Asian Civilisation Museum (ACM)

eltgal

10,000 dollars? were they giving out gold bars at the door too? WHOA!

My budget is miserly too. We are having 2 receptions here and trying to make everyone happy, plus his folks and friends are flying down for the wedding, so we anticipate more 'hidden' costs.

You really are DIY-ing all your things are? That's very admirable. I was joking with FH tonight that after our wedding, I can be a wedding planner....but alas! I have no patience

marnie

Eltgal, I was wondering the same too. I mean. We're talking about just light cocktails with canapes for 160 pax. The drinks must have loose semi precious stones thrown into each glass. Ridiculous! I guess beautiful things do come with a price.

I'm not DIY-ing all the way. Just the invites, programs. Fabric curtains. Photos for display at the reception. Music. and out-of-town bags for the overseas guests. It's funny how I can get home sooo dang tired for the evening and yet after a quick shower, I find myself plopped in the living room working on the wedding prep. It doesn't feel tiring at all. Must be the power of a woman in love...

Your wedding prep seems to be coming along great too!

eltgal

This whole wedding prep is interesting though - it got me thinking about giving up my day job to be a wedding planner. It's a creative business but not too sure if it's worth the time.

Am going for a regular chinese wedding dinner (always an eye-opener for my FH)....

marnie

Eltgal, a regular chinese wedding dinner can be interesting! It's always a treat and a good introduction first hand to the customs.

Hey me too! I feel like giving up my day regular pay job and just be a wedding planner and just do this full time. It's tough and really hair-raising planning all the logistic issues especially but it's also been fun for the most part.....it's VERY tempting....

halia

Hi eltgal,
I'm looking for chinese takeout boxes too! May I know where u got yours? and gd luck with yr prep!

eltgal

hey Halia,

I got mine from the states actually. My fiance is from USA, so he just picked it up before coming here.
Actually we have about 250 extra. FH didn't hear me properly and overbought! how many are you looking for? I can sell the extra to you.

auldreay

I have contacts to print the chinese take out box (can print your names, etc).

Email me at [email protected] if you are interested.

I will be using them for my wedding to hold my printed glass mug favour
358707.jpg
358708.jpg

eltgal

Thanks Yafang!

We are actually not planning on printing on the boxes. We are going to write on it -- make it more personal. Also using our own friend (he's a printer) to help us with the paper design. thanks for the offer though!

If you know where I can get CHEAP ribbons though, please share! Our wedding is a carnival style so, trying to incorporate weddings to beautify some items.

CHEERS!

marnie

Hi ho Girls! Been so darn busy with work and frantically trying to clear the work somewhat slowly piling on my desk (yet again! --> gasp!) All this and the Big MO is but 10 days away....

Eltgal, ooh dear gosh! You'd better sell those takeaway boxes on the MarketPlace here. How much are you selling it by the way? I was toying with it at one point but it got a bit too darn expensive to get it here. It would make a perfect bag for the kids --> which by the way, I have yet to put together --- eeekkkk!

There's a shop which sells ribbons and lots of other "decorative" stuff along North Bridge Road. It's along the same side of the road as Sultan mosque and the shop is housed in a yellow painted conserved shophouse - can't miss it. I get my ribbons there - they are dirt cheap cos' they supply wholesale.

Alrighty then..better scoot. Have too many things to settle for the wedding....

eltgal

GO GO GO Idyll! This is the final lap. You must be so excited.

Yeah...i might sell it here on marketplace. We are having quite a few boxes...LONG story. FH's mom heard us wrongly and bought EXTRA boxes yet again...I have takeout boxes coming out of my nose!

HAHHA> GOOD LUCK with the preparations. You know I will be waiting for the pictures.

p/s thanks for the north bridge road info. I will look out for it. Is it nearer to Arab street?

marnie

Eltgal, no worries, thick skinned Idyll will definitely share with your pictures.

Re. the ribbon shop. It's facing the main road halfway between Sultan mosque and the bus stop along North Bridge Road (near to Lavender)

shakerum

hey Eltgal,

I'm interested in the takeout boxes. Can you let me pm me to let me know how much you are selling for them?

autumn8five

Hi Idyll,

Hope u have a memorable and wonderful wedding... GO ! DO share w us your beautiful photos !

