Asian Civilisation Museum (ACM)

eltgal

Hey ladies,

Just wanted to update - had my food tasting with Lavish...my guests (whom we invited along) and we were blown away....really nice food - that was original and delicious.

Last week, my sis also attended an open-air wedding where Lavish was the caterer - she said the food was really nice and their decoration was out of this world!

My FH and I are really really excited - cos we have asked Lavish to come up with a really uniqute theme for us, and so far the decoration ideas have been great....Am keeping my fingers crossed - wedding is in 2 week's time...so I will let you all know whether Lavish and ACM was good or not...

jesslau

Hi Eltgal

Really! I also had their sampling not as nice leh! Food was so cold and they even delivery it in those plastic container. Not as tasty as you say. Maybe we have different taste buds, but i feel Rasel is better.

december07

Hi eltgal,

That's wonderful news! I've decided to go with Lavish as well and this definitely reassures me. Did you have your tasting at Lavish's premises? That might explain why it tasted a lot better than jessica felt. Is your menu more western based or asian?

How are the rest of your wedding preps?

eltgal

Hey Jessica & December,

Maybe we were lucky lah :) Cos our experience with rasel not the best. Hehehe...but it's all subjective lah.

December, ours was fusion - cos our theme is Baseball. So everything is baseball themed. even our ticket! (*smile*)

I am very stressed, but in 2 week's time it will be over. Now we are panicking about the nitty-gritty details. Sometimes I joked with FH "Quick marry me lah...very tiring to have to prepare for the wedding."

But if there is anything I have learnt, it's to have friends to help. They really are miracles :)

marsilinghoo

yah Lavish is good

eltgal

Hey everyone,

Just had my dinner at ACM with lavish - it was PERFECT! ALL my 130 guests loved the food and the decoration was a blast - Richie worked with all the baseball stuff we gave him and just put together an AMAZING set-up...

It was so great to have all our guests praising the unsual set-up and lovely food. I strongly recommend Lavish - not just cos the food is great but cos they really REALLY OUTDO all the other caterers in comign up with unusual, cool decorations. (And believe me, by the end of the night, the guests were all playing with the displays, having a whale of a time!)

pinmanee

Hi eltgal,

Congrats on your beautiful wedding! Could you please share with me the details from the rental of ACM to catering by Lavish? photos too (if possible)! Sorry for asking so much -_-"

Thanks-in-advance!
my email: [email protected]

december07

Hi eltgal,

Many congratulations on your successful dinner! Do share your photos once you get it all sorted out? In the meantime, enjoy the post-nuptial bliss!

eltgal

Hey Pin, my wedding just ended on sunday - so I have to wait for it to be developed etc. But I will definitely share it ok?

You can call Lavish (Ask for Richie - he's the best!)

kanchi

hi, all:

I suggest those interested in ACM should book as early as possible.

ACM is my first choice, however, all dates (in Feb, next year) that I choose have been booked by other clients. Thus, I have to change to other venues, very pity.

pinmanee

Hi eltgal,

Oops! I forgot the time needed for developing photos and selecting them...Sorry, still a newbie :p Thank you so much for being willing to share!

I'm penning down Richie's name right away~

cherishy

Can share your wedding pic at ACM with me? I'm still looking for somewhere special to hold my wedding. I also don't wish to hold in some hotel ballrooms although i think it shd save me more time to scout for caterers, florist etc.............so vexed!!! . My email is [email protected] Thanks in advance!!

ice_cosy

Understand that the river room and river terrace can hold abt 15 tables each. If I had about 20 tables, will it be funny to spilt into half? Say relatives in aircon room and friends outdoor.

Any idea how the programme could run? How to march in? Or had to do without one? Need help! Thanks!

peixian

Hi Ice cosy

As for me, I have about 18-20tables, still not very sure how to arrange also. My caterer told me that if without the projection, i can put max 18 table with same space for march in. If without carving station can have additional one more table. I think 20 tables should not have any problem, it depend on how your caterer arrange

ice_cosy

Hi Peixian

Thanks alot for your help!

You mean they can still squeeze in 18-20 tables including the buffet line? How about the stage?

Are you placing all the tables indoor? How many buffet line are you having and which caterer?

Sorry for all the questions...hee hee cos I hope to have a buffet too.

eminozy

hello girls, somehow this thread seems to be the most progressive. I too want to have a wedding in december 07 and have been looking at ACM; for the past 6 months ..no bookings yet and by the sound of it, seems to be impossible..so many of u are going for it! hehehe.

I will try and email or go to teh website if LAVISH have one coz i am unfortunately not in Spore to be doing all the organisation, which seems to be the biggest hassle.

was just wondering... do u think i can have a max of 350 people, that means that i book both the terrace and the room? a bit too much, right?
Sigh.. i love the area especially the teracce overlooking the river!

jesslau

emilia jo

It's abit difficute to get hold of the incharge of ACM, anyway I made my booking thru Rasel which I feel that it's a one stop solution which settle my food and venue at the same time.

