Anyone staying in Bukit Panjang

pio

Hi Sweetsuz,

Yes, same problems here with the dirty tiles. I can recommend something which HDB did for us - they used "white cement" to fill up the gaps in-between the tiles (if your tiles are ceramic). But you might want to try mopping the tiles with detergent and waiting for it to dry before applying the white cement. It really would spruce up the place, makes it much brighter. You might want to request if your own contractor can do it for you (if you have already closed the case with HDB).

Yep, windows' rubber sealing was loose too, but they did not do anything abt it. The contractors did have some litter, but as ours is a standard flat with no floor tiles yet, we are still not too concerned.

Tiles - yep, I guess we can get the toilet wall tiles, but we checked and found that the toilet border tiles are no longer in production (no more stocks as well), so HDB did not change the cracked border tiles. :<

My dad also called in to CCK Town Council and spoke to the HDB officer's boss. Things did speed up a bit. Actually we told my dad not to be too nasty, since jobs these days (even for HDB) are not easy to keep. So he was quite mild.

Hee... I also got my own flat's keys on Christmas Eve. Was a wonderful christmas present then. Spent the entire Christmas cleaning up the place.

binbin

hi pio and sweetsuz, hdb's attitude sounds quite bad... for the toilet tiles, why not tell them "You guys (HDB) dun allow us to replace the wall tiles, but yet you give me cracked tiles. When I asked for more tiles to mend these, I find out there's no more stock! How do you expect me to live with such a bathroom, will you compensate us if it leaks!??????".

i used to liaise with someone call Mr Ng, who is a beri beri nice and helpful guy. but he handed over his area of responsility to Felix liao, whom i admit is a bit slow in responding to our needs..... well.....hope both of u have ironed things out liao.... :p

sweetsuz

that's the problem with getting flats through WIS.
the flat was built by one contractor and by the time we get the unit through the WIS, it was manned by another contractor. hence the current one may not have certain materials used by the other.

ok...let's put an end to this HDB topic liao. otherwise the whole thread wld be turned into a complain session.

btw, anyone start sourcing for electrical appliances and furnitures? can share info on where to get value-for-money deals?

binbin

hi sweetsuz, have sourced for my hob, hood and washing machine from mayer. like their service beri much, both the one at causeway point and kebangan.... u can go try...
they usually have some discount or other...

as for furniture, we love barang barang!!! life shop at paragon is also good. they have an offer for their dining table now, go check it ou!! these 2 suits our theme only...

soyabean

sweetsuz...

usu those neighbourhood electrical shops have better prices... so wat u can do is to shop at those major electrical shops e.g. courts, harvey norman. and then jot down model u wan. then call the neighbourhood shop and ask the price.

sweetsuz

hi binbin and soyabean

i also saw the packages offered by mayer. quite like ariston hood and hob cos the designs are nice. but what i dun like is the wire mesh, which we need to take out and wash after cooking. i find that the oil that clots in between the wire mesh wld be quite difficult to remove and wld arise to stains in the long run.

yup, tried scouting around the models around the major electrical stores. but i felt a bit embarrassed when copying down the model number....somemore with the salesman walking around and saw u doing that.

soyabean

sweetsuz...
hehe... one method to jot down the model without using pen paper is to jus use ur HP and then use write message to jot down the model and then save the message. dat way u look like u r sms'g someone... hehe....

totoro

long time never come in liao..real busy..me looking for bed leh..can share with me where u gals bought the beds..

looking for one just for an chuang, cos my new place not ready, so buying one in MIL place...not intending to shift over ..so cheaper ok..
heehee..can help?

went to ikea and courts..nothing much..so how?

sweetsuz

soyabean, binbin - eh, i think the salesman know our tactics liao, either use hp or pda, they should more or less have known that we're copying down the model no.
sometimes i'll go website to look out for models.

totoro, robinson got sale on mattress maybe can go and check it out. otherwise, for really cheap mattress/bed, can go check out newspapers for warehouse sale.

initially also plan to install platform bed, but pple advise me not to cos when i'm pregnant, i might have difficulty getting up in the morning.

binbin

hi sweetsuz, me same as u. wanted platform bed until an ID warned us of the difficulties in getting up when pregnant. so din buy liao....

totoro....sollie not sure where, but sweetsuz's suggestion of warehouse sale from newspapers sounds good..

soyabean

binbin and sweetsuz...
we're aware of the prob of difficulty in getting up when preggie. we are going to buy another bed in another room and we (or me) will use the room when the time comes and i become too BIG. :p

but i tell u... we're enjoying our platform bed VERY much...

