cos I feel that resorts are more rustic.

estella

Hi Dol &amp; all,

My hubby &amp; I will be going Bali soon for 11 days. Not sure how much money to bring though.. any idea if it's easy to find ATM at Kuta area?

Tks!

monica

Hi Hi I'll be going to Bali too next week but for 6 days only lah. With the cheap fares now...must go seah... I'll be staying at Bali Melia for 2 nites then followed by another 3 nites at Grand Mirage. Anyone got any good spa/activities to recommend there. Wah estella, 11 days is alot of time to stay in Bali. Have u tot of what u'd be doing there? I'm still lost. I've only arranged to go for White water rafting. It's US$68.00 with spa,(massage, lulur scrub and flower bath) it includes buffet, fruits and drinks too. I got the info from the web. I was told that ubud is a very nice place to visit so I'm going to try it. Also that rental of jeep with driver is about S$45.00 so may consider moving round in a jeep too.

estella

Hi Monica,

Yeah 11 days quite long but really needed the break. No concrete plans yet &amp; we're leaving this Sat!! But I've gathered lots of info on where to eat, who to call to hire driver, etc.

By the way, the airport tax at Denpasar has gone up to 100,000RP per person.. that's abt S$20. Do set aside for this for the return trip! &amp; they only accept rupiahs.

A word of caution if you are driving.. heard many stories abt tourist getting booked by the police there &amp; ended up having to "bribe" them etc. Probably they only target "ang mo" but too much hassle so thought we'll get a driver instead.

For more current info on bali.. u may want to visit Bali Forum to hear it from the tourists all over the world.. http://www.balitravelforum.com/

Another thing.. pple say don't drink the water there unless it's bottled lest u get this awful thing called "bali belly".. kind of like a stomach upset. Which means don't drink anything with ice &amp; always stock up bottled water there.. even for brushing teeth. Hope I'm not sounding too paranoid! See this for more info:

http://www.balitravelforum.com/archive200205/24805.html

That's it for now.. counting down to 1st day of CNY! It'll be our 1st CNY after customary &amp; so glad to be away!

monica

Oh my gosh!! NO ICE?????? I'm going to kill myself.....

Thanks estella, forgotten all about the tax....
: P I'll be going 1 week after you next Sat.... Scarly bump into each other hiakz hiakz.... : P

Thanks Natash &amp; happy!!
Ok ok me will take tonnes and tonnes of pic. Then let u all see bali.

I looking forward to all the Spa treatment. Wah Estella so lucky then u no need to bao Ang Bao..... I so "Seem tiahz" now. Cos today I was getting all the Angpow ready and it all came to 1K...... My heart breaking into pieces leow. So this year all the kids instead of giving them 6 I give 4. Anyway only see them once a year.....But the adult side all ask for Raise..... Stress!!

Happy you sure understand my sentiments one!! U this year also must give Ang Pow right.

monica, estella is right...not so easy to drive ard in bali 'cos some streets are very narrow..u'll have to know which roads to take..and also, they've got strange rules...must remember to horn when overtaking...if not, you'll end up being fined..and yes, some corrupted policemen will fine you for no obvious reasons. if you like art..ubud is the place to go..lots of stone/wood carvings and paintings.

as for the ice issue..not so bad lah..if got weak stomach..just avoid drinking those prepared drinks from the streetside vendors...always go for bottled drinks.

estella

Monica we'll only bao Ang Bao for parents &amp; in-laws cos 1st yr after customary no need rite? &amp; my hubby's "baoing" 1 for me for gd luck so I'll probably do the same.

KPO I'm 1 of those with super weak stomach.. so abit scared.. will bring some charcoal tablets in case.

Badly needed a break.. supposed to be clearing last yr's leave but still gotta brave the rain &amp; come back to clear some work! Can't wait to be in Bali!

Wishing everyone a great CNY!

monica

ok then my hubby cannot drink any ice, his stomach weak seah...I will bring lots of charcoal pill and lomotil. If one don't work got the other..... Oh the jeep actually comes with a driver leow. So no need to drive. I also don't dare to drive there.

Estella,
So good. Our first year my mum already insist must bao for everyone. So every year new year I also Xian one. Today MIL coming to eat. Must cook somemore. Have to go market leow. Don't know got any thing left to buy anot.

natash

Wa monique,

You so good , cook for your mother in law...She must be damn lucky to have a daughter in law that can cook for her..kekek I can cook but don;t want to cook....

