Asian Civilisation Museum (ACM)

autumn8five

Hi New,

Thanks for the photos ! =) Nice Nice...

If you don't mind, can send me your link... wd love to see all yr nice nice photos... =)

von

Charmaine & peixian,

Sent !!

michelle_

Hi New,

Thanks for your pics! It looks great! I did'nt expect the turn up so good. Now I got more confident in Rasel already. I'm sure that my set-up will look as good as yours.

Sent me you link aso!

peixian

Hi New,

Wow~~~~~~~ You look great! The set-up for Rasel looks very nice also. I will be happy if my set-up look like yours. So sweets!

seline

Hi New,

Hey, you look gorgeous!!! Rasel set-up also very nice. Neat and sweet. Thanks for you photos and link.

von

Hi peixian and seline,

Thanks, i am sure every bride look great on their big day.

seems like all like rasel setup ...
i tink its gd enough & presentable for a wedding...and u gals can feel safe that everything will turn out well too.

seline

I just finish my food sampling with Rasel on Monday. Overall my family and I are very happy with their food and services. Food is tasty and warm, except for vegetable turn soggy after 1 hour, that one quite acceptable. The food arrive at 6.30pm but we only started and 7.45pm while waiting for my dad to return from work.

I should be meeting them soon to settle on food. Heard that alot of ppl aiming for this date. Better book first than be sorry.

december07

Haven't posted anything in a while cos I'm still waiting for in-laws to view ACM. The good news is that we are going down next Sat to take a look...so I'm keeping all fingers and toes crossed that they like it!

New,
Congrats on the lovely results of your wedding pics! Based on the gushing of the other ladies, they must be very nice! Can I take a look as well? I will pm you my contact.

Just another question, do you think that having a buffet dinner meant the whole event was very short? How long did your guests stay? I'm still racking my brains trying to come up with entertainment for my guests. Because the whole process of eating will take maybe an hour? A short toast (no yam seng!) is all I have in mind. Even a photo montage display can't take that long. Of course I will go around taking pics with all the different groups of people, but aside from that....there doesn't seem to be anything else. Am I worrying about nothing? Even though I used to rant about the uselessness of a traditional sit down dinner, I'm starting to see that it does take a load off the couple's mind about entertainment.

freemind

hi selina,

gd tt the food is ok for u. i tink rasel get a lot of free advertisment fm this thread, keke.

hi decemember,

yap, saw yr email and sent u the link liao.

Mine was a lunch instead of a dinner, the guest start to arrive abt 12.30 pm, montage and march in took place abt 1.15pm and lunch commence abt 1.30 pm. guest start leaving abt 2.45. Some who r closer to us, stayed still abt 3.30pm.

hmm... isnt the purpose of having a buffet is to keep the event short ? at least tt is my purpose la, coz sometimes i oways hear ppl complaining tt going to chinese wedding dinner waste alot of time & personally i feel so oso, tt why i plan a buffet for ppl to be free and easy and in ctrl of their time & food. keke

all the event u mentioned i have them too, other than toasting on stage. all these wun take long lo. and its also gd to keep things short and sweet.

actually i was planning to get a musician for my wedding, the flat fee is $500, tot is quite wasful for a 2-3 hr event to pay the $500 so forgo the idea, maybe u can consider it if u like to have soem entertainment.

peixian

Hi New

haha! I caught you!
Hey I went to ACM yesterday to see Rasel set-up. The couple has red theme which look warm and lovey. I'm still thinking whether to have red or pink like your wedding. Both look nice! I'm abit confuse now!

december07

Hi new (and ladies),

Thanks for your quick email! I like your photos, and you looked very care-free and happy, except maybe during the preparations before lunch, where you looked a bit stressed. hehehe. But overall, very radiant! Btw, where is your cake from?

I agree that the point of a buffet is to keep things simple, but now that I've told everyone I want it to be simple, I find myself having second thoughts. What if I regret not being more "over the top"? Lots of people say a wedding should be a big and grand affair. But in the end I think it's just not me to want a lavish celebration. =)

The musician that you mentioned, is that offered by ACM? And is it at least a 3 piece band? I think having a (good) band play at night will create a nice mood. But you're right, a good compilation of songs is much more practical and easy on the wallet. Not sure if many of my guests will appreciate a live jazz band.

