Anyone use Granite top for kitchen and toilet

tigerjes

Anyone use granite top? Any pros and cons? Anyone actually buy the granite top for vanity and kitchen yourself? I heard from a friend that he actually buy the granite top directly and cost only 200+ for 6ft and pay 50 to 100 more to cut the hole for sink and hob. Sound very attractive, any lobang? If go through ID, how much they charge?

raindew

Hi Jes

I used granite top for the kitchen. Actually, it is a 'free upgrade' offered by my contractor. Only con is that I cannot choose the colour but I don;t mind as the color given to me is black. So not too bad

Understand that granite is better than solid surface in the sense that it is scratch-proof.

sabian

Hi Jes

I will be going for a granite (black) top altho I did consider solid surface but the problem of a black surface is that scratches show up easily and for white surface...stains worry me and they tend to dull after some time as miniscule scratches accumulate...although with corian, you get a 10 yr warranty where their pple will come and buff the surface to restore its look...

For granite surface, the con is that there will be dividing lines as they cannot be installed as one complete piece as will a solid surface...so you may need 2-3 pieces to be laid...and granite is porous so I went for black so staining fluids will not show up much...

hope that helps

wenn

hi jes,
i'm oso considering getting black galaxy granite (comes in 8 ft sizes) for my kitchen counter top. currently, my quotes are $2.1k for 23ft of granite. quite ex hence i'm oso looking for cheaper sources. if not, i'll have to bargain with my contractor or to change to normal black granite (which doesn't come in 8ft size). normal solid surface will oso cost around 1k+. headache.....

tigerjes

Hi raindew

Free upgrade! so good. How much they quoted you for your kitchen and renovation? Usually contractor will quote very high for granite top.

Hi wenn
woh 23ft granite for kitchen? your kitchen so big? not HDB flat right?

wenn

hi jes

no lah, mine is HDB... just that my kitchen is odd-shaped... needed 7ft & 8ft for a L-shaped top for sink & cooker hob... and then another 5 ft for cabinets next to fridge... bcos of the odd-shape, have to break up the cabinets into 2 parts lor
but we count & count, only need 20ft.... dunno the extra 3ft is for what???

raindew

Hi Jes,

I did not calculate the cost of kitchen cos' I sign up a package which includes 10ft solid surface kitchen worktop. As I went to see them during the exhibition, the package is around $16k for a 5 room standard reno.

The free upgrade includes the Granite worktop (Jims Black and I install additional 5.5ft)and homo. tiles.

I add alot of things and now whole reno cost around 28k. This excludes electrical wiring

jo23

Hi jes, i am using granite top for my kitchen too. We got this offer from my contractor cost a total of around $600 for 14ft table top. Its more durable and will not be scratch that easily. We got the 2ft size and join up to one whole length of 14ft. We could have got the 6ft size but more expensive and there will be more excessive since my table top length is only 13+ft.

Hi wenn,
the granite cut out for the sink and cooker hob, we get the person to polish for us around the edges and the surface and get metal legs to fix on it to become a small table. Its very nice and my mum use it at her house to put the telephone. in this way, we dun waste the granite too.

wenn

hi jo

ic ic... that's a good idea ;)
i shall see how, whether there are extras leftover... BTW, what's the colour of ur granite top? looks like u have gotten a good deal.

jo23

Hi wenn, my granite of blue-black color with some shiny shiny dots on it. If i m din rem wrongly, e name is blue pearl. Actually this idea come from my FH and i thought its really a good idea, things will not be wasted in this way. hee...

tigerjes

Anybody heard about Stone Mark? Their 6ft granite cost about $150-$250 and $100/hole. If $250x3pcs + $200(2 holes) + $400(installation for 3pcs) = $1350 for my L-shape (9.5ft+4ft) Kitchen top. The excess can use to make coffee table.

For solid surface, my ID quoted $80/ft. So $80x13.5ft = $1080.