I'd confirmed my venue to be at ACM.. finally and I am very excited about it..
kao_wedding.gif

Can anyone share w me their contacts & details for caterers & wedding favors, invitation cards ? Time is very tight for me.. Mine in Nov !! I have not source for my PG. VG & BS ...

Have anyone done a cost breakdown ?

Thanks so much !

eltgal

Hey Charmaine,

Mine is in November too. 19th november to be exact. you?

I have not sourced for anything yet too....have to start work soon...probably in May/ June. Have quite a few business trips, so after June, it should be better.

I am looking at Lavish or Rasel for catering. Invitation cards, wedding favours etc I have ideas but still not sure how to go about it...need to brainstorm soon.

I am going to have a theme wedding. You?

Idyll, how was your wedding? please share your pictures

marnie

Hello Girls!

Sorry I haven't been a goos poster lately. Been busy with wedding prior, then entertaining our guests who travelled halfway across the globe to see us on our wedding, spending time with MIL who's still in town and also looking for flat and attempting to organise the pile of work in the office. Can't complain for the most part of it cos' I had fun at the wedding.

We got out pictures from Eulee. No hardcopies yet cos' we're finding it difficult to choose 300 from the lot he's taken cos' they are all sooo good. But for a sneek peak at 2 of the pictures I love, go here

Eltgal, did you mention invites?! I love the paper crafts at weddings, invites, being my favourite. Love to hear your ideas.

Charmaine, don't fret. You'll have it done in no time. For your info, my photographer for the day is Eulee, my videographer is Skiku Pictures. I highly recommend both because they are professionals, able to adapt to what we both had in mind and we felt instantly "drawn" to them as people and friends and to their works.

I designed, printed and put together my own invites. I know pictures of my invites are in the archives of the Independent thread. My hubby lugged the incense box set from Bangkok. I can't really share with you the breakdown of costs cos' ours has additional malay stuff that we included. But have to tell you that the food was the biggest expense at $7K cos' it was something the hubby and I didn't want to stinge on.

autumn8five

Hi Eltgal,

Mine is 2 weeks before yours... Btw, did u book the River Terrace as well ?

Hmm.. also haven't started on anything yet.. Had bad experience with my Bridal Studio so a "not so good" start to my process... anyway, I'd engaged another Bridal Studio which I am satisfied with at the moment cos we are more cautious and learnt from experience.. so we do not make quick decisions on impulse... heee..

Anyway, I had went to Rasel workshop last sunday, tasted the food, so-so only.. presentation wise is average but service ok.. so which caterer do you have in mind ?

Javalink has not reply any of my email enquiries yet.. Lavish is very prompt in answering all my doubts in a day !! Very impressed by their service.. As for Purplesage, they did not clarify my doubts at all but only keep inviting me to go down to their workshop to find out more...

We intend to source for our own wedding favors and design own invites! =) Have some ideas but just have not start putting them into actions yet.. busy & lazy....

Let's share some ideas !

Hi Idyll,

Glad to hear you have a memorable wedding w all the nice photos !! Hope u can share w us yr experiences ! I can't wait to see all your photos .. =P

Which caterer did u enagage ?

Hi New,

Hoe's yr wedding preparations ? Have u engage the AD PG ? I'd seen few but have not find "the one" yet..

michelle_

Hi Charmaine

Glad to see you here, not aware that you are also putting your wedding at ACM. So have you book the river room already? Kinda hard to reach them right? You went for Rasel food sampling? I quite like their food and presentation on that day. so did you book your catering with Rasel? If you did, Y not get them to help you on booking the river room. To much things to handle so better get another ppl to help you on this. I actually got rasel to help me on the booking at least i got time to sort other impt things.

autumn8five

We only decide on the venue ar ACM river room last week.. long story.. so now has to start planning everything.... It's ok, we liaise with Jennifer (ACM) directly on the booking.. Btw, I seen yr cost breakdown tt you are able to control everything within yr budget and at the same time rent both River Room & Terrace.. for me, it's off budget so I m only renting the River Room..

Both FH and myself find Rasel Food average.. Elsie kept persuading us to pay the deposit on sunday but this is the first caterer we had met up personally so far so we do not want to commit so fast.. we wan to meet up the others first.. but we are behind "held back" by the staff on sunday when we are leaving the Glass Hall.. asking about our feedback and why dun we book on the day etc...

