Ariston or Joven heater

ttsh

Hi okipoki,

Me too. At tat time was deciding btw tis 2 brand. Both of them is selling at abt e same price. But e salesguy had advised me not to chose Joven cos although it's inner part is made of stainless steel, it's outer body is not. So in e long run, it will rust. FOr ariston, e outer body is made of plastic so it will not rust. My mum had been using ariston for 7yrs, in gd shape. So i trust tis brand.

girlfriend

Got mixed reviews on the two heaters.

One sales person advised us to take Joven because he said ARiston inner part is not made of stainless steel so in long run it will rust.

Another sales person said Ariston better and she had been using Ariston for 10 years.

Btw, Ariston has a latest storage heater model (40litres) that is supposed to be made of stainless steel. Going to order that model.

seekay

i heard that even stainless steel will rust, just that the durability depends on the grade of stainless steel... but it is definitely better than normal steel... dunno true anot...

okipoki

Wahh... tough choice leh !! Frankly speaking, I have quite a number of friend using ariston. However, joven is offering a 10 years warranty whereas ariston think 5 years..

lester

I'm planning in getting a Joven 35L to supply for my 2 bathrooms. I base on warranty, price and components materials. Joven has stainless steel tank and few other safety measures built in. On top of that each heater is pre pressure tested in compliance with IEC standards. As for Ariston, found out tat it isn't even copper components and has a record o filed heating element.

luckystar

Hi Lester,
if i'm not wrong, the newer models of ariston-with 25l and 40l has a stainless steel tank as well... not sure about the other features though...

i bought 25l joven as well.. as they have a 10yr warranty against leakage...
any reason why u deciding to buy 35l? me still thinking whether to change to a 35l but not sure whether i would really need the big one...

afcai

I bought 25l joven as well and not yet install. 25I of tank is enough to supply two bathrm, no need to use bigger litre as the higher the litres is, the more energy it consumed. When compared btw 25I and 35I, the price is only diff by a few dollars so think if one don't need so much litres in the long run, then better consider not to buy so much. Save energy.

lester

Hi there LuckyStar

I'm considering 35L as I have a 1.7m long bath tub in my master bedroom toilet and since I have a storage heater, the common bathroom toilet shower will get the hot water as well rather than using one instant and one storage. Moreover, the electricity consumption between the instant heater and a 35L Joven storage tank is not alot as well. On top of that, I 've got mixer taps for both the bathrooms sinks. Now considering whether I should supply hot water at that point as well. My flat is resale and every additional point is $$$! Although the brochure says it takes 30 mins to heat the water to 70°C forthe 35L tank consuming 3kW/240V, we seldom bath with temps like that. What I plan to do is when we reach home, switch on the heater 10 mins prior to bathing, take a bath and switch off the heater. In the tank, the heating element is still hot heating the rest of the water in the tank even though the water stops travelling. Water will still be warm about 8 hrs later in the well insulated tank and we can enjoy a warm shower in the morning before we leave for work! Economical and fuss free. My 2 cents.

bungy_jumper

Hi Luckystars,
I also bought the 25L Joven,because of the parts and warranty. My mum asked me why i bought such a big tank ? hehe..
Anyway, was wondering, for the new HDB flats already with mixer sinks, so we still need to run hot water pipes to the wash basin?

luckystar

afcai, thks! u staying at gombak area right? those flats already have mixers provided at the shower and bath area right? so good.. don't have to fork out extra money juz to run the hot water pipes and mixers liao...

bungy, we met again!!
hehe.. some say 25L is enough, pple like me think hmm... mayb i need more?? hehe... just being kiasu i think.
cos think what if next time, there's more pple living in the house, would a 25L be sufficient? and cos i running hot water pipes to the kitchen sink as well, but none to the wash basin... so juz wondering whether enough or not...

and when i looked at the 25L tank, it looks so "small".. haha.. cos think 25L is one of the smaller tank compared to those 35L, 40L and 50L...
hehe... bungy, ur mother is using instant heater, is it? mayb that's why she thinks the storage heater is "big"!

bungy, if i'm not wrong, if the new HDB flats come with those mixers, you might not need to run hot water pipes again.. good for you.. mine doesn't come with it, so if i want, have to incur extra costs to run the hot piping and buy mixers!