If you, what you will go for?

rene3446

hi, jes,

seem that yr ID quote u well. $80/ft for solid surface top.. anyway, can share the quote abt granite top?

i read from the other thread on solid surface that it scratches, stains and is onli heat resistent, then i think, why spend the $$? If granite is scratch-proof and heat proof then i rather spend a bit more for granite, else i will jus do postform, which served my mother for the last 15 years anyway.. ;p

wenn

hi jo,
ic, i've seen blue pearl b4. nice!
i dun think i can use blue pearls as my HDB wall tiles are PINK! really headache on how to match colours..

hi jes,
with only $270 difference, i would choose the granite. so, which type of granite is ur quotation based on?

hi rene3446,
actually, i've heard that can't place very hot pots or objects on the granite directly. this will oso cause the surface to blur out.

tigerjes

The black glaxy, cost $250 for 6ft without waterproofing. For pure white colour is $300 including a layer of waterproofing.

Is it ok to have white colour granite top so that the kitchen doesn't look so dark?

wenn

hi jes,
that's definitely cheaper than my quotation
looks like i have to bargain harder... btw, u have the granite contact?

i think for acidic liquids like orange juice, it will seep into natural stones like granite if not wiped dry. so, u will see the stains on light granites. for black granites, u wun be able to see the stains. but will the layer of waterproofing prevent solutions from seeping into the granite?

tigerjes

Hi Wenn
The company is Stone Mark Pte Ltd, located at 66A Sugei Kadut Street 1. You can check the Saturday classified for their advertisement.
They told me with the waterproofing, the water will not seep into the granite.

rene3446

hi jes,

my ID quote me $800 for 6ft granite top plus a metal leg leh, even when he told me that granite top will only cost abt $100/ft... then i ask him why $800 for 6 ft he say the extra $200 is for the polishing and the metal leg!!! too much man...

think i will try yr contact for the granite top instead, dun waste my time talking to these pple liao... BTW, $250 for 6ft black galaxy is just the raw thing rite? How u get yr contractor to fix it for you? teach me leh....

tigerjes

Hi Rene3446
You can either ask your contractor to do the fixing for you or Stone Mart can also do it at the cost of $150 per piece. Stone Mart quoted 3 pieces at $400. Remember the cost of $250 is before cutting the hole, they charge $100 per hole.

tohdj

in 2002..i did my black galaxy granite 14ft for S$1700 with installation, bull-nose edge, back-splash, cutting of hole for the sink and stove.

tigerjes

Hi tohdj

How is the condition of your kitchen top now? What is your advice? Is there any gap between the granite top? The colour changed?

tohdj

Jes,

there's a bit of water stains which is different from normal water stains. the water seems to have been absorbed into the granite. i should have used granite treatment chemical earlier. just remember to keep the surface dry...and it will look good for a long time.

the scratches cannot be seen easily, compared to solid surface. our toilet vanity top is solid surface and scratches can be seen.

there is 2 joining lines at the sink area. no gaps as the installer applied clear silicone into it.

colour is still good...except for a small water stain at the corner.

rene3446

hi jes,

u mean Stone Mart people can come fix the granite top on my kitchen cabinet? Is that how u got yrs done?

I worry my contractor not happi if i do this cos like tat they earn less mah...then mayb they wil not do certain things as nicely when they not happi u see... sigh ;(

panadol

Hi Jo,

I oso thinking of using the cut-out granite and make it into a side table. My contractor charging me $50 to polish the 4 sides, but ask me to source for the metal legs cos he never do before??!! How much did you pay?

