BALDING SOON! HELP!!!!

PLS HELP! Every morning i look at myself in the mirror, i really feel that i look like a cancer patient going to therapy. Although not to that stage as yet, but this seems one of the stage!
Now,i would like to find a specialist or dermatologist to help me! Can i find one in our polyclinics? Anyone been to Beijing 101, Yunnan, Glower and Svenson? Please comments on their service, effect and pricing....Im deseperate! :S

flow

i suggest you go to a GP first then. He will advise you from there or refer you to a specialist. Dun be too stress abt it, it may be one of the causes of your hair loss. Are u female or male? for female, it's usually thining of hair all over, for male, it's receeding hairline or a balding patch at the centre of the head?
in the meanwhile, wash your hair with mild shampoo. dun be too rough with your hair. one of my friend got this problem too, he use a brush to 'tap' at the affected parts to improve circulation for 10 to 20 mins. not sure if it helps though. God bless.

gummiebear

i also tend to drop a lot of hair (worse, I got long hair!), my hairdresser says i need to apply hair tonic or else the condition will worsen...my mum keeps saying it's because i wash my hair everyday...

oh btw, a guy fren of mine tried Yunnan and it didn't work for him...heard he spent 30K in all! he told me he was desperate then and believed everything they promised lor...

gummiebear

huh? is that so? i dunno...but did not hear my friend mention he needs to watch his salt intake? anyway, when he told me he spent 30K, i was like 'wow!'... made him so paiseh i also dare not ask him more.

cheesecake

Hi Gin

I used to drop a lot of hair but after applying the tonic everyday, my hair now improve liao

jany

Dear Cheesecake,

May I know what tonic are your referring too? Where can I purchase it?

Im quite shock to see replies...am glad that so many ppl reply me sia.

Was wondering if my follicles are dead how?

Flow,
Thanks! Any specialist or GP to recommend me?

Angel,
Please help me by telling me the name of the health supplement? How long does it take for the grow?

Hi gummibear,
I heard that too. So I try to wash once a day...as if i dun wash, my hair will become very oily..so YUCKS! So any solution from ur mum?

Hi Cheesecake,
My prob more or less is the 'hole'. I dun encounter alot of hair drops...although there is still lor. Can the tonic help open pores?

If i dun reply as soon, please kindly email me and ask me to read reply can? :p Thanks.xie xie!

cheesecake

Hi gin

The tonic will help to improve hair growth and oso protein treatment will make your hair stronger

Hi dearie

Its a hair tonic. u can buy it at some of the hair salon. I'll cant recall the name right now (starting with t) i'll check the name tonight and let u know tomorrow

chicory

Hi Gin,

Don't ever go to Svenson, my hubby went before and spent thousands but no visible results at all. They always "pyscho" people to buy this and that to complement the products they have already bought from them. They keep saying now you must buy this and that to have results.

Are you aware of this product Biolyn, invented by one NUS professor? It is supposed to be good. My hubby is using it now, can be bought in Lo Han Ka and Guardian Pharmacy. $68 for 1 bottle (60ml) of Hair Serum. There is a website on the product www.biolyn.com.sg

gummiebear

Hi Gin,
I'm just like you...have to wash my hair everyday else it feels n looks very oily *yucks*
My mum's remedy? Don't wash hair everyday lor. Hee, but I never took her advice...

Anyway, I'm using a hair tonic I bought from my hairdresser's. But I'm too lazy to use it everyday, it's been almost a year and there's still half a bottle left. You should try it though, I think it helps a little. Doesn't really matter which brand, but my hairdresser told me to change hair tonic every now n then, just like shampoo u know, after some time, it becomes not so effective...

Hi Cheesecake,
So guess it wont work on dead follicles ah?

Hi Chicory,
I guess all so-called FAMOUS salons for all these dun work. That include slimming centres too. A matter of fact, i do not have such an amount to spend too. I wanted to go hair specialist at Changi Hospital. And I may opt for a hair transplant but it really sounds scary when u are doing the opt when u r wide awake!

Biolyn I seen the website when i was sourcing for solutions. Is it working on ur husband? My follicles are basically dead..and according to pharmarist like no cure liaoz..
BTW my hair is not all gone..but i can see the wide gap of my hair parting lor..tat's the ugly part! Cant tie hair..then wash hair have to make sure water dun kanna the 'hole' part..then shampoo have to make sure dun put on the 'hole' ...etc..so sianz...