Lester, when you say u got mixer taps, does it mean its already installed at the sink? or u juz bought it? if u buy mixer taps already, can u use the taps if the sink is only running on cold water? u might have to confirm with your plumber or id...

bungy_jumper

Hi Luckystars,

Nope, My house has 2 tanks but it cant be seen cos they are all boxed up..
Anyway, i think 25L is sufficient unless you have a tub. Even if many people are going to bathe, chances of bathing consecutively is not everyday occurance right ?
35L will use alot of electricity, as if only 2 of you using, it has to heat up 25L instead of 35L of water..
Hehe, i wanted hot water for the kitchen sink as well, but my id said its ugly to run pipes across the living room. She said might as well spend the money buy a 15L tank put under the sink.

afcai

Hi LuckyStar,

Seems yr nickname is everywhere in the forum. Yes, I'm staying in gombak area where those flats already have mixers providers. currently, my cold water pipe in two bathrm has a function to turn off the supply when not in use, I got to install another one for my hot water pipe, in case, someone didn't know and on the taps where hot water will flow down.

BTW, where's u staying cos I though u are staying in Dover areas as u are involved in the forum. so yr area is a resale flat?

15I is the smallest tank.

What jumped said is right "chances of bathing consecutively is not everyday occurance right" so why waste $$ and energy consumption.In addition to what Lester Yeong said that we can save $$ by turning on the heater 10 mins prior to bathing and turn off after that.

luckystar

Hi afcai!
heehee... cos everywhere also see see look look to see what problem one will face lor..

hm... think ur nick also appeared everywhere in the forum... :p
yes, i'm staying in dover area... mine is a new flat as well, but no no hot water piping done...
actually i have a few frens staying in dover as well... have u finish ur reno?

bungy, u mean u have 2 25l heater?? so total 50L? isn't that a lot?? sorry, juz wondering, how come u didn't buy the 15L for each bathroom then?

afcai

Hi LuckyStar,

hmm wondering how come no hot water piping done in yr new flat(tot all new flat should come with it), luckily did not intend to get the flat there although, I live there 5 yr ago. I also got 1 newly married friend staying at Gombak area.
My renov is about 70% completed. Just waiting for bathrm accecories cum heater to be installed, tomolo gg to install light, kitchen cabinet should be ready by next week and followed by an hbay audit check next sat. have to do some touch up with the painting work cos the lousy painter messed up my areas.

after the audit check, got to ask my wet work ppl to touch up the flooring.

How's abt u?

luckystar

Hi afcai,
think typo in my prev post.. actually i wanted to say i got a few frens staying in gombak... hee... not dover...

how's ur reno so far?? completed?
not sure how come no hot water piping done...
how long do you have to wait for the kitchen cabinet to be done up?

just completed wet works... the whole place is in a mess! haha... so dusty.. is yours very dusty after the wet works??
have u finish chemical washing of your flat?

so anyone know of where to buy either one of these 2 brands bor ah?

me also deciding, actually I want Ariston but the sales man say Joven or Amasco is better coz inside is stainless steel lor, so now me also blur liao...

bungy_jumper

Hi skylar,
I also was deciding b/w these 2. In the end bought Joven 25L. Cos of the stainless steel and 10 yrs warranty.
Bought it at an electrical shop with the rest of my electrical. I think it would be cheaper in jln Besar. $200 w/o installation will be reasonable.

hi Jumped,
so u bought the Joven ah? i see, btw, which Jalan Besar did u get it from ah? me at a total lost leh, dunno go where to get it lor....
can tell me agar agar which part of Jln Besar ah?

afcai

Hi skylar,
same here like jumped I also can't decide which brand is better. In the end, I bought a Joven 25L heater at $225 at balestier when I bought my lightnings and have 10 yrs warranty like what jumped said.

maybe u can do a market survey to see the selling price betw each shops along Jln Besar or Balestier.

sweetpea

My parent's place also use Ariston, so far so good, only thing is that need to wait abt a half a minute before the hot water comes out..is that the case?

Hi Jumped & Afcai!
thanks! yap, me also finally decide on Joven, me bought the Joven 35L one lor, as it comes with a 10 yrs leakage proof so better in a way...

thanks guys!

bungy_jumper

wah..
skylar, that's fast, thought you cant decide where to buy yet? Btw, skylar, u bought the one is veritcal or horizontal ? ceiling mount or wall mount ?

hi afcai,
i think i bought mine ard that price too. From a electrical shop in tampines, my contractor install lor. afcai, the sticker can remove or not ? very obiang..

hi sweetpea,
On Tuesday morning i turned on the heater for 10 minutes, after i bathe i switched it off. Last night, when i took a bathe, the water was still hot.

luckystar

Hi jumped, in then end i bought joven also. 25l.