Anyway, we are keeping our options open..

So, how r u doing up e Terrace ?

michelle_

Hi Charmaine,

Aiya all sales are like tat one, can't help! But when I book my package with them they did not really push me for it but Elsie did want to book with them only in their workshop at least i can enjoy the 10% discount which I find her very helpful. I have to book in advance to avoid the slot taken up by the others. Lucky me that day she show me the calander which on my wedding day all slot are fully taken up. Heng ah!

I believe for caterer if food not the worst and decor nice plus good service i don't mind to book in advance lor! tat also save me some time to compare cos the more you compare the more headache you will be than end up you are losing the standard freebie that you should enjoying especially when budget is tight. All dollar and cents count. 10% very attractive lor! easiler $400-$500 different right. Wow! can buy alot of things leh! Guess i rather spent it in other area.

Heard from my mum that November also a peck period for wedding. Mayb you can try to ask them whether they willing to extend discount for you than you take time to quickly look thru all your catering list. Settle it fast at least can put down the huge stone down from your heart.

Haven really come up with a plan for river terrace, tot of holding our service there but scare abit to dark by tat time. Maybe get florist to decor up the terrace with ribbon and flower should be quite sweet looking. This want still can afford to pend it since no early bird discount also.

von

Hi Charmine,

Sorry for not replying, was bz with work and wedding prep.

My wedding is real close, juz weeks ahead and I juz had my GDL last weekend. wow, its a hassle to distribut all the cakes and cards.
Finally one bulk of the work is done.

I have engage oso Rasel, but same as you, find tt the food @ the workshop is ok oly, the actual catering i tried in my co done by rasel is much beta.

I highlighted the food standard to elise, hope rasel can pull in their socks abit. maybe u can wait till aft my wedding to cfm yr caterer if rasel is ok.

von

Hi Idyll,

Glad tt yr wedding went well.

Btw, can i chk a few thing wif you?

Does ACM provide reserve lot for the couple? how many ?

do we need to test the equipment like the audio & video in advance ?

did you actually compile and burn the songs u need to be played @ ACM or juz pass the CDs to the technician and tel him which songs to play ?

marnie

Hi all. STill have lots to do post wedding - I wonder why?!?! Mom in law still in town so I'm spending as much time with her as possible.

New, ACM will provide a lot in their staff carpark for the bridal car. I'm not sure how many but for my event, they gave me 4 lots that evening (that was dependent on the events going on at the museum that evening).

We tested the equipment (audio/video} in advance cos we wanted to know whether it was compatible with our laptop, what sort of sound formats play on their audio system etc.

I recommend that you burn the songs onto CDs or play on your Ipod or MP3 player. The technician is definitely not able to know what song to play cos' it was already too much for that one tech guy to handle the video thing.

Hope that info helps!

Charmaine, my caterer/decorator is a malay one - Istana Wedding Services. They do for non-malay events but food-wise only halal one.

von

Hi Idyll,

4 lots, quite little hor...

How was the equipments? ok? heehee, tot of testing only on the actual day.

U played any monatge ? the technician will play that for you right ?

How abt the march in song? was he able to help ?

marnie

New, I think the carpark lots are reasonable as it not a usual hotel do. So, I can't really complain cos' I was actually expecting we weren't getting any.

I am not sure whether the techinician will act on your cue to play what music/video. From my understanding, the technician is on stand-by to ensure the audio/visual equipment is "performing" as expecting (ie. no glitches, blank screens, wanky sounds). Please ensure you have someone to help you in this regard.

We have 2 video montages and songs split into 3 different sessions so I had my brother-in-law to take care of it for me. The tech guy was there to ensure that the two projectors are running smoothly and the screen on the terrace is showing what's happening in the River Terrace (simulcast). The equipment is great. Only slight "disappearance" of screen images on the terrace whilst things are happening in the River room which is something small cos' well, small problems come up in a wedding(!)

von

Hi Idyll,

Heehee, ya i wasnt expecting the lots to be as many as hotel, but tot maybe got 6 or so.
Too bad lor.

Thanks for giving me the advise on the audio & video thing, its sure helps.

von

hi abby,

Do u wan to do a day event or nite event @ ACM ?

