Arrangement of threads/posts

Z

z

i prefer the current arrangement, coz it will be easier to find some 'slower' response threads..

ahmei

personal view is that sorting by the most recently posted date is good as it shows up the more active threads.

Even though it's sorted alphabetically, sometimes it doesn't help because the topics are like "What.." and "how.."..you still have to read the whole title to know if the topic is relevant..

kittyhello

Ya difficult to find the latest posting ... can we have a choice to choose the sorting method ? e.g. by dates / by title / by category

To look for the current active topics, just click on last 12, 24 or 72 hours link available on both the top and bottom navigation bar and you'll receive the results of the active threads in the respective time frame.

ashlady

Hi Chin Leng,

I encounter some problems at the "(2006/09) Sept 2006 brides" thread. I cant seem to add message to the thread after the last posting by someone. There is no "add your message here" box. Please help. Thanks!

jt_sunnybeach

Wah lau So many topics r some years back, still can be seen on the front page and new replies should be place first rather than last mah

Or CAN it be change by own preference ?????

jt_sunnybeach

the date and time should come first Knock Knock wake ke wake ke U should try viewing www.iphone-forum.org its the best forum i've ever seen of arrangement and always updating. Most of the time lag though because of the popularity Flooding almost every second

pinkcandy

hi there

yeah i also feel that it might be good to include the option whre we can sort the threads according to the dates.

can this be done? like windows explorer, or most other forums.

erko_

i second pinkcandy's suggestion.. i feel like being able to sort threads by the last post date will be better.. becoz some threads have been dead for so long and are still there.. so kinda difficult to find up-to-date information

waitwait

after so many years and after so many requests, chin leng still didnt do anything abt the arrangement of the threads. and the 12|24|72 option doesnt function at times.

hoping for a better forum

How about incoporating another 48 hours option ? i think the jump from 24 to 72 is too much.

And if we want to see all the active threads for a particular topic for the past 1 week, we can't. Can you allow us to sort the threads according to title and dates ourselves? it will make the forum so much friendly to use

Hi Ashlady,

The problem has been solved when we received your feedback.

Hi Jt_sunnybeach,

We feel that the current arrangement is more suitable for our users. We are sorry that currently, the forum is not advanced enough to be set according to each user's preference. We are also constantly removing old threads which we feel is no longer relevant to our users.

Hi Pinkcandy,

I'm sorry that this feature is currently not available for the forum.

Hi Waitwait,

We believe more of our users actually prefer our current arrangement. Sometimes, the last 12, 24, 72 hours option didn't work due to high traffic usage of the forum. Traffic peaking could sometimes cause some of the files to be corrupted which cause the search function not able to work properly. We'll be upgrading the hardware again to cope with the increased traffic. Hopefully, this will stabilise the forum.

Hi Hoping for a better forum,

Originally, we had last 24, 72 hours and 7 days search result function at just one click. However, as the forum becomes more active, users had suggested that a shorter search result of 12 hours would be good to have, which we implemented. As you can see, we've added 12 hours search and removed 7 days search. This is because 7 days search will usually return about 10,000 postings or more.

The 72 hours search is availabe for users' convenience to see what are the latest postings over the weekend when you first checked the forum again on Monday when you return to work.

For 48 housr search, you can use the search function and key-in 48 hours and select the topic which you would like to search as illustrated in the image below:

348759.gif

waitwait

chinleng, you believe more users prefer the current arrangement, have you done a check or survey? look around, how many internet forums use alphabetical arrangement? they all use timestamp and users did not request the mods to arrange the threads using alphabets. in sgbrides where alphabetical method is used, there are endless requests asking the mods to use timestamp to arrange the threads.

waitwait

the forum is often in maintenance mode, yet no improvements are being made.

Hi waitwait,

Thanks for your feedback. The number of requests we received through the years have been a small percentage of our total user base. Due to that, we would think that most of the the users are comfortable with our current arrangement. We agree that our arrangement is different from most forums and may take a short while for new users to get accustomed to.

In the past, during the dotcom boom, banner ads were paid according to pageviews. As such, it was necessary to create mechanisms in the forum whereby it'll encourage more pageviews. That was why many forums chose to arrange in chronological order. It would be difficult to search for a specific thread when arranged in chrono order. Usually, in such a case, a user would just start a new thread again, thereby increasing the number of pageviews and banner ad revenue.

We have long ago evaluated whether it would be better for a wedding forum to arrange the threads in alphabetical or chronological order. We decided that it would be more useful to the users when it is arranged in alphabetical order as there are specific topics that are required by new couples planning for their wedding. As such, it would be easier to the couples if the threads are arranged in alphabetical order.