binbin

hi soyabean! yeah,tell me about it man. We love platform bed! so cosy, so snug, and dunno why just makes sleep better loh....
but we weren't as smart as u, though of buying another bed to sleep in when preggie....
well, anyway, reno started liaoz so nothing we can do about it... :eek:

sweetsuz

hi soyabean,

ur last sentence sounds a bit 'mischevious' :p

watever designs, they all have their pros and cons. for us, my hubby and i have no plans to place another bed in the other room as we have already allocated the room to be our 'entertainment room'

but i still have that icklish feeling to install a platform cos it looked very simple and neat. but i think practicality more impt lor.

am thinking of buying a higher bed.......

soyabean

sweetsuz...!
u can let ur imagination run wild.... haha....

but actuali its more like wat binbin said... its somehow more comfy.... maybe the thot that u are closer to the floor and hv no fear of falling down...

and oso hor... when ur blanket or bolster fall out of bed, easier to pick up leh... dun need to wclimb out of bed... :p

as for the bed in another room, we'll keep dat bed for our kids when they are more grown up lor...

binbin

hi soyabean! hehhe i saw ur reply hehheheee... ;)
22374.gif

totoro, u know those low platforms made of teak or paraquet? platform bed is something like that, a raised floor made of paraquet, laminate or teak, on which u place the mattress.

binbin

hi soyabean, u must save some of those pics in your harddisk. then when writing a post, type "\image {pic}" without the space. after u click post, you will be prompted to browse (if ur server supports) for the pic you want. choose it and click "upload". There you are! Happy experimenting!

soyabean

totoro...
so u going to stay wit ur ILs after ur wedding in jun?

u shld start looking ard for contractors or IDs first. get them to give you quotes on reno and then u can decide which one to engage.

u can buy a few decor mags to flip thru to have a sense of how u wan to do up ur place...

binbin

hey hey girls, anyone of u doing renovation works now? my place is about 2wks plus in renovation, very excited leh...hehehehhee..... anyone???

babylove

Just saw an ad last weekend on minibus service from Segar to town.
I've called the guy and he say can pick me up in the morning to my office in town. Just $4 only.

How're the rest of u going to work?
btw, i stay in the beige and black windows cluster in SegarRd

binbin

hey realli??? where did u see the ad? which company is this? do they go past senja? coz my FH works in town raffles place area. if there's such a service, he'll be beri happy!!! can u let us know more details?
THanks!

binbin

oh sorry forgot to answer ur question. :p i take a bus to work now, straight bus for me, from the bp plaza. but now i stay in lompang, so convenient. next time stay in senja, need to take lrt/shuttle out to bp plaza/interchange/main road to take another bus....

and i also forgot something important. SIGH....my FH is moving to Harbour Front, the former world trade centre. so he wun be working in raffles place after july. does this transport guys provides transport to harbour front too? what about bugis area? do you mind giving us his contact number?

babylove

I'm not sure how many places he goes to.
I saw the ad pasted near my lift. So I called him to check if he goes to my office.
But I forgot to ask him what time he will pick me up. I'll only be moving in end Jun after my wedding

I cannot remember his name. But I still have his number. 90469708. I know that he drives a Nissan mini bus. let us know how it goes!

binbin

hi hi people! Called up this guy that Babylove said. His name is Mr Heng. He has heard of transport inconvenience in Segar, that's why he is including Segar in his trip. He lives in CCK, will pick up some ppl there, then come to Bukit Panjang. I asked him whether he will pick up ppl from Senja as well, he said no problem. From BP,he will go direct to BKE, PIE, exit at Stevens Rd, go to Bukit Timah, Newton circus, then Town area liaoz. Will pass by my office, but i have told him i wun be starting so soon coz i am not moving to Senja yet. Lompang ( where i am staying now) is beri convenient.

So for those who need convenient transport NOW, from BP to town every morning, u can call him up.
to repeat, his number is 90469708. He charges $4 per trip, like busplus. It's an 11 seater, but he said he will rope his friends in to help if his customer pool increases. Good luck!

minz

hi binbin and all,

I stay opposite Bukit Panjang Plaza too!

my hubby also works in Raffles Place/City Hall area...Everyday he will drive to work, with 4 empty seats! Maybe I should start a car pool and ask him to ferry U gals hehe......His car is new also

Will U all be keen?
Can drop me a mail if U like [email protected]

soyabean

hey gals...
been mia in tis thread for sometime.... so busy at work...

wah.... got such car pool service arh? but i think i wont take it.... my husband usu drives me out to the busstop at Pending LRT for me to take straight bus to work. if not i will walk out and take LRT to Pending then take bus. quite used to it liao.

binbin.... so Mr Heng will be passing by ur new office where u said u'll be mvg to arh?

totoro

need help ah..

u gals know which brand of bedsheet is good??
now john little and robinson having sales..i duuno which brand to buy

bp gal

I like Aussino, cos it's pretty decent for its price, esp. when there's sale. Look out for its opening sale tomoro (30 May) at West Mall!!