I think my mother in law unlucky loh kekeke..I super lazy one...I go her house eat tonight..anyway kekeke....tomorrow my mummy place ah...

Have a Fat Fat new yr to all girls here...
Happy Happy New Year...
Also to my toto (doggie) and yours too monique..your two babies

Nas

monica

I cook cos my MIL cook not nice.....And she always think I cannot cook. Never take care of her son. Since the day I tell her I cooking she every other day call to change menu. Even tell me how to cook this and that "her way" Buay Tahan. Best part I just bought this HUGE chicken to make hainanese chicken.....then I realise I got no pot that it can fit into.....I just cut it into 4..... Looks hideous leh...Don't know will come out like what... : P P P

natash

Hi Monique

kekekke, she cook not nice, she still "teach" you to change menu....and even teach you how to cook...

I don't people to teach me or stand in the kichen when I cooking kekek..I cannot concentrate, I also don't why....If people in the kichen hor, I cannot cook my best leh....Its like when I was young, I like drawing but when someoone in the room, I get really irritated and I must be Alone...to get the best out of it...although I don't draw very well ekkeke...I like sketching more la..I must put my whole heart into it if not, I tear the drawing away if I find that its not up to my own standard kekeke...

Mum always say I "Tai Sai", cannot have people in the room when I concentrating...I get very very irritated kekek...Weird hor...

Anyway, Good luck with yout chicken...Remember next time to buy a bigger pot ekke...My house got all kind of pots, although I don;t cook very often kekek...Just in case I need, I have ma...I kiasu!!

Nas

derma

hi juz wanna know if bali is ok to go

afraid that the bad economy there might make it not a gd place to enjoy

it's fine..just that it's less crowded @ the tourist attractions, hotels, airport etc. i was there in december last yr.

bali

Dear derma,

It is the safe to go now. In fact, u can get value for money packages. I just when there in Jan 03. U can get discounts from day tour packages, sea sports packages too at this time.

kisetsu

Hi Estella and Monica,

So you have been back from Bali rite? Is it fun?

I have reserved 2 tickets to Bali by SQ and will be staying for 2 nites at Kuta and 1 nite at Sanur area. Have to confirm with the agency these few days. I'm thinking whether to stay another day.

Got quite a few qns to ask you:
Did you go to Kuta and Sanur beach? Is the beach clear and beautiful? Is Kuta still "quiet" and is it safe?

Did you gals go for any spa or massage? Is it expensive? How abt spendings there? How much do you think i need to bring for me and hubby? and in RUPIAH OR US$?

Hope you gals can provide me with these information where i can't probably find in the internet. And hope to see your bali fotos....

Thanks for your helpssss.....

estella

Hi Kisetsu (&amp; Monica, just to let u know how my trip went)

Hope I'm not too late in replying u.

Back from Bali just this week after spending 11 days there. My hubby booked a hotel at Bali Matahari Hotel at Kuta. It's a relatively new hotel.. only opened last Apr. The room comes with a 4-poster bed! very romantic!) &amp; we only paid US$20 nett per nite, incl. daily BF &amp; a free dinner. Not too bad a deal as it's within walking distance to Kuta beach &amp; also Matahari Supermarket where we get water, munchies, etc. We booked our hotel accomodation at www.indo.com. They are quite reliable &amp; in fact they do advertise on our ST classified ad as well.

Kuta is a more commercialised with all the rows of Polo Ralph Lauren shops, Prada, etc (but very sure they are fake!). Only been to Kuta beach ONCE 'cos couldn't stand the hassling! My hubby went surfing &amp; I rented a deck chair to read. For that 1 hr I was sitting there, SO MANY pple came up to me to ask whether I wanted a manicure, tattoo, whether do I want to buy drinks etc. NON-STOP &amp;they couldn't take no for an answer! It was really very frustrating.. but then again times are really bad for these pple so they are pushing very hard. Also, if you are walking near Kuta Square area.. be prepared by ALOT of pple who's persistent to hand out some time share brochure (which promised some free gift or something). Just walk on &amp; apologised! Though some actually followed us &amp; pestered us to take part in whichever survey,etc. After the 1st few days, we acted smart &amp; pretended that we are japanese &amp; don't understand English.

Kuta beach is not so bad but seriously it's rainy season now.. it rained every other day!