Hi gummibear,
Errr...i use the brand 'Gen', then i switch to 'Ginvera' when that lady said her balding dad used that..and within 1 week, her dad saw baby hairs..which dun apply on me...then now using another product from 'Beautain', my relative say it works..but so far, cant see any effect yet..perhaps it's juz for 2 weeks. I will and see..Still, i will go to see a doctor!

gummiebear

hi Gin,
i think it's a good idea for you to go see a doc. i heard too that hair tonics only help to strengthen yr hair roots (proper massaging is also important when u apply) and prevent it from falling, but they don't really help to 'generate' new hair.
pple tell me hair transplants are expensive, like 3 dollar for a strand of hair? errr, not sure. can let me know if you happen to enquire?

thanks heaps!

little_p

i tried philip kinsley, trichologist at ngee ann city, i spent around 2,000 dollars on a package of about 12 sessions. and i must say it works.

regards/ priscilla

little_p

hi gin,

not really rich lah, but got bonus, so go. otherwise, every day worry. lose more hair. girls are usually quite vain mah.

this philip kinsley is tried and tested, so don have to spend tens of thousands of dollars. do have to be conned by those advertisements.

regards/ priscilla

tobebride

Hi priscilla,

may I know what type of treatments do they do on your hair? Why did you say that it works? Less hair loss? Any regrowth? After how many treatments did you see result? Thanks.

Hi priscilla,
Seriously speaking, I want to be Con also no money leh! Hahahahgahhaha.. :D

Well, i am not looking at Yun Nan those salons..cos I simply cannot afford lor.

Glad that u have nice hair now...

gummiebear

hi priscilla,
jus to echo tobebride, can you share with us more details? for me, the hairline (in front is slowly) receding. it doesn't look obvious, but my hairdresser says must do something about or it may become worse.

most important, is yr hair problem 'permanently' resolved now?

little_p

hello all,

my condition improved after 3 sessions. first, they will look at ur condition, then apply relevant cream, followed by masssage, and then infra-red, then steam, then they wash ur hair, and apply tonic and massage again.

it is more to improve blood circulation.

i use the rest of the sessions for maintenance. also bought the shampoo and tonic. the tonic has minoxidil.

but i realise something, the hair problem can only be permanently solved, when we maintain good blood circulation through massage to the scalp.

normally, if things improve, u can go about once a month or bi-monthly for maintenance purpose.

regards/ priscilla

meekee

Hi Gin,

Please allow me to understand more about your problem:
1. Do you have oily or dry hair/scalp?
2. Does your hair have dry brittle ends?
3. Do you sleep with your hair wet?
4. Are there other family members with the same problem? If there are, how are they related?
5. What kind of shampoo do you use?

I used to suffer hair loss problem as well, did a lot of research and used a lot of money. The end result is I am quite knowledgeable now and perhaps, can share some of it with you but I need to know your condition first. Otherwise, I'm just shooting in the dark.

Fyi, the most commonly used ingredient in results-proven hair tonics is a chemical called Mynoxidil. However, excessive usage can lead to other health problems which is why, this product must be prescribed.

a2002

Interesting thread...

Coincidentally, I was talking about balding with my mum yesterday. She has a friend who apply brandy to her head for dizziness as directed by a chinese physician. Apart from getting rid of her dizziness, she has grown a lot of hair! I think it works. I have a cousin who wants nice and thick moustache and he applied brandy everyday, and now he got really thick moustache....

Some people said apply stout also can...

adelyee

hi there... i happen to come into this thread. mmm.. i think first and foremost, ur scalp should be oily.. because oily scalp will speed up the hair loss. Try using milder shampoo.. which means shampoo which are not too rich. i used to be like that too. just use conditioner strictly on end.. hope that works. Try johnson's and johnson's? the baby shampoo? its very mild. not those 2 in 1 shampoo though. hope this helps!

blackcookie

i tried REGAINE 3yrs back, recommend by my family doc. quite effective in reducing hair loss for me, but have to be patient on re-growth. i started with the 5% which is too strong (very dry n itchy) for my scalp, now using 2%

drew_drew

Hi Maggie,

I spent quite a lot of money on my hair loss problem too think come to about 10K ++ due went to yunam and 101 but still no use and i spent a lot on shampoos and whatever hair tonic that i sam at phamacy. Do you think you can enlighten me on how to solve my problem. First of all i hv dandruff problem and every day after hair wash will drop about 60 to 70 strands and my scalp will itch due to dandruff. This has been going on for abt 3 years now. Before that, i hv consider healty hair (long and straight) and quite a lot. Is is true that i must solve my dandruff first but i hv tried lots and lots of different shampoo but it doesnt help. Hope someone out there can help me in this. Thanks a million.

afraid13

Am trying out regaine now, been about a month but havent seen much improvements. I'm still dropping about 100 strand of hair per day. This is really freaky. I'm experiencing an overall hairloss but the top is more obvious, thinning problem. I'm at a loss and and I dun have the big money to spend, wat shall I do?

meekee

Hi Dearie,

I'm still here...

Drew: I used to drop a lot of hair too. It went on for a few years and I spent a lot of money going to pharmacies, visit GPs, and even to the pretigious J.F. Lazartique boutique at the Promenade. Nothing worked. I had dandruff and itchy scalp too and thought that it was just my luck that my scalp was like that... Everyday, I hoped that my scalp will recover.