4hrs slot rental in day time is 1500 (exlucde GST).

More then 4hr or nite time is 2600.

4hr slot do not include setup time for yr caterer, tt means u can oly do a simple reception tt do not require much setup

pls see the national heritage website for more info

peixian

I'm new here. Hope you gals can help me. I'm planning for my wedding on 27 Jan 2007 and very loss on what to do next. I have a budget of 5k and have about 100-150 guest in mind. Is it enough?

A few question here, Can someone please advise me what to do.

Interested on booking ACM, how do I go about booking this area?

Do they allow outside caterer or they have a list for us to choose?

Can hold how many tables?

Florist to decor the place?

Where can I buy cheap and nice looking wedding favors?

Any budgeted bridalshop?

Wine?

Hope I'm not asking too much but really need some advise.

von

Hi Peixian,

I just had my wedding @ ACM, did a sit down wedding luncheon(buffet). For about 155pax, I spended about twice your budget. I am afraid 5K might not be enough, unless you want to do a standing reception, then should be ok.

1. You can download the booking form @ the national heritage website and book ACM via fax.
Of coz, u need to check the availability with the coordination of ACM

2.U can use any caterer. No restriction

3. ACM river room can hold 16 tables comfortably, but i squeeze 17tables(max).

4.My caterer has a inhouse florist , and most caterers have it.

5.I got little shot glasses as wedding favors. %1.50 eac fm kampongluv.

6.I was with whitelink for bridal shop

7. My caterer provided the wine for me, $25/eac including corkage.

hope i answer yr questions

peixian

Hi new,

Thank for answering my question.

I suppose i will have a standing reception instead of sit-down if my guest list increase or else I will keep it at between 100-120 persons.
I tried calling ACM but no one pick up. so panic! how?

Which caterer did you use?

Can the caterer help to do booking of venues also?

Mind to share your quote with me? (catering and white link)

von

hi peixian,

Pls call the mobile or email them.
They are quite slow in response.

i will email u soon....

michelle_

Hi Peixian

My caterer help me to do my booking with ACM. No extra charges. At first I'm also quite loss with the venue booking as there's alway no reply from them so my caterer offer to help me with the booking.

peixian

hi michelle,

which caterer are you using for your wedding? they so good never charge you extra while helping you to liase with ACM.

Is your wedding over or coming soon?

shakerum

Hi peixin,

You sound very stressed up. Deep breaths and one step at a time..maybe u should book the place first before stressing about caterers. From what I know, ACM is really hot for weddings these days. I can recommend u my wedding event co-ordinator..I got a discount from booking of ACM cos I booked through him. But I have taken other services from him as well, so the discount he gave me might vary from you, if you just require him to book the place for you. What's your email add? Maybe I can email his contact for you?

Relax...

peixian

Hi new,

Thanks for your info, it really a great help.
I realise that you and michelle had the same caterer. that is very "qiao"

Hi michelle,

I have call up to request for their wedding menu, their service very prompt as the very next hour I receive their wedding menu. They can also help me on the venue booking. Menu wise looks okay to me and their package looks reasonable. I also call up afew other caterer but none of them got back to me. Mind consider using Rasel instead cos other caterer can't provide me with the seat cover and I got to pay additional for chair if I'm having a sit down reception.

Hi shakerum,

Thank for you recommadation, my partner and I don't intend to engage a event co-ordinator as they do charge extra for other services. Our budget are really low. Thanks anyway!!!

shakerum

Hi Peixian

They are quite nice and there is abt 10% discount off the venue charge if you get them to book for you only. I guess as long as you don't get them to run the wedding for you but simply do bookings, there won't be any event charges..hmm..you can check with them if you like..

shakerum

Well..my wedding is going to be at ACM in June and i used the co-ordinator cos im booking a live band & using some snow & bubble effects. I got them to settle the tables and chairs with cover but i had to settle the flower decor myself thou.
ACM do not allow open fire, so i had to use caterers instead too!