River Room can hold up to max about 18 tables with the buffet line inside. I went to see one of the set-up my caterer does last time But 18 tables provided without the projection.

If you are looking at 350pax with all sitting arrangement is impossible unless you want to book the River terrace. Not forgetting you have to arrange for tentage at River terrace as well which will cost you quite a bomb. At first my guest list is about 300pax but no choice I have to strink it. I think they are increasing the charges soon for all 2007 booking lucky I booked in advance so I can still enjoy the old rates.

Rasel so far provides me with wonderful services. I tasted their food first before deciding whether to appoint them or not. They provides me with wide range of food selection and fast in reponse unlike Lavish. Anyway Lavish are a no pork no lard catering so cannot consider them as halal caterer. I ever got quotes from Lavish but their charges are far to expensive and on top of it their services are not as good as Rasel. Compare to food, I have both sampling on the same day. Rasel even had a mini set-up with food warmer unlike Lavish place all food in mircowave box and worst thing is they are late. Food wise not as good as Rasel.

Well it just 2 cents away. I believe individual ppl has it own food preferences. So maybe you want to do your comparsion first before deciding.

Happy hunting!

Merry Chirstmas!

eminozy

Hi jess!

thanks for the pronto answer. Its really wonderful we have such a portal to discuss about our woes here. Pheww.. Its just weird that I just started thinking all this properly yesterday and I couldnt sleep the whole night. HEHEHE. I thought i would be one of those calm bride to be but nope, i guess its all hormones isnt it. Women will always be women.

I will call Rasel perhaps soon and see what they can do for me. I checked Purple sage too and they seem to be kinda interesting, i like peranakan food! Ü

Yeah.... i realised i have to book both river terrace and room. Really have to figure things out. Hopefully i can get everything sorta organise in 2 weeks.

Oh ya, one more things, are thre any other venues in singapore similar to ACM´s? And i was just wondering if they have a changing room for the wedding couple to change prepare? OR what are your plans for that if they dont, would u need to get a room at a hotel nearby?

ice_cosy

Hi emilia

Other similar venues will be The Arts House (Old parliament house)and SAM. Both are colonialstyle building which are very romantic. However, the venue could only cater for abt 10 tables (for seating).

You could book two rooms at The Arts House (Blue room and The Gallery) if you want more tables.

Actually I was looking thru these 3 venues cos they are pretty unique and different from normal wedding. Now I'm dropping ACM cos i do not have a very pleasant encounter there with their service.

Btw, girls... words of advice, i guess its easier to co-ordinate if you book the venues thru catering company as you only need to manage one vendor.

Me still sourcing for venues now. Lets share!

jesslau

emilia jo

My caterer told me ACM does have a small changing room but lighting wise not very strong. Suggest u should ask your MUA to bring extra light

eminozy

hello, thanks ice and jess, BTW, merry xmas and new year.

I just came back form the holidays and now have to get back into this organising thing-a-fare. oh yes, where was i....hmm...

ice- yeah, i love the fact they are all colonial period building. But having two seperate rooms i guess do not make sense right? i discovered a beautiful location on reflection hill( bukit chandu) near labrador park which is beautiful too but the problem is getting there and its in the jungle, it can be quite humid and too many mosies, especially if its in december-MONSOON!... not a good idea ya? i guess i have to have indoors now. SIGH

If u are doing it not in december and dont mind the distance, maybe u can do it there. its colonial as well, the building looks like burkhill and very beautiful area. The other is spabliss near botanical garden but its like $3500 only for venue which i think is silly and can have 150pax max.

when is your wedding by the way? the website is through the heritage board homepage or just google ´bukit chandu´.

Jess, thanks! err, am new with all these terms.. whats exactly is MUA?

jesslau

emilia jo

I know that place in botanical garden, it call the Burkill Hall. At first i wanted to book that place but they are close for the entire 2007 abd onli reopen in 2008. SAD!

MUA - Make Up Artist

ice cosy

I also don't have a pleasent encounter with ACM, so I actually got my caterer to book for me since they have that service. Sometime no choice, they are abit stuckup in service so if you really want to book than have to take it.

In fact no many places are like ACM got huge room and within town area with reasonable rates. Think about it before you decide. If you don't want to talk to them than find a caterer that can provide you with this type of additional services.

Good Luck!

ice_cosy

Hi Emilia
hey, i know the place too!
really like the Bukit Chandu Reflection hall, esp the deck among the trees before reaching the museum. Tot of holding my ROM there but as u said, its too far. And I dun think the museum is available for function? It real ulu there heehee.