Then one day, I realised that I had that problem simply because:
1. I was using 2-in-1 shampoos for dry hair. The shampoos smelt very good and made my hair silky so I used a lot. What happened was they made my scalp very oily and there was residual built up
2. I slept with my hair wet. I went home late everyday and, as a result, just plonked myself onto bed without drying the hair. This caused tremendous itchiness and even oillier scalp.

Like you, I used to have healthy hair until my bad habits happened! All I needed to do was to change my habit and my problems will be resolved but nobody - not any professionals - asked me about my habits. They just kept prescribing expensive treatments to me.

You may want to re-assess your shampoo habits and see if anything goes wrong. As a rule of the thumb, our hair MUST be dry before we sleep or our scalp will produce too much oil as we rub against our pillow. And we should NEVER use 2-in-1 shampoos because these are too oily for our climate

Afriad13: Applying lotions without understanding the cause of your problem is not too effective. What shampoo do you use and are there people in your family suffering from the same ailment?

afraid13

Hi Meekee

I'm using the shen min shampoo at this moment. I'm not sure if my scalp is oily really. I can only tell that my hair is dry and fizzy
none of my family has the same ailment, I use to sleep with my hair wet like you but have stop that habit half a year ago. Always blow it dry before I sleep.

think I may be too impatient but at the rate that my hair are falling, I will definite go bald in 3 months later and I really cant bear to look into the mirror then......

meekee

Hi Afriad13,

If sleeping with hair wet is the cause of your problem, it should stop when you stop the habit. Do you blow dry your hair until it is crisp dry? Over heating will also cause your scalp to 'mistaken' the condition and work extra hard to produce oil. Is your scalp oily or dry??

afraid13

Hi Meekee

Was so glad to see your reply so soon. I usually feel oily if I dun wash my hair for two days. So my normal routine of cleaning my scalp is once every two days.

what I normally do:
1. Washing, now I only use my finger tips to massage the scalp for I fear if I scratch, it will aggrevate the problem. But still I see a huge hair mass on the floor. Din dare to use liquid conditioner now.
2. Towel dry. See lots of hair in my towel afterwhich.
3. blow scalp dry until hair about 90% dry.
4. apply leave-in conditioner on the end of my hair to prevent frizziness.
5. run my brush through and lots of hair fell again.

losing strandsss of hair seems to be routine now, I brush the lose strands out in the morning before I go to work and in the evening before I go to bed. The amount doesn't seems to reduce and that's very worrying. Have done a body check about 2 months ago but nothing seems to be abnormal. Was thinking of going to see a doctor at the Skin Specialist but not sure if it helps me cos seeing a doctor do cost more and if there's no improvement......is there any recommendations?

jany

Dear Meekee,

May I know which product did you use to prevent hair loss and frizzy hair?

meekee

Hi Dearie,

I simply wash my hair by bending over and with cold water. With this method, I can use heavy conditioner without making my scalp oily.

janice88

Just came across this thread today. I'm also suffering for thinning hair.. it started since about 5 years ago.. initailly I went to yun nan too, and they keep asking me to buy this n that.. in the end, I spend about 6-7K! And no result too.

Till now, I'm still having thinning problem, and scalp getting more n more obvious... really very sad leh..
I went to see a GP before, but she said my health is fine. I do not have oily scalp, and I dun tink I'm dropping alot everyday, it just seems that once the hair shed, it wont grow back.. hope someone here has experience to share, especially those who have successfully grow back their hairs..

Priscilla,
Can you let me know more about Philip Kingsley Trichologists? You mentioned that 12 session cost 2K.. does it include those shampoo n tonic as well? How long does each treatment takes? 1-2 hours? Do they have any hidden cost or hard-selling their products? Thanks.. really hope to hear from you soon..

joze

Dear Janice

I have been to Philip Kingsley Trichologists a few years back.. Their products are only good for short term and treatments are good only if you have to keep going... and the treatment is very expensive as they do not include shampoo and condition.

I suffered thinning problems also a few months back due to work stress. My advise go to National Skin Center, they will give you a lotion to apply and will advise you accordingly for checkup. Now my problem improved! Wish I haven't spend so much on that Philip Kingsley.

victorgal

I heard that for those with itchy and oily scalp, use baby shampoo is the best. The advise is from my hair dresser. I find it works for me. Baby shampoo do not contain harsh cleaning agent and kinder to your scalp. Why dun you try it rather than spending tons of money on expensive shampoo.

I tried many shampoos (branded and expensive type) too but as my scalp is very sensitive i still find baby shampoo is still the best.

I heard one of my friend's auntie use to have very thin hair and for 6 years she brewed he shou wu with other herbs and drink daily (without fail) and she has very thick and black hair. maybe go back to the basic will help.

yogilulu

has anyone gone for hair transplant in singapore? Do you it can be done on anyone? wonder if is painful there after? sign...

tweet

Hi Victorgal,
I also have thinning hair problem. Went to Skin Center few years back, but all they did was subscribe irons pills and asked me to get some chemical to apply on my scalp which i did not find much help. They also said there's nothing wrong with my scalp...booo hoo...