We are aware that recently the forum has beens set to maintenace mode quite frequently. This has been caused by corruption of various forum files. You may have noticed pages with a list of folders without topic names or pages with missing topics. When it happens, sometimes, we'll need to set the forum to maintenance mode so that we can fix the file.

We are currently investigating the problem and we think it is caused by insufficient RAM. We hope to upgrade the RAM in our server within this week. If it works, we should see less maintenace mode required.

suggest

maybe it is high time chin leng do a survey to check how many still prefer this arrangement.

Hi Suggest,

There has always been an informal survey. We've been gauging the responses here and in the forum.

waitwait

"The number of requests we received through the years have been a small percentage of our total user base. Due to that, we would think that most of the the users are comfortable with our current arrangement."

that is not a good basis for thinking that more people prefer the current arrangement. only some bother to raise our opinions on the arrangement but that doesnt mean we are the only dissatisfied ones. to be fair, why dont the mods do a survey? understand what the users prefer, not what the mods think.

Hi Chin Leng,

Is there something wrong with the thread - Any Clubbers Out There? we cannot seems to be able to go in & it is all blank when I click it.

It also did not appear under the 12Hrs section.

Pls check - Thx

just some thoughts...

to be fair, we all venture into our first forums and graduate from certain ones which we're big regulars... delphi has heavy hits during yr2000 when alot of local forums were setup cos it was free, eventually we moved out due to the cost etc... moving from delphi to newer ones saw members preferring this and tat... tat's understandable cos we graduated from delphi... well mostly local motoring forums. but slowly pple got used to it...

latest forum i joined was sporebrides... it's a big task initially due to the different functions, but after 2-3wks, it was pretty smooth sailing. it's a hassle only initially, but everything has it's pros and cons... some forums allows u to see wat u have not already seen. this is good, BUT if the page crash or u somehow lose it... when u re-enter, u see Nothing, cos u would have been deemed to have already seen it... (physically u opened the page but it disappeared, yet it recorded tat u have actually read).

this forum by far holds the longest archive of information i have witnessed in local forums... i really dun know how u guys do it, cos in motoring forums, we hardly keep 'accessible' archive for more than a year... our maintenance is only quarterly and it's more simple given the smaller crowd of forumers, well, except flaming threads, in which case we'll just 'lock' the whole thread and post a warning.

wat am i saying here? very simple... there's pros, there's cons, there's very differing preferences. surfing forums is like learning languages... some we're fluent and move around with no problems, in others we might struggle abit here and there... wat we can do is to TRY accustomising ourselves FIRST. unless we've exhausted tat avenue, it is very self-serving to expect the rest to 'speak your language'. so i think an important factor is the frequency of the pple surfing... cos everyday there's bound to be newbies... and if the newbie who graduated from a different forum culture comes in and asks for a change on the 2nd day simply becos they can't get used to this forum's culture, then it's kinda 'not so right'.

cheers.

waitwait

powder, i have been surfing sgbrides for a considerable length of time, not someone who just hopped in and asked for a change. to some extent, we should adapt to the operations of different forums but if the features are really not user-friedly, users should not simply accept the way this forum is but rather, feedback on how to make this forum a better one. or should singaporeans remain a silent lot and accept whatever is stuffed to them? sgbrides contains alot of useful materials, but as a matter-of-fact its surfing tools are not user-friendly. requests for improvements have been raised by many users, but till today the same issue exists.

havent u noticed alot of users use "..." or numerics 123 so that their threads will remain on top. such attempts to get your threads noticed will be totally unnecessary if the threads are arranged based on timestamp. when we use 12|24|72 option, isnt this a mean of using timestamp to search for the latest threads? doesnt it show that users depend on timestamp not alphabets? the mods claimed that it's easier to look for threads when they are arranged alphabetically, not a very logical explanation though. because we have different ways of naming our threads, therefore threads even of similar topics arent grouped together. if we want to search for certain topics, we will just use the search function and enter the key words. if the mods simply want to keep the alphabetical order, give users the option to arrange the threads by alphabet or timestamp, by clicking on the header. this is the best solution i could think of now but it depends on whether the mods are open to suggestions.

hi waitwait,

---------- posted ---------
pinkcandy (pinkcandy)
Post Number: 16
Posted on Sunday, January 29, 2006 - 10:58am:

hi there

yeah i also feel that it might be good to include the option whre we can sort the threads according to the dates.

can this be done? like windows explorer, or most other forums.

---------- answered ---------
Chin Leng (chinleng)
Post Number: 2942
Posted on Friday, February 17, 2006 - 4:40 pm:

Hi Pinkcandy,

I'm sorry that this feature is currently not available for the forum.

