Anyone using Substance Interior Design

Hi Meiling,

I have shortlisted Substance.
How do you find their workmanship?
Did you get to see your ID's works?

Alamak

Hi, Alamak.

I've saw their workmanship. Quite impressive. You checked out their showflat at toa payoh central althou only tiling works completed. Not bad. Who's your ID? Mine quite enthusiatic n service not bad too.

Hi hi..we're thinking of engaging Substance too. Saw in Renotalk's forum that they've no HDB license. Would it be an issue?

Btw, anyone staying in TPY Blk 79 A-E? Hehe!

Hi hi all, sorry for late reply. been busy thru out the weekend. Can we disclose ID name publicly here?? heehee...anyway he's name is St*v*n O#g. - Alamak

Yup, yup. I knew from the start tat they dun have HDB license. Oso heard it from forumer then i question my iD n he explain to me that their permit is under their parent company which is under Substance as well. Dun think is a big problem. Is still under them as well. - gladys (ms_white)

Anyway have done my selection of materials over the weekend. It was really packed loh...hee..but quite fun althou tired...will try my best to update n upload pics if i can...

hi meiling, thanks for the updates. i was going thru hdb website and couldn't find substance in the list of renovation contractors. but i did read on a part that says that interior designing co. dun need license. so i guess it's only the contractors that really matters? if i dun misinterpret wrongly la..haha..

From HDB web:
You need to engage an HDB registered renovation contractor to renovate your flat (including works which do not require a renovation permit). The registered renovation contractor is required to apply for a renovation permit for certain items and carry out the renovation items in accordance with the guidelines/conditions governing the items as set out in the guidelines for building and sanitary works in HDB flats. As for the interior design works, you can engage any interior design company to provide if you wish. Such works are not regulated under the HDB registered renovation contractors' scheme.

hi meiling, can i check with you what is the name of the parent company of Substance? cos i couldn't find substance in the list of renovation contractors as well. thank you..

Morning ppl! i'm not so sure but my ID say the name will be reflected on the permit later on when we start our reno. i don't think that's a big problem but i will ensure that all their sub-cons got license like electricial & plumber etc. So which IDs from Substance have you guys got? Think so far their company's ID like not tat bad. althou young but very enthu, sincere n surprisingly oso quite experienced like tat.

hi, Jacq.

Nice to see u up here again. So this is your completed new house? Seems like very classy n cosy like tat. Nice feature wall u got there for your your living. Wat's on the wall at your bedhead? Is it wallpaper or ??

hi Joeyc...Substance is a sub-company. The core business is registered under S Interior K Design (License: HB-06-3606H).

My FH and I have asked and were told to track base on this. Substance is more on design and service. We've taken from them as well.

Mind sharing where's your home-to-be? =)

Hi gladys(ms_white), my FH and I jus signed up with Substance a few hours ago. Our home-to-be is at toa payoh blk 79b. Thanks for the information on the license. Our ID also told me the same thing. Our ID is Leonard Poh. Got so excited discussing what we wanted and visualising the design.

Hi Joeyc...were u sitting outside with your FH and Leonard?? Cos my FH and I were there ard 7+... We saw a couple with floor plan layout showing on the laptop. Hee!

Ours at Blk 79D. =D Have you collected your keys?

Hi, everybody!

Glad to see this thread moving. Heehee.
Well, mine's a resale condo ard east coast road. Will be starting work on the 15th. Will keep u guys posted of the progress. So how's experience so far for both of you? - gladys & joeyc

hi meiling! u seem very happy with the service provided by substance so far. substance in toa payoh and u came all the way down for them ah?

mind me asking abt ur quotation..any major works or special design?

Hi, gladys.

Well, so far i'm quite happy with my ID. We're doing up a major overhaul at my place. Including our roof terrace like roofing & landscape. including a water feature wall where we can overlook from our master bathroom n a intergrated pond. Initially we tot it would cost us more than 100k but in the end only 80k so ease up a lot of financial pressure.

WOW!!!! to me, $80k is a nuclear bomb!!! to you, it actually "ease up a lot of financial pressure"... --"

Same species, different life... =(

condo need to do roof too?? still can do pond?!

Hi, gladys.

Well, actually is b cos both me n hubby
salary very good n we dun spent much oso.
So can save up quite a bit to spend on reno.
We're stayin on the 1st storey so we have a terrace outside our hse so can do roofing n
lucky enuff got space to do pond oso.
all the design is actually proposed by our ID.
Luckily within budget. Like some others we went to, actually quoted us like 120k-150k. Crazy...
Heehee...

Hi gladys,

Sorry for the late reply. I think that's my FH and i whom you saw. He is showing us our quote. Mine is blk B, will only collect keys 1st quarter next year.. mine unit is #04-25. what's your unit?

Hi Meiling, is ur condo a penthouse? jus curious.. ;P

Hi gladys, I think that he is quite detail and quite comfortable with "presentation" skills and the stuff that he quote us.. Cos he talks like a long time fren like that.. Btw, who is your ID?

that's gd! my ID's Eesy. are u overlaying your toilet tiles? how much are they charging u for haulage and cement screeding?

yup, we are overlaying our toilet tiles.
they charge me 600 for cement screeding.. may i know what is haulage? :P

Ehh.....just out of curiosity. I was doing background search for Design Profession. I am kinda of comfortable with the designer. Young, enthu, and seem experienced too.

The guys also told me that they do not need licenses for interior design, and get me to check on the sister company S Interior K Design instead. Is Substance also at BLK 177? Am I missing anything? Seem like the same boss have a lot of companies under different names? :p

So confused now......