We went for massage (35,000RP), manicure &amp; pedicure (20,000RP each) at a hair salon near the hotel. I even forced my hubby to go for both manicure &amp; pedicure! We spent alot of time there.. usually on rainy days. We even had a haircut(20,000RP = abt S$4 each!) &amp; highlighted our hair (35,000RP = abt S$7 each!)

On other days we hired a driver to take us to Ubud where all the warehouses are &amp; bought LOTZ of candles (huge big cake type.. very cheap), aroma therapy incense, floor lamp (huge tall one for our living room), stone carving, etc etc. We changed S$600 for our 11-day trip &amp; charged bill to credit cards whenever we can (at the restaurants). U don't have to bring too much money.. can always change there (always change at PT Central moneychanger.. they are more reliable).

Went Sanur beach as well.. it's rather quite there compared to Kuta beach.

Well anyway we had a very good holiday in Bali.. hope u &amp; your hubby will have a great time there too!

Monica.. wondering how was your trip there?

estella

kisetsu

Hi Estella,

Thanks for all your info....really useful. Its rainy season now? Sighed, i have booked the package for end of the mth. Hope by that time, it stop raining...

I think biz are really bad for them, today's news also mentioned abt their poor biz. I think we will use ur mtd of pretending japanese if they keep hassling us ;)

The massage, manicure services etc are very cheap....do u need to negotiate the price??? And how abt ur highlighted hair, u dare to give a try! but its really cheap, u satisfied??? I think men shd do some manicure and pedicure, to scrub away their dead skins...heehee, but not sure my hubby willing anot. I am even thinking of doing spa, body scrub for both of us...

How much do u rent a car + driver???

Thanks u v much
, greatly appreciated.

Kisetsu.

estella

Hi Kisetsu,

March is supposed to be sunny in bali.. hopefully it won't rain as much by the time u get there end of this mth.

Remember u don't have to be rude when refusing those brochure/whichever service or pdt they're selling.. just say sorry, smile &amp; walk away briskly.

I'm usually very choosy abt my hair but dunno where I got the courage to cut &amp; highlight my hair there! Gd thing it turned out quite well!

Yes u do have to negotiate.. but it can get quite tiring! I strongly recommend guys to do manicure &amp; pedicure.. it's all abt hygiene as well.. I've to FORCE my hubby to go for it. But at least it's in the salon &amp; not out at the beach where pple can see. The salon lady even joked tt she has turned my hubby's "construction worker's hand" to "manager's hand".

We rented a driver + van for 300,000RP (abt S$60) from 9am to 6pm.

Do let me know if u need any other info. Oh one more thing, remember to set aside 100,000RP each for departure airport tax.

estella.

V

vee kee

Hi estella!

Did u go for the spa there? I heard that it is denominated in USD. Was planning a Spa weekend trip there...if in USD, I will have to think twice liao... :p

kisetsu

Hi Estella,

Thanks for your advise...but i still need more info from u...hope u dun mind.

Btw, do u remember the name of the salon that provide manicure and hair cut etc...Is it the same salon? If i go there, who shd i look for???

And i most prob will extend one more nite at Kuta, staying at Bali Matahari Hotel that u recommended. I went into the website u provide, but it didn't state incl. ABF &amp; dinner leh. Have send email to hotel to ask abt room rate etc...Btw, is the hotel near to Hard Rock?

Thanks again.
Kisetsu

monica

Finally I'm back from Bali. Overall I would rate the trip 6/10. I was there for 6 days. First 2 nites we stayed at Meilia Bali. The beach there is HORRIBLE....The sea bed was full of eekie dead seaweed. The depth of the whole lagoon was waist length. The other side of the beach was better but we ditched the idea of swimming there after finding a few see slugs. Next day we packed our stuff and went wakeboarding at Kuta. The beach on Kuta is alot more clean and exciting. But the beach is flooded with these street side vendors that keep pestering you to do massage buy sarong and pencils and trinklets. It got really irritating after awhile. There was this particular lady I saw looked quite poor thing. So i bought a beaded bracelet from her. She quoted me 100000rupiah ($20) at first, after bargaining I got it at 20,000rupiah ($4) Actually i saw it selling at less then $2.00 at a shop in Kuta. But anyway I tot just give her the money lah. The minute I paid, I was crowded with other vendors, they were basically clawing at me... The ppl selling massage services just grabbed my hand and shoulders. I had to struggle and run away. Piang like escaping from the clutches of hell like that. So we continued our walk down the beach. Of cos on the way get bugged by many ppl. Everyone knew what i bought at how much earlier on. One even asked me why I did not buy a sarong from her, since I can buy a bracelet for $20,000. It was a horrible walk. One advice if you are walking along kuta, if you do not intend to buy. Say no. Don't say later. If you ever pass by the same spot, they will say that you "PROMISED" to buy from them.