--------end--------------

ya i agree "users should not simply accept the way this forum is but rather, feedback on how to make this forum a better one. or should singaporeans remain a silent lot and accept whatever is stuffed to them?"

erm, come'on lah, hehe... i am least likely to think sporeans shuld remain a silent lot. i am one big complaining talkative jerk! there's a hint of sarcasm in tat post. hehe. relook at your posts above... it does seem pushy and challenging to me..., and the little hints of sarcasm isn't exactly gone un-noticed. feedbacks normally allow time for the collection to info, whereas i'm under the impression tat some of the posts want a pretty immediate response. kinda pressing actually. tat's why i posted...

anyway if u're a frequent user, then my post is not really for u. it's more for pple who come in for a few days, not used to it, and expect a change to suit their taste... hehe, like those newly-employed managers, i'm sure we all know how tat feels...

Hi Waitwait,

We feel that the poll result may not be representative of the users in the forum. Also, poll results can be abused and manipulated. As such, we wouldn't be conducting a poll as you have suggested.

May I know your username so that I can analyse your sufing habits to understand why you would prefer solely chronological order?

I've explained before that ours may not be the perfect system but we do try to cater to two groups of users. Alphabetical order in the arrangement of threads and last 12|24|72 hours search for users who prefer to know the current active threads. Once we arrange in chronological order, we loose that flexibility.

I also understand your request regarding allowing the users to click on the header and the threads will automatically arrange in either chrono or alphabetcal order. However, the forum currently does not support the feature you mentioned. If it is available, we would have definitely implemented it.

I've noticed that threads using "..." or numerics to put their threads on top position and these are usually done by new users in the forum.

I would appreciate if you can let me know why do you prefer solely chronological order arrangement when you rightly pointed out that last 12|24|72 hours serves the needs of users who require chronological order as well?

I don't believe our users are the slient type. We have received vocal feedback on various other issues. It may be that they are comfortable with the way our forum works. The forum has been running for 6 years now and it has been growing from strength to strength. If the features in the forum has not been user friendly, I don't think it would be possible for us to have a growing forum.

However, we do appreciate and value your feedback but please also understand that we evaluate our decisions carefully as ultimately, we'll be the ones who bear the consequences.

Hi Skylar,

Yes, the file has been corrupted and is no longer usable. Please refer to my message here. Thanks.

waitwait

powder, "i'm under the impression tat some of the posts want a pretty immediate response."

there are numerous threads on the arrangement of threads and if i rem correctly, some requests were raised in 2003? i am not surprised if it's even earlier. i hope those threads have not been deleted by mods. if you are going to do a search on those threads, perhaps you could let us know how you conduct your search. does alphabetical order help? some users even gave suggestion on which platform to use and offered help on the technical aspects. the mods keep saying they are looking into it but i dont know it's just empty talk, like what many managers do. i'm sure we all know how tat feels ;)

waitwait

chin leng, i surf all kinds of forums here - travel, renovation, matters of the heart, anything under the sun etc. i pointed out the chrono feature simply because of its ease of use, as pointed out by many other users too. if not, why so many other forums are using this feature? the 12|24|72 is just a substitute for chronological arrangement of threads, and if most users rely on this function, doesnt it say something about the preference of users? You said the forum could not support the feature of having both chrono and alphabetical order, shouldnt the mods start working on the technical aspect? since it's such a big community here, it's worth the effort. sgbrides is one of the few major brides forum here, i am not surprised the community is growing despite the user-unfriendly features. anyway hope the mods, like what you said, are monitoring the situation. cheers!

Hi Waitwait,

Sarcasm towards the mods is totally unnecessary and unwarranted.

waitwait, know wat u mean... i've grown accustomed to 12/24/72hrs search. not by subject titles. if anything i particularly wanna find, i'll use the search mode. it's not the easiest amongst forums, but some platforms have their limitations so i just left it at tat.

charmingpiglet

Hi Chin Leng,

Can I check if SG brides admin would remove some threads?
If so, why?

I posted a thread twice on a videographer and it was twice removed :-(

Appreciate if you could shed some light.

yahoo

Hi Charmingpiglet,

Yes, we do regular maintenance of threads. Inactive threads are regularly removed.

benji69

Hi Chin Leng,

I realised that I am not alone in suggesting that posts should be arranged in chronological order (latest first) rather than by alphabetical order. Like I said before, if this is a technical issue (meaning you have yet to figure out how to implement such a forum), I understand. I should also add that it is not reasonable to expect you to be able to put a alphabetical/date option. It should be one or the other.

