Arcylic or Wood C eiling Fans: Rega, Crestar or Amasco (Which better?)

whiteveil

i bought it for less than $180 cos i knew the owner of the shop...bought it in yishun. have not used the fan yet but owner recommend this brand to me to Elmark.

katherine

we bought a rega wooden blade fan, was cooling, no prob...but we had some initial problem with the motor rusting..so you may want to watch out for tat..

daylight

any one using ceiling fan for living room ?
which brand is better in terms of performance ?
eg. more windy n quieter ?

Amasco or KDK ?

starmed

daylight
I use Amasco ceiling fan for my living room.. performance rather good..quiet too.. I just on the fan to the lowest speed n it's windy enough liao.. cost me ard $178 as I add on lighting to the fan below...

dinodino

I have a "Skyray" brand ceiling fan for sale. brand new, bought at $225 willing to sell for $180(neg)... its brass in colour, 5 blades. reason for selling its becos my friend bought me a designer lamp, and if i put up the lamp, i dont have sufficient space for the fan. Interested buyer do drop me a email [email protected]

jen2

We'r using Crestar. Like it alot. Tho our living rm is spacious, the 58" works fine n can feel wind at the corners of the living rm. We oso bgt a 38" for bedrm, oso v powerful.

Heard from the salesperson tt it's w super motor. Got warranty against rust for motor.

dolphin_tan

Hi JenJen, what do u mean super motor?? How long is the warranty?? U mean they will change a new motor for u when the motor rust?? Need to pay any transport or servicing charge when they go down?? Bcos i understand from my fren's sister that her fan breakdown recently & when she called the supplier, she need to pay the transport charge even her fan is under life time warranty..

vege

DEAR FORUM MEMBERS,

BEWARE OF "DOLPHIN TAN", I THINK THIS FELLOW USE
FORUM TO PROMOTE HE/SHE OWN BRAND!! CEILING FAN AT "TAMCO SPECIALTY SHOP"!!!!

U MAY FIND BELOW "DOLPHIN TAN" TREAT IN THE FORUM WHICH I HV COMPILED, BY JUDGE OF THE DATE & TIME & WHAT HV WRITTEN THERE WHICH IS TOTALLY RIDICULOUS!!!

I AM NOT AGAINST ANYONE OR ANYTHING HERE, JUST WISH TO HIGHLIGHT TO ALL OF YOU, AND PLS JUDGE YRSELF.......

Posted on Wednesday, January 25, 2006 - 5:28 pm:

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I'm renovating my hse nw.. Can anyone recommend a gd brand of ceiling fan?? Tamco, Crestar, Amasco, Elmark or KDK??

Posted on Wednesday, January 25, 2006 - 6:15 pm:

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hi..just to share with u all my experience.. Recently, my sis & i just bought a plain & simple ceiling fan from Tamco Specialty Shop.. The fan is made in UK.. At first i have trouble for putting up a ceiling fan due to false ceiling..no support.. But after advised by the salesperson.. We managed to get our renovation contractor to put up a support to install the fan.. Before we came to this shop, we did went to a few lighting shops.. They never advise us at all.. Still say no problem..no problem u can put up the fan.. But according to the salesperson, if the fan's rod go thru the false ceiling.. The fan will be very wobbly & might crack the fasle ceiling..

Posted on Thursday, January 26, 2006 - 1:12 pm:

Hi stress_man, u can call Tamco Specialty Shop @ 6734 6800.. They sell fans too.. Just bought a relite ceiling fan from them last mth.. So far so

Posted on Friday, February 10, 2006 - 6:09 pm:

Hi Calix, i bought my Relite ceiling fan for $379 w/o installation.. Its made in england, 3yrs warranty.. I get their contractor to install for me.. Their contractor fix up the fan & also balance the fan for me.. I find that their service is gd..

Posted on Friday, February 10, 2006 - 6:13 pm:

The reason i bought the Relite ceiling fan is because of my parents used it for over 10yrs, no problem at all.. Its still working well..

Posted on Friday, February 10, 2006 - 6:27 pm:

Hi JenJen, what do u mean super motor?? How long is the warranty?? U mean they will change a new motor for u when the motor rust?? Need to pay any transport or servicing charge when they go down?? Bcos i understand from my fren's sister that her fan breakdown recently & when she called the supplier, she need to pay the transport charge even her fan is under life time warranty..