What exactly is melamine ware? I think someone was comparing Lavish and Rasel and there was some mention of having to pay extra to top up the cutlery used to glassware. So there is melamine ware, porcelain ware, and glassware? I'm still deciding between the 2 caterers. So far, Lavish seems more "stuck-up" compared to Rasel.

freemind

hi peixian..

no choice la... sumtimes juz cant log in.
not 1st time liao, nit to reset password

aiyo, depend on wat u like ma... for me i like things to be subtle so i choose ivory and pink.
if u like thing to be more striking, red can be nice too...

yr wedding on jan07 rite? still got alot of time to decide.

freemind

hi decemember,

its me NEW huh... though appear as "Freemind".

Thanks...my jiemei oso say i like v relax.haha.

My cakes is fm coffee bean.

Well, lavish or simple depends on u and yr partner lo. Dun bother wat ppl say la, its yr wedding, u decide. For me & my partner, we hate hassle, we want things to be simple and elegant, so we did a buffet lunch @ ACM.

the muscian, is not offer by acm , i sourced it.
u r rite, not everyone appreciate jazz, if u wan play jazz beta be modern jazz else it not esier 'absorb" by all.

Melamine, is actually the same plastic material u use when u go foodcourt for food.
If u take package fm rasel $30 & above, they will use glassware. if $25 or below, they r using melamine ware.

I took $25 package ad paid $1 to upgrade tho glassware and pay $2.5/set for additional sets for the guests.

peixian

Hi New

No much time liao if I want red. From what Elsie say red and gold theme are much popular for wedding which I think is true. My parent also like the red and gold theme. My HB grandma will be attending our wedding, you know lah old ppl very "padan"

michelle_

Hi december07

I'm will be using melamine ware instead of porcelain, it just to play save as porcelain ware will break if any of your guest will to drop it.
My IL very "pang dan" if you are worried you can arrange with Rasel to view the cutlery and from there you decide what you want.

Lavish seems more "stuck-up" compared to Rasel - I fully agreed!

michelle_

Hi Astrogirl,

ACM do have two location which is River Room(Indoor) & River Terrace(Outdoor). You just need to book River Room and Terrace will come with it FOC if your headcount fall below 150pax.

december07

Michelle, I think Astrogirl is referring to the 2 locations that ACM has, meaning Empress Place, which is where most of us are holding our weddings and opposite Fullerton Hotel, and the other is at Armenian Street, a smaller location near City Hall mrt. The one at Armenian Street is quite charming, but I think it is undergoing renovations. I find that the Empress place one is more suitable for larger weddings as it has a larger open hall for table seating and so on.

Btw Michelle, I didn't know that the River Terrace comes free with rental of River Room. Is it above or below headcount of 150 pax? I thought we need to pay another 800-1000+ to rent that area?

michelle_

Hi december07

Ya I think i blur blur already. Nowaday to stress at work.

I'm expecting about 150 guest so i only book the river room. I ever check with ACM they can't be renting out the river terrace if there is wedding going on river room. Of cos cannot lied to them lah remember still got $1000 deposit with them which they suppose to return 14 days after wedding date.

december07

Hi michelle,

I wanted to decorate the river terrace too, but I think I read somewhere that you can access the terrace, but if you don't book it, you cannot put up any decorations there. So guests can walk in and out, but no set-up is allowed there. =(

Still considering if I want to come up with the extra money.

von

Hi Decemember,

yap, if u dun rent the terrace then u cannot put any decor on the terrace.

However, u still can have yr guest to roam arnd in the terrace and ACM will not rent it out if u hv book the River rm.

michelle_

Hi december07,

Ya you can't put up any decoration if you did'
nt rent the terrace. To pay extra rental just to decorate like not quite worth it.

peixian

Afew never chat chat liao, you all got miss me? I'm arranging buffet next weekend. can you all share with me which dishes yummy for Rasel.

von

hi peixian...

think seline or somneone did gather that info in one of the previous post too ya ?
maybe u can chk the archive.

michelle_

Hi Peixian

Maybe you can get help from New, since her wedding just ended not long ago.

My pervious dishes from Rasel:

Shepherd's Pie
Mochi
Laksa
Roast Lamb
Rendang

Hope this help on your selection. Good Luck!

happielee

Hi New,
Care to share your pixs with this un-kan cheong bride to be who have not even started to do any research..hee hee..

eltgal

Hey everyone!

My wedding is at ACM in November this year.

I have been thinking of using Lavish - anyone knows if it is good? My FH and I went for Rasel's food tasting and thought it was so-so...Any advice.