i was still telling bf that the heater should be install such that the brand of the heater should be seen by all, so that pple know its not a "brandless" heater...
cos mine was horizontal mount, and it was install in such a way the brand was installed against the wall, such that u can't see the brand (know what i mean)... hehee... u still want to remove the sticker? after you remove, can pass the sticker to me, so that i can paste on mine?? haha

bungy_jumper

haha luckystar,
we have the same model, horizontal mount also..urs install already ?
U find that sticker nice meh ? I find it very obiang cos its so big too. If i managed to get it out, i give you lar.
Anyway, mine is mounted on the ceiling at the shower area, looks kinda scary when you look up.

afcai

Hi jumped,

what sticker you refer too, didn't notice it.if u refeer to the brand - Jovan, it is ok. I bought it from a lightning shop when I bought my lightning at Chan Hup.

for me, mine is wall mount horizontally it to extremely end near the window.
I think mine is the same as yrs and Luckystar.

bungy_jumper

yup referring to the joven sticker with the logo one.. red in colour. mine cannot be wall mount because inside the wall there are many pipes. The contractor was afraid to puncture the pipes.

aiyoh....
i have not check whether it is wall mount or ceiling mount leh, but i think should be wall mount lor... the brackets ugly bor ah?

afcai

Hi Jumped,

oic, maybe u can ask the contractor to place yr heater extremely to the end near the window where they are no pipes there, that's why I install there.

Ceiling mount the heater seems soemthing new, but do be careful, the support might not be able to support the heater as it is quite heavy. that's why my dad bought the kind of 'belt' to belt it around the heater to add an addition support.

luckystar

jumped, i already installed... that's thats when i noticed the "brand sticker" is gone, cos its installed against the wall (hidden liao..).. too late to ask the plumber to take the sticker out and paste it on the outside for everyone to see...

not that i "like" the logo lah (agree its obiang.. hee..), but then if u look at the "brandless" heater, like some cheapo and ulu brand... mine is mounted on wall above the shower area also.. haha... i also think quite scary.. what if.... :p

skylar, the heater can be either wall mount or ceiling mount... the bracket is sort of "adjustable".. u will know what i mean when u see the thing.. the bracket same colour as the heater lor.. so not so bad lor..

afcai

Hi Luckystar,

I agreed with you that it is good to paste the Joven logo outside so that everyone can see what the brand we are using.

maybe you can ask yr plumber to buy a 'safetly belt' to belt up the heater so that there is an additional support. I also did that.

Luckystar,
OIC... ok, will go check that out....

so actually when u mount it on ah, can adjust the sticker to be shown on the outside lah, at least like wat lucky said, it won't be brandless lor... hehhee.....

afcai,
did u pay extra for the additional belt ah? does it really helps?

bungy_jumper

hehe,
perhaps psychological support. The bracket should be strong enough i hope. Dun understand why mine cannot wall mount, thought it would look safer,

afcai

Hi Skylar,

Yup, my dad bought the 'safety' belt for $34. those strong metal type with circle design. acc to him, it will strengthen the support. reason given by him that bracket which is supported by ONLY four screw is rather unstable and what if the screw rust in the long run. that's why he bought the belt.

Hi Jumped,
maybe u can ask yr contractors why and maybe he 's not that's experience. acc to the 'map' of the bathrm, there is not much pipe on the wall but there are only wires. so my dad said it should not have a problem.

bungy_jumper

Hi afcai,
I think i also better go think about additional support. Mine ceiling mount, so if the screws give way, it will crash downwards. Wall mount not so bad, at the most slide downwards. hehe

my contractor says inside the wall alot of wires and pipes going into the other toilet so better not take the risk and puncture anything.

okipoki

Gers,
An advise from a few months old ariston heater.. Hehe !! So far my heater quite ok & it warm up pretty fast. I actually bought a 25l ariston stainless steel heater.

bungy_jumper

i think all about the same lor, just that joven has 10 yrs warranty.
I actually on my joven last Tues for 15 mins and for the next 3 days there was still warm water.

yeah, Jumped,
that is wat i heard from Joven users also coz Joven is stainless steel on the inside one leh... so when water get heated up rite, even if u off liao, it will still remain warm for a long time leh... heheheh... not bad ah!

blurunicorn

Hi gals:
Juz wondering where did u all get your storage heaters ??
Btw, who does the installation for u ??
The shop or ID??
Cost of installation ??

Unicorn,
many places sells the heater one lor, all the prices varies even the installation too....

u got to go & scout ard urself to compare the prices lor....

as for the installation, both the ID & the shop will charge u as well... it depends on who u want lor...

bungy_jumper

hi skylar,
nothing, i was thinking about the safety belt that afcai said.

hi unicorn,
both ID and shop can do.. usually about $100. but u can try to bargain with your ID for FOC.

Jumped,
just delivered my heater yesterday, will be fixing up next week liao... wahhh... looks damn big lor... very heavy man!!