Posted on Wednesday, February 15, 2006 - 6:51 pm:

Hi Krispy, cheapest place not very sure but good fans may not be the cheap.. Have to look @ reliability & safety.. Cos we don't change fans so often.. As need a contractor to install so its quite troublesome & costly.. Probably, u can try Relite brand.. Its a good brand from UK..

bethan

I'm agonising over which fan to get. Personally, I'd wanted to get a white or silver fan, but my sister feels the wooden ones look more aesthetically pleasing. But my father thinks that wooden fans don't generate as much wind as steel ones. I've relooked at my living room, and my sister agrees that having a walnut fan on the ceiling might make the ceiling look like there's a dark patch on the ceiling since my lights are cool and not warm. Salespersons told me steel ones get rusty, but wood ones don't. I want a 'gum' (it sounds that way to me) metal casing for the motor which is only found in Elmark, but Crestar is the only company that offers life warranty for their motor. Goodness! What should I do? I would really appreciate if there are kind souls who are willing to share the pictures of their fans in their living room so that I can see what kind of fans go with what theme.

morinir

I bought four 48" Crestar fan including the lights.. I think about $230 each.

I find it quite expensive, Can anyone tell me whether the brand is good?Any comments from others using this brand?

bethan

hello morinir,

I got my fan installed abt a week ago. It's a 56" Crestar fan - without light kit, and it cost me $250 + $50 (wiring). I think that's what I'd call expensive. Got conned la. The man from My Lighting Shop (at Sembawang) told me $250 included delivery and installation. They would only charge us if there's additional electrical points. In the end, he only changed my lighting wiring to my fan wiring and still charged me $50. I was alone and didn't know how to bargain, so LL let him charged.

From my research, Crestar is a good brand. After sifting away Elmark, Amasco and other brands, I was trying to decide between Fanco and Crestar and decided in the end that Crestar is better. My living and dining area is quite spacious but the breeze could reach us even at the dining area when it's at '3'. But normally, we just switch to '2' and it's enough to regulate the air.

sunny~gal

hey all,

actually mine is amasco walnut color fan (recommend by my fren),wont look like a dark patch in ceiling hehe,and its veri quiet even when i switch to max,and the wind is veri gentle,comfortable,at first find the motor veri big,we buy a 56inch fan,cant rem the model number,bt its really a gd buy ,i bought it for $200 at amasco HQ at little road. nvr regret aft buying it. ;)
n best is,the motor is lifetime warranty.perfect!

wlchoong

searching for ceiling fans is also not easy. i went to the lighting shops and i did not even take note of the brand of the fans. i even saw some brands that manufacture washing machine like Mitsubishi.

after reading much reviews, i am quite convince that either Crestar or Fanco ceiling fan is good.
Can anyone share where you get your best bargain? thanks!!

morinir

hi life,

your fan is really expensive. Now i find that mine is not so ex already.

I find Crestar is a good brand, my fan wind is strong. Really breezey.

mebbie

hi guys..
i just bought a crestar fan ..48" @ 160, top up 85 bucks for remote control..
is this consider ex???

morinir

hi mebbie.. it is cheap..mine is without remote control.

i should have bought 56" crestar ceiling fan for my living room.. 48" too small as my living room quite big. more breezy.. dun mean the fan is not good.. 48" for my living room not breezy enough.. ok only.. =)

polber

Hi Mebbie,

Where did you buy your Crestar Fan, cos after reviewing the whole forum i guess im going for crestar fan. Thinking of getting a 50 over inch fan.

oasis

Just got a amasco fan. Heard somewhere lights will shake when fan is on cos of vibration. Did not manage to try it.

Any users out there care to comment?

akomono

May I know anyone has information on Rega fan?
Where is it made?
Is it reliable?
Cos the shopkeeper recommended Rega instead of Elmark or Amasco to me.

gloomybear

don't go to Strass Lightings for fans.
My encounter with them:

Committed and paid deposit to 4 ceiling fans (Amasco brand) with them:
2 x 48" 3 blade ceiling fan without lights (bronze color) (AMC-48)
2 x 60" ceiling fan with lights (bronze color) (AMC-666)
Total damage: $900! Yes! I know it's ex!! DUH! so very regretted after shopping around, but no choice... committed liao.