However, it seems that you genuinely believe that most people prefer the alphabetical arrangement. Hence, I feel compelled to try to correct you. If it is true that most people prefer alphabetical arrangement, then one expects most forums to be arranged that way. But ALL other forums that I have visited arrange their posts by date. This is the only forum that I know that arranges by alphabetical order and I have great difficulties navigating this forum.

The other feature that will be great is the email notification feature when someone posts a reply to a thread that you have subscribed.

The fact that the forum has grown is no proof that the majority prefer the forum as it is. I for one seldom visit this forum because it is difficult to navigate and follow. I am quite sure if you include the features I have suggested, your members will grow much, much more!

Hi Benji,

It is not a technical issue that we are not arranging in technological order. The forum can be arranged in chronological order, if required. We have selected to arrange in alphabetical order. As I've explained before, different forums serves a different purpose. For wedding preparations, we feel that alphabetical order is more appropriate. If you are making wedding preparations, I believe you would find the alphabetical arrangement suitable too.

For e-mail notifications of new messages, you can enable the function by editing your profile.

Please feel free to contact us again if you require any further assistance. Thank you.

katty1982

Wah! i'm so glad i found this thread. Ya, i think it is a good idea to format the forum chronologically. Or at least, have that option opened.

I'm very very new to the forum (my first post actually), and i have to say it took me more than 15mins just trying to navigate, and im still lost. It is by luck that i've found this thread, and i hope i will know how to get back here to find a response. Perhaps its my freshness to this layout, and i hope my ability to adapt will come soon, haha my wedding is super soon. :p

The last time i found a forum with this layout was many years ago, but its no longer around. I recall then that people will start to post topics which intentionally start with numbers or the alphabet A to push their posts up. In the end, you want to find a certain topic you still need to end up using the search function as the topics though sorted alphabetically, were mostly starting with As still.

Either way webmaster, a good job on creating a forum for brides and husbands! i'm sure there's a wealth of information that's useful to everyone (at least if we manage to find it...haha!).

decemberbride

Hi Chin Leng,

I have a suggestion for the Marketplace thread - could we include a function to delete all taken up deal? That will leave the forum to hold on active deals and save the users' time to reply to find out whether it is sold... just my 2 cents worth.

storeberry

I also agreed that it is a good idea to format the forum chronologically, I had a hard time trying to navigate & search for information! I surf alot of forums like renovation, beauty, fashion & its always easier to navigate because it will show up the latest posts, which is the more popular posts. I am one of those that resort to using 1, ~, @ to make my thread in front because nobody would scroll all the way now to repy me unless its the threads they are already active in.

From the different way that people construct a Thread, Alphabetical order don't seem to be suitable, unless eveyone is syncronise to write the same way. Threads like below don't serve the purpose of alphabetically order at all:

Anyone uses this make up artist?
Anyone uses ABC shop?
Anyone uses XYZ services?
When to be prepare for wedding?

And another matter would be the deleting of threads:

As quoted by Chin Leng:"Yes, we do regular maintenance of threads. Inactive threads are regularly removed."

My thread asking for advice on whether to pay for extra cash upfront for a flat was removed without any warning at all. It was an active thread & I was awaiting for more replies & feedback but suddenly it just mysteriously disappeared! I had no way to retrieve it at all & my email to the moderators was no use. Nobody bother to email me to tell me what happen. I am sad & fustrated and have to resort to posting here to get an answer from the mods. Hope the mods can shed some light on this incident.

benji69

Actually, I have already given up visiting this forum on a regular basis because it is too difficult and tiring to track the post. You need to reminder the title of the message i.e. was it "Anyone knows how to do this" at the top of the list or "Which way to do this?" at the bottom or some other description which is in the middle. It is of course to each his own but my humble opinion is that this forum will never reach the heights it deserves until and unless this alphabetical arrangement is changed to a chronological arrangement.

decembermi

Agreed... Sometimes it's fustrating tryin to find certain threads, some is as old as in yr 2004 but still in the forum.. Hopefully the can change it, perhaps with a more user friendly search engine or probably also arrange it whereby we can search according to the lastest post.. to the oldest...

chetxin

I agreed that sifting through the forum is a highly challenging tasks..There is just too many repeated post which are not consolidated and many outdated threads.
I felt that the forum should learn from other forum which is well organised and categorised with repeated post deleted..
It's much more easier and relax surfing..

I think that Sgbrides forum still held its value.. so i wish that there is some improvement to this site. So that couples can easily search for the information they want. Wedding is a very important and tedious tasks. So i think couples may need a well-organised and detail forum which can help and ease their anxiety and worries..