Asian Civilisation Museum (ACM)

december07

The forum does seem to have quietened down...Maybe everyone is busy with work and wedding preparations. Anyway, do you think wedding favours are a must to have? Based on the weddings I've been to, some people leave the favours behind, and others (myself included) bring it home, find out they have no place to display it, and eventually throw it away! I know it only costs a few dollars at most, but that's still money right? Do you think people will notice if I leave it out?

eltgal

Hi December!

I think it's all dependant on your favor. I usually eat the favors I get. (LOL).

Get something meaningful, i think people will keep it. Or eat it - if it's an edible item.

Our wedding favor is going to be a surprise - my guests will have to contribute to it, to complete it, so at least I guarantee that they will keep it. LOL. (I am so evil, right?)

i think if your favor was something that you created yourself from scratch (and not another box of chocolates given by hotels), then there is a higher chance that guests will keep it. I feel....

seline

Hi december07 & eltgal

At first I tot of getting a customise favors like tumble glasses or key chain which can crave names and date on it, but after looking at it, I change my mind cos I'm also someone that left it behind.

Do you all think chocolate helps? Maybe just getting 60% - 70% and arrange it at the buffet point than let the guest help themself. That's the kinda of option from Rasel.

december07

Hi eltgal,

Your favours sound very meaningful...and very complicated...haha unfortunately I don't have that much creativity and my guests are made up of many relatives who won't bother to follow instructions! (Singaporean bochupness)

I wanted to get chocolates or sugared almonds and put them in a really cute and pretty 2 inch by 2 inch paper box, and tie it up with an equally pretty ribbon, but my FH is not supportive. He says its a lot of work (even if we only have 100 guests) and most people do not appreciate such a thing. Maybe I'll only do that for my helpers and close friends in the end.

Seline,
Another reason why I dropped my chocolates in a box idea is because the guests will already be stuffed from the desserts in the buffet, or the chocolate fountain. Not sure if they want Even More chocolates!

seline

Hi december07

Aiyo! The chocolate in gift box is for them to bring home as a return gift not to eat there.

When I attend wedding, I saw that favors are normally place on top of dinning plate which it look so standard where every guest should have one. How about ppl like me? Cos I don't really like to keep favors. The suggestion by Rasel wss great. To put the favors on the buffet line. Who ever one will take themself. Firstly, there's a saving on the favors. Secondly, to avoid favors unattended. Lastly not wasted.

eltgal

you girls are funny :)

I toyed with the idea of Green apples as favor - saw it in my collection of Martha Stewart magazines.

She's got great ideas!

december07

Hi Seline,

The bunching of favours together seems like a good idea...but what if your favour is such a hit and everyone wants one? Might not look good / friends will whine if they don't get one.

Hi eltgal,

Hope you don't mean that we're funny as in 'weird'...=P Sometimes I do wonder if I obsess too much. It is only one day in my life after all.

About meaningful favours...I just helped my friend complete hers. We spent Saturday afternoon attaching little gold bells to a namecard-sized card. She had printed a little verse thanking the guests. That's really meaningful, and its all DIY, but I think she'll be disappointed by the "take-up" rate and most people will probably leave theirs behind. Singaporeans just aren't very sentimental that way.

Don't think my parents and in-laws will take well to green apples. They are decidedly conservative. But why green anyway? Any symbolism behind that? Or it matches your wedding colours? Haha..I know it'll match mine.

Where did you get your martha stewart mags from? I can only surf the website...

seline

Hi december07

Hah! Just too bad for those who did'nt got one, anyway to my experience usually has alot of balance. When I help out on my friends wedding in church also the same thing. Favors are alway left behind and my friend won't know what to do with it. It's all dollar & cents lor! Wasted leh!

eltgal

Hey December,

I am not using the green apples - but it was a cool idea I saw in the mag.

I used to get Martha Stewart magazines when my FH was living in the states. But now that he has moved here, I buy them from Borders/ Kinokuniya. BUT to be honest, I notice she repeats some of her stuff. Like Summer 2006 had some ideas from her Fall 2003 magazines.