New, would you be able to send me your pictures too? [email protected]

Our wedding is a sports theme - casual style (cos my FH loves LOVES sports!)

Hope to hear from all the lovely brides/ breides-to-be.

von

Hi eltgal,

Welcome to be another ACM bride.

Never tasted Lavish b4, maybe the other brides to be may have.

U r right, Rasel food @ the last food tasting in SAM wasnt gd at all. I signed up with them b4 food tasting and got v worried that i need this take that std. I even complained to the coordinator abt their std.

But on my actual weddin, food std were much better. I will say @ least there are quite a few dishes that were good and being praised, others dishes maybe avg std.

Will send u the link in a while.

december07

Hi eltgal,

I've only tried Lavish's tea reception. It wasn't nice, variety was poor and most things were fried and oily. But when I read Lavish's thread, brides who used them for wedding receptions generally had positive feedback. And I've heard their set-up is nicer compared to Rasel's. Then again, screw-ups (in logistics, food quality) can happen anytime, so the best is to decide if price / presentation is your main concern, and get your helpers to minimise screw-ups on the AD. I'm also undecided between the 2, but I have a long time more to agonise over it. My wedding is only next year. I'm quite ks...hehe

michelle_

Hi Eltgal

I personnally think that between this two caterer, Rasel is the best in terms of decoration and services. Food wise really depend on individual taste bud. For me, I think I like Rasel Food more. I ever tried Lavish food during company function. Food wise too soggy and no decoration. Maybe they consider the order to small to have decoration, we order $15.00 for 50 person. What do you gals think?

astrogirl

hehe... paiseh... me not intending to hold my wedg at ACM... mistaken le... i wanna take my outdoor PS at ACM... just wondering whether ncie not...

eltgal

Hey everyone,

Thanks for the advice. So Rasel is good, interms of food? Our focus is on decor. We contemplated on using Purple Sage too...SIGH.

I will keep trying. My FH really didn't like Rasel's foods so now have to go and taste Lavish's. December, I will let you know - so far the recommendation from ACM's organisers was Lavish...so I am going to see how it goes.

NEW: your pictures are lovely!!!

ACM is a nice place to take pictures Astrogirl, but not too sure whether they let you into the museum to take pictures. You can check....

december07

I brought all my "VIPs" to see ACM last saturday, and the concensus is we're good to go! Woo hoo! It feels wonderful to finally settle on a venue. I still remember the past few months of looking at hotel after hotel, and being disappointed by either its unsuitability, or different obstacles that came up for the more likely ones.

Btw, when I was there, Blue Ginger was in the midst of setting up a wedding in the River Room. I can't remember what kind of comments they received from other brides, but they sure are expensive! 60+ per pax...I suppose including setup, chairs, decor and food. I was there quite early so I didn't see the finished product.

von

Hi Decemember,

Gd for u that u got yr "green light" to host wedding @ ACM. I am sure u r v happy...

Settle down with the venue for wedding is the 1st and biggest part of the wedding prep. With tt done, other things will juz come along easily.

60+ is very Ex, imagine aft u ammortise the rental of ACM even more ex.

michelle_

Me just came back from Rendang Island. Nice and super relax you gals should try also if planning for short trip.

Anyway, let see what the news what the news for today!

Congra to december07, finally you got your green light. So now you got more to settle, slowly and like what new say other things will juz come easily.

What! blueginger charges $60 tats very X. can booking at least a 4.5 star hotel already after including the rental of ACM

december07

new and michelle, thanks for your well wishes! Now the next headache is to decide on a photographer...any recommendations? I prefer the photojournalistic style, and I'm considering the wedding journal type of album. But as usual...its all about keeping within the budget. Should I bother with something that I won't really look at in half a year?

sorry for hijacking the thread...=)

von

hi decemember....

haha, all of u have planning really v far ahead.

but its gd that u start to book yr PG now too.

mine is a photojournlaistic style and my PG won awards for his work b4. if u tink my pics r ok, u can consider him. personally, i quite like the fotos he took.

december07

Hi new,

Can you share the details of your photographer? Name and price range? Does he charge extra for the journal album? Just realised that some can go up to 800+ just for the album! This will seriously stretch my budget. If it is not convenient to reveal here, maybe can send me a pm?

Yah, I'll be the first to admit I'm super kiasu in planning my wedding. =P but december is always a hot month and I don't want to settle for second choices.

seline

Hi New

Mind to share your contact as well for photographer? The pics he took looks great. I hope to book him for my wedding also.