Hi Rene3446,

agreed its abit ex. for $200, i might as well source from outside.

jo23

Hi J'mie, i m not sure how much did my contractor charge me for polishing the sides as its included in my whole bill. But from wat i know e pricing of polishing should be around $30, for $50 its should include e legs of the table too. I tink ur contractor had over charge u liao.

linksys

Granite countertop will not get scratches cos it is one of the hardest substances, unless u have another piece of granite against it. No problems if u cut directly on the granite too, but ur knife will be blunt. And u can place hot pots on the granite surface and nothing will happen to ur countertop unlike laminates. U also need to seal the granite surface so that water does not get absorbed into the countertop.Get the contractor to seal ur countertop and u shdn't have to pay extra for that as sealing is part of the installation process. Hope this helps!

fallen

Hi Jo, do u have the contact no. for the granite supplier or ur contractor? cos my ID charging me $110/psf for the granite that i am going to use for my kitchen countertop! I choose black galaxy.

vmax

My recommendation:

Granite Top V Vanity/Solid surface

Granite:
- scratch resistence
- maintainance free
- Shine is always there.. no need 2 buff
- Use Black galaxy, blue pearl ... india granites.
- only bad tingy is tat joint line can be seen

Vanity/ Solid Surfaces:
- More colour ranges
- joint line almost invisible
- not scracth resistance
- easily get dirty
- shine lost in very short time... unless buffin is done

there's more points to them... mail me if u hv any doubts... =)

tangofango

Hi, I am quite inexperienced in the granite tops. Just a silly question, can we use 600mm X600mm granite floor tiles to do counter tops?

linksys

it will not look nice to use granite tiles for your countertop cos you will see the little squares. Also, the tiles are thinner than how it would be if you use a regular slab.
Of cos, if you want, it can be done, just that i feel it is a waste.

josnah

i am getting black galaxy for my kitchen worktop. my ID is quoting $100 pfr for single bull nose (20mm edging) & 120 pfr for double bullnose (40mm edging).
my kitchen wall tiles are blue. any recommendations for laminate colours for kitchen cabinet?

mageous

Does anyone here knows about Engineered Stone for kitchen top? Does not seems to be very popular in Singapore yet, but am quite interested in it for my kitchen. Need to know the price also.

june2006

My dad mentioned that I can choose a 3/4" instead of 1" thickness. Maybe can bring this up to your contractors?

floralim

hi june,

wat thickness is that ha? u mean the hieght ?

im in the mist of choosing to use or not to use granite top for kitchen top. any advise from you?

plus2

any cheap supplier for indian granite? besides blue pearl and black galaxy, any other recommendation for kitchen top?

hapict

aiya i still headache whether to pay extra to get granite top rather than solid surface.
anyone heard of granite sink? ppl say no such tings but got sell in balestier leh... or the guy cheatin me?

wan_wan

Hi Hapict,

I am getting a black granite top from India there are varies type or granite top from China and India and the best grade is from India it is thicker and more solid the second grade would be from Shanxi for granite top.

I have also purchase a granite sink reason being lower in maintances and less splashing around if your water pressure is higher it is a personal preference. There are many around it is just that mostly people are use to Stainless steel sink and it is a common thing as well. But granite top come in varies colour and country as well.

acid

anyone knows what is the market rate for granite top kitchen cabinet per feet?
as the range defer a lot, some charges only ard 70+ and some charges 150+

gnm

it really depends on the model of granite you are getting. Getting a solid black top will cost less than a hundred Per Foot Run (PFR)
more for galaxy black... then there is blue pearl, silver pearl, emerald pearl, brown pearl, negro, african... the list is endless

even for black granite alone, there are a few different types, the Indian black, the african black, the china shanxi black...

the prices also differ greatly between the source of the granite. so the range is anywhere around what you have posted.

acid

hmm ... so for a 40ft top and bottom kitchen cabinet, with 20ft granite top easily cost over 6k

gnm

it is about there
PFR top and bottom is about $200

this will then boil down to your bargianing powers liow *smiles*

mystique

Can I just ask.. how do you maintain/clean your granite kitchen top?

Mine seems to have some 'rough' patches on some parts of the kitchen top. Is that natural?

gnm

you got some juice or acidic material on the top and did not clean it up immediately rite?

i think can polish it back... erm, not sure if can DIY though