Bali

mail_lum

Hi Elle, conrad is having some introductory offer, so not expensive at all
... oops, i will take note for the makan....

Hi Destinee, thanks, i will really appreciate the contacts, especially the taxi driver... did you engage him for one full day? how much was it... wow, the spa sounds good...must try! could you drop me an email please at [email protected]. thank you so much.

coolangel, thanks for the website... will surf to get more info. thanks

destinee

You've got mail.

Krazbi, could you give me your e-mail add so that I can forward the name cards to you...

folic

Hi mail lum,

I will be going to Conrad Bali in Aug. Hope to get your feedback on the place when you are back! Did you book on the internet for the rooms? Did your package include breakfast? I booked mine to include b/fast but that sort of doubled the rate. If you can help check to see if it is worthwhile to add in the breakfast, I woudl appreciate it.

mail_lum

hi destinee,

Got your email. Thanks!

folic, i booked the room without breakfast... sure, will let you know about conrad when i'm back.

meowie

Folic,
So you'll get your air tickets separetly from agency or internet too?

I realise most of you booked the hotel from internet and maybe air tickets directly from SQ or Garuda. Is it really that cheaper this way or booked everything from agency? Can advise?

bugs

planning a trip to bail, but hear from my friend that ppl there ask for under table $ while she is waiting for her passport to be chop!
they even ask for $100. ppl there begging for $$ on the streats?

mail_lum

hi folic... sorry forgot to ask how much you paid for the room with breakfast?

Meow, it's probably cheaper to book from the agency but provided you're ok with the hotels they packaged in. For us, we wanted to stay at Conrad, which is a pretty new hotel and so not many agencies tie up with it (at least not from my search on the internet). Those that do, actually charge more if i'm not wrong. That's why i'll rather book them separately on my own.

destinee

Hi folic & mail lum,

Pls share your experience at Conrad with me when you are back ok?

I am planning for a stay at Conrad on my next trip...really impressed with the hotel. It's so beautiful...even the pool is so nice. I feel the people staying at Conrad also dress more "professionally"...hehee...

ingenue78

hi destinee,
Thks for your contact!

hi meow,
it depends on how many days you are staying and what sort of hotel tt u r looking for.

For me, i hv booked via the agency for a 3D2N package, flying by SQ, staying at a 4/5-star resort in Tanjong Benoa. It cost me $437(inclusive of airport tax). In addition, i extended my stay to 5D4N. I booked the rest of the hotels (Hotel Intercon and a villa) via internet. For this, i spent an additional $170 per pax.

folic

Mail lum, thanks for agreeing to check out the conrad for me
I paid 102 USD per nite, which is about 40USD more than the rate without b/fast. The other reason why I took this rate is because I can choose to cancel the room if I decide not to go in the last minute. Anyway, it is common for such hotels to charge very high rates for breakfast and it might make more sense to just pay for that.

I am claiming free SQ tickets through the mileage program. That is also why I am prepared to splurge a little more on the hotel

I am going in Aug, during the National Day hols.
will definitely post my experience here.

folic

meowie

Folic, so you'll be taking cab to Conrad is it? No transport is provided right?

Thanks everyone, i guess i'll book from agency.
Rates for SQ is not out yet
, only Garuda is out. I think i'll go for 3D2N but must be early flight lor.

choco

hi destinee,
i'll be going bali in 2 weeks' time. Mind mailing me all the contacts?? Esp for the taxi driver & the spa! looking forward to the spa there! My email is [email protected]

ingenue78

Just came back from the beautiful Bali on Tuesday...Stayed at Ramada Resort (Tanjung Benoa), Santi Mandala Villa(in Ubud) and Hotel Intercon.
Bali Intercon is really very huge and nice too as it has a private beach there. Really a great way to relax!

It's really a shopper's paradise in Bali. Their scenery and sunset is stunning too!

As for my driver, he's fantastic and his rates were reasonable too. He was really helpful and helped us a great deal , esp when we were tricked by a money changer in Bali (He helped us recover all the money back!).

For those who needs his contact, you can also leave your email here....

ingenue78

Hi hoshi,
i spent about $600 on accomodation per pax. Stayed for 5D4N. Booked thru' this agency called Holiday Bagus. But i think Misa Travel has the best rates but their service is very lousy.

For my expenses, I spent about $650 in cash (for food and loads of shopping) but i also signed credit card.

ckluv2travel

Hei everyone,

See alot of Bali fans in this thread. I'm planning a Bali getaway for my parents. But don't know which hotel to book for them. Budget is not much of an issue, probably one a 5 star resort with spa for them. Can anyone suggest some good hotels? I'm a little confuse after searching and searching.

meowie

Ino, may i have the contact too? Pls sent to [email protected] So how much were you charged for the trasport per day? How come the money changer cheat you? Does that means its better to change in S'pore first?

Hi ino,

Can i have the contacts of your driver in Bali..

Is Santi Mandala Villa near the Ubud market? Do they have trp to the market?

ingenue78

Hi postpet,

santi mandala is not too far from Ubud. You can book the resort from the internet.