Our guide told us not to buy anything from street side vendors cos they belong to a syndicate and will sell you low quality product or even lie about price to get you to buy. We even had a lady shouting from 2 t-shirts for $1.00 to 7 t-shirts for $1.00. And do check your items when after your purchase. On the last day we got a really good bargain for t=shirts. But when I reached home I realised that one of the 3 t shirts was children size.

I tried out 2 massage over there. 1 was at Wahyu spa. OUT OF THE WORLD man!! I strongly recommend you girls to try it. It's a professional spa place, they have special rates for Singaporean + they will pick and send from and to your hotel. If you go with your husband, they will give you both the same room.

We went for this package Cost S$50.00

Inner Jegeg - 2 hours
Flower foot bath
Aromatherapy Massage - 1hr. A few fragrance to chose from. All home made and really nice. We tried the Rosemary and Ginger
Body scrub. Can chose from Tumeric, Milk and seaweed.
Exotic skin treatment. Where they will put this moisturizer all over your body. It smells really good. After that you and your hubby can enjoy a flower milk bath in the room.

They can be contacted at (62-361) 777010 If you are in Bali just dial 777010. Tell them that you were recommended by friends in Singapore and confirm with them that it's S$50.00.

The second one that we went was in a salon in Kuta. It wasn't as professional as the first one. But damn cheap. Hair wash $2.00. Head massage $6.00, Facial $8.00. I forced my hubby to go facial. And I went for hair wash and head massage. The hair wash was horrible cos it was like he was trying to rub my hair back into my sculp. Then the head massage..... gosh... I got blue back on my neck the next day. They even gave me free hand and leg massage. I got Blue black on my leg too. Told them not to press so hard but they say that it will "OPEN THE BLOOD VESSEL" As if mine are CLOSED??!! Anyway told them to stop they just kept on going. I was rather pissed when they finished. So if u see this red red salon don't go in. Cheap but not worth it.

We also went for this Snorkelling Cruise at Nusa Penida. for US$39. Give it a miss. Not worth it. Snorkelling area is very small. and most corals dead. There are many Koreans and Japs on this cruise. The indonesian will ask where you are from first. Then you'll see them serving the japs and the koreans. We waited for very long....They skipped us altogether. So we had to serve ourselves.... And we do feel very discriminated in Bali loh. They make it known openly that they prefer Koreans, Japs and Angmos cos more spending power. And in Some occasion i feel we Singaporeans really treated like dirt there. Just because we are not easily cheated by them....Kanna treat like dirt.

Imagine walking into breakfast. Wait for 5mins nobody show us to our sit. One ang mo come. The waitress run to them call them by their first name and showed them to their sit. We got pissed so decided to just show ourselves to the sit and the bloody waitress just came to us and say, where is your card. pIangz!! Could have spit at her right then. We went shopping in Ubud one of the days. There was this shop, we just started bargaining on a small cane container. She asked where we were from. I said Singapore, and she ACTUALLY CHASED us away..... Can u believe it. Their economy so bad leow still so arrogant. But t here are like hundreds of shop there that sell the same thing, so if they insist on selling u at a rediculous price just move on to the next. U will eventually get it at the price you want. And it's always when u decide to walk away they will ask u back to bargain more. It's damn tiring. I hate shopping in Bali. Don't understand why they have to make shopping so difficult. So I usually go to the shop and tell them, Give me the REAL best price, I don't want to bargain. If they give me a phoney price I'll just leave, then they will ask you back. But u still have to bargain in the end, just that they will know that they can't Katook you loh.

Oh and we spent another 3 nights at Grand Mirage which is on Benoa beach. It's better then Nusa Dua. It's got a slightly nicer beach, not as nice as Kuta thou. And at least more shops and restaurant outside the hotel. Oh and the hotel warned us against ppl outside giving out "LUCKY DRAW" coupons, they are just selling time shares. They will make you open the coupon. The guy will always win a T Shirt and the girl will be the LUCKY STAR PRICE Winner. U will get some really attractive looking prize but it's all fake. It's a trick to trick u to the resort, get your personal details. And they will bug you for the rest of your trip. It's a nitemare. We met one. We rejected him politely. We continued walking. This clown actually drove his bike to way infront of us and started bugging us again.