Jessica - Ya, I too wanted to book the Burkill Hall cos its got both Outdoor and Indoor venues. Hee, guess we got same taste.

When i was at the ACM, i was informed my co-ordinator was on MC and there's no one to cover or know about my appointment. I was not allowed to go up to see the room too as there was an NHB event going on. Not to mention they made me waited for an hour (cos i'm early) to find out later she's on MC. When i get to talk to her later, she tot my appointment is next week.

i wanted to faint leh. In the end i left feeling fustrated. And till now, i din received any apologies or follow up reply from them.

So I wont be taking their venue lor. Better ask the caterer to deal with them if someone wanted the venue. Hai....

jesslau

Ice cosy

I did'nt view the place by making appointment with them, as mention i didn't book thru ACM also. They really has no sense of responsibility.

Anyway that time i arrange the viewing with my caterer cos they have a wedding cater to ACM as well.

eminozy

boohoo.. am still having space issues.... aarrggghh...ok...do u think that with long tables instead, i can fit 350 people? i so want this place ..everwhere else sucks!

-the not happy ,pms bride to be...heheh-

marnie

Hi Emilia Jo, fancy seeing you here. I posted a reply in the mixed marriages thread.

I had my wedding at ACM last year. ACM is really stickky about the no. of pax in the museum at any one time due to fire safety (you actually need to apply for that when you lease the space for the period). Also because the terrace is an extension (not part of the original building), they need to ensure that it's not going to overload and pose a threat to the original building structure.

We had about 280-300 (can't recall the exact no. now since the wedding is almost a year ago) people at our weddding. One time sitting.

richelle

I'm new here. Need some advise on here. They have increase their booking fee and now we can only pick the caterer from their official list. Any advise on their offical catering list and decoration?

jesslau

Hi richelle

kao_welcome.gif

I heard that they are increasing the rates too! So now must be damn X right? All the while they have a prefer catering list, but those catering list they have are very expensive. If you will to include the booking fee inside, it's as good as putting your wedding in a 4 star hotel. Not really worth it. I do not really know if they charge extra if you are getting outside caterer but you can try asking them.

My caterer are not inside their list but they are not charging me for any extra. Catering charges should also includes decoration as well so not too worried about that.

Good Luck!

richelle

Hi Jessica

Ya! now they are charging me at $3800 exclude GST. Actually the charges did'nt really make a different for my wedding, I do have their previous rate as well which they are charging $2600 for River Room and $1200 for Terrace so total still the same. I have about 280 guests so sure must book 2 area. Their new charges now affect badly if I only have less than 200 guests.
They forward me an official caterer list which includes Kri*ton (replace * with s), Lavish and purplesage. I'm looking at Lavish and purplesage only, strike Kri*ton (replace * with s)off due to some bad experiene. This two caterer charges very expenisive about $45 per person. Any suggestion?

BTW which caterer are you getting?

jesslau

richelle

Lucky i book with them earlier, I only book the River room for $2600 and can use the terrace for free. I only have about 150 guests. If you don't mind you can try calling my caterer. They are charging me $40 with wide spreed of dishes. Even if you pay the extra $800 still add up cheaper than getting their official caterer.
You might want to call Rasel Catering at 67777183 or my sales co-dinator Elsie 92771255 to get a quote from them? You can arrange a food sampling with them see you if you like it. So far they provides me with good services.

richelle

jessica

Thanks for the contact. I will call up Rasel later to ask for their quotation. Is their food nice? Pretty good review from other threads as well. My friend has arrange for their food sampling next week and I'll be joining them as well. If the food is okay I think she will order from them for her church wedding. She also liase with Elsie.

jesslau

richelle

I had the sampling month ago. They deliver the food to my house and set-up like a mini buffet. So far, my family and I like their food and service. I'm arranging them to cater for my lunch in church as well.

richelle

Jessica

Is there any food in Rasel which you will recommend? Planning to arrange them to delivery the food sampling.

jesslau

richelle

I did'nt really tasted much in the sampling, basically here are the dishes that i have tasted and feel yummy

Italian Chicken
Vietnamese Fish
Mutton Rojan Josh
Scallop Mornay

Heard from other thread that they offer very nice shepherd's pie but it not allow to taste during the food sampling. I believe they have other yummy food as well, maybe you can ask Elsie to recommand you.

jesslau

Richelle

Maybe you can check it at Rasel Food Fusion Catering threads. You should be able to find more yummy dishes there

richelle

Jessica

I posted inside the thread already. Haven really got any reply yet. Later I check again. Anyway thanks!

cutecat

Hi richelle

Weird, i still have not received any mail.
maybe will try to check tonight. Thanks.

And also wonder you booked any hotel near ACM?

richelle

Hi Cutecat

I resent to you just now, you check if you can receive it.

I have not book any hotels yet but looking at booking Swissotel. U?