Having said that, it's always fun to read them.

I agree with you - favors are always going to not be kept. But like I said - my favors are going to be 'DONE' by my guests. So I am hoping that the hard work they put in will make them bring it home. HAHAH. *evil laughter*

mintee

hi gals! Any idea how many tables can the ACM River Room accomodate? And how much is the rental? thanks!

december07

Hi mintee,

Rental of the river room is $2600 on a weekend, for full day/evening. The details of pricing and timing are here:
http://www.nhb.gov.sg/ACM/AboutACM/RentalFacilities/

I think one of the previous brides managed to squeeze 18 tables, but probably at the expense of the stage, and maybe a smaller buffet spread? I think 15 tables and below would be more comfortable if you don't want the place to feel too cramped.

eltgal,
if your guests are the cooperative sort who can follow instructions then its fine. hehe. If I try to make my guests do their favours, probably only my close friends will attempt it, and even so, after some persuasion. I shall resign myself to being run-of-the-mill and buying something typical. Or use Seline's suggestion and provide for 75% of the guests.

mintee

Thanks for the link December!

Btw cld I ask couple of qn on hosting weddings at ACM?

The equipment list said there are rectangular tables, but no mention of round tables. So the setup won't be the usual 10pax round tables? It also mentioned chairs have to be set up by clients and returned after use. So you have to arrange own manpower for that to be done? Also for lights and music control?

Other than that, what are the main differences between hosting your wedding at ACM vs std locations like hotel?

december07

Hi mintee,

At the expense of seeming like a sad person who doesn't go out on Sundays, here you go! =P

If you want round tables you need to get it through your caterer or food provider - whether they rent it to you at a separate charge, or it is included in your deal with them. If you want a western style dinner, then you can probably get long tables from ACM directly. Or if it is only a cocktail thing, then standing cocktail tables will suffice.

Your caterer can arrange and replace the chairs for you, according to some of the brides who have done it before. Apparently only Rasel has chair covers that fit ACM's chairs. This I have not checked out, but it would be a cost saver if you don't have to rent chairs from the caterer.

Lights and music I believe ACM will have someone in charge. If it isn't too complicated then I'm sure it will go fine. Also, if you have a helpful photographer/videographer who is doing the wedding day highlights/baby pictures montage for you, they can help to monitor the situation too.

The thing I like about ACM is that they provide you with all the tech equipment at no hidden cost, plus no one else can have an event on the river terrace even if you have not booked it.

Having a wedding offsite(like ACM, Fort Canning, the Art Museum) needs a bit more preparation on your part. You have to find your own caterer and florist and there isn't anyone to point fingers at if anything goes wrong *touch wood*. But most caterers and venues like ACM are quite comprehensive and can give you almost everything you need and point you towards other vendors. The plus about doing everything from scratch is that the sense of ownership and pride is there from the beginning, and at the end of the event, you can really think "wow, I did it!"

For me, it was hard to find a hotel that I liked as a whole. It was either the price, or the ballroom, or the ambience, or the reputation of the food that turned me off. With a "blank slate" for a venue, I can put in what I really want, and at a price I can stomach. Having said that, I think hotels still appeal because of all the factors above that Don't appeal to me. =)
Someone takes charge of everything so it is less of a hassle. It is also a safe option that the elders won't complain about. If prestige is an important factor for you and your FH, or parents, then hotels are still the way to go. The mention of a buffet wedding dinner at a non-hotel still raises doubts about quality and people wonder if you're trying to cut corners.

Happy decision making!

mintee

Wow December! Thanks so much for your comprehensive reply! Many many thanks for sharing your views and information with me (on a Sunday evening especially!)

How much is the monetary difference that you would be paying for the ACM wedding (including catering, deco, frills etc etc) vs a hotel wedding? Is it really much cheaper than having it at a hotel? The appeal of a hotel to me is simply 1-stop shop convenience; but having attended so many hotel weddings myself, I'm bored of it myself! haha.. that's why I'm trying to see if I can try out something more unique.