2 weeks later, Before delivery, they told me that the 48" no stock in bronze color.
Told them I want bronze color to match my decor and they should have told me long ago when I committed whether they have stock or not. I kicked up a fuss, and told them if they can't find bronze for me, then I want a refund.
So, the boss told me they will die die surely find the 2 bronze color 48" for me.

On delivery day, the delivery guy call to tell me they only managed to find 1 bronze 48".
Since I don't have much of a choice, and 1 of the 48" will be put in the master bedroom, guess it could be of a different color. So I told him I'll take white.
the 2 48" fan come in weird packaging, without box or warranty. the other 2 was ok.

as my reno has not completed, we did not install the fans right away.
After some of my reno were done, I thought was changing both the 60" to white, to match the furnitures. So I tried my luck and call them to see if I could get them changed since I allowed them to change one of my 48" to white.
The boss told me that he has to check if it's in stock and will call me back.
He called me back 5 mins later to say that there's no stock. I told him I could wait and ask him to check when the stock is coming. He said he'll call me back and never call me again. I keep calling their store and no one answer. I suspect they have caller -id display to avoid calls.
I understand that on the sales invoice, it says goods bought are not exchangeable. I was just trying my luck but was unsuccessful. So I'm stuck with the bronze 60". nevermind.

Then yesterday, my contractors finished the electrical wirings and help me install all the ceiling fans.
All the ceiling fans were ok, except for the 48" bronze.
My contractor asked me is I bought a 2nd hand one as it was rusty, and the fan is very noisy when turned on! The motor also not strong enough to move the fan!

So today, we went down to the shop and ask them about it. The boss say they don't know, and ask us to refer the problem to the agent.
So, I called the Agent (amasco) to complain about their reseller (Strass). They told me that they will change (incl. free installation) for me for the 48", but they only have White color in stock. Then I told them i wanted Bronze color because the other 2 60" is bronze color (all put in living room so much be in same color).
The lady told me that she can't help me with the 2 x 60" one because they are not spoil and if I want to change, i have to go back to Strass. I told her that Strass attitude is very bad, and they told me that the 60" has no stock in white! I reason and argue, until she told me that she has to check with the warehouse whether 60" has stock in white or not first.
After awhile, she call me back and told me that she will change that for me as well, but as it was not faulty, i have to pay installation fee ($45 each) for them to change la. I'm ok with that la, as long as I get all uniform color.

SO, tomorrow I'll get all the ceiling fans change to white.

SO, to cut the long story short, DON'T BUY THINGS FROM STRASS, alot of complains about them on the forums also, I found out too late.
The ceiling fan (AMASCO) is not bad, customer service also good. Willing to help even though the faulty brand no warrenty given by the bloody store, and willing to change color for the 60" fan although we didn't buy direct from them. Can buy direct from them www.amasco.com.sg

classie

Just to share on my experience with Elmark ceiling fan. Just after 1 year the fan is not working due to sensor problem hence quality is so so since it breakdown just after 1 year.
Have tried calling them for the servicing guy to come down and check and the staff there do not call you back to update. Basically no one will call you back and have to call them every time to check on repair schedule. Follow up is very bad and only after my 5th call that I found out the charges which will be incurred.

They are not cheap I would say. Servicing/transport charge alone is $55, sensor itself is already $65, if remote and sensor will be $95. Sigh.. It seems to repair/check on the fan is more expensive than servicing an aircon unit.

killerbug2780

don't buy Rega celing fans. The after sales service is bad. If your fan is spoiled within one year, you still have to pay for transportation charges and spare parts. When you argue with them with regards to the transportation charges as the ceiling fans are mounted dead on the ceiling, they will asked you bluntly whether you are interesetd in servicing the fan or not. The people behind the phones are rude and though they sell cheap, they want to earn it back through such a means.

I am a victim of such case. My fan has been down for 6 days. The sevice guy don;t even show up during appointment and the lady behind the phone just said that the appointment was not noted down, too bad!

Beware!

PLEASE DO NOT BUY REGA CEILING FANS (SOLE AGENT IS CHOONG YING PTE LTD)

ONE OF THE FANS THAT I GOT FROM THEM HAD MAJOR NOISE PROBLEMS

FULLY REGRETTED BUYING FROM CHOONG YING PTE LTD

THIS IS MY LAST DEALING WITH THEM EVER !!!!

elmarkuser

agree with Gal (classie). same experience too. very lousy experience with Elmark customer service. repair itself cost you an arm compared to cost of fan.

no more elmark fan for me =(