They provide free shuttle from the resort to Ubud. It's a real quiet place for you to nua...
You practically have the whole swimming pool by yourself! I try to post some pix for you to have a look. ;-)

Will send you the contact later.

mail_lum

hi folic,

I'm back from bali. cornad was wonderful... the place is soooo nice that we just spent most of our time there... be it the room, the pool, the beach....

the breakfast you wanted me to check for you, it's 150,000++ rp per pax... so it's about SGD29++. hmm... the spread was reasonable but i wouldn't say fantastic.

Destinee, thanks for the contact to the spa... we went for the massage. we didn't mention about the SQ crew thing.. but we paid about SGD40 per person for 2 hours of massage which we thought was still reasonable. thanks once again for the contact

ingenue78

Hi Deviant,
Can't PM you leh...think u may not have adjust your settings.

hi postpet,
i PM u already

Hi Meow,
I sent you an email. You see, Bali do have some black sheeps. When we went to this money changer in Sanur, his rates were one of the better ones. He used a rigged calculator to key in the rates. However, i used my own calculator to tally against his. He has nothing to say but to give me the correct amt. He counted the $$ in front of us but what we've got back was $200K lesser. In the end, my guide drove us back to the shop and demanded the refund of the entire amt. He was extremely displeased with the money changer as he felt that they are the ones who will spoil the good name of Bali. ;-) I was most impressed with my guide...

folic

Hi mail lum,

thanks so much for remembering to check for me.Looks like there is only slight difference.. whether to book room with b/f or pay for b/f separately. So, I will not change my reservation.

It is so good to hear that you enjoyed yourself there.
Now, I really look forward to the trip. How did you get to the hotel from airport?
Would you be able to PM me with the Spa information?

mail_lum

hi folic,

I just took a taxi from outside the airport, it was 60,000 rp... i read somewhere that you can get a prepaid taxi whcih should be cheaper... before you exit the airport but i think we missed that counter.

the spa contact was from destinee and it's in an attachment. i couldn't send it via pm. can you give me your email address and i'll send it to you?

folic

Hi Mail Lum,

in that case, it's alright. Not quite convenient to post my email addy here. Alternatively, if you can just email the namw/address of the place, I can do further research on it. Thanks.

folic

Hi mail lum/destinee,

can me the contact for the spa? I'm planning to go bali too...

Hi ino, thanks. i got the mail.
Can i know how much you paid for your accomodation in Ubud ah?

meowie

Ino,
so sorry, i didn't receive your mail. Mind if you sent it to me again? [email protected]

Then would you suggest me to change it in bali or in s'pore? I'm still wondering how much to spent there. For meals right, how much is it? I really need to calculate how much to change lor.

sharlene

Hi PPle,

I had book my Bali trip next month. Will be staying at Westin, anyone had any advise is Westin good?

How much should we bring there roughly?
What is the ideal timing to go to Jimbaran for seafood dinner?

Destinee,

The spa you recommend, how's the atmosphere?

ingenue78

Hi Sharlene,

the best time to go is about 5pm. chop the best seat in front of the sea and just admire the lovely sunset.

however, i must highlight that the seafood there is so-so only. i went to sharkies...and found that i prefer the seafood prepared in singapore...the quality of the seafood is average unless you want to pay $$ for live prawns or live lobsters... price wise is definitely cheaper than singapore's.

as for the amt to bring, it depends on whether u intend to do loads of shopping like me. i brought $650 and some credit cards. but i regretted not bringing more!

hi meow,
i wld say that changing the $$ in singapore is better. u can get pretty good rates at people's park.

sweetpea

Hi Sharlene

I went to Jimbaran for sunset seafood dinner and got cut-throat prices, and so did my friends who went on separate occasions. The food is so-so, there were a lot of flies and the sunset was not exactly beautiful. My family spent about S$50 each..but I think its not worth it at all.

You may wanna try the sunset dinner cruises..I think its better though I have't tried it. I went for the Island Day cruises and I Love it! I would say the people in Bali are all very nice!

padme

Hi All!

I am organising a conference for my company in the month of Dec. We will be staying at Westin Resort.

Sharlene,

If you are reading this, Westin is a good hotel. The decor is more towards the contemporary style rather than the traditional Bali style. I was there for a nite stay for the recee trip last week. The heavely bed is simply...HEAVENLY!

I do need some advice from you. I actually plan to stay on a few more days after the conference to unwind after the hectic conference. However, I do not wish to stay in Westin as many of my company staff will be there. I don't want to 'work' even when I'm on leave! So can you ladies please make a recommendation for hotels?

If possible, let me know which website you book them from and the approximate room rates. It'll also help if you can recommend me the places to go for food and of course, good spa and shopping!

Although I've been to Bali for the recee trip, I actually did not have a chance to step out of Westin and so did not get to see what Bali is like. So Ladies, if you can, please help!

mail_lum

hi folic and postpet2,

the spa is called Wisata Spa... the number to call is (0361)763763 or (0361)765765. Need to call to make advance reservations and they will pick you up from the hotel. When you are there, just need to dial the last 6 numbers.

destinee

Hey ladies,

Contacts for the spa as follows.

WISATA SPA (Aroma Therapy Massage & Spa)
Jl. By Pass Mgurah
18x Tuban
Bali
Tel: (0361) 763763 / 765765

Rest assure that the ambience there is excellent!