Hey Dec, do you mind sharing with me those hotels with poor food reputation?? PM me? So I can struck them off the consideration list from start! haha...

Thanks so much once again!! Have a great week ahead!

december07

Hi mintee,

No problem, I feel a need to offload all these thoughts I have swimming in my head anyway. =P

Monetary difference depends on you and your fh. If you want minimal variety in terms of food, and you're not picky about taste and decoration, then buffet dinner packages can start from $15 to 60+ (purple sage). It also depends on how comprehensive your order is for tables, linen, centrepieces etc. So including rental of premise (divide up by let's say 150 people) and per pax buffet at $40 (for nice plates, variety in food, napkins, covered chairs...), around $60 per head for venue and food. But if you have fewer guests to share out your venue rental (imagine 100 people) then the cost goes up to $66 per pax.

If you want to go for frills like a band to fill up the silence,chocolate fountain, entertainers for the kids, a professional emcee then it may work out to be more expensive.

Pros for a hotel is that people sort of know the market rate, and if you don't go for any place over 90 per head then you won't lose too much. Even though it is cheaper per head to hold a wedding at ACM, people may give a lower ang pao amount. =(

I think most couples now pay for the whole dinner, so if your parents have asked for so many tables from your in-laws (and your FH is paying)then your concern would be to keep costs down and make sure all guests don't "undergive" by too much. Having a wedding at ACM does not guarantee this, unless you have very understanding friends and relatives.

Later I'll pm you some hotels I *heard* are not too good. You should ask those friends who have just gotten married too.

seline

Hi December07,

Hey! you seem like an expert nowadays. haha!! Joking lah!

Purplesage price where got $15! At least smelly smelly also $40-$60 per pax. After adding in all the additional like rental and logistics, wow! can go 4 star hotel already.

So have you decided on your caterer already? I just spoke with Rasel a week ago cos my friend also planning for her last min wedding. You should know what happen lah! She planning for food sampling next week.

michelle_

Hi Mintee,

For my case, i'm spending about $50+ per pax including venue, favors, cake, catering, floral & arrangement. Still deciding whether to cater for wine or not. The reason why I had it in ACM cos I don't like the usual wedding banquet I feel that It's quite boring and there's some saving in between as well. Of cos it will be hassel free as hotel sell as a package. It really depend on what type of concept you want. If you are not looking at anything fancy maybe your caterer can help you to do all the ness decoration. I'm kinda lazy person so my caterer handle everything include venue booking, food and decoration.

You can check with me if you need more help.

Happy Hunting!

mintee

Thanks December and Michelle!
Appreciate your advice

Btw December... sorry I have a technical problem here... how do i check my PM? argh...sorry.. what a paiseh qn...

eltgal

Thanks for all the great advice. Everyone here is an expert :)

I spoke to Lavish about my catering. We are still going with them i think. The Sales guy seems really nice and has a can-do attitude. Plus our theme is SPORTS (it's a sports game) and so far only he seems keen to give it a shot.

I am spending about 60+....which is quite a bit, since this does not include rental and there are only 100 over guests. BUT, I hope we have fun.

Michelle, which caterer are you looking at?

mintee

hi gals, do these caterers like Lavish, PurpleSage, Kriston etc do only buffet? Or is it possible to do the usual 8 course chinese banquet style using these caterers in the ACM? Wld the caterers be able to supply waiters for the serving?

december07

Hi Seline,

I think age is catching up with me, I'm getting long-winded nowadays! Should have been clearer in my description, Purplesage only falls within the 60+ buffet package. 15+ is for the cheaper lunch menus, and it doesn't include tables, linen and all that. I find it a bit tricky to "decode" their package prices. I mean, if I take things as a package it should work out to be cheaper for me right? But their menus are not directly comparable due to types of food etc.

I haven't decided on a caterer as I'm still very far off from the date...going to take it slowly from here. Partly also cos I'm busy with work. Sigh.