binbin

hi soyabean, yes he will be passing by my "new" office. hehehhehe...
but as i wun be moving to senja so soon, wun be booking him so soon loh.

totoro, does ur mattress have a pillow top? coz if you do, not all bedsheets fit. better check. so you have found your desired bed frame oredi?

binbin

Dear Bukit Panjang-ers! I heard that the chinese "wan bao" had an article that commented that CCk and BP have "very good sports amneties". I was so angry when i read that! perhaps they are referring to the fact that BP ppl can travel to CCK for a swim and some court sports?? My dad tried that before and he said it took really really long to get to CCK sports complex, and the water at CCK swimming pool is NOT THAT Clean coz of the many many families using it. How could they expect us to be "happy and contented" with sharing with CCK when we by ourselve is already a growing young town? I was quite angry loh, and was thinking of doing something i have been thinking of for some time - Write in to our MP to ask for sports facilities IN BP ITSELF. they could use the many available plots of land to build it e.g. in front of my senja 656 blk or segar etc. Someone told me there's a guideline that says when the town has more than 20,000 (or 200,000) residents they should have their own sports facilities. and with all these many young couples moving in we should have exceeded the number??? Does anyone knows how to go about writing such a letter? And getting the names/signature of all of us in this thread? Then we will have a chance to ask for this right.

Quite fed-up with the government spending so much effort building up some new towns and then neglected the fact that we are a town in itself, not part of CCK leh!

Anyone?

smurfy

Bin Bin,

I agree with you that Bt panjang really lacks of facilities and I think that the govt thought we very happy with our LRT though it keeps breaking down, and Bt Timah road and BKE is always jam in the morning.

During the last election (2 year back or so), they told us that they will look into the feasibility of building MRT from Bt Panjang and extend it along Bt Timah road. Feasibility plan will be out in Apr the following year. I am so happy when I heard that, thinking that the govt is finally doing something for us. Election came and Bt panjang had a walk-over (no voting needed). Apr came and gone, nothing is mentioned about that plan anymore. How disappointing.... I feel that even if our population is too little to justified the building of an MRT, at least show us the plan and convinced us...

smurfy

Hi Bin Bin,

I don't think will build anymore facilities due to the space constraint.

Saw that they are building something at Sergar? Is that another CC again?? I think Bt panjang too many CC already...

binbin

hi smurfy, there's lotsa plots of land around BP you know, in caseu din notice.
diagonally opp from my block, there's a big piece of land enough for a swimming pool. and in front of my block another bigger piece. As for the Segar one, yes it will be CC. is there a lot of CC liaoz? i tot only one around gangsa?

okie, perhaps dun need cinema, but i would think for a growing population like BP, we will need our own sports complex. What does the rest think? No harm trying..

jjuan

Hi Binbin,

I remembered the last time when BP had walk-in, their map showed an area being marked out for a sports complex liao. Think is around Cashew area. But dunno when that will be up lah.

JJuan.

binbin

hi JJUan, realli??? how come i neber see huh? okie, will go home to dig out the brochures to look see look see....thanks.

totoro

i wish the Plaza will undergo reno and make it like Jurong point..its so pathetic.

yap the one at sengar will be CC and also heard abt the sports complex witha swimming pool

binbin

hi totoro, from where did u hear abt the sports complex with swimming pool? where will it be built huh? :eek:

ltbb

i m new here. Any neighbours in blk 480, segar road. Now i am looking for an ID or contractor. Any recommendation? Can also indicate the cost?
really need some help here...

binbin

hi hi ltbb.
welcome welcome.

i dun stay in segar, but there's a few ppl here who does. calling soyabean and sweetcorn!

perhaps u can leave down ur email addy, so the girls can send you if they have ID contacts?

as ur's should be a design and build, a basic reno shld cost you less than or around 20K. depending on how elaborate you r looking at.

ltbb

hi binbin,
yes mine is a design and build.i had actually got a quotation from prestige image in Clemeti, baroque from ang mo kio. price are quite reasonable. anyone used them before?
any comments?
hi soyabean and sweetcorn, can i know who does ur house renovation? how much do they cost?

thks,ltbb

soyabean

binbin: can hear u calling from afar!! haha.... finali got time to come in to post a bit leh... so cham...

hi ltbb,
welcome to the segar cluster. homesuccess did my reno. i paid abt 30k for carpentry, electrical cabling, laminated flooring etc... which floor are u on? urs a 5room or 4room?

singer

hi new here, living in BP too, saujana road, just across the big pond. quite like the area, except for the amenities and public transport...very disappointed or else BP very convenient and good place to live.
Anyway, we can meet up for kopi.

binbin

hi singer, welcome to bp hehee..
actually i find bp public transport very convenient if you take bus. only less than 30mins to town, sometimes 20mins if non peak. like bukit panjang coz its such a cosy green little place...
your_image.gif