Another nice place to Dine is Bumbu Bali. They serve authentic Balinese food. Prices are slightly more expensive. But you get a really good meal with beer and all for less then S$50.00.
They also will fetch and send. Bumbu bali is along Benoa. We also went to Jimbaran for seafood. Not too bad. We asked for the menu before deciding on the restaurant. The waiter will ask you into the shop and then tell u that if u dine in their restaurant he will give you a discount cos u are singaporean. We got 20% discount off bill. We had fish and prawns and sotong and veg and beer and cocktail for $30.00
If you want the food to be BBQ with Sambal chilli must tell them otherwise they will do it plain.

For the Party Animals. There is NO party there...All the joints has either Closed down or are dead quiet. Kuta is really really really quiet. We did Visit Kintamani too. it's nice and cooling but also get bugged by alot of street side vendors. They will flock to you, we had to take refuge in a restaURANT. When we came out from lunch kanna attack again. Damn scary. never accounted such persistent street vendors before.

For those who are going. The SPA is a must try. It's the best thing there. Anyone want more information can email me too. Have a wonderful trip. For me...Don't think I ever want to visit Bali again. I prefer Thailand alot more.

monica

Oh and for Diving enthusiast you may want to try Lombok instead? The Nusa Penida dive didn't look very good. Cos they just bring you underneath a pontoon.

kisetsu

Hi Monica, thanks for sharing your experience...though it did discourage me and my hubby. But we hav already booked the package, so we just have to learn from ur experience, and deal well with it.

Initially tot of staying at Nusa Dua area too, but will give it a miss. Yeap, will try the SPA there. Btw, wat is "Inner Jegeg"?

Kisetsu

estella

Hi Kisetus,

Bali Matahari hotel is NOT that near Hard Rock.. can walk though.. probably take abt 10-15mins. My hubby booked the hotel's "long stay package" so it includes daily breakfast &amp; 1 dinner. But bear in mind the hotel's only 2 star.. more like chalet but gd enough for us. Very nice pool though. We were the only S'poreans staying there within that 11 days.. mostly japs staying (imagine Beach Boys type guys who went surfing everyday!) Since u're only staying 1 nite.. u may want to consider better hotels (4 to 5 stars ones)?

The salon is to the left of the entrance.. very near.. can't remember the name though. There are only 2 ladies working there.

Except for the day tours.. we walked everywhere to explore. Even discovered a eating place near hotel.. somewhat like a coffee shop ran by Indonesian Chinese. Most customers are Jap so they have mostly Jap food on the menu. We had Sambal fish with vegetables &amp; rice for less than S$8 I think. VERY gd food too but sorry don't know how to give u road directions!

Just like Monica, we also feel that those streetside vendors are quite a pain in the neck! I think I got cursed by an old lady when I refused to buy a sarong (very dirty leh how to buy) at Kuta beach.

Actually met many nice &amp; friendly balinese there.. the head waiter of La Bochetta (italian restuarant) at Legian street was so friendly &amp; chatty. Food was great though but can't be compared to the the real La Bochetta in Melbourne.

Not sure if u're into shoes.. bought 4 pairs of shoes at Edward Forrer.. this shoe store near hotel (walking distance abt 10 min). Think they have a store at Kuta Square too.. very nice shoes!

Bought lots of things for the house in Bali.. probably that's why we enjoyed so much. We bought Hammock parachute chair to hang in the balcony, candles of all sizes , aroma therapy incense cones &amp; sticks, floor lamp (huge tall one for our living room), stone carvings to start building our own DIY landscape/pond at the balony, DVDs for only S$4 each.. very current titles (got my fav Amelie for collecting!) Bought the DVDs from the shop but not sure if the DVDs are real so we kept the receipt in case we got stopped at customs! Regretting not buy more Kueh Lapis from the supermarket.. they are so gd &amp; cheap too. We bought so much things tt we have to buy a new luggage bag to bring back the things!

So when are u leaving for Bali?

estella

kisetsu

Hi estella,

We'r taking the 28th Feb flight. I think i will try the Bali Matahari hotel, cos my package is quite ex. (staying at hard rock), so have to make sacrifies on some other things...Btw, the hotel haven't reply on my email yet...so slow.