My plans were:

-20 Tables (i better check again in case i gauged wrongly!)
-ACM booking of Room & Terrace (I got a discount thru my planner. There should be discounts for events ppl & caterers from what i was told)
-Live Band from heehee..WalaWala..(oh im so excited abt this one)
-Bubble effect, confetti guns, snow machine & sound system
-Catering cost was around $45p/pax
-Wine we bought ourselves and our friends will deliver. No corkage on any liquor.
-If you are not particular, you can buy wines as cheap as $16 from winehses.
-Meeting the caterers to settle decor of buffet line & one of the florist to do up the place.
-My coordinator is printing some A0 size pics of our photos to decor up the place.
-Tentage is costly if you are using the terrace cos you can only use the ACM contractor. Around $950 per tent if i didn't remem wrongly.

Thats all i can remem for now..im leaving my hubs to handle it. Hope this helps thou.

december07

I'm very interested in having my wedding dinner at ACM, and FH and I are just waiting for approval from the in-laws. Hopefully there are no objections from that side as I really like the venue! It's nice to see so many enthusiastic brides gushing about the place!

von

hi peixian,

Ya, me and michelle same caterer. my wedding pics should be out in another 1 week time, i can show u the setup rasel had did for me. its quite nice la.

One reason why we used Rasel is oso becoz they seat cover can fit ACM chairs, else we got to pay to rent additonal chair.

Alot of my guest prasied ACM and like the place.
Only thing of coz is that wedding there need slightly more work than having it in a normal hotel or restaurant, but its manageable la.

Hi Shakedrum,

U bring your own wine, then who is supplying you all the wine glass? The caterer is supplying it to u for free?

michelle_

Hi Peixian

Rasel ever cater for my friend church wedding which that how I get to know them. At first I'm not quite sure whether they know this place or not, but after knowing tat they also cater for "New" wedding and some other outdoor venue as well I'm pretty confident in them.

I should say they're good in personnal touch, they know what a newly wed want and try to fit into our budget. My co-ordinater act like a event
planner which make me mind free.

peixian

Hi Shakedrum

Wow! $45 for food alone? that very expensive! I won't be able to hit that amount, it's too costly for me.

Mind to share your package and contacts with me

Hi Michelle & New,

Saving for chairs would turn up quite alot, I have check with other caterer which their chair cover cannot fit into ACM chair so an additional for $500 for just chair alone if I'm getting others. As for Rasel, their seat cover can fit into ACM chairs so I don't have to pay additional for it. I can use the $500 for my wedding favors instead of paying for chair alone. Agreed!

peixian

december07,

HiHi, I find it hard to explain to In Law about not having wedding in Hotel, they find it no face value and look cheapskate having buffet. They attended a wedding which held in botanic garden and that how they change their mind. I got approvel from In Law last week. Good luck to you!

von

Hi december07,

B4 my wedding, alot of especially relative say
why ACM, why not restaurant or hotel. They have never attended the "new age" wedding, all they know is chinese wedding dinner in restaurant or hotel

After they went there, no one make any noise liao. coz its really nice for wedding lo... and they even like it that was coz it very simple and less time consuming for them to attend.

shakerum

Hi New (dia) ,

The caterer charges us one time catering charges which includes wine glasses, glassware etc..whatever else we needed. So there's no corkage charge for us.

Hi Peixian,

Ya..our menu is a bit pricey cos we are getting food from quite an expensive caterer and we chose quite expensive food like meats and some finger food for cocktail, but we like their food alot...so it's ok.

I will email you the details soon.

peixian

Hi Shakerum

Thanks for the contact. I have spoke with ben earlier. He seem to be friendly and if I need other services like band and etc... than maybe I will ask him to book ACM for me or else I will ask Rasel to book so that I don't have to liase with so many people. Actually I don't feel secure and that my main reason. Got some bad experience with event planner so abit scare.

Anyway thanks for your help, will consider them if I need extra service.

shakerum

Hi Peixian,

Ya..ben is very friendly..Don't worry about him, he's very responsible and nice. He doesnt charge me extra or any hidden costs. Anyway, there would be a contract where everything is stated clearly. My friend recently used him as her wedding emcee , and he helped them co-ordinate the wedding with no extra cost...don't worry about him, he has very good service. I met up with a few event planners before I decide on him too.

But at the end of the day, it's up to you, if Rasel gives you discount for booking the place for you, then go ahead. But if not, I don't think it'll be too troublesome to ask Ben to book for you for 10% discount. I booked the river room and terrace together so 10% to me is quite alot, saved a couple of hundreds this way.

Good luck with planning.