I had my reno done by Substance, well, the after sales service sucks! After i made the final payment, I call the guy up to just ask about something, he totally never answer his phone and off it! And he was really slow during the reno process, imagine it took 3 months for my reno to be completed ... anyway very disappointed.

well, i have the same ID as you and yes, reno has taken more than 2mths, but i can see they're tryin their best to complete. and due to all the festive seasons..everyone wants their hse to be ready b4 x'mas, new year and cny.

as for ur experience with him, nobody started off as a professional. if u want to condemn, perhaps do not harm the company due to 1 person.

but i still share the same sentiments as u on the long reno...very tiring for us to go up almost daily to monitor & check the progress.

just my 2 cents worth of thought.

no lah..to us, our ID still considered quite fair. he has also assisted us in many areas. probably due to his age, he could still be learning how to coordinate and plan his things around...but then, we as customers also learn when there're faults...so it's still pretty beneficial. hope as he gets more projects, he'll pick up faster. sometimes we as customers can get overboard too, so it all depends. our ID is still recommendable lah.

really regret signing them. My ID Exxx LIM also. He damn sucks.

After we signed the contract, he din even bother to call us to arrange anything, We have to call him & each time he will say "I will call back" but din. & we have to call him again. Nw the house is in a mess & it's like not his business.

An irresponsible ID, somemore can become senior design consultant. I wonder how his boss judge him??

Anyone got friend working in CASE? You think CASE will help?

Pay only the 1st payment. I already made a complaint on their webpage. He called back after that. So we must do some things b4 he willingly to work.

Highly not recommended. Not the company..that particular ID.

hi vingirl,

speak to the big boss and inform him that you are not happy with his service. demand a change of ID to prevent any more troubles down the road.

Sigh, I'm also a disgruntled customer of this company, AND my id was also E*** Lim. Before sales he sounds very nice and personable, but after we paid the first installment, suddenly he becomes very rude. Then here got hidden cost, there got hidden cost. When his subcontractor for the installation of the sanitaryware asked for the two-way tap and I had to call him to bring it down (along with a couple of other things they forgot), he made it sound like he was doing us a super-big favour and then asked for payment for the two-way taps! Gosh. It took them nearly 4 weeks to do two bathrooms (that's all I had budget for), citing plumbing and other issues, and they didn't bother to clean up the house properly after everything; my PILs, husband and myself had to scrub cement stains off the walls ourselves.

If the workmanship was good, I would probably just grumble and then forget about it. But the workmanship for the MBR toilet is awful! The plaster to patch up the holes caused by drilling was anyhow slapped on, and when they cut off one of the pipes, they just sawed it off roughly, slapped on plaster and that was it! It's so ugly that I just had to cover it with a towel. And now, there's a strange smell coming up from my MBR floor from time to time which wasn't there before the reno. They wanted to take photos of the place to put up on their website and my PILs were so pissed, they actually told him to come and take photos of the place and see if he dared to put them up! Needless to say, he didn't take any photos.

All in all, I wouldn't recommend this company. Engage them at your own risk.

i have yet to sign up with them. still shopping around. their quotation was very near to my budget thats why I am considering them.

my id is a lady. not sure if anyone has engaged her before?
if yes, i will really appreciate some feedback.

sylphide, sigh.... to-date all the ids that we have gone to has bad feedback some way or another. its very tiring and so time consuming i am really at a loss. sigh.

Hi jacquelin

May i know who is ur ID? And how's their workmanship & any other hidden charges on top of what is stated in the quotation?

And anyone got any commend or feecdback on ID Leonard?

Hmm...after reading this thread, now im a bit worried. i've engaged them to do my renovation also...so far discussion wif the ID seems to be going on pretty well. Works wise dunno yet, coz my reno starting in next week...hopefully no problem *cross my finger*.

Wonder how many here smells fish in this thread???

Sorry if I'm wrong but some post just sounds so unbelievable good and too good that a contractor can make no mistakes.

Just how many here did visit & talk to those owners that have trouble free reno done???

Dear Jac,

1st of all, I would like to clarify that I have not mentioned anyone in particular to my post.

However, I do agree with you that there are always black sheeps around in this world regardless of trades.

My point is, may I be allowed to clarify further, I do not understand why there are forumer(s) promoting for their contractor while fellow forumers are not being invited to visit their place for viewing?

In your case jac, I have read about your comments & posts which so far I came to understand that only yourself and Meiling mentioned about your ID. Unlike patrick from Ho Bee, he is very popular in this forum as well as others.

Anyway, I would not advise that I'm saying your ID is no good or you're being the ID himself promoting in this forum.

Hope I have manage to clear any misunderstanding to my previous post & in anyway I had offended anyone, I'm very soory about that.

Finally got my hm done.

Fm February till 9th May. 3 MONTHS, just to do a platform bed, a sliding door & a TV console. Workmanship is no gd but me & hubby just decided to 'chin cai' as it has been dragging for too long.

1) Laminate on the sliding got a lobang near to the end cos I thk the laminate is not long enuff. So ask us to accept abit by using black silicon to cover. So lucky that the laminate is black in colour.

2) Platform bed have to redo the second time. Wasting our time. The reason they are willing to do is bcos we hold their payment.

Bear in mind that I change 3 ID. All the same atitude. EXXX LIM, then to Glenn XXX then to a Calvin. All just want to collect the $ then MIA.

For those who wants to employ their services, use them at yr own risk.