U mentioned that "The salon is to the left of the entrance", u meant: Matahari hotel entrance??? I'm into everythingsss, shoes, clothings, candles, stones, etc, anythings that is cheap. The shoes u bot is high-heel or sandals??? How much? Still thinking whether to go to Ubud, will definite spend more $$ there. Btw, Ubud is quite far away, can u remember how long is the journey and the time u spend there? Need to plan our iternary, may not have time to go there too.

As for the aggressive streetside vendors, we have sort of experienced b4 at Vietnam-Tam Coc, so hope we can deal well with them.

Happy for u, to be able to get ur things for home...wish i can renovate my hse!! heehe, but its impossible...so can only day dream.
----------------
Hi Shanie,

If u r thinking abt the recent SilkAir Krabi promotion, its fully BOOKED. And i think Langawi got Limited Seats left.

Rgds, Kisetsu

omveganyogi

hi monica, looks like you had a bad time at bali and this makes think twice of going there to relax and instead of unwind we get pester non stop which is frustrating and i hate it as well.

i actaully intend to go there to get some stone carving stuff for my new house and debating thailand initially, then now bali and krabi too and some phuket is even better.

i dun really care abt food as long as they have fresh fruits and salad i am fine with it but handicraft stuff are the fist priority beside tan and hotel stay ...

anyone can help on this ?

estella

Hi Kisetsu,

wow that's next fri..

I bought both high heels &amp; sandals.. abt S$20 per pair but like them alot. The Edward Forrer store at legian street is bigger.. 2-storey. They have bags &amp; clothes too.

Yep the salon is to the left of the hotel entrance. Think the boss's name is Yanni. She's quite a nice lady. I didn't book direct with the hotel.. we booked on www.indo.com.

Ubud is abt an hour's drive from the hotel. We only spent half a day there cos it was raining so heavily. If u're going u may want to try out the suckling pig "restaurant" next to Ubud market. It's not a place big on ambience though.. no chairs even. We sat on the floor mat. They served suckling pig (babi gooning) with rice &amp; vege. Very tasty! 3 of us (with driver)had lunch (with bottled water each) &amp; only cost us 35,000RP.. abt S$7.

Remember to bring cash if going Ubud. Those "warehouses" mostly only accept cash. Our driver dropped us there &amp; met us down the slope. Oh another thing.. it's polite to pay for your driver's lunch though ours never insist. Hopefully u've the time to go there!

estella

we had a lovely time in bali! we were really impressed by the vibrant art scene..the lovely fine art pieces, the wood/stone carvings, the ikat...the balinese are SO TALENTED people! we even met a guy who did drawings on sand.

i feel that we shld sympathise with the balinese...their livelihoods depend much on tourism...hence their desperation to peddle their wares now that the tourist nos. have dipped violently. initially, we were kinda frightened away by their aggressive selling...but after that, we decided to just say no politely and even tried talking to them...many of them actually responded with their sad tales...&amp; we were touched.

during good times, many singaporeans had visited and had enjoyed the beauty and charm of bali and its people...now in time of trouble...i don't think we shld "abandone" bali..but to do whatever we can to help them recover.

just to share some of the photos of my bali trip
http://y42.photos.yahoo.com/tania_ragu

monica

For me and my hub we are not very shopping people. So we didn't really enjoy shopping there. Especially so tiring must bargain until teeth drop.

Hiyo Estella, I also suspecting kanna cursed by this lady cos never buy anything from her.

Omi,
If you are looking for stuff like carvings and stone scuplture, bali is a better place to get them then Thailand. For me my prioirity is beach, food &amp; experience. My experience there was bad cos I guess after going Thailand so many times I put my hopes really high for Bali. I tot it could compare in terms of beach food and ppl. When my hubby and I were in Phi phi we spent 60% of our time out in the sea. The rest are spent eating and sleeping. We hardly shopped. Except for the last 2 days we would be busy stocking up souvenirs for friends and family.

shanie

kisetsu

errrrrrr....... i wasn't aiming for silkair promo coz i intend to go end of mar n the promo only allows u to leave latest by 13th mar

langkawi wasn't on my list to go for a short trip . it was bali n krabi

thx anyway

shanie

errr.. KPO i actually called silkair plus diners to book n they said the same thing

teh last departure date was 13th mar that's y i gave up coz i was waiting for promos ;p

Booking Validity : 13Feb - 13Mar 2003
Ticketing Validity Ex-SIN by : 16Feb - 13Mar 2003
All Travel to be completed by : 31 March 2003