Err, your friend must have had a "surprise"? When I went to meet with a photographer, he was also handling a couple in a similar situation as your friend. He mentioned it is actually quite common nowadays. =P Since you introduced your friend to Rasel, did you ask for a mass discount for both of you? Should be possible right...

Michelle,
Where are you getting your cake from? Through the caterer? And how much is Rasel charging you for each bottle of wine? A real wedding cake sounds lovely, but there will be plenty of desserts from the buffet already...so I'm undecided about it.

mintee,
I think PM goes straight to your registered email. Right, ladies? I've only received it once, so not too sure.

I remember reading another thread on Chinese banquet catering...is it Gim Tim that does it? Whichever caterer you choose will provide the service staff.

eltgal,
I think only the brides are so enthusiastic about the wedding, and we tend to research certain areas until we can probably go into the business as well! Sg brides has been my "mentor" ever since I knew I was getting married. There's so much to learn here from previous brides!

Your theme sounds very "on", no wonder your guests have to make their own favours...hehe
$60+ without rental is quite hefty, but it IS easier to have fun in a smaller group.

happielee

Pls help out this confused bride to be in 2007..have just started lookin at venues and am keen at ACM but have no idea of the costs involved and things to note.
Pls be a kind soul and send me any useful information to [email protected]

von

hi Seline,

Sorry for no repsonse, havent been checking on the forum coz of bz work & juz bk fm honeymoon.

u dun accept PM? maybe u can PM me instead and i will send u the contact of my PG via email.

michelle_

Hi eltgal,

Your theme sound "COOL" sports? I'm getting Rasel to cater for my wedding.

Hi december07,

As for wedding cake, I'm getting cupcakes from canival & co. I think it's cheaper than the usual 3 tier cake and it looks really nice in 5 tier.

Hi slgerman

What info do you need? maybe we can help you on this.

eltgal

Thanks Michelle.

I am going to just get a cake from Prima Deli or something I think...I wanted a proper wedding cake from The Patissier, but it is so pricey.

And there is this lovely japanese- cake shop in Holland V whom I was hoping could make the strawberry shortcake type of wedding cake. BUT guess what, it's about S$800 for a cake that feeds 120 pax.

So FH and I decided tonite to just get a simple cake and throw in the sports theme. Cup cakes are a really good idea!!

Slgerman, let me know if you have any specific questions. Have you tried the Parliament House too?

December, yeah! It's a nice theme - my FH is a BIG BIG baseball fan, so we are incorporating elements of that and other sportsy stuff. I only hope we can deliver what we want. :-(

seline

Hi december07

That a "BIG" surprise for both of them. Anyway, they have been dating for almost 10 years so it's time for them to settle down. I haven really ask Rasel if they can give me a discount or something but for my friend order, her's is a church wedding which she is looking at about $15 for 120 persons not too expensive type.
I think you have to start hunting the balance for your wedding already. My mum told me that next year 2007 super good year for wedding, made sure you do your booking first and confirm the balance nearer to date. My wedding in Nov but my preparation almost done. I have book my caterer, and venue. Heard from Elsie (Rasel) that they already got booking for 2007 till december and early 2008. At first I tot of booking Arts House but guess what, venue has been book by another couple. Other bride are even more Kaisu than me.

Hi eltgal

Baseball theme! must be white and blue for interior decor right? Very sporting! Be careful about Lavish catering, I tried their food before for company function food not impress at all and they cater for my friend wedding. Screw up the whole wedding!!! Made sure they come in time and fod must be fresh. Hah! Not trying to scare you but to play SAFE!

New,

You want to email me the contact? [email protected]

december07

Hi michelle,

I really like the cupcake idea as well. Have you tasted it before? My concern is that it may look good but suffer taste-wise.

eltgal,

what about thep!nes? They seem to be the 'hot' choice for wedding cakes. I feel like I'm typing a bad word...heheh

Baseball? Your hubby is American or raised there? It's not a commonly favoured sport here.

New,

Had fun? where did you go for your honeymoon?

Seline,

I heard a conflicting comment, that 2007 is not a good year. But I suppose the advanced bookings speak for themselves. I've pretty much got the critical elements covered: venue and photography.

What did lavish do to your poor friend? I think no matter which caterer you choose, you have to keep at them about logistics, timing and so on. There is much forgetfulness and bochupness in the world. =P

von

Hi Seline,

K, emailed to u.

Hi december07,

Holidays(Honeymoon) is oways fun, a getaway fm stress and reality, haha.
I went to italy and Swizterland for 2 weeks and stopped by juz one town in Germany.

seline

Hi december07

Haha! I was told from my mum that 2007 a good year. Maybe she buff me, can't wait to married me off earlier.

As for the incident on my friend wedding, not really sure on what's going as I'm out of town for business trip during her wedding date. In fact she do not want to talk about it also, guess she don't wish to recall some bad experience. I tried Lavish food twice both like cannot made it leh! decoration also horrible. Too much green like jungle.

eltgal

Wah Seline,

really ah? That bad? Lavish is really that bad ah? Oh dear....now I am worried....

December: Yep! he is from New York. Baseball is his love and what he played in school...and in japan for a while.

Oh dear, now i am really worried - lavish really cannot make it ah? but I heard from the ACM co-ordinators that they are the best so far lah...what should I do?

eltgal

December, who did you use again?

FH and I tried Rasel at another place - and we didn't like it at all. FH is quite adament about this...so that's the problem. In terms of Caterer, anyone has any recommendations then?
*headache*

michelle_

Hi Eltgal

I think it's hard to give comments on caterer as most of the bride here are using Rasel as their wedding caterer and you don't really refer their food quality. I should say every ppl has different taste buds, it's hard to suit everyone.
I every tried Lavish during seminar. Frankly, I don't like their food and decoration.

michelle_

Hi New,

Welcome back!!! How's the honeymoon? Must be very fun right? I plan of going there too, can give me some recommandation? Where you get your ticket from? I heard that there's some fair going on but does it made any price different?

december07

Hi New,

Were you on a free and easy trip? I'm planning to go to about 2 European countries too, but not sure which ones yet.

Hi Seline and Eltgal,

I have only tried Lavish's tea reception - not good. But I'm still more keen on them than other caterers, the higher end ones cos they're ex, and I actually quite like the look of Lavish's decorations on their website. Before I confirm anything I'll ask them specifically what the decorations will be, what flowers, centerpieces etc.

The thread on Lavish has mostly good things to say, so that is bolstering my confidence in them. You can take a look. I hope they really are better at catering wedding dinners than normal receptions.

If the ACM coordinators (having seen so many weddings) say that they are good, its up to you to take that leap of faith. Or ask to view one of Lavish's actual wedding setups in the next few weeks? That should give you a clear picture. If quality of food is the issue, you can give them feedback on that too.

My friend just had her dinner at Burkill Hall and she used Kriston. Feedback was good and they didn't mess up anything. You can get a quotation from them too.

eltgal

Hey December,

You are right - actually now that I am reading the threads again - I think Lavish's feedback so far has been positive except for a few.

Spoke with FH today again - he says Rasel is out of the question - bland food, bad set up etc in his opinion...so, I think need to try Lavish again.

I remember speaking to Richie and he was honest enough to admit that it all depends on the pricing of the items (ie. you get what you pay for) i think that is a valid point. Besides, they do Government functions, and having worked for the govt before, I believe that there is some standard required.

I am still worried, and will keep asking around, but I intend to speak with ACM and also Richie again.

-sigh-

december07

eltgal,

No need to sigh. It can be quite a headache making these decisions, but you just have to go with the best you can do based on what you know. As Michelle was saying, you can't please everyone as our taste buds are different, and there will be someone out there to criticise some aspect of your carefully thought-out ceremony.

Caterer selection is basically a gamble - so just look around a bit more, and take heart that you've chosen the best according to your knowledge. Just have someone to keep on top of things with the caterer closer to the day, as well as on the actual day.

eltgal

Thanks december!

Maybe I should listen to FH - have Hotdogs, Popcorn, Ice-cream and make it TRUE American style. oh..and beer and coke! HAHAHHA

december07

Hey eltgal,

that's actually a good idea! Take your wedding completely out of the Singaporean box, so there is no basis for comparison by kaypoh relatives! At most they'll say it is "different" and "unique", and if you have a non-local husband they'll find it more acceptable. hehe

von

Hi Michelle and Decemenber,

I didnt do a Free & Easy, F & E, need alot of planning, I didnt have the time to do so, so i did it with SA Tour for Italy & Swiss.

Both place is v touristic and Italy is very rich in history and their gothic building. Both r v nice, but personally prefer Switzerland, coz it really v v sceneric, the experience is v different. you wake up in the morning and can admire the alphine fm your window, everything is like a painting....

Its a v leisure tour, alot of free time and not rush, unlike that time i went Korea, wow lau, that one v tiring.

michelle_

Hi eltgal

I think Rasel not too bad lah! In fact I went to their wedding workshop in April for sampling. Food not too bad and their decoration looks really sweet. My fussy IL tasted their food and they like it especially the LAKSA. I even book them for my wedding too. I think your husband don't like because that's not what you want. I believe if they have white and blue or something to do with baseball your tot's will change.

Anyway take your time to decide which caterer you want. If you really like Lavish than go ahead, so long as you're happy with the arrangement.

Hi New,

So romatic leh! Last time when I went Japan also the same. Very stress and tiring. Seems like time are alway not enough.

eltgal

Thanks December and michelle.

I think we might do the unconventional route. This is our 2nd dinner, the 1st one is a typical Chinese one at a hotel...so we have free reign for this one.....just got to get contacts!

december07

eltgal,

Contacts for? Popcorn vendors and all? I remember a while back another bride was discussing an events guy who can supply bubble machines and what not. Maybe he has contacts for what you need. Try searching a few threads back.

I think it would be very nice to do a completely unconventional wedding...but I don't have the guts to buck convention. =(

sarah24

Hi guys, my Fh and I personally like ACM alot and are thinking of having our solemnisation there on the terrace followed by buffet for the guests. Just wondering how much it will cost per head, any difference for lunch vs dinner?

seline

Hi Sarah

Welcome!!!

It depend on what sort of concept you looking at.
As for me, I'm spending about a total less than $50 per head which includes food, floral, rental of venue, cake and favors. There is not different for Lunch and Dinner menu.

december07

Hi sarah,

Costs will vary based on which caterer you book, and whether you book the terrace as well. Previously, I posted the link to rental rates at the top of this thread. You can take a look and compare the timing/rates.

kanchi

hi, all
I think ACM is a more interesting and innovative idea, since I think hotels are farily boring to me.

My major concern is the money isse (Both my gf and I earn a little). Also, we don't have many guests to invite.

Suppose we have 80pax only. A quick question is on the TOTAL cost. "ACM Vs 4 star hotel, which one is cheaper?"

von

Hi Rings...

Cost depends alot on how u wan the wedding to be done.

Doing Lunch or Dinner? Standing buffet or Sit down buffet? All make quite a big diff on the costing.

If u r doing a sitdown buffet, the price will be abt the same as 4star hotel.Difference wun be much.

kanchi

hi, new: thanks. I am thinking of sitdown dinner buffet so far. I think the rental fee of ACM (say, $2600 in weekend) is the extra cost, comprared with 4 star hotel.

do you have any advices to cut down the cost? Accroding to the posts in this thread, we can save $400 by using chairs of ACM. Any advices to further cut down the cost? how to cut the rental fee of ACM venue? frankly speaking, $2600 is fairly much....thanks.

kanchi

Hi, all
apologize for my question again

As for the rental fee of River Room, according to the website of ACM, there is "special discount of 20% will be extended to repeat clients for the year 2006 for events held in year 2005 provided last event is within a 1 year period."

Anyone